Grand Hyatt Washington

4 stars
1000 H STREET NW, WASHINGTON, DC 20001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
625 reviews
Great stay for parents' getaway

We had unexpected extra time in DC and since this hotel is centrally located, it was perfect for... See full review

  • Joy Educator
  • Jul 15, 2014
Great Time

I stayed at this hotel for the first time. it is conveniently located to a metro station. It's... See full review

  • Didi7484
  • Jul 15, 2014
Modern twelve story atrium hotel located 5 blocks from the Washington Convention Center and between the White House and Capitol Hill. This upscale hotel offers exceptional value for the business and leisure traveler. The Grand Hyatt Washington is located at Penn Quarter, with direct in lobby access to the metro. Beginning November 1, 2012 through March 5, 2013, the hotel will be undergoing a $23 Million renovation of all guestrooms, suites and guest corridors. The Grand Club will be closed starting December 15, 2012 after PM service and will reopen on January 2, 2013 for PM service. We care about making this process as seamless to you as possible, and therefore will make every attempt to isolate the work areas from our guest contact areas. We cannot wait to share our grand new rooms with you.

Grand Hyatt Washington Rooms

Business Plan
Description not provided
Club
View Floors, Lounge Access, Continental Breakfast: Hors d oeuvres: Robe
Standard
The entire hotel and facilities are non-smoking. Number of beds varies from the room types: King, 2 double beds or 1 Queen /Capicity per room varies from bed type. Newly renovated guest rooms, upgrade furniture in rich mahogany wood, luxury bathroom w

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Executive level
FEMA approved
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Sauna
Children's activities
Golf
Jogging track
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Nursery for children
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Video checkout
Gift shop
Copy service
News stand
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Projector
White board
Conference suite
Computer rental
Easel
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
Turndown service
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Hotel Map

38.8993 -77.0265
Nearby airports
Reagan National Airport, (DCA), 5.50, MI, N; Washington Dulles Intl Airport, (IAD), 27.00, MI, NE; Baltimore/Washington Intl Airport, (BWI), 32.00, MI, SW;
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.2 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.2 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.2 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.3 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.4 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.4 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.2 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.2 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.2 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.3 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.4 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.4 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.5 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.5 mi
  • National Archives: 0.5 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.5 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 0.6 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.6 mi
  • Newseum: 0.6 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 0.6 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.6 mi
  • Blair House: 0.7 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 0.7 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.7 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.7 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 0.7 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.7 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 0.7 mi
  • Ripley Center: 0.7 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.8 mi
  • National Mall: 0.8 mi
  • Arthur M Sackler Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Arts and Industries Building: 0.8 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Sackler Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • National Museum of African Art: 0.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (625)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Hyatt Washington

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
625 out of 625
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gary G
Tennessee, USA
Nov 24, 2011

Early Check-In

Arrived 3 hrs before check-in time, when approached the froint desk to simply ensure my reservation was good, they allowed me to check in early without any additional cost. Was a little caught off guard by have to pay for Internet service but I didn't need it so it was no big deal. Staff was friendly and the place was very clean and located within the vicinity of all the sites. Would stay again without question!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
gentle
Orlando, FL, USA
Nov 22, 2011

do not use

Did not have the 2 twin beds we confirmed. Tried to put us in a room with a pull out sofa and a rollaway. Finally gave us a room on the third floor with a busy street outside and no sound proof windows. No safe in room. No electrical outlet by bed without moving the whole bed and headboard. Felt because we booked through an outside firm we were not considered value customers

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Aaron M.
Virginia
Nov 20, 2011

Most excellent experience

This is a fantastic hotel. I found it last minute and the price (off-season) was quite reasonable. The hotel was beautiful, with a 12-story glass-roofed atrium, which our room overlooked. The room, as well as the entire hotel, was tastefully decorated and super clean. The beds were the most comfortable hotel beds I've ever slept in. We spent a couple of hours in the fitness center, which was well equipped, including a small but adequate pool, plus sauna and steamroom. The staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful. The valet service was timely in getting our vehicle when requested, although I felt that it was a bit pricey at $40 a day, with little other option available for parking. We didn't try the Cure Bar and Bistro in the hotel, but it looked very nice and patrons seemed to be enjoying themselves. The location was perfect, as we were attending an event at the convention center, an easy 10 min. walk. The surrounding area was loaded with options for food and entertainment for any budget and DC sites and museums are within walking distance or a short drive. Overall, a great find. I would recommend this hotel to friends and family without hesitation and will likely be staying there on my next trip to the Capitol.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LDubb
Bowie, MD, USA
Oct 30, 2011

Great Relaxing Weekend Getaway

My experience was very relaxing and enjoyed a nice breakfast buffet on sunday morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jmtst28
Pittsburgh, PA
Oct 17, 2011

Hotel review

Hotel was beautiful and was in the perfect location. Could not have asked to stay at a better place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
bellaluna
North Carolina
Oct 16, 2011

great value in the center of it all

We chose the Grand Hyatt because it is very close to the National Press Club and also it was a great value being so close to all the downtown attractions. The staff was very helpful with our questions, and provided a map of the area. We were able to walk to the monuments and the museums. We checked in an hour early with no problems. The room was clean, the beds very comfortable, and the view of the atrium is beautiful. Having a Starbucks on site is wonderful. The only hitch was the cost for valet parking which was a surprise as I didn't see it posted on the website. However, when I asked if valet parking was only good until check-out (11am) I was told that we could leave the car parked even AFTER check out since it was 24 hours worth. That was a nice touch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Derrick F.
Jacksonville, FL, USA
Oct 12, 2011

clean and great location!!

Hotel staff very friendly clean hotel and within walking distance to all attractions...only negative is parking cost $12.00 a day!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Berwyn
Stony Brook, New York, NY, USA
Oct 3, 2011

Good room, expensive food

Enjoyed the room, staff very helpful, but made the mistake of going for the $20 breakfast. Better value is available at the Starbucks/Deli over in the corner of the lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Berwyn
Stony Brook, New York, NY, USA
Oct 3, 2011

Good room, expensive food

Enjoyed the room, staff very helpful, but made the mistake of going for the $20 breakfast. Better value is available at the Starbucks/Deli over in the corner of the lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bostonian loves DC
Boston, MA, USA
Oct 2, 2011

great hotel

Excellent. Great location, central to the mall and lots of other historic buildings

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

China town and great restaurants are just two blocks away with great food

Back to menu Return to top