Grand Hyatt Washington

4 stars
1000 H STREET NW, WASHINGTON, DC 20001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
620 reviews
Grand Hyatt DC

This hotel is one of a few which we would rate as welcoming. We go on a trip but don't stay many... See full review

  • Sennen
  • Jun 24, 2014
Great stay in a perfect location

The Grand Hyatt is located very conveniently and the rooms were very comfortable and up to date. See full review

  • kennyc2014
  • Jun 23, 2014
Upscale hotel for business or pleasure in the heart of DC

Located in DC's hip Penn quarter, the Grand Hyatt Washington is an elegant option for both business and leisure travelers. Five excellent restaurants and bars offer guests a host of dining options. A full-service fitness center and sauna, pool and steam rooms are onsite, and massage therapy and personal trainers are available. There is also a game room and dance floor in the Grand Slam Café, as well as two gift shops, a florist, on-site laundry, dry cleaning and a valet service. Grand Hyatt Washington is within walking distance of the Smithsonian Institution (including the National Museum of Natural History) and Madame Tussauds Wax Museum. Visitors can take a stroll through Georgetown and experience American history, explore the Eastern Market or embark on a tour of historic US memorials, monuments and museums.

Reasons to stay
  • Comprehensive Grand Hyatt Washington guest services
  • Yoga Away™, Grand Slam, fitness, spa
  • US Capitol history, White House, memorials
  • Metro access from the hotel lobby
  • Large fitness club with indoor pool and spa services
Grand Hyatt Washington rooms

Guests staying at the Grand Hyatt Washington can choose from 888 rooms with city and atrium views, including suites, kings, doubles and queens. "Respire by Hyatt" hypo-allergenic hotel rooms are also available, which are designed for guests with allergy sensitivities. Visitors ease into soft, fresh hypo-allergenic sheets on delightful plush beds. Oversized desks with ergonomically correct Herman Miller chairs are in each room. Guests can enjoy TV and movies on 42-inch flat panel screens. High-speed wireless Internet is available (for a fee) within rooms or business facilities. An impressive marble bath with spa amenities offers a place to relax and unwind. In-room video checkout is available.

Things to do nearby
  • Madame Tussauds Wax Museum (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • The Martin Luther King JR Memorial Library (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • International Spy Museum (0.3 mi/ 0.5 km)
  • White House and North Lawn Fountain (0.6 mi/ 0.9 km)
  • United States Capitol Visitor Center (1.0 mi/ 1.6 km)
  • National Museum of the American Indian and Constitution Gardens (1.4 mi/ 2.2 km)
  • US Capitol Building and Smithsonian Institution (1.6 mi/ 2.5 km)
  • Vietnam Memorial (1.7 mi/ 2.7 km)
  • Eastern Market (2.6 mi/ 4.2 km)
  • Georgetown (3.0 mi/ 4.8 km)

Grand Hyatt Washington Rooms

Club
View Floors, Lounge Access, Continental Breakfast: Hors d oeuvres: Robe
Standard
The entire hotel and facilities are non-smoking. Number of beds varies from the room types: King or 2 double beds /Capicity per room varies from bed type. Newly renovated guest rooms, upgrade furniture in rich mahogany wood, luxury bathroom with cres

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Executive level
FEMA approved
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Sauna
Children's activities
Golf
Jogging track
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Nursery for children
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Video checkout
Gift shop
Copy service
News stand
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Projector
White board
Conference suite
Computer rental
Easel
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
Turndown service
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Hotel Map

38.8993 -77.0265
Nearby airports
Reagan National Airport, (DCA), 5.50, MI, N; Washington Dulles Intl Airport, (IAD), 27.00, MI, NE; Baltimore/Washington Intl Airport, (BWI), 32.00, MI, SW;
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.2 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.2 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.2 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.3 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.4 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.4 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.2 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.2 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.2 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.3 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.4 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.4 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.5 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.5 mi
  • National Archives: 0.5 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.5 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 0.6 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.6 mi
  • Newseum: 0.6 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 0.6 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.6 mi
  • Blair House: 0.7 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 0.7 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.7 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.7 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 0.7 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.7 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 0.7 mi
  • Ripley Center: 0.7 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.8 mi
  • National Mall: 0.8 mi
  • Arthur M Sackler Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Arts and Industries Building: 0.8 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Sackler Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • National Museum of African Art: 0.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (620)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Hyatt Washington

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
620 out of 620
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
FoodD
Business
Boston MA
Jan 30, 2011

Stop nickel and dimeing me.

Room is fine but they charge for the fitness center, charge for the wifi. It's annoying. It makes them look cheap!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Walk right into Metro

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rayboysmom
Houston, Texas
Jan 20, 2011

What a great location!

The hotel itself was amazing! We flew into DC, so didn't use or rent a car. I did think charging me for a local call to a restaurant (which actually was inside the hotel) was a little silly. Also, they charge for internet access - WHAT? Overall, a FAB stay at Grand Hyatt!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you are going to be a true tourist - go ahead & purchase a ticket for a tour bus of sorts. It can help with time from location to location. The old trolley is located a 1 1/2 blocks away from the hotel - acrss from Ford's Theatre. Great location!

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rayboysmom
Houston, Texas
Jan 20, 2011

What a great location!

