$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 6, 2015 Check-out: Sep 7, 2015

Grand Hyatt Washington

4 stars
View map of 1000 H STREET NW, WASHINGTON, DC 20001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Grand Hyatt Washington

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
484 out of 484
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MAD DOG12
Single
Oneonta, NY
May 23, 2012

bad staff

I checked in late on Friday night in prom season. Understandably a trying night, but it doesn't excuse the desk clerk trying to get me to stay in a conference room with a pull out couch instead of the room that I booked. He did offer me free internet, ..(really!?) 10.99 ) and a free breakfast in exchange for my back though. To top it off they put a $50 hold on my card that they have yet to release 5 days later. Not good. And I used to work for Hyatt, and prided myself on it. They should be embarrassed. And no one will answer the phone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ernest Business Traveler
Business
Hampton, VA
May 23, 2012

Great Place to stay, the Hotel is beautiful

I have stayed before and it is one of the finer hotels in the DC area. The service is great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Donna and Ted
Couples
Castle Rock, CO, USA
Apr 24, 2012

Very nice!

This hotel was Very nice, the staff extra friendly, especially Carlos our breakfast waiter. Location was perfect as we could walk to everything in DC. Only 2 things which ruined our vacation budget: 1. $40 a day to park which the hotel cannot control. 2. We were told that breakfast was included in the room fee. I even asked our first morning and was told "yes, just give them your room #." It was not included! We were charged $46 a day plus tip and we were staying 5 nights! We did not know until the last day when our Visa account was charged with the total. Not a pleasant surprise. But the hotel was spotless and friendly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
L.Carr
Friends
Winchester, VA, USA
Apr 23, 2012

Failed to notify of overbooking

I often stay at this hotel and was appalled when I arrived the day of check in and was told they made an error and overbooked. I understand this happens but was furious that I made the drive out there to be told my room was downgraded from a 2 queen bed to a queen pullout. Not a queen bed w/ a pullout but just a pullout!The clerk tried to bring light to the situation by giving me free breakfast and $40 credit but it didn't make up for the amount I paid and the room I originally choose. She then told me there was no way to contact me to inform me that they didn't have a room but yet upon booking you are required to enter your contact information. I didn't even know rooms like that existed. The hotel overall is lovely and the best in my book so I would recommend to others but call beforehand to make sure they didn't give your room up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sjaak
Family
Boston, MA, USA
Apr 21, 2012

good

the hotel is very fancy,and close to the famous attractions.the house keeping lady was not friendly enough.my daughter lost one of her shoes in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LindaP
Couples
Richmond VA
Apr 17, 2012

Great location, wonderful staff

Just got back from a wonderful weekend in DC. Hotel is perfectly situated. Staff was amazing. Concierge desk provided great suggestions, whether we called from the street or asked at the desk. They even helped us navigate the roads when we got stuck in very heavy traffic by the National Mall. Rooms are nice though we faced a construction site so kept the curtains closed. There were no toiletries when we arrived but within minutes of calling the front desk a fresh supply and extra towels were delivered. Hotel staff really made us feel special.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
WT Sherman
Family
Denver, CO, USA
Apr 17, 2012

A "Grand Place" to stay

I really would like to praise this hotel and it's location but the word filter used on this site won't allow it. There was nothing obscene or and product endorsements. Not sure what this site considers allowable. Thanks anyway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you are staying in DC to see the mall and the monuments, fly into R---- International (not Dulles) and take the Metro right to the H----'s back door; it will save you $65 in cab fare each way. Also don't miss the other half of the Air and Space Museum located next to Dulles. But, go there on the Metro to Rosslyn and take the 5A bus to Dulles. There's a $.50 bus ride from Dulles to the A&S Museum at stop 2E. Enjoy

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
readyforabreakMOM
Family
Leonia, NJ
Apr 16, 2012

Family Friendly Hotel

We never took the car out of garage or used Metro. All the museums were walking distance and even the Cherry Blossom Parade was only a few blocks away, The staff at Cure Bistro and Bar is very friendly and even served a free cocktail of which they had made too much. The kids enjoyed the "fashion show" of guests coming in dressed up for a party while hanging out in the spacious beautiful lobby. The Concierge was very helpful and knowledgable giving recommendations on family type restaurant. We truly enjoyed our stay at this beautiful hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
raef
Family
north carolina
Apr 16, 2012

family vacation

great location and time.well worth the money.exactly what they promised.very friendly and helpful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tarpon Fisherman
Family
Sarasota, FL
Apr 16, 2012

Great Location ,nice hotel.

The staff needs to get their act together a bit . We were first sent to a room that the people had not checked out of . They delivered a requested crib to our room but when we returned from dinner they had removed it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: In Hotel

Breakfast Buffet is reasonable but very generic.

Back to menu Return to top