$169 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 3, 2014 Check-out: Oct 4, 2014

Grand Hyatt Washington

4 stars
1000 H STREET NW, WASHINGTON, DC 20001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
461 reviews
GREAT HOTEL!!!

So I decided to stay at the Grand Hyatt instead of my conference hotel (The Wardman Park Marriott).... See full review

  • VCTyson
  • Sep 13, 2014
Great stay!

Everything about our stay was great. The staff was friendly, our room was clean, comfortable and... See full review

  • TravelTimeNow
  • Sep 2, 2014
Upscale hotel for business or pleasure in the heart of DC

Located in DC's hip Penn quarter, the Grand Hyatt Washington is an elegant option for both business and leisure travelers. Five excellent restaurants and bars offer guests a host of dining options. A full-service fitness center and sauna, pool and steam rooms are onsite, and massage therapy and personal trainers are available. There is also a game room and dance floor in the Grand Slam Café, as well as two gift shops, a florist, on-site laundry, dry cleaning and a valet service. Grand Hyatt Washington is within walking distance of the Smithsonian Institution (including the National Museum of Natural History) and Madame Tussauds Wax Museum. Visitors can take a stroll through Georgetown and experience American history, explore the Eastern Market or embark on a tour of historic US memorials, monuments and museums.

Reasons to stay
  • Comprehensive Grand Hyatt Washington guest services
  • Yoga Away™, Grand Slam, fitness, spa
  • US Capitol history, White House, memorials
  • Metro access from the hotel lobby
  • Large fitness club with indoor pool and spa services
Grand Hyatt Washington rooms

Guests staying at the Grand Hyatt Washington can choose from 888 rooms with city and atrium views, including suites, kings, doubles and queens. "Respire by Hyatt" hypo-allergenic hotel rooms are also available, which are designed for guests with allergy sensitivities. Visitors ease into soft, fresh hypo-allergenic sheets on delightful plush beds. Oversized desks with ergonomically correct Herman Miller chairs are in each room. Guests can enjoy TV and movies on 42-inch flat panel screens. High-speed wireless Internet is available (for a fee) within rooms or business facilities. An impressive marble bath with spa amenities offers a place to relax and unwind. In-room video checkout is available.

Things to do nearby
  • Madame Tussauds Wax Museum (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • The Martin Luther King JR Memorial Library (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • International Spy Museum (0.3 mi/ 0.5 km)
  • White House and North Lawn Fountain (0.6 mi/ 0.9 km)
  • United States Capitol Visitor Center (1.0 mi/ 1.6 km)
  • National Museum of the American Indian and Constitution Gardens (1.4 mi/ 2.2 km)
  • US Capitol Building and Smithsonian Institution (1.6 mi/ 2.5 km)
  • Vietnam Memorial (1.7 mi/ 2.7 km)
  • Eastern Market (2.6 mi/ 4.2 km)
  • Georgetown (3.0 mi/ 4.8 km)

Hotel Map

38.8993 -77.0265
Nearby airports
Reagan National Airport, (DCA), 5.50, MI, N; Washington Dulles Intl Airport, (IAD), 27.00, MI, NE; Baltimore/Washington Intl Airport, (BWI), 32.00, MI, SW;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grand Hyatt Washington also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Grand Hyatt Washington Rooms

Business Plan
Description not provided
Club
View Floors, Lounge Access, Continental Breakfast: Hors d oeuvres: Robe
Standard
The entire hotel and facilities are non-smoking. Number of beds varies from the room types: King, 2 double beds or 1 Queen /Capicity per room varies from bed type. Newly renovated guest rooms, upgrade furniture in rich mahogany wood, luxury bathroom w

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Executive level
FEMA approved
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Sauna
Children's activities
Golf
Jogging track
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Nursery for children
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Video checkout
Gift shop
Copy service
News stand
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Projector
White board
Conference suite
Computer rental
Easel
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
Turndown service
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.2 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.2 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.2 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.3 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.4 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.4 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.2 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.2 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.2 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.3 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.4 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.4 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.5 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.5 mi
  • National Archives: 0.5 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.5 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 0.6 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.6 mi
  • Newseum: 0.6 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 0.6 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.6 mi
  • Blair House: 0.7 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 0.7 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.7 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.7 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 0.7 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.7 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 0.7 mi
  • Ripley Center: 0.7 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.8 mi
  • National Mall: 0.8 mi
  • Arthur M Sackler Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Arts and Industries Building: 0.8 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Sackler Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • National Museum of African Art: 0.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (461)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Hyatt Washington

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
461 out of 461
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kmitche3
Baltimore
Feb 11, 2013

