$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 28, 2015 Check-out: Aug 29, 2015

Grand Hyatt Washington

4 stars
View map of 1000 H STREET NW, WASHINGTON, DC 20001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Grand Hyatt Washington

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
482 out of 482
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Top Notch
Couples
Manhattan, New York, NY, USA
Dec 19, 2011

Great DC Location

This hotel was very convenient for all the DC attractions. The restaurants were very good indeed. A trip into Georgetown is very worthwhile. Just a short cab ride.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
wkndtraveler
Couples
Connecticut, USA
Dec 12, 2011

Weekend Getaway

This hotel worked out well for a quick weekend get away. The hotel was comfortable, clean and offered several amenities. The location was in Downtown DC, meaning there really wasn't anything happening in the area. We used the metro (which was accessible from the hotel) to get to other areas of the city for food and entertainment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NCSSmember
Couples
Rochester, MN, USA
Dec 6, 2011

Excellent Stay

The hotel staff was excellent. They were eager to help and provided excellent directions to restaurants (even coupons!). The room was very clean and had fridge. The only downside was the lack of free wifi. We would have really loved that. We made due because we have smart phones. That fact aside, we have pretty much come to expect free wifi.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Zaytinya is an incredible tapas restaurant! It was close to the restaurant (about 3 or 4 blocks). The service was incredible and the food was even better!

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Does not apply
Couples
Eastern Shore of Maryland
Nov 30, 2011

A good find! We'll visit again.

From the courteous welcome upon pulling into the hotel's driveway, to the excellent directions to get us on our return trip, the hotel's staff are to be commended. Everyone we encountered: reception, concierge, doorman, was professional and helpful. Our stay was on Thanksgiving day and everything was wonderful. The hotel decorations really launched us into the Holiday spirit. The room was immaculate. The concierge found a terrific restaurant off premises that satisfied the need to do something "different." At the end of our evening we enjoyed the slide show in the cafe bar as we sipped after-dinner drinks. It was a perfect ending to a lovely day in the city. I highly recommend the hotel and am looking for an "excuse" to visit again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Waterfront restaurant Sequoia was an excellent recommendation, although a little difficult to access by taxi. (Portion of the street not opened to vehicle traffic; therefore a longer walk than expected.)

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Frank and Mary Ann
Couples
Lansing, MI, USA
Nov 29, 2011

Excellent for DC tourists

Grand Hyatt is perfect for DC tourists...with Metro station accessible from Grand Hyatt lobby...just couple of stops from Union Station (we came to DC via Amtrak) and Smithsonian (although also just 10-15 minute beautiful walk). Chinatown just a couple of blocks away....safe, busy neighboring streets. Room was excellent value...good-sized room and bathroom. Large flat screen TV for the end of the day when we were too tired for anything else. Small issue that didn't have bath mat...but that's how hard it was to find something negative. Excellent Thanksgiving buffet. Concierge was very helpful. Rooms quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Get to the Smithsonians early in the day...by mid/late pm they get very crowded. Air and Space and Natural Science are crowd favorites....but give American History and American Indian (yes, they don't call it Native American) a try. Indian museum beautiful and you can see that it is newest addition to Smithsonians....more thematic approach, lots of photos and panels....less "whole bunch of stuff behind glass"

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Josh R
Couples
Lancaster, PA, USA
Nov 29, 2011

Very Nice!

Very nice hotel, top of the line! It was in an awesome location, just blocks from the White House, National Mall, Ford's Theatre. All the touristy type of spots, such as museums, were within walking distance. The metro runs right under the hotel (Metro Centre) which is extremely convenient. The only problem w/ this hotel is that the rooms are not insulated well and you can hear a lot of noise. But otherwise, very clean and I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
First Visit to DC
Couples
Warminster, PA 18974, USA
Nov 28, 2011

employees

The staff was excellant. Phillips at the buffet breakfast was so nice and friendly. Jonathon at the concierge desk gave us excellannt service. His recommendation for restraunts in the area was spot on. Keep up the good work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
smanzoni
Family
Managua, Nicaragua
Nov 27, 2011

We'll be back!!!

Great stay! The location is great, room was so comfy and clean, the staff is very kind and the room service is simply AWESOME!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chef J
Family
Raleigh,NC
Nov 26, 2011

Great Time

Location was great, and the hotel is beautiful. The staff is very accommodating the only draw back is the parking charge. I would stay there again in a future trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Capital Brewery very good across from hotel. and Clydes was excellent for diner, great food & staff. Only a 2 block walk from hotel.

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gary G
Family
Tennessee, USA
Nov 24, 2011

Early Check-In

Arrived 3 hrs before check-in time, when approached the froint desk to simply ensure my reservation was good, they allowed me to check in early without any additional cost. Was a little caught off guard by have to pay for Internet service but I didn't need it so it was no big deal. Staff was friendly and the place was very clean and located within the vicinity of all the sites. Would stay again without question!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top