$106 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 28, 2015 Check-out: Aug 29, 2015

Grand Hyatt Washington

4 stars
View map of 1000 H STREET NW, WASHINGTON, DC 20001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Grand Hyatt Washington

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
479 out of 479
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SoCal121
LA, CA
Jan 8, 2013

Night out

Hotel was very nice and staff was excellent. Walls are a little thin, you could hear toilet flushing from next door and the guests laughing and talking

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
lala823
Business
New Jersey, USA
Feb 13, 2012

flooded bathroom

while the hotel is in a great location, it is clean, and has a starbucks inside, the hotel room is lacking. the bathroom doesn't have a separation between the shower and the rest of the floor so the water flooded the bathroom when we took a shower! very poor design and disgusting to have a puddle of dirty shower water on your bathroom floor. id only recommend this for younger people like myself who aren't picky.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Take a cab for $8 to U street music hall. great underground club

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
NYCRoadWarrior
Business
NY, NY
Apr 15, 2012

Looks can be deceiving

Great hotel on paper and in pictures, but digging into the details, the economy must have taken its toll on staff as they overall were rude and not customer service focused. Bell hop abandoned our luggage in the middle of the lobby. Was wondering where the luggage was and from my room could see 9 floors above two employees trying to figure out why it was just sitting on the cart unattended! Raced down there and just pushed the cart up myself! Pool was absolutely disgusting,crowded, and unattended. Murky white water with eye tearingly high chlorine. Food was medicore at best at the sports bar and buffett. Wait staff was on the slower side at both.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MAD DOG12
Business
Oneonta, NY
May 23, 2012

bad staff

I checked in late on Friday night in prom season. Understandably a trying night, but it doesn't excuse the desk clerk trying to get me to stay in a conference room with a pull out couch instead of the room that I booked. He did offer me free internet, ..(really!?) 10.99 ) and a free breakfast in exchange for my back though. To top it off they put a $50 hold on my card that they have yet to release 5 days later. Not good. And I used to work for Hyatt, and prided myself on it. They should be embarrassed. And no one will answer the phone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
BarbieJ1964
Business
Spartanburg, SC
Dec 31, 2012

Would not stay here

I expected better service. Had requested double beds due to issues. I made request in October and followed up with another request in early December. Requested room was not available first night. Staff did nothing to assist or accommodate. Internet service was $15-30/day depending on requested service. After 12 hour drive was awakened by drilling/renovations at 9:00. Expressed my displeasure and another guest in hotel went into hallway and yelled for them to stop. Again nothing was done by hotel. Don't stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Running Man 1771
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Mar 18, 2013

Bad sleep

The biggest concern about my recent stay was the fact that even though I specifically booked a room with two double beds, my colleague and I were given one with a King. When questioned, the hotel blamed the third party booking agent and suggested that they could not guarantee the bed selection even though the two double bed room was guaranteed in our reservation. I wound up sleeping on a cot. The front desk was responsive and did comp our parking but could not do anything about the room charge since it was prepaid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
John and the travelers
Business
Illinois
Mar 31, 2013

Fair-I expected better

The first night we were put in a room with no beds, only a sofa sleeper and a cot. It was dusty from the construction, no coffee, only one side of the room had any temperature control and the TV didn't work. They said they didn't have any other rooms. The concierge offer was lacking too. For continental breakfast it was a choice of oatmeal or a couple different types of muffins plus basic beverages. After complaining enough the next night they moved us to a standard room which at least had the 2 beds we needed and was clean. Although the location is good I wouldn't recommend this hotel until they finish construction and clean it up. I've stayed in cheap hotels that had a MUCH better free continental breakfast selection.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Future Jet
Business
DFW
Aug 9, 2009

Grand Hyatt Wash, DC

very noisy and the staff was not friendly, i would never stay at this location/hotel ever again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
TIA180
Business
MN
Aug 4, 2009

No Beds!

This was a trip for my husbands birthday. So I sent him and a friend for a 5 day stay to the Grand Hyatt in D.C. What a joke. When trying to check in the room was not ready until 7p.m. and then they were given a room kinda like a conference room with no beds! I am not kidding either. My husband called so upset. So we contacted the hotel manager and they sent up a pull out couch and a roll away. So you can see they did not get much sleep the week they were there. The manager did try to make things right by giving a free breakfast everyday. I personally think they could have done more than a free breakfast. My husband did comment on how beautiful the lobby was and great location for sight seeing. So if you go make sure you have beds in your room before checking in and dont settle for breakfast if they dont!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The Smithsonian is free!

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Happy family.
Business
Livingston, NJ
Nov 30, 2009

The good and the bad.

The great experience about the Hotel is the professionalism friendlyness of the staff. The entrance is very beautiful. The location it is the best! However, the pool was not clean at all! We could see the dirty on the bottom and floating on the water. My son was very disappointed, because I did not let him in the pool. The room was not clean either, I was very disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The price on the Hotel was reasonable,and the location it is really great. Walking distance to dining, shopping and museums. Great for families!

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Seattle couple with son
Business
Seattle, Washington
Nov 27, 2014

DONT STAY HERE!

NOTHING WORKED. The TV was fuzzy, the phone didn't connect, and the pillows were awful - two tiny hard, thin sham-like things. No down or fluff...they were like books. We called for our car at 6am to get to the airport, and no one answered. We had to run downstairs unshowered to find someone in the valet place. The hotel is lovely - just had a remodel, and the rooms are tasteful and contemporary, with lovely lamps, beautiful carpeting, etc. And the staff was excellent. However, I would never stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top