$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 27, 2015 Check-out: Mar 28, 2015

Grand Hyatt Washington

4 stars
View map of 1000 H STREET NW, WASHINGTON, DC 20001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Grand Hyatt Washington

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
492 out of 492
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Frank and Mary Ann
Business
Lansing, MI, USA
Nov 29, 2011

Excellent for DC tourists

Grand Hyatt is perfect for DC tourists...with Metro station accessible from Grand Hyatt lobby...just couple of stops from Union Station (we came to DC via Amtrak) and Smithsonian (although also just 10-15 minute beautiful walk). Chinatown just a couple of blocks away....safe, busy neighboring streets. Room was excellent value...good-sized room and bathroom. Large flat screen TV for the end of the day when we were too tired for anything else. Small issue that didn't have bath mat...but that's how hard it was to find something negative. Excellent Thanksgiving buffet. Concierge was very helpful. Rooms quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Get to the Smithsonians early in the day...by mid/late pm they get very crowded. Air and Space and Natural Science are crowd favorites....but give American History and American Indian (yes, they don't call it Native American) a try. Indian museum beautiful and you can see that it is newest addition to Smithsonians....more thematic approach, lots of photos and panels....less "whole bunch of stuff behind glass"

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Josh R
Business
Lancaster, PA, USA
Nov 29, 2011

Very Nice!

Very nice hotel, top of the line! It was in an awesome location, just blocks from the White House, National Mall, Ford's Theatre. All the touristy type of spots, such as museums, were within walking distance. The metro runs right under the hotel (Metro Centre) which is extremely convenient. The only problem w/ this hotel is that the rooms are not insulated well and you can hear a lot of noise. But otherwise, very clean and I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
First Visit to DC
Business
Warminster, PA 18974, USA
Nov 28, 2011

employees

The staff was excellant. Phillips at the buffet breakfast was so nice and friendly. Jonathon at the concierge desk gave us excellannt service. His recommendation for restraunts in the area was spot on. Keep up the good work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
gentlemen
Business
lombard, il.
Nov 28, 2011

great vacation spot

had an excellent time . staff was very nice and friendly and they were able to answer and help with anything i needed info about

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
smanzoni
Business
Managua, Nicaragua
Nov 27, 2011

We'll be back!!!

Great stay! The location is great, room was so comfy and clean, the staff is very kind and the room service is simply AWESOME!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chef J
Business
Raleigh,NC
Nov 26, 2011

Great Time

Location was great, and the hotel is beautiful. The staff is very accommodating the only draw back is the parking charge. I would stay there again in a future trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Capital Brewery very good across from hotel. and Clydes was excellent for diner, great food & staff. Only a 2 block walk from hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gary G
Business
Tennessee, USA
Nov 24, 2011

Early Check-In

Arrived 3 hrs before check-in time, when approached the froint desk to simply ensure my reservation was good, they allowed me to check in early without any additional cost. Was a little caught off guard by have to pay for Internet service but I didn't need it so it was no big deal. Staff was friendly and the place was very clean and located within the vicinity of all the sites. Would stay again without question!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
gentle
Business
Orlando, FL, USA
Nov 22, 2011

do not use

Did not have the 2 twin beds we confirmed. Tried to put us in a room with a pull out sofa and a rollaway. Finally gave us a room on the third floor with a busy street outside and no sound proof windows. No safe in room. No electrical outlet by bed without moving the whole bed and headboard. Felt because we booked through an outside firm we were not considered value customers

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Aaron M.
Business
Virginia
Nov 20, 2011

Most excellent experience

This is a fantastic hotel. I found it last minute and the price (off-season) was quite reasonable. The hotel was beautiful, with a 12-story glass-roofed atrium, which our room overlooked. The room, as well as the entire hotel, was tastefully decorated and super clean. The beds were the most comfortable hotel beds I've ever slept in. We spent a couple of hours in the fitness center, which was well equipped, including a small but adequate pool, plus sauna and steamroom. The staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful. The valet service was timely in getting our vehicle when requested, although I felt that it was a bit pricey at $40 a day, with little other option available for parking. We didn't try the Cure Bar and Bistro in the hotel, but it looked very nice and patrons seemed to be enjoying themselves. The location was perfect, as we were attending an event at the convention center, an easy 10 min. walk. The surrounding area was loaded with options for food and entertainment for any budget and DC sites and museums are within walking distance or a short drive. Overall, a great find. I would recommend this hotel to friends and family without hesitation and will likely be staying there on my next trip to the Capitol.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LDubb
Business
Bowie, MD, USA
Oct 30, 2011

Great Relaxing Weekend Getaway

My experience was very relaxing and enjoyed a nice breakfast buffet on sunday morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top