$126 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 18, 2014 Check-out: Jul 21, 2014

Grand Hyatt Washington

4 stars
1000 H STREET NW, WASHINGTON, DC 20001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
620 reviews
Grand Hyatt DC

This hotel is one of a few which we would rate as welcoming. We go on a trip but don't stay many... See full review

  • Sennen
  • Jun 24, 2014
Great stay in a perfect location

The Grand Hyatt is located very conveniently and the rooms were very comfortable and up to date. See full review

  • kennyc2014
  • Jun 23, 2014
Upscale hotel for business or pleasure in the heart of DC

Located in DC's hip Penn quarter, the Grand Hyatt Washington is an elegant option for both business and leisure travelers. Five excellent restaurants and bars offer guests a host of dining options. A full-service fitness center and sauna, pool and steam rooms are onsite, and massage therapy and personal trainers are available. There is also a game room and dance floor in the Grand Slam Café, as well as two gift shops, a florist, on-site laundry, dry cleaning and a valet service. Grand Hyatt Washington is within walking distance of the Smithsonian Institution (including the National Museum of Natural History) and Madame Tussauds Wax Museum. Visitors can take a stroll through Georgetown and experience American history, explore the Eastern Market or embark on a tour of historic US memorials, monuments and museums.

Reasons to stay
  • Comprehensive Grand Hyatt Washington guest services
  • Yoga Away™, Grand Slam, fitness, spa
  • US Capitol history, White House, memorials
  • Metro access from the hotel lobby
  • Large fitness club with indoor pool and spa services
Grand Hyatt Washington rooms

Guests staying at the Grand Hyatt Washington can choose from 888 rooms with city and atrium views, including suites, kings, doubles and queens. "Respire by Hyatt" hypo-allergenic hotel rooms are also available, which are designed for guests with allergy sensitivities. Visitors ease into soft, fresh hypo-allergenic sheets on delightful plush beds. Oversized desks with ergonomically correct Herman Miller chairs are in each room. Guests can enjoy TV and movies on 42-inch flat panel screens. High-speed wireless Internet is available (for a fee) within rooms or business facilities. An impressive marble bath with spa amenities offers a place to relax and unwind. In-room video checkout is available.

Things to do nearby
  • Madame Tussauds Wax Museum (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • The Martin Luther King JR Memorial Library (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • International Spy Museum (0.3 mi/ 0.5 km)
  • White House and North Lawn Fountain (0.6 mi/ 0.9 km)
  • United States Capitol Visitor Center (1.0 mi/ 1.6 km)
  • National Museum of the American Indian and Constitution Gardens (1.4 mi/ 2.2 km)
  • US Capitol Building and Smithsonian Institution (1.6 mi/ 2.5 km)
  • Vietnam Memorial (1.7 mi/ 2.7 km)
  • Eastern Market (2.6 mi/ 4.2 km)
  • Georgetown (3.0 mi/ 4.8 km)

Hotel Map

38.8993 -77.0265
Nearby airports
Reagan National Airport, (DCA), 5.50, MI, N; Washington Dulles Intl Airport, (IAD), 27.00, MI, NE; Baltimore/Washington Intl Airport, (BWI), 32.00, MI, SW;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grand Hyatt Washington also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Grand Hyatt Washington Rooms

Club
View Floors, Lounge Access, Continental Breakfast: Hors d oeuvres: Robe
Standard
The entire hotel and facilities are non-smoking. Number of beds varies from the room types: King or 2 double beds /Capicity per room varies from bed type. Newly renovated guest rooms, upgrade furniture in rich mahogany wood, luxury bathroom with cres

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Executive level
FEMA approved
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Sauna
Children's activities
Golf
Jogging track
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Nursery for children
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Video checkout
Gift shop
Copy service
News stand
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Projector
White board
Conference suite
Computer rental
Easel
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
Turndown service
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.2 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.2 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.2 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.3 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.4 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.4 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.2 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.2 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.2 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.3 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.4 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.4 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.5 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.5 mi
  • National Archives: 0.5 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.5 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 0.6 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.6 mi
  • Newseum: 0.6 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 0.6 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.6 mi
  • Blair House: 0.7 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 0.7 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.7 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.7 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 0.7 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.7 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 0.7 mi
  • Ripley Center: 0.7 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.8 mi
  • National Mall: 0.8 mi
  • Arthur M Sackler Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Arts and Industries Building: 0.8 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Sackler Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • National Museum of African Art: 0.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (620)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Hyatt Washington

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
620 out of 620
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Amy A. S.
Blacksburg, Virginia
Jan 11, 2013

Awesome!

We booked this trip on a whim and it turned out to be the most fun trip we have taken as a family! This hotel was amazing! The metro is right down from the lobby, there are great places to eat within the hotel and all around and it is located in the perfect spot! The hotel staff was super friendly, gave us suggestions on places to go and things to do. We used the valet parking and they were also super friendly! All in all, we will never stay anywhere but here when visiting the DC area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Make sure to eat at the Capital City Brewing Company across the street! It was delicious!

