$134 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 29, 2014 Check-out: Aug 31, 2014

Grand Hyatt Washington

4 stars
1000 H STREET NW, WASHINGTON, DC 20001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
455 reviews
great hotel to see the sites

Great location, beautiful hotel, friendly staff, overall a great experience. My only complaint was... See full review

  • preggomom
  • Aug 19, 2014
Excellent place for a DC family vacation!

Rooms were big and clean. The breakfast buffet that was included in the price of the room was... See full review

  • Gold Softball Coach
  • Aug 18, 2014
Upscale hotel for business or pleasure in the heart of DC

Located in DC's hip Penn quarter, the Grand Hyatt Washington is an elegant option for both business and leisure travelers. Five excellent restaurants and bars offer guests a host of dining options. A full-service fitness center and sauna, pool and steam rooms are onsite, and massage therapy and personal trainers are available. There is also a game room and dance floor in the Grand Slam Café, as well as two gift shops, a florist, on-site laundry, dry cleaning and a valet service. Grand Hyatt Washington is within walking distance of the Smithsonian Institution (including the National Museum of Natural History) and Madame Tussauds Wax Museum. Visitors can take a stroll through Georgetown and experience American history, explore the Eastern Market or embark on a tour of historic US memorials, monuments and museums.

Reasons to stay
  • Comprehensive Grand Hyatt Washington guest services
  • Yoga Away™, Grand Slam, fitness, spa
  • US Capitol history, White House, memorials
  • Metro access from the hotel lobby
  • Large fitness club with indoor pool and spa services
Grand Hyatt Washington rooms

Guests staying at the Grand Hyatt Washington can choose from 888 rooms with city and atrium views, including suites, kings, doubles and queens. "Respire by Hyatt" hypo-allergenic hotel rooms are also available, which are designed for guests with allergy sensitivities. Visitors ease into soft, fresh hypo-allergenic sheets on delightful plush beds. Oversized desks with ergonomically correct Herman Miller chairs are in each room. Guests can enjoy TV and movies on 42-inch flat panel screens. High-speed wireless Internet is available (for a fee) within rooms or business facilities. An impressive marble bath with spa amenities offers a place to relax and unwind. In-room video checkout is available.

Things to do nearby
  • Madame Tussauds Wax Museum (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • The Martin Luther King JR Memorial Library (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • International Spy Museum (0.3 mi/ 0.5 km)
  • White House and North Lawn Fountain (0.6 mi/ 0.9 km)
  • United States Capitol Visitor Center (1.0 mi/ 1.6 km)
  • National Museum of the American Indian and Constitution Gardens (1.4 mi/ 2.2 km)
  • US Capitol Building and Smithsonian Institution (1.6 mi/ 2.5 km)
  • Vietnam Memorial (1.7 mi/ 2.7 km)
  • Eastern Market (2.6 mi/ 4.2 km)
  • Georgetown (3.0 mi/ 4.8 km)

Hotel Map

38.8993 -77.0265
Nearby airports
Reagan National Airport, (DCA), 5.50, MI, N; Washington Dulles Intl Airport, (IAD), 27.00, MI, NE; Baltimore/Washington Intl Airport, (BWI), 32.00, MI, SW;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grand Hyatt Washington also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Grand Hyatt Washington Rooms

Business Plan
Description not provided
Club
View Floors, Lounge Access, Continental Breakfast: Hors d oeuvres: Robe
Standard
The entire hotel and facilities are non-smoking. Number of beds varies from the room types: King, 2 double beds or 1 Queen /Capicity per room varies from bed type. Newly renovated guest rooms, upgrade furniture in rich mahogany wood, luxury bathroom w

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Executive level
FEMA approved
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Sauna
Children's activities
Golf
Jogging track
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Nursery for children
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Video checkout
Gift shop
Copy service
News stand
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Projector
White board
Conference suite
Computer rental
Easel
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
Turndown service
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.2 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.2 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.2 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.3 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.4 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.4 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.2 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.2 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.2 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.3 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.4 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.4 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.5 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.5 mi
  • National Archives: 0.5 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.5 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 0.6 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.6 mi
  • Newseum: 0.6 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 0.6 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.6 mi
  • Blair House: 0.7 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 0.7 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.7 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.7 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 0.7 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.7 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 0.7 mi
  • Ripley Center: 0.7 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.8 mi
  • National Mall: 0.8 mi
  • Arthur M Sackler Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Arts and Industries Building: 0.8 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Sackler Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • National Museum of African Art: 0.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (455)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Hyatt Washington

