Grand Hyatt Washington

4 stars
1000 H STREET NW, WASHINGTON, DC 20001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
625 reviews
Great stay for parents' getaway

We had unexpected extra time in DC and since this hotel is centrally located, it was perfect for... See full review

  • Joy Educator
  • Jul 15, 2014
Great Time

I stayed at this hotel for the first time. it is conveniently located to a metro station. It's... See full review

  • Didi7484
  • Jul 15, 2014
Modern twelve story atrium hotel located 5 blocks from the Washington Convention Center and between the White House and Capitol Hill. This upscale hotel offers exceptional value for the business and leisure traveler. The Grand Hyatt Washington is located at Penn Quarter, with direct in lobby access to the metro. Beginning November 1, 2012 through March 5, 2013, the hotel will be undergoing a $23 Million renovation of all guestrooms, suites and guest corridors. The Grand Club will be closed starting December 15, 2012 after PM service and will reopen on January 2, 2013 for PM service. We care about making this process as seamless to you as possible, and therefore will make every attempt to isolate the work areas from our guest contact areas. We cannot wait to share our grand new rooms with you.

Grand Hyatt Washington Rooms

Business Plan
Description not provided
Club
View Floors, Lounge Access, Continental Breakfast: Hors d oeuvres: Robe
Standard
The entire hotel and facilities are non-smoking. Number of beds varies from the room types: King, 2 double beds or 1 Queen /Capicity per room varies from bed type. Newly renovated guest rooms, upgrade furniture in rich mahogany wood, luxury bathroom w

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Executive level
FEMA approved
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Sauna
Children's activities
Golf
Jogging track
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Nursery for children
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Video checkout
Gift shop
Copy service
News stand
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Projector
White board
Conference suite
Computer rental
Easel
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
Turndown service
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Hotel Map

38.8993 -77.0265
Nearby airports
Reagan National Airport, (DCA), 5.50, MI, N; Washington Dulles Intl Airport, (IAD), 27.00, MI, NE; Baltimore/Washington Intl Airport, (BWI), 32.00, MI, SW;
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.2 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.2 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.2 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.3 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.4 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.4 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.2 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.2 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.2 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.3 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.4 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.4 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.5 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.5 mi
  • National Archives: 0.5 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.5 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 0.6 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.6 mi
  • Newseum: 0.6 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 0.6 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.6 mi
  • Blair House: 0.7 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 0.7 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.7 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.7 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 0.7 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.7 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 0.7 mi
  • Ripley Center: 0.7 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.8 mi
  • National Mall: 0.8 mi
  • Arthur M Sackler Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Arts and Industries Building: 0.8 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Sackler Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • National Museum of African Art: 0.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (625)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Hyatt Washington

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
625 out of 625
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Momi Mitchell
NYC
Apr 26, 2011

Great family getaway

Did family sightseeing; great location able to walk to all the attractions. Everyone was happy-would recommend to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Momi Mitchell
NYC
Apr 26, 2011

Great family getaway

Did family sightseeing; great location able to walk to all the attractions. Everyone was happy-would recommend to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
NC
Apr 24, 2011

It's very good.

I asked them to change one king bed room to 2-bed room. The front desk staff explained to me no room available that night, but they did it next day and moved our luggage for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

They always give the local maps to their customers. It's very helpful for travelers like as.

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
NC
Apr 24, 2011

It's very good.

I asked them to change one king bed room to 2-bed room. The front desk staff explained to me no room available that night, but they did it next day and moved our luggage for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

They always give the local maps to their customers. It's very helpful for travelers like as.

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, NY
Apr 16, 2011

Dated, worn out and not worth it...

This hotel has gone way past its expiry date. For the price, I would have expected a lot more. Here is an example of what the room was like: - the paint on the bathroom door is chipping away noticably - the grout in the bathtub was cracking and stained (from what, I have no idea) - the TV cable signal was weak and needed to be repaired during our stay - the handle on the door was mounted up/down instead of left/right - a bit cheap on the amenities (i.e., soap, etc) - there is no paper in the room to write on I would strongly recommend that you try one of the other hotels in the area if you are in DC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, NY
Apr 16, 2011

Dated, worn out and not worth it...

This hotel has gone way past its expiry date. For the price, I would have expected a lot more. Here is an example of what the room was like: - the paint on the bathroom door is chipping away noticably - the grout in the bathtub was cracking and stained (from what, I have no idea) - the TV cable signal was weak and needed to be repaired during our stay - the handle on the door was mounted up/down instead of left/right - a bit cheap on the amenities (i.e., soap, etc) - there is no paper in the room to write on I would strongly recommend that you try one of the other hotels in the area if you are in DC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Martinsburg, WV
Apr 11, 2011

A Grand weekend in Washington

We stayed at the Grand Hyatt for my birthday. The weather and scenery were great; it was just at the end of Cherry Blossom festival. The hotel was very clean and beautiful. The room was spacious, had a comfortable bed, and a beautiful view into the atrium which was especially nice after dark. The breakfast buffet in the morning was excellent! The staff was very friendly and helpful. The Grand Hyatt is in a GREAT location for sightseeing on foot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

the hotel is VERY close to the International Spy Museum and the Verizon Center, not to mention LOTS of great restaurants, like Asia Nine

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Martinsburg, WV
Apr 11, 2011

A Grand weekend in Washington

We stayed at the Grand Hyatt for my birthday. The weather and scenery were great; it was just at the end of Cherry Blossom festival. The hotel was very clean and beautiful. The room was spacious, had a comfortable bed, and a beautiful view into the atrium which was especially nice after dark. The breakfast buffet in the morning was excellent! The staff was very friendly and helpful. The Grand Hyatt is in a GREAT location for sightseeing on foot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

the hotel is VERY close to the International Spy Museum and the Verizon Center, not to mention LOTS of great restaurants, like Asia Nine

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston
Mar 21, 2011

Great!

Close to everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baltimore, MD
Mar 21, 2011

Very Pleasant

Very comfortable and clean. Staff was very courteous and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top