Grand Hyatt Washington

4 stars
1000 H STREET NW, WASHINGTON, DC 20001
Hotel Overview

4.2/5

Overall score

93%

Would recommend

Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2
Upscale hotel for business or pleasure in the heart of DC

Located in DC's hip Penn quarter, the Grand Hyatt Washington is an elegant option for both business and leisure travelers. Five excellent restaurants and bars offer guests a host of dining options. A full-service fitness center and sauna, pool and steam rooms are onsite, and massage therapy and personal trainers are available. There is also a game room and dance floor in the Grand Slam Cafe, as well as two gift shops, a florist, on-site laundry, dry cleaning and a valet service. Grand Hyatt Washington is within walking distance of the Smithsonian Institution (including the National Museum of Natural History) and Madame Tussauds Wax Museum. Visitors can take a stroll through Georgetown and experience American history, explore the Eastern Market or embark on a tour of historic US memorials, monuments and museums.

Reasons to stay
  • Comprehensive Grand Hyatt Washington guest services
  • Yoga Away™, Grand Slam, fitness, spa
  • US Capitol history, White House, memorials
  • Metro access from the hotel lobby
  • Large fitness club with indoor pool and spa services
Grand Hyatt Washington rooms

Guests staying at the Grand Hyatt Washington can choose from 888 rooms with city and atrium views, including suites, kings, doubles and queens. "Respire by Hyatt" hypo-allergenic hotel rooms are also available, which are designed for guests with allergy sensitivities. Visitors ease into soft, fresh hypo-allergenic sheets on delightful plush beds. Oversized desks with ergonomically correct Herman Miller chairs are in each room. Guests can enjoy TV and movies on 42-inch flat panel screens. High-speed wireless Internet is available (for a fee) within rooms or business facilities. An impressive marble bath with spa amenities offers a place to relax and unwind. In-room video checkout is available.

Things to do nearby
  • Madame Tussauds Wax Museum (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • The Martin Luther King JR Memorial Library (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • International Spy Museum (0.3 mi/ 0.5 km)
  • White House and North Lawn Fountain (0.6 mi/ 0.9 km)
  • United States Capitol Visitor Center (1.0 mi/ 1.6 km)
  • National Museum of the American Indian and Constitution Gardens (1.4 mi/ 2.2 km)
  • US Capitol Building and Smithsonian Institution (1.6 mi/ 2.5 km)
  • Vietnam Memorial (1.7 mi/ 2.7 km)
  • Eastern Market (2.6 mi/ 4.2 km)
  • Georgetown (3.0 mi/ 4.8 km)
Policies and Fees
The lobby will undergo extensive renovation works from 17 Dec 2014 until April 2015. 

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Grand Hyatt Washington Rooms

Business Plan
Description not provided
Club
View Floors, Lounge Access, Continental Breakfast: Hors d oeuvres: Robe
Standard
The entire hotel and facilities are non-smoking. Number of beds varies from the room types: King, 2 double beds or 1 Queen /Capicity per room varies from bed type. Newly renovated guest rooms, upgrade furniture in rich mahogany wood, luxury bathroo

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Executive level
FEMA approved
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Sauna
Children's activities
Golf
Jogging track
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Nursery for children
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Video checkout
Gift shop
Copy service
News stand
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Projector
White board
Conference suite
Computer rental
Easel
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
Turndown service
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Hotel Map

38.8993 -77.0265
Nearby airports
Reagan National Airport, (DCA), 5.50, MI, N; Washington Dulles Intl Airport, (IAD), 27.00, MI, NE; Baltimore/Washington Intl Airport, (BWI), 32.00, MI, SW;
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.2 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.2 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.2 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.3 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.4 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.4 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.2 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.2 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.2 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.3 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.4 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.4 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.5 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.5 mi
  • National Archives: 0.5 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.5 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 0.6 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.6 mi
  • Newseum: 0.6 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 0.6 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.6 mi
  • Blair House: 0.7 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 0.7 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.7 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.7 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 0.7 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.7 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 0.7 mi
  • Ripley Center: 0.7 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.8 mi
  • National Mall: 0.8 mi
  • Arthur M Sackler Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Arts and Industries Building: 0.8 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Sackler Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • National Museum of African Art: 0.8 mi

Dining

CURE Bar Bistro
Seasonal menu includes items such as artisan cheese selections, pork pate, roasted sausage with jam, flat iron steak and bread pudding. The wine, beer and spirit selections are extensive, offering a range of exceptional wines, international beers and u
Cabinet
Breakfast buffet omlet station

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (484)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Hyatt Washington

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
484 out of 484
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LindaP
Business
Richmond VA
Apr 17, 2012

Great location, wonderful staff

Just got back from a wonderful weekend in DC. Hotel is perfectly situated. Staff was amazing. Concierge desk provided great suggestions, whether we called from the street or asked at the desk. They even helped us navigate the roads when we got stuck in very heavy traffic by the National Mall. Rooms are nice though we faced a construction site so kept the curtains closed. There were no toiletries when we arrived but within minutes of calling the front desk a fresh supply and extra towels were delivered. Hotel staff really made us feel special.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
WT Sherman
Business
Denver, CO, USA
Apr 17, 2012