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
455 out of 455
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Doug W
Hampshire, England
Apr 13, 2012

An enormous, but very comfortable hotel

The blurb in the room describes the hotel as a little city - and it is: shops restaurants, Metro station, etc. We found it to be very comforatble with prices comparable with everywhere in Washington - i.e. high. The room was spacious and well appointed. the only crticism is that it is dimly lit throughout, making it difficult doing your makup (says my wife, I had no problems with mine). We would definitely recommend it. Only a short(ish) walk to the White House and to the Washington Mall & smithsonian Museums. Great, highlty recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Breakfast. Rather than have breakfast in a standard hotel Starbucks - go to the New York Convenience store, New York Ave NW - you walk past it going to the White House. It's a little bruised at the edges, in need of a lick of paint, but you get to meet real Washingtonians and have great subs, bagels and a splendid fruit salad bar - and very cheap.

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lini5361
Cambridge, MA, USA
Aug 24, 2011

Perfect Location to Explore!

We got another brilliant deal with Orbitz and couldn't believe how centrally located the Grand Hyatt is. The Atirum is a big thing for them, and well...it was nice, but nothing to ooh and ahh over! The room, with a kingsize bed, over looked the atrium and was very comfortable. Although it wasn't as refined as other hotel rooms, it served it's function very well. The bed was very comfortable. Room service was fine, usual prices. Only downside, room was a little too dark! Starbucks and a couple of restaurants are inthe hotel, again all fine. Staying here was perfect as The White House is couple of streets away...as was the tour bus we took; Chinatown mintues away, you really can't go wrong with this hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Chinatown...try Full Kee. Totally unassuming place, great food!

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mistike
California
Apr 27, 2014

Good hotel, awesome location

The hotel is just 20 minutes away from DCA airport and has a metro exit directly in the lobby. The lobby is stunning, and the "lagon" below a really nice touch. Our room wasn't ready when we arrived (late afternoon) but that was quickly done. Staff was nice, checkin and checkout pretty fast. The bar is really nice, although it closes real early. The location is awesome. A couple of blocks from Chinatown, and all the the national mall is a walk away. I will definitely come back here - whenever I can get a discount.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Chop't right next to Chinatown for a very good, very cheap and made to order salad.

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travel Grandma
Havertown, PA
Apr 10, 2012

Fabulous time with our Grandson

Picked this hotel since the public transportation came right under our hotel from Amtrak which was wonderful for us. We took the train from Phila. and took the Metro to Grand Hyatt Hotel! Every place we had to go, we could either walk to or take the Metro. The Metro is so so clean and so easy. The room was just average in size and no great view since it was on the first floor versus being on the 12th floor!! But we would definitely stay there again because of the cleanliness and the location! Went through the White House with my Grandson who is an intern there this Semester. It was fantastic!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ashley Blanco
Baltimore, MD
Mar 18, 2013

Great weekend away

Came to this hotel for a St.Patricks weekend with my boyfriend. The room was great and the location is right next to a metro stop, so that couldn't have been anymore convenient. The restaurants in the hotel had nice hours but the food was so-so. I unfortunately didn't have enough time to use the spa. Overall we had a great weekend and ill definitely be back next year!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Biah bops
Business
Dc- grand hyatt
Jun 8, 2014

Great location

Poor in service but great location! Bu i will come back! ;)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
washington dc
Jan 18, 2011

hyatt hotel

Had a great stay, very comfortable but a few glitches were, the bellcap staff was painfully slow. They will not allow you to get a cart yourself, so you have to wait and we had to leave. We waited 55 minutes for a bellcap. If they would allow you to get your own cart it would have been no problem, but they wont. Also they have a business center that charges you to use a computer and print. I paid 6.00 to print 4 pages. I thought for it to be a business hotel and travel hub that ammenity would have been included. And people had thrown up by ice machine and it wasnt cleaned until 12pm the next day. The atrium, and the room was very nice but they could work on efficiency and staff!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

great location for entertainment, sports, food.

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Stephy
Illinois
Nov 22, 2012

Beautiful Hotel!

The building looks really great and the room is big and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Miss Lovely
Washington,DC
Jan 8, 2013

A Nice 2013 B.day Getaway!

They accommodated my every need! I enjoyed my stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Clubs, Bars, Food & Play

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
CT.
May 23, 2013

birthday gift

close to everything, nice hotel. These hotels usually are. Parking $ were stupid. They need to do something about that. Parking should not be a profit center.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

it's an Old Grill

Back to menu Return to top

Change search