$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 6, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

Grand Hyatt Washington

4 stars
View map of 1000 H STREET NW, WASHINGTON, DC 20001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Grand Hyatt Washington

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
484 out of 484
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Viff
Family
Boston,MA
Nov 6, 2012

GRAND HYATT

I have been visiting DC for six years now and I have tried different hotels and different locations. I no longer have to experiment, this is the perfect location for me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

MATCHBOX, ecelctic yet delicious but expect a wait on Friday evening or Saturday evening. We went for Sunday brunch and it was phenomenal

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CKThom
Business
Crawfordville, FL
Sep 2, 2011

Nothing really special

For over $150 a night, I would have thought this would have been a nicer hotel. It had a pool, but it wasn't heated. There wasn't a hot tub or whirlpool. They charged $10 a day for internet. The restaurants in the hotel were super expensive. They don't provide breakfast. There just wasn't anything to make this worth the price. The room was nice and equivolent to what I'd get at a Wyndham hotels, but without any of of the other nice things. I will say that the staff are super nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you walk out of the hotel and go left, a block or two down is a great place to grab breakfast for a good price. They have bagels, doughnuts, fruit, coffee, tea, etc. Very reasonable prices.

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Johnny Mac
Friends
Middletown, NJ, USA
Sep 1, 2011

Perfect Place to Stay!

This hotel has everything you need! Friendly staff, comfortable rooms, taxis available, and shops/restaurants on the grounds. This was my second time here and I won't stay anywhere else!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the Capitol Brewery across the street!

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jetsetter87
Single
New York, NY, USA
Aug 29, 2011

Luxury hotel, overpriced amenities

I lucked out on a great rate at this hotel at the last minute - $99/night on a weekend. First off, the atrium and the overall design of the hotel is amazing. Very quick elevators and escelators to all lower levels. Also this hotel is in a great location and connected to the metro (w/o setting foot out the front door)! The room was pretty modern (very large flat screen lcd), the bed was comfy, and the room was very spacious. I also enjoyed the fact that the hotel offers 3 different restaraunts (which came in handy for me as I was in town during Hurricane Irene). My main point of feedback for them is around the excess charges for EVERYTHING. Literally nothing you'd expect to be standard is free....the gym costs 10 bucks a day (unless you are just swimming), the business center is pay per min, the in-room wirelss is north of 10 bucks, even local calls have a charge..thank God I didn't have a car, I believe the parking is around $30/day (again, not sure, didn't drive). This is obviously where they make their bread and butter. The operator told me when I asked if it costs to use the fitness center...."nothing in this hotel is free!" and had the audacity to chuckle after saying it. Nice place but very skimpy on the extras.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

This hotel is a short cab or metro ride from several local attractions.

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lini5361
Couples
Cambridge, MA, USA
Aug 24, 2011

Perfect Location to Explore!

We got another brilliant deal with Orbitz and couldn't believe how centrally located the Grand Hyatt is. The Atirum is a big thing for them, and well...it was nice, but nothing to ooh and ahh over! The room, with a kingsize bed, over looked the atrium and was very comfortable. Although it wasn't as refined as other hotel rooms, it served it's function very well. The bed was very comfortable. Room service was fine, usual prices. Only downside, room was a little too dark! Starbucks and a couple of restaurants are inthe hotel, again all fine. Staying here was perfect as The White House is couple of streets away...as was the tour bus we took; Chinatown mintues away, you really can't go wrong with this hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Chinatown...try Full Kee. Totally unassuming place, great food!

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sophie
Family
Canton, OH, USA
Aug 22, 2011

Great Place to Stay!

The hotel is centrally located in DC. They have valet parking for your entire stay so it eliminates a big headache. The hotel is beautiful, the rooms are clean and the staff was really nice. I was thoroughly pleased with the Grand Hyatt.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Look into bus tours with on/off stops. It's alot of walking and the buses take you to everything, you can get off at any time and aback on again.

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
60th Birthday Guy
Couples
The Buckeye State
Aug 15, 2011

Visiting Washington based son

Great location. Beautiful Hotel. Accomodating Staff. Suprised there was no newspaper in the morning

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Newseum is worth the price of admission. The history of print jounalism from past to present.

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Washington, D.C., USA
Aug 4, 2011

Nice Room. Comfortable chairs.

We got on the Metro and got off at Pentagon City Mall. The Metro was too far for us to walk. Coming from the Hotel to buy tickets was NOT air- conditioned. We were sweating so badly. The rest of the Metro train system was air-conditioned. We went shopping and to the "Day Spa." We also went shopping in the shops at the hotel gift shops. We ate at all the hotel restaurants. The food was good and hot. The staff were all really nice and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take a cab. Parking is not the greatest in Washington D.C. or the hotel. Everywhere is between $8 to $20 to get around town each way.

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Washington DC
Aug 1, 2011

Excellent

Great location and accommodations

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

N/A

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Baton Rouge, LA
Jul 26, 2011

Not Clean

I initally had to change rooms upon check in as I was given an atrium room and the sliding glass doors would not fully close-just enough room for the toddler to get through, not enough room for an adult to get through to get him. The second room we were in was not clean! I reported a very specific list of items to housekeeping: Trash behind dresser (clearly visible when I sat down on the bed to take off my shoes), trash left by the previous person in the room on top of the dresser, what looked like a dark liquid sprayed on the bathroom door to above the doorknob level, dirty backsplash (toothpaste foam i hope) clearly visible, hair in the bathtub, and a mini-fridge that had 1/2 inch of water in the bottom. Housekeeping took care of the following: removal of trash and wiping portions of door. I complained again the next day. The door was still not taken care of, I washed the tub, the refrigerator was not changed out (I guess I understand this), the door was not wiped, the backsplash was not wiped (all week). I became weary of complaining. I was on vacation after all. Upon checkout, the breakfast that they "comped" me was still on the bill. Why should I have to take care of this? There are other things, including the floor was not vacuumed all week based on floor debris, but this review is too long already. Suffice to say, I have never taken time to do one of these, but do not stay in this hotel. It is not a 4-star hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
NEW YORK
Jul 19, 2011

Overal GOOD

The only real problem was about the Noise we could hear from next room !!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Street Parking is available, Also some close by Parking Lots are half the price of the Hotel Parking lot

Back to menu Return to top