$126 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 18, 2014 Check-out: Jul 21, 2014

Grand Hyatt Washington

4 stars
1000 H STREET NW, WASHINGTON, DC 20001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
620 reviews
Grand Hyatt DC

This hotel is one of a few which we would rate as welcoming. We go on a trip but don't stay many... See full review

  • Sennen
  • Jun 24, 2014
Great stay in a perfect location

The Grand Hyatt is located very conveniently and the rooms were very comfortable and up to date. See full review

  • kennyc2014
  • Jun 23, 2014
Upscale hotel for business or pleasure in the heart of DC

Located in DC's hip Penn quarter, the Grand Hyatt Washington is an elegant option for both business and leisure travelers. Five excellent restaurants and bars offer guests a host of dining options. A full-service fitness center and sauna, pool and steam rooms are onsite, and massage therapy and personal trainers are available. There is also a game room and dance floor in the Grand Slam Café, as well as two gift shops, a florist, on-site laundry, dry cleaning and a valet service. Grand Hyatt Washington is within walking distance of the Smithsonian Institution (including the National Museum of Natural History) and Madame Tussauds Wax Museum. Visitors can take a stroll through Georgetown and experience American history, explore the Eastern Market or embark on a tour of historic US memorials, monuments and museums.

Reasons to stay
  • Comprehensive Grand Hyatt Washington guest services
  • Yoga Away™, Grand Slam, fitness, spa
  • US Capitol history, White House, memorials
  • Metro access from the hotel lobby
  • Large fitness club with indoor pool and spa services
Grand Hyatt Washington rooms

Guests staying at the Grand Hyatt Washington can choose from 888 rooms with city and atrium views, including suites, kings, doubles and queens. "Respire by Hyatt" hypo-allergenic hotel rooms are also available, which are designed for guests with allergy sensitivities. Visitors ease into soft, fresh hypo-allergenic sheets on delightful plush beds. Oversized desks with ergonomically correct Herman Miller chairs are in each room. Guests can enjoy TV and movies on 42-inch flat panel screens. High-speed wireless Internet is available (for a fee) within rooms or business facilities. An impressive marble bath with spa amenities offers a place to relax and unwind. In-room video checkout is available.

Things to do nearby
  • Madame Tussauds Wax Museum (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • The Martin Luther King JR Memorial Library (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • International Spy Museum (0.3 mi/ 0.5 km)
  • White House and North Lawn Fountain (0.6 mi/ 0.9 km)
  • United States Capitol Visitor Center (1.0 mi/ 1.6 km)
  • National Museum of the American Indian and Constitution Gardens (1.4 mi/ 2.2 km)
  • US Capitol Building and Smithsonian Institution (1.6 mi/ 2.5 km)
  • Vietnam Memorial (1.7 mi/ 2.7 km)
  • Eastern Market (2.6 mi/ 4.2 km)
  • Georgetown (3.0 mi/ 4.8 km)

Hotel Map

38.8993 -77.0265
Nearby airports
Reagan National Airport, (DCA), 5.50, MI, N; Washington Dulles Intl Airport, (IAD), 27.00, MI, NE; Baltimore/Washington Intl Airport, (BWI), 32.00, MI, SW;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grand Hyatt Washington also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Grand Hyatt Washington Rooms

Club
View Floors, Lounge Access, Continental Breakfast: Hors d oeuvres: Robe
Standard
The entire hotel and facilities are non-smoking. Number of beds varies from the room types: King or 2 double beds /Capicity per room varies from bed type. Newly renovated guest rooms, upgrade furniture in rich mahogany wood, luxury bathroom with cres

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Executive level
FEMA approved
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Sauna
Children's activities
Golf
Jogging track
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Nursery for children
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Video checkout
Gift shop
Copy service
News stand
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Projector
White board
Conference suite
Computer rental
Easel
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
Turndown service
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.2 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.2 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.2 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.3 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.4 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.4 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.2 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.2 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.2 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.3 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.4 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.4 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.5 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.5 mi
  • National Archives: 0.5 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.5 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 0.6 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.6 mi
  • Newseum: 0.6 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 0.6 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.6 mi
  • Blair House: 0.7 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 0.7 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.7 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.7 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 0.7 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.7 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 0.7 mi
  • Ripley Center: 0.7 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.8 mi
  • National Mall: 0.8 mi
  • Arthur M Sackler Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Arts and Industries Building: 0.8 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Sackler Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • National Museum of African Art: 0.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (620)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Hyatt Washington

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
620 out of 620
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Johnny Mac
Middletown, NJ, USA
Sep 1, 2011

Perfect Place to Stay!

This hotel has everything you need! Friendly staff, comfortable rooms, taxis available, and shops/restaurants on the grounds. This was my second time here and I won't stay anywhere else!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the Capitol Brewery across the street!