A "Grand Place" to stay

I really would like to praise this hotel and it's location but the word filter used on this site won't allow it. There was nothing obscene or and product endorsements. Not sure what this site considers allowable. Thanks anyway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you are staying in DC to see the mall and the monuments, fly into R---- International (not Dulles) and take the Metro right to the H----'s back door; it will save you $65 in cab fare each way. Also don't miss the other half of the Air and Space Museum located next to Dulles. But, go there on the Metro to Rosslyn and take the 5A bus to Dulles. There's a $.50 bus ride from Dulles to the A&S Museum at stop 2E. Enjoy

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
readyforabreakMOM
Business
Leonia, NJ
Apr 16, 2012

Family Friendly Hotel

We never took the car out of garage or used Metro. All the museums were walking distance and even the Cherry Blossom Parade was only a few blocks away, The staff at Cure Bistro and Bar is very friendly and even served a free cocktail of which they had made too much. The kids enjoyed the "fashion show" of guests coming in dressed up for a party while hanging out in the spacious beautiful lobby. The Concierge was very helpful and knowledgable giving recommendations on family type restaurant. We truly enjoyed our stay at this beautiful hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
raef
Business
north carolina
Apr 16, 2012

family vacation

great location and time.well worth the money.exactly what they promised.very friendly and helpful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tarpon Fisherman
Business
Sarasota, FL
Apr 16, 2012

Great Location ,nice hotel.

The staff needs to get their act together a bit . We were first sent to a room that the people had not checked out of . They delivered a requested crib to our room but when we returned from dinner they had removed it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Breakfast Buffet is reasonable but very generic.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
NYCRoadWarrior
Business
NY, NY
Apr 15, 2012

Looks can be deceiving

Great hotel on paper and in pictures, but digging into the details, the economy must have taken its toll on staff as they overall were rude and not customer service focused. Bell hop abandoned our luggage in the middle of the lobby. Was wondering where the luggage was and from my room could see 9 floors above two employees trying to figure out why it was just sitting on the cart unattended! Raced down there and just pushed the cart up myself! Pool was absolutely disgusting,crowded, and unattended. Murky white water with eye tearingly high chlorine. Food was medicore at best at the sports bar and buffett. Wait staff was on the slower side at both.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Doug W
Business
Hampshire, England
Apr 13, 2012

An enormous, but very comfortable hotel

The blurb in the room describes the hotel as a little city - and it is: shops restaurants, Metro station, etc. We found it to be very comforatble with prices comparable with everywhere in Washington - i.e. high. The room was spacious and well appointed. the only crticism is that it is dimly lit throughout, making it difficult doing your makup (says my wife, I had no problems with mine). We would definitely recommend it. Only a short(ish) walk to the White House and to the Washington Mall & smithsonian Museums. Great, highlty recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Breakfast. Rather than have breakfast in a standard hotel Starbucks - go to the New York Convenience store, New York Ave NW - you walk past it going to the White House. It's a little bruised at the edges, in need of a lick of paint, but you get to meet real Washingtonians and have great subs, bagels and a splendid fruit salad bar - and very cheap.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
db23
Business
Minnesota, USA
Apr 12, 2012

Excellent

After a five night stay, I would certainly return to the Grand Hyatt pros: Took the Metro straight from the airport to the hotel. Every staff person I talked to was very friendly and professional. location couldn't be beat - chinatown, capital, white house, smithsonian - all within walking distance. We bought a pass to the hop on and off bus tour. One of the stops was the Ford Theater, just a couple blocks away. The room was clean, big screen TV, even a small refrigerator (a pleasant surprise). I read some negative comments about the bathroom, but ours was fine. Believe it or not - construction across the street. The noise was never a problem and the first couple of days while we were still getting our bearings, we could see the cranes from blocks away - a good landmark. cons: The walls are thin. We could clearly hear an infant in the next room crying every night. Soap and shampoo are very heavily perfumed. If you have environmental allergies or don't want to smell flowery, bring your own. The coffee shop closes early.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
grandkidsx4
Business
New Bern NC
Apr 11, 2012

history vacation

Its a beautiful hotel, the Meto is right at the hotel so it made it easy to get to and from union station and to other key sites in Washington. Staff was helpful and friendly. They even offer two nights of free movies and popcorn. We will stay there again on our next trip to DC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

China Garden in China Town is worth the short distant to get there. You can take the Metro to China town and then its only a short distant.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travel Grandma
Business
Havertown, PA
Apr 10, 2012

Fabulous time with our Grandson

Picked this hotel since the public transportation came right under our hotel from Amtrak which was wonderful for us. We took the train from Phila. and took the Metro to Grand Hyatt Hotel! Every place we had to go, we could either walk to or take the Metro. The Metro is so so clean and so easy. The room was just average in size and no great view since it was on the first floor versus being on the 12th floor!! But we would definitely stay there again because of the cleanliness and the location! Went through the White House with my Grandson who is an intern there this Semester. It was fantastic!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top