$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

Grand Hyatt Washington

4 stars
View map of 1000 H STREET NW, WASHINGTON, DC 20001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Grand Hyatt Washington

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
483 out of 483
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SoCal121
Couples
LA, CA
Jan 8, 2013

Night out

Hotel was very nice and staff was excellent. Walls are a little thin, you could hear toilet flushing from next door and the guests laughing and talking

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
NYCRoadWarrior
Family
NY, NY
Apr 15, 2012

Looks can be deceiving

Great hotel on paper and in pictures, but digging into the details, the economy must have taken its toll on staff as they overall were rude and not customer service focused. Bell hop abandoned our luggage in the middle of the lobby. Was wondering where the luggage was and from my room could see 9 floors above two employees trying to figure out why it was just sitting on the cart unattended! Raced down there and just pushed the cart up myself! Pool was absolutely disgusting,crowded, and unattended. Murky white water with eye tearingly high chlorine. Food was medicore at best at the sports bar and buffett. Wait staff was on the slower side at both.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Doug W
Couples
Hampshire, England
Apr 13, 2012

An enormous, but very comfortable hotel

The blurb in the room describes the hotel as a little city - and it is: shops restaurants, Metro station, etc. We found it to be very comforatble with prices comparable with everywhere in Washington - i.e. high. The room was spacious and well appointed. the only crticism is that it is dimly lit throughout, making it difficult doing your makup (says my wife, I had no problems with mine). We would definitely recommend it. Only a short(ish) walk to the White House and to the Washington Mall & smithsonian Museums. Great, highlty recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Breakfast. Rather than have breakfast in a standard hotel Starbucks - go to the New York Convenience store, New York Ave NW - you walk past it going to the White House. It's a little bruised at the edges, in need of a lick of paint, but you get to meet real Washingtonians and have great subs, bagels and a splendid fruit salad bar - and very cheap.

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
db23
Couples
Minnesota, USA
Apr 12, 2012

Excellent

After a five night stay, I would certainly return to the Grand Hyatt pros: Took the Metro straight from the airport to the hotel. Every staff person I talked to was very friendly and professional. location couldn't be beat - chinatown, capital, white house, smithsonian - all within walking distance. We bought a pass to the hop on and off bus tour. One of the stops was the Ford Theater, just a couple blocks away. The room was clean, big screen TV, even a small refrigerator (a pleasant surprise). I read some negative comments about the bathroom, but ours was fine. Believe it or not - construction across the street. The noise was never a problem and the first couple of days while we were still getting our bearings, we could see the cranes from blocks away - a good landmark. cons: The walls are thin. We could clearly hear an infant in the next room crying every night. Soap and shampoo are very heavily perfumed. If you have environmental allergies or don't want to smell flowery, bring your own. The coffee shop closes early.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travel Grandma
Couples
Havertown, PA
Apr 10, 2012

Fabulous time with our Grandson

Picked this hotel since the public transportation came right under our hotel from Amtrak which was wonderful for us. We took the train from Phila. and took the Metro to Grand Hyatt Hotel! Every place we had to go, we could either walk to or take the Metro. The Metro is so so clean and so easy. The room was just average in size and no great view since it was on the first floor versus being on the 12th floor!! But we would definitely stay there again because of the cleanliness and the location! Went through the White House with my Grandson who is an intern there this Semester. It was fantastic!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MagsChiTown
Single
Chicago, IL
Apr 9, 2012

A wonderful hotel in the heart of Washington DC

This was my first trip to Washington D.C., and in my research I wanted a hotel that was closed to all the places that I wanted to see. Grand Hyatt met all of my expectations.I have to say this hotel is one of the best that I have ever stayed at. The amenities that the hotel offers allowed me keep in touch with work, but enjoy my vacation at the same time.The staff are friendly and very helpful. This is a hotel I will definitely use again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If you decide to walk to the local attractions bring some comfy shoes. Recommend the double decker tour bus, it allows to see more of D.C. then if you were on your own.

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
smitha1123aa
Family
cbus
Apr 8, 2012

family trip

great hotel - all a la carte, $40 for parking, $10 for wifi

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lolo68
Family
Charlton, NY
Apr 6, 2012

Great family trip

Everything was great - the only complaint I have is that they charge for wifi - I thought that was pretty cheap - other than that a great hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ttam
Business
New Prague, MN 56071, USA
Apr 4, 2012

Great Location...In the heart of DC

I've stayed in several DC hotels...the Grand Hyatt rates near the top!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mike and Ko
Family
New Jersey
Apr 4, 2012

Great Stay

My wife and 9 year old daughter stayed here during Spring Break and were very happy. Everything about the hotel and staff was excellent and the location for sightseeing is great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

The night time monuments bus trip is a must for your first day.

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
satisfied dad
Family
baltimore, md
Mar 28, 2012

awesome weekend getaway

superb services and amenities...highly recommendable to our friends...the location is excellent, in the middle of most of the attractions for a very reasonable and economical price of stay...we'll surely try this again and again in the future...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top