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jetsetter87
New York, NY, USA
Aug 29, 2011

Luxury hotel, overpriced amenities

I lucked out on a great rate at this hotel at the last minute - $99/night on a weekend. First off, the atrium and the overall design of the hotel is amazing. Very quick elevators and escelators to all lower levels. Also this hotel is in a great location and connected to the metro (w/o setting foot out the front door)! The room was pretty modern (very large flat screen lcd), the bed was comfy, and the room was very spacious. I also enjoyed the fact that the hotel offers 3 different restaraunts (which came in handy for me as I was in town during Hurricane Irene). My main point of feedback for them is around the excess charges for EVERYTHING. Literally nothing you'd expect to be standard is free....the gym costs 10 bucks a day (unless you are just swimming), the business center is pay per min, the in-room wirelss is north of 10 bucks, even local calls have a charge..thank God I didn't have a car, I believe the parking is around $30/day (again, not sure, didn't drive). This is obviously where they make their bread and butter. The operator told me when I asked if it costs to use the fitness center...."nothing in this hotel is free!" and had the audacity to chuckle after saying it. Nice place but very skimpy on the extras.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

This hotel is a short cab or metro ride from several local attractions.

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jetsetter87
New York, NY, USA
Aug 29, 2011

Luxury hotel, overpriced amenities

I lucked out on a great rate at this hotel at the last minute - $99/night on a weekend. First off, the atrium and the overall design of the hotel is amazing. Very quick elevators and escelators to all lower levels. Also this hotel is in a great location and connected to the metro (w/o setting foot out the front door)! The room was pretty modern (very large flat screen lcd), the bed was comfy, and the room was very spacious. I also enjoyed the fact that the hotel offers 3 different restaraunts (which came in handy for me as I was in town during Hurricane Irene). My main point of feedback for them is around the excess charges for EVERYTHING. Literally nothing you'd expect to be standard is free....the gym costs 10 bucks a day (unless you are just swimming), the business center is pay per min, the in-room wirelss is north of 10 bucks, even local calls have a charge..thank God I didn't have a car, I believe the parking is around $30/day (again, not sure, didn't drive). This is obviously where they make their bread and butter. The operator told me when I asked if it costs to use the fitness center...."nothing in this hotel is free!" and had the audacity to chuckle after saying it. Nice place but very skimpy on the extras.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

This hotel is a short cab or metro ride from several local attractions.

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lini5361
Cambridge, MA, USA
Aug 24, 2011

Perfect Location to Explore!

We got another brilliant deal with Orbitz and couldn't believe how centrally located the Grand Hyatt is. The Atirum is a big thing for them, and well...it was nice, but nothing to ooh and ahh over! The room, with a kingsize bed, over looked the atrium and was very comfortable. Although it wasn't as refined as other hotel rooms, it served it's function very well. The bed was very comfortable. Room service was fine, usual prices. Only downside, room was a little too dark! Starbucks and a couple of restaurants are inthe hotel, again all fine. Staying here was perfect as The White House is couple of streets away...as was the tour bus we took; Chinatown mintues away, you really can't go wrong with this hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Chinatown...try Full Kee. Totally unassuming place, great food!

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lini5361
Cambridge, MA, USA
Aug 24, 2011

Perfect Location to Explore!

We got another brilliant deal with Orbitz and couldn't believe how centrally located the Grand Hyatt is. The Atirum is a big thing for them, and well...it was nice, but nothing to ooh and ahh over! The room, with a kingsize bed, over looked the atrium and was very comfortable. Although it wasn't as refined as other hotel rooms, it served it's function very well. The bed was very comfortable. Room service was fine, usual prices. Only downside, room was a little too dark! Starbucks and a couple of restaurants are inthe hotel, again all fine. Staying here was perfect as The White House is couple of streets away...as was the tour bus we took; Chinatown mintues away, you really can't go wrong with this hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Chinatown...try Full Kee. Totally unassuming place, great food!

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sophie
Canton, OH, USA
Aug 22, 2011

Great Place to Stay!

The hotel is centrally located in DC. They have valet parking for your entire stay so it eliminates a big headache. The hotel is beautiful, the rooms are clean and the staff was really nice. I was thoroughly pleased with the Grand Hyatt.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Look into bus tours with on/off stops. It's alot of walking and the buses take you to everything, you can get off at any time and aback on again.

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sophie
Canton, OH, USA
Aug 22, 2011

Great Place to Stay!

The hotel is centrally located in DC. They have valet parking for your entire stay so it eliminates a big headache. The hotel is beautiful, the rooms are clean and the staff was really nice. I was thoroughly pleased with the Grand Hyatt.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Look into bus tours with on/off stops. It's alot of walking and the buses take you to everything, you can get off at any time and aback on again.

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
60th Birthday Guy
The Buckeye State
Aug 15, 2011

Visiting Washington based son

Great location. Beautiful Hotel. Accomodating Staff. Suprised there was no newspaper in the morning

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Newseum is worth the price of admission. The history of print jounalism from past to present.

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
60th Birthday Guy
The Buckeye State
Aug 15, 2011

Visiting Washington based son

Great location. Beautiful Hotel. Accomodating Staff. Suprised there was no newspaper in the morning

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Newseum is worth the price of admission. The history of print jounalism from past to present.

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Washington, D.C., USA
Aug 4, 2011

Nice Room. Comfortable chairs.

We got on the Metro and got off at Pentagon City Mall. The Metro was too far for us to walk. Coming from the Hotel to buy tickets was NOT air- conditioned. We were sweating so badly. The rest of the Metro train system was air-conditioned. We went shopping and to the "Day Spa." We also went shopping in the shops at the hotel gift shops. We ate at all the hotel restaurants. The food was good and hot. The staff were all really nice and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take a cab. Parking is not the greatest in Washington D.C. or the hotel. Everywhere is between $8 to $20 to get around town each way.

Back to menu Return to top