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Baton Rouge, LA
Jul 26, 2011

Not Clean

I initally had to change rooms upon check in as I was given an atrium room and the sliding glass doors would not fully close-just enough room for the toddler to get through, not enough room for an adult to get through to get him. The second room we were in was not clean! I reported a very specific list of items to housekeeping: Trash behind dresser (clearly visible when I sat down on the bed to take off my shoes), trash left by the previous person in the room on top of the dresser, what looked like a dark liquid sprayed on the bathroom door to above the doorknob level, dirty backsplash (toothpaste foam i hope) clearly visible, hair in the bathtub, and a mini-fridge that had 1/2 inch of water in the bottom. Housekeeping took care of the following: removal of trash and wiping portions of door. I complained again the next day. The door was still not taken care of, I washed the tub, the refrigerator was not changed out (I guess I understand this), the door was not wiped, the backsplash was not wiped (all week). I became weary of complaining. I was on vacation after all. Upon checkout, the breakfast that they "comped" me was still on the bill. Why should I have to take care of this? There are other things, including the floor was not vacuumed all week based on floor debris, but this review is too long already. Suffice to say, I have never taken time to do one of these, but do not stay in this hotel. It is not a 4-star hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
DC Trip 12
New York
Jan 10, 2013

Bad

Bad sound barrier. Badddddddddddddd. Don't goooooo

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
L.A. CA
Nov 4, 2009

Fair at best

stayed at the hotel on business. the room looked like it had been updated fairly recently, however the large stain on the middle of the carpet detracted from the overall appearance. when i turned on the lamp it made a buzzing sound the entire time which required the bulb to be replaced. when i put my ipod in the dock it would not work. i then went to the bathroom to wash up and he plumbing was cut off. when i called downstairs nobody seemed to know what was going on. they then found out that there was a problem and the water on my floor would be off for an hour. All these events occured with in an half hour of my check in. you would think they would have put me in another room in anticipation of the plumbing matter or offered to exchange my room. when i had room service the food came up on a table with a dirty table cloth. there are plenty of hotel options and would not stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
lala823
New Jersey, USA
Feb 13, 2012

flooded bathroom

while the hotel is in a great location, it is clean, and has a starbucks inside, the hotel room is lacking. the bathroom doesn't have a separation between the shower and the rest of the floor so the water flooded the bathroom when we took a shower! very poor design and disgusting to have a puddle of dirty shower water on your bathroom floor. id only recommend this for younger people like myself who aren't picky.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Take a cab for $8 to U street music hall. great underground club

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Happy family.
Livingston, NJ
Nov 30, 2009

The good and the bad.

The great experience about the Hotel is the professionalism friendlyness of the staff. The entrance is very beautiful. The location it is the best! However, the pool was not clean at all! We could see the dirty on the bottom and floating on the water. My son was very disappointed, because I did not let him in the pool. The room was not clean either, I was very disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The price on the Hotel was reasonable,and the location it is really great. Walking distance to dining, shopping and museums. Great for families!

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MAD DOG12
Oneonta, NY
May 23, 2012

bad staff

I checked in late on Friday night in prom season. Understandably a trying night, but it doesn't excuse the desk clerk trying to get me to stay in a conference room with a pull out couch instead of the room that I booked. He did offer me free internet, ..(really!?) 10.99 ) and a free breakfast in exchange for my back though. To top it off they put a $50 hold on my card that they have yet to release 5 days later. Not good. And I used to work for Hyatt, and prided myself on it. They should be embarrassed. And no one will answer the phone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
John and the travelers
Illinois
Mar 31, 2013

Fair-I expected better

The first night we were put in a room with no beds, only a sofa sleeper and a cot. It was dusty from the construction, no coffee, only one side of the room had any temperature control and the TV didn't work. They said they didn't have any other rooms. The concierge offer was lacking too. For continental breakfast it was a choice of oatmeal or a couple different types of muffins plus basic beverages. After complaining enough the next night they moved us to a standard room which at least had the 2 beds we needed and was clean. Although the location is good I wouldn't recommend this hotel until they finish construction and clean it up. I've stayed in cheap hotels that had a MUCH better free continental breakfast selection.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Happy family.
Livingston, NJ
Nov 30, 2009

The good and the bad.

The great experience about the Hotel is the professionalism friendlyness of the staff. The entrance is very beautiful. The location it is the best! However, the pool was not clean at all! We could see the dirty on the bottom and floating on the water. My son was very disappointed, because I did not let him in the pool. The room was not clean either, I was very disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The price on the Hotel was reasonable,and the location it is really great. Walking distance to dining, shopping and museums. Great for families!

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
TIA180
MN
Aug 4, 2009

No Beds!

This was a trip for my husbands birthday. So I sent him and a friend for a 5 day stay to the Grand Hyatt in D.C. What a joke. When trying to check in the room was not ready until 7p.m. and then they were given a room kinda like a conference room with no beds! I am not kidding either. My husband called so upset. So we contacted the hotel manager and they sent up a pull out couch and a roll away. So you can see they did not get much sleep the week they were there. The manager did try to make things right by giving a free breakfast everyday. I personally think they could have done more than a free breakfast. My husband did comment on how beautiful the lobby was and great location for sight seeing. So if you go make sure you have beds in your room before checking in and dont settle for breakfast if they dont!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The Smithsonian is free!

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
NYCRoadWarrior
NY, NY
Apr 15, 2012

Looks can be deceiving

Great hotel on paper and in pictures, but digging into the details, the economy must have taken its toll on staff as they overall were rude and not customer service focused. Bell hop abandoned our luggage in the middle of the lobby. Was wondering where the luggage was and from my room could see 9 floors above two employees trying to figure out why it was just sitting on the cart unattended! Raced down there and just pushed the cart up myself! Pool was absolutely disgusting,crowded, and unattended. Murky white water with eye tearingly high chlorine. Food was medicore at best at the sports bar and buffett. Wait staff was on the slower side at both.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top