$106 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 28, 2015 Check-out: Aug 29, 2015

Grand Hyatt Washington

4 stars
View map of 1000 H STREET NW, WASHINGTON, DC 20001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Grand Hyatt Washington

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
479 out of 479
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
GH425
Business
Flushing
Feb 21, 2015

Business Trip

I usually stay here whenever I head in to DC (about 3 times a year). Usually a very pleasant stay, but with the renovations going on, getting pink eye from the sheets (can't confirm it, but didnt have it before going to bed and woke up with it).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Texas fam
Business
Texas
Jan 10, 2014

Great location and hotel...security needs improvements

We stayed at this hotel during our summer vacation. We loved the convenient location near the metro. The hotel was beautiful and our room and amenities on the concierge level was very nice. The restaurants were delicious. I only have one complaint, but it is a big one, about their security. The early morning (about 5 am) of our checkout day a man started messing with our doorknob and trying to open it, and even after we told him through door to leave, he remained there about 5 minutes. He finally walked away, but we were very scared and called down to security during this time. They assured us they were on the way. I called back two more times. Finally about 6:20, I grabbed a pen for defense, and went down to the front desk myself to get help and they said security had never been notified. Very scary experience for my family with 2 kids. Will not stay there again just because of this incident. Too bad because its a very nice hotel...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bishop 2
Business
San Rafael, Ca
Feb 27, 2014

Party time

Just my luck local college booked lots of rooms on my floor. From the looks of things many floors. slamming doors 3-4 times a minute. Parties in rooms. loud very loud, but hen everything came to light.. School busses assembled outside my 3 rd floor room from midnight to one am. Thought I was at a sporting event. loud . security should of done a better job. They took care of my room service bill and gave me breakfast. Sleep is what I was after.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ldyd
Business
florida
Apr 19, 2014

mini break

The location of the hotel was great, common areas and staff were also very nice.However our room was a disappointment, no marble bathroom, no soft sheets no plush bedding,all of which had been advertised, really the bathroom was basic at best,kinda of a dated remodel,as for the sheets they felt like sand paper,the air unit in room was also very dusty when on, made it difficult to sleep, we actually came away from our vacation more tired. We had been to DC before staying at a different hotel and had a wonderful stay, but because of better pricing decided to book this one, based on our experience, would not go back unless room was much improved. Its a Shame because everything else with this hotel was well appointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Family of three
Business
New York, NY, USA
Jan 3, 2012

Additional costs

The location is great. But you have to pay for everything. Parking $40; gym $10 etc. The pool was too small and the water was freezing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
drewguy
Business
ny
Jan 3, 2012

Fun weekend getaway

It was a great place to stay if you are looking for just that- a place to stay. Convenient location within a 15 minute walk of most of the major attractions and located right on top of a metro stop. However it is by no means a gorgeous hotel but thats not what i was looking for in washington dc. For the price it was as good as expected!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
broken strings
Business
Jakarta
Jan 1, 2012

Kind of disappointed

The bell boy wasnt polite, theres a wifi and business center but you have to pay each minute you use, theres a gym but cost you $10 a day, the bed wasnt comfortable. Huge lcd tv, big room, the metro station located on the underground of hyatt, near to chinatown and nice lobby design.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the thai on the left building across the building. its very good

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
rvwave
Business
Orlando, FL, USA
Jan 6, 2012

Disappointing

This is a "luxury" hotel, with an impressive lobby, and in a great location, but although the room is good and comfortable, the "climate control" system is pretty bad. The temperature in the room was way above 80 oF when we arrived, and though the hotel "engineer" came over a couple of times, and set the thermostat at 60, it never dropped below 75 in 2 days, and this is in winter! Everything other than the bed and bathroom cost extra, and is outrageously expensive, like internet service for $16.00..... Go elsewhere!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
I am back again
Business
LA
Jan 17, 2012

It could be better...

Having great location in town, but disappointed with the cleanliness, meanwhile, lobby attendent looks bit cold there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
L.Carr
Business
Winchester, VA, USA
Apr 23, 2012

Failed to notify of overbooking

I often stay at this hotel and was appalled when I arrived the day of check in and was told they made an error and overbooked. I understand this happens but was furious that I made the drive out there to be told my room was downgraded from a 2 queen bed to a queen pullout. Not a queen bed w/ a pullout but just a pullout!The clerk tried to bring light to the situation by giving me free breakfast and $40 credit but it didn't make up for the amount I paid and the room I originally choose. She then told me there was no way to contact me to inform me that they didn't have a room but yet upon booking you are required to enter your contact information. I didn't even know rooms like that existed. The hotel overall is lovely and the best in my book so I would recommend to others but call beforehand to make sure they didn't give your room up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top