$126 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 18, 2014 Check-out: Jul 21, 2014

Grand Hyatt Washington

4 stars
1000 H STREET NW, WASHINGTON, DC 20001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
620 reviews
Grand Hyatt DC

This hotel is one of a few which we would rate as welcoming. We go on a trip but don't stay many... See full review

  • Sennen
  • Jun 24, 2014
Great stay in a perfect location

The Grand Hyatt is located very conveniently and the rooms were very comfortable and up to date. See full review

  • kennyc2014
  • Jun 23, 2014
Upscale hotel for business or pleasure in the heart of DC

Located in DC's hip Penn quarter, the Grand Hyatt Washington is an elegant option for both business and leisure travelers. Five excellent restaurants and bars offer guests a host of dining options. A full-service fitness center and sauna, pool and steam rooms are onsite, and massage therapy and personal trainers are available. There is also a game room and dance floor in the Grand Slam Café, as well as two gift shops, a florist, on-site laundry, dry cleaning and a valet service. Grand Hyatt Washington is within walking distance of the Smithsonian Institution (including the National Museum of Natural History) and Madame Tussauds Wax Museum. Visitors can take a stroll through Georgetown and experience American history, explore the Eastern Market or embark on a tour of historic US memorials, monuments and museums.

Reasons to stay
  • Comprehensive Grand Hyatt Washington guest services
  • Yoga Away™, Grand Slam, fitness, spa
  • US Capitol history, White House, memorials
  • Metro access from the hotel lobby
  • Large fitness club with indoor pool and spa services
Grand Hyatt Washington rooms

Guests staying at the Grand Hyatt Washington can choose from 888 rooms with city and atrium views, including suites, kings, doubles and queens. "Respire by Hyatt" hypo-allergenic hotel rooms are also available, which are designed for guests with allergy sensitivities. Visitors ease into soft, fresh hypo-allergenic sheets on delightful plush beds. Oversized desks with ergonomically correct Herman Miller chairs are in each room. Guests can enjoy TV and movies on 42-inch flat panel screens. High-speed wireless Internet is available (for a fee) within rooms or business facilities. An impressive marble bath with spa amenities offers a place to relax and unwind. In-room video checkout is available.

Things to do nearby
  • Madame Tussauds Wax Museum (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • The Martin Luther King JR Memorial Library (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • International Spy Museum (0.3 mi/ 0.5 km)
  • White House and North Lawn Fountain (0.6 mi/ 0.9 km)
  • United States Capitol Visitor Center (1.0 mi/ 1.6 km)
  • National Museum of the American Indian and Constitution Gardens (1.4 mi/ 2.2 km)
  • US Capitol Building and Smithsonian Institution (1.6 mi/ 2.5 km)
  • Vietnam Memorial (1.7 mi/ 2.7 km)
  • Eastern Market (2.6 mi/ 4.2 km)
  • Georgetown (3.0 mi/ 4.8 km)

Hotel Map

38.8993 -77.0265
Nearby airports
Reagan National Airport, (DCA), 5.50, MI, N; Washington Dulles Intl Airport, (IAD), 27.00, MI, NE; Baltimore/Washington Intl Airport, (BWI), 32.00, MI, SW;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grand Hyatt Washington also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Grand Hyatt Washington Rooms

Club
View Floors, Lounge Access, Continental Breakfast: Hors d oeuvres: Robe
Standard
The entire hotel and facilities are non-smoking. Number of beds varies from the room types: King or 2 double beds /Capicity per room varies from bed type. Newly renovated guest rooms, upgrade furniture in rich mahogany wood, luxury bathroom with cres

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Executive level
FEMA approved
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Sauna
Children's activities
Golf
Jogging track
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Nursery for children
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Video checkout
Gift shop
Copy service
News stand
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Projector
White board
Conference suite
Computer rental
Easel
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
Turndown service
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.2 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.2 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.2 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.3 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.4 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.4 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.2 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.2 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.2 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.3 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.4 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.4 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.5 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.5 mi
  • National Archives: 0.5 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.5 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 0.6 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.6 mi
  • Newseum: 0.6 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 0.6 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.6 mi
  • Blair House: 0.7 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 0.7 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.7 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.7 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 0.7 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.7 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 0.7 mi
  • Ripley Center: 0.7 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.8 mi
  • National Mall: 0.8 mi
  • Arthur M Sackler Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Arts and Industries Building: 0.8 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Sackler Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • National Museum of African Art: 0.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (620)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Hyatt Washington

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
620 out of 620
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SoCal121
LA, CA
Jan 8, 2013

Night out

Hotel was very nice and staff was excellent. Walls are a little thin, you could hear toilet flushing from next door and the guests laughing and talking

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Washington, D.C., USA
Aug 4, 2011

Nice Room. Comfortable chairs.

We got on the Metro and got off at Pentagon City Mall. The Metro was too far for us to walk. Coming from the Hotel to buy tickets was NOT air- conditioned. We were sweating so badly. The rest of the Metro train system was air-conditioned. We went shopping and to the "Day Spa." We also went shopping in the shops at the hotel gift shops. We ate at all the hotel restaurants. The food was good and hot. The staff were all really nice and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take a cab. Parking is not the greatest in Washington D.C. or the hotel. Everywhere is between $8 to $20 to get around town each way.