Great place to stay

The entire hotel is going through renovations and they are doing a great job so far. We were able to get a new room, and the hotel as a whole was very clean and all the employees did everything to make your stay enjoyable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Great place to stay for any event at the Verizon Center.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Woodbridge
Jan 2, 2009

Some staffs are not friendly

The location, amenities and the room were great. But the some of the hotel staffs are not friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Close to tourist spots

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CRNP 13
Pittsburgh
Jul 19, 2010

Inexpensive Meets Fabulous Quality

My experience at the Grand Hyatt Washington was wonderful from the time I arrived. The hotel is absolutely beautiful inside and out. There are multiple restaurants within the hotel. The convention center is directly across the street. Several attractions are just a 5-15 minute walking distance including The White House, Washington Monument, ESPN Zone and many other sports bars, The Mall and shopping centers, the Smithsonian Institute, and much more. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the Washington DC area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

The breakfast is buffet style. Everything you can think of is offered. The omlettes are freshly made. It's well worth the price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jhayden28
Mount Pocono, PA
Jan 1, 2013

A couple hiccups

The overall appearance and presentation of the hotel are very nice. The Valet Parking was handled quickly and check-in was quick and courteous. The front desk girl pointed out a close restaurant (unfortunately closed, but their papers don't have any open/close dates on them so that's not her fault). The hotel is undergoing renovations and we were warned of the noise, but we never heard any of that. What we did hear was the major complaint of the room: road noise was horrible! After investigating why it was so loud, it was obvious; the room has a sliding door that overlooks the street, and the gasket was shot. The only other complaint I had is the valet staff doesn't seem to talk to the front staff, as I had forgotten my phone in the car. I called and asked if they could grab it and bring it to the front desk, they said no problem. After 45 minutes of waiting at the front desk, while my companions went out into the city, I took a walk out to the valet, where they told me "we have had your phone for over half an hour". This delay almost made us late for the redskins game.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jackie, Philly Star
Philadelphia
Nov 9, 2010

D.C. Visit

Friendly service, location was great! Within walking distance to White house and Washington monument.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Park your car in the City parking lot $10/day for weekend. Walk or take metro to attractions.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Siddik
Reading, Pa
Mar 19, 2013

Great Location

This hotel is in an ideal location. Walking distance to most of the attarctions and lots of restaurants and bars close by for a good night life also. Having to pay for Wifi is crazy, some smaller hotels include this free but not here and need to pay to access the fitness center is a bit too much. The cost of parking is crazy.. it is the holtel's parking garage, yet it is not included when you make the resevation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Wear Good Shoes... you will need them...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ZZZZTO
Florida
Sep 19, 2013

Great Hotel in super location

Helpful staff, attractive hotel, very good location for all DC sights and activities. Within walking distance of the Memorials , Mall and Monuments . Five minutes walk to the White House.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many very good restaurants within a short walk from Hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JJ EAST COAST
Kannapolis-NC
Jul 8, 2012

Great stay!

We booked our hotel just 20 minutes before our arrival and everything was perfect! We made a last minute decision to stop in DC and this hotel was great. Within 10 min walking to the White House and museums. Great staff, although Valet was a bit slow @ check out. Hotel had its own restaurants and Starbucks which was very convienient. We would definately stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

For a casual laid back drinking atmosphere we recommend Shelly's Cigar Bar! Great food as well...and if you smoke, you can do so indoors!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NCSSmember
Rochester, MN, USA
Dec 6, 2011

Excellent Stay

The hotel staff was excellent. They were eager to help and provided excellent directions to restaurants (even coupons!). The room was very clean and had fridge. The only downside was the lack of free wifi. We would have really loved that. We made due because we have smart phones. That fact aside, we have pretty much come to expect free wifi.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Zaytinya is an incredible tapas restaurant! It was close to the restaurant (about 3 or 4 blocks). The service was incredible and the food was even better!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Glendora, NJ
Nov 29, 2010

Good Time in DC

The Grand Hyatt is close to all the main attractions a tourist would like to see when in DC. The room was clean & comfortable. The staff was friendly. And the restaurants offered delicious food with a casual atmosphere,or more formal dining at "Cure". We had a great time & would recommend this hotel to a friend. For us the only negative was we could not smoke in our room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Just remember to map out your plan so that your walking experience is pleasant.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tarpon Fisherman
Sarasota, FL
Apr 16, 2012

Great Location ,nice hotel.

The staff needs to get their act together a bit . We were first sent to a room that the people had not checked out of . They delivered a requested crib to our room but when we returned from dinner they had removed it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

Breakfast Buffet is reasonable but very generic.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search