The hotel itself was amazing! We flew into DC, so didn't use or rent a car. I did think charging me for a local call to a restaurant (which actually was inside the hotel) was a little silly. Also, they charge for internet access - WHAT? Overall, a FAB stay at Grand Hyatt!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you are going to be a true tourist - go ahead & purchase a ticket for a tour bus of sorts. It can help with time from location to location. The old trolley is located a 1 1/2 blocks away from the hotel - acrss from Ford's Theatre. Great location!

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
washington dc
Jan 18, 2011

hyatt hotel

Had a great stay, very comfortable but a few glitches were, the bellcap staff was painfully slow. They will not allow you to get a cart yourself, so you have to wait and we had to leave. We waited 55 minutes for a bellcap. If they would allow you to get your own cart it would have been no problem, but they wont. Also they have a business center that charges you to use a computer and print. I paid 6.00 to print 4 pages. I thought for it to be a business hotel and travel hub that ammenity would have been included. And people had thrown up by ice machine and it wasnt cleaned until 12pm the next day. The atrium, and the room was very nice but they could work on efficiency and staff!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

great location for entertainment, sports, food.

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
washington dc
Jan 18, 2011

hyatt hotel

Had a great stay, very comfortable but a few glitches were, the bellcap staff was painfully slow. They will not allow you to get a cart yourself, so you have to wait and we had to leave. We waited 55 minutes for a bellcap. If they would allow you to get your own cart it would have been no problem, but they wont. Also they have a business center that charges you to use a computer and print. I paid 6.00 to print 4 pages. I thought for it to be a business hotel and travel hub that ammenity would have been included. And people had thrown up by ice machine and it wasnt cleaned until 12pm the next day. The atrium, and the room was very nice but they could work on efficiency and staff!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

great location for entertainment, sports, food.

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
cceddlekid
Los Angeles, CA
Jan 8, 2011

Great place, great service!

I stayed at this hotel while visiting D.C to visit some monuments and museums in the city. The hotel was very clean and there were a lot of rooms. The rooms were unique because they were designed to face indoor (meaning the windows are facing into the interior courtyard instead of facing the outside to the streets). At least that was the room I got. However, the view was spectacular, you can see the lobby, the grand breakfast area, the pond by the breakfast area from you room. Light was aplenty because there was a huge skylight that lets sunshine into the interior. The room I got with double beds was spacious. There were automated check-in kiosks that you can use to check-in and check-out without much hassle. For travelers who are looking to commute by public transportation, the metro station is located right behind the hotel, you can access it through the hotel rear exit. This hotel is a top recommendation for new or seasoned travelers. It is certainly a home away from home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Go to the concierge to book a tour of the monuments and places worth visiting (e.g the white house). There were a few you could choose from, the 3- hour night tour, 3-hour day tour, or the all-day tour depending on your budget and time.

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fine Diner
Saco, ME
Jan 3, 2011

Great location!

This hotel is in a great location, right in the Penn Quarter, near the Mall, Chinatown, the convention center, etc. There is an indoor entrance to the Metro at Metro Center so it was easy to travel to other areas of the city. The Smithsonian's art museum and the Spy Museum are nearby. The hotel room was a small basic room with a king-sized bed; this was satisfactory because we only needed it to sleep in. The hotel staff were friendly and very helpful in answering our questions. We would definitely stay here again! We walked to several excellent restaurants in the Penn Quarter: Jaleo (Spanish tapas), Zaytinya (Greek and Turkish mezes and excellent spit-roasted leg of lamb), and Oyjamel (the best Mexican cuisine we have ever had). We also took the Metro to Eastern Market and enjoyed the Belga restaurant (great Belgian food and beers).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There is an open-air parking lot across the street from this hotel, run by the city, that is significantly cheaper to use than any of the parking garages at the hotel or in the area. If you do not need to use your car during your stay, this can save you some money. The Mega.bus and the Bolt.bus both drop off and pick up passengers in this parking lot if you're traveling this way.

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fine Diner
Saco, ME
Jan 3, 2011

Great location!

This hotel is in a great location, right in the Penn Quarter, near the Mall, Chinatown, the convention center, etc. There is an indoor entrance to the Metro at Metro Center so it was easy to travel to other areas of the city. The Smithsonian's art museum and the Spy Museum are nearby. The hotel room was a small basic room with a king-sized bed; this was satisfactory because we only needed it to sleep in. The hotel staff were friendly and very helpful in answering our questions. We would definitely stay here again! We walked to several excellent restaurants in the Penn Quarter: Jaleo (Spanish tapas), Zaytinya (Greek and Turkish mezes and excellent spit-roasted leg of lamb), and Oyjamel (the best Mexican cuisine we have ever had). We also took the Metro to Eastern Market and enjoyed the Belga restaurant (great Belgian food and beers).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There is an open-air parking lot across the street from this hotel, run by the city, that is significantly cheaper to use than any of the parking garages at the hotel or in the area. If you do not need to use your car during your stay, this can save you some money. The Mega.bus and the Bolt.bus both drop off and pick up passengers in this parking lot if you're traveling this way.

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
va beach
Dec 24, 2010

great location and nice hotel

Went to wizards vs bulls..only 3 blocks away..lots of shops and resteraunts..would def stay here again..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
va beach
Dec 24, 2010

great location and nice hotel

Went to wizards vs bulls..only 3 blocks away..lots of shops and resteraunts..would def stay here again..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top