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Washington DC
Aug 1, 2011

Excellent

Great location and accommodations

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

N/A

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Washington DC
Aug 1, 2011

Excellent

Great location and accommodations

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

N/A

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Baton Rouge, LA
Jul 26, 2011

Not Clean

I initally had to change rooms upon check in as I was given an atrium room and the sliding glass doors would not fully close-just enough room for the toddler to get through, not enough room for an adult to get through to get him. The second room we were in was not clean! I reported a very specific list of items to housekeeping: Trash behind dresser (clearly visible when I sat down on the bed to take off my shoes), trash left by the previous person in the room on top of the dresser, what looked like a dark liquid sprayed on the bathroom door to above the doorknob level, dirty backsplash (toothpaste foam i hope) clearly visible, hair in the bathtub, and a mini-fridge that had 1/2 inch of water in the bottom. Housekeeping took care of the following: removal of trash and wiping portions of door. I complained again the next day. The door was still not taken care of, I washed the tub, the refrigerator was not changed out (I guess I understand this), the door was not wiped, the backsplash was not wiped (all week). I became weary of complaining. I was on vacation after all. Upon checkout, the breakfast that they "comped" me was still on the bill. Why should I have to take care of this? There are other things, including the floor was not vacuumed all week based on floor debris, but this review is too long already. Suffice to say, I have never taken time to do one of these, but do not stay in this hotel. It is not a 4-star hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Baton Rouge, LA
Jul 26, 2011

Not Clean

I initally had to change rooms upon check in as I was given an atrium room and the sliding glass doors would not fully close-just enough room for the toddler to get through, not enough room for an adult to get through to get him. The second room we were in was not clean! I reported a very specific list of items to housekeeping: Trash behind dresser (clearly visible when I sat down on the bed to take off my shoes), trash left by the previous person in the room on top of the dresser, what looked like a dark liquid sprayed on the bathroom door to above the doorknob level, dirty backsplash (toothpaste foam i hope) clearly visible, hair in the bathtub, and a mini-fridge that had 1/2 inch of water in the bottom. Housekeeping took care of the following: removal of trash and wiping portions of door. I complained again the next day. The door was still not taken care of, I washed the tub, the refrigerator was not changed out (I guess I understand this), the door was not wiped, the backsplash was not wiped (all week). I became weary of complaining. I was on vacation after all. Upon checkout, the breakfast that they "comped" me was still on the bill. Why should I have to take care of this? There are other things, including the floor was not vacuumed all week based on floor debris, but this review is too long already. Suffice to say, I have never taken time to do one of these, but do not stay in this hotel. It is not a 4-star hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
NEW YORK
Jul 19, 2011

Overal GOOD

The only real problem was about the Noise we could hear from next room !!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Street Parking is available, Also some close by Parking Lots are half the price of the Hotel Parking lot

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
NEW YORK
Jul 19, 2011

Overal GOOD

The only real problem was about the Noise we could hear from next room !!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Street Parking is available, Also some close by Parking Lots are half the price of the Hotel Parking lot

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Virginia
Jul 11, 2011

Great location!

This hotel is beautiful and perfectly located within walking distance of the mall, museums, and china town. Parking is a bit expensive, so I rode the metro in. The metro stop is on the same block as the hotel, so it doesn't get more convenient than that! There are plenty of dining options at different price points in and around the hotel and the hotel staff are friendly and helpful. The only downside is that they charge $15.99 for each 24hrs of wireless for [...]customers and they don't let you earn reward points when booking through [...]. Felt a bit punished for that, but hey, it was more than $100 less than their regular room price! The bed was super comfy and the room was very clean and well ventilated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

The basement of the hotel connects to the Metro Center metro stop. Take the metro in or use public parking nearby for about $15/day because hotel parking is $30/day.

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Virginia
Jul 11, 2011

Great location!

This hotel is beautiful and perfectly located within walking distance of the mall, museums, and china town. Parking is a bit expensive, so I rode the metro in. The metro stop is on the same block as the hotel, so it doesn't get more convenient than that! There are plenty of dining options at different price points in and around the hotel and the hotel staff are friendly and helpful. The only downside is that they charge $15.99 for each 24hrs of wireless for [...]customers and they don't let you earn reward points when booking through [...]. Felt a bit punished for that, but hey, it was more than $100 less than their regular room price! The bed was super comfy and the room was very clean and well ventilated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

The basement of the hotel connects to the Metro Center metro stop. Take the metro in or use public parking nearby for about $15/day because hotel parking is $30/day.

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Artiste
Orlando, Florida
Jul 7, 2011

Not what I paid for...but fine

I booked, and was guaranteed,three nights for an atrium view room with two double beds. When I arrived, there were no doubles available, so they had to cram us into a king room...with rollaways (ugh!..they are awful!) for the first evening. The desk was super apologetic, but there was nothing they could do. The second and third evenings we were moved to a double...but not the atrium view. Aside from that, our stay was great. The hotel has its own Starbucks in the lobby (always a plus!), sits above a Metro stop,is close to great shopping and restaurants, and very clean. The staff is helpful and friendly, and eager to assist with any problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Just a ten minute walk to the National Mall...or a short Metro trip (or taxi cab ride) to Georgetown, the National Cathedral, Zoo, or Arlington attractions.

Back to menu Return to top