$106 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 28, 2015 Check-out: Aug 29, 2015

Grand Hyatt Washington

4 stars
View map of 1000 H STREET NW, WASHINGTON, DC 20001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Grand Hyatt Washington

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
479 out of 479
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
speddogg
Valley Forge, PA
Dec 10, 2012

Perfect Hotel in DC

Whenever I go to DC, this is the first hotel I always check. Perfectly positioned hotel with; in hotel connection to the Metro rail system, super close to Chinatown and a short walk to the Mall. Staff friendly, hotel clean (in the middle of a renovation as of Dec. 2012), and many restaurants in the hotel including a Starbucks. The only things that would make it better for me would be free WiFi maybe at least in the lobby areas, easier access to the pool (in a connected private health club), and a better less ostentatious room service menu. But I keep going back so it must not be that bad!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk the 2 blocks to Chinatown and find a ton of great restaurants!!

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
This Nickname business is
Business
Seattle, WA
Apr 14, 2014

Nearly perfect

Location is excellent -- great for the business traveler. Metro Station, which is serviced by three lines (two which go to Reagan National Airport), has a direct exit to the hotel, making commuting by Metro super fast. Room was excellent -- very comfortable and stylish. My only real complaint is that the food in the gift shop is exclusively junk food and very overpriced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ralph C.
Business
Clemmons, NC
Apr 16, 2014

It Was Great!

When we checked in there was a glitch in their system and they temporarily lost our reservation. I asked the person doing the checking in for us to get a manager. A manager was promptly called and the situation was corrected at once. As a token of their concern for our happiness they gave us free access to the Hyatt Gold Club which included free breakfast, afternoon snacks and free soft drinks through out our stay and reduced pricing on mixed drinks, wine and beer through-out our stay. The staff was very nice and professional, the room was clean and comfortable plus everyone working there always seemed happy to see us whether we were just going out in the morning or coming in at night. As in all of Washington there were homeless people on the streets but we felt safe and secure at the hotel. Parking is available in the basement and for 5 nights self-park it was $170 which we felt was a little steep but then again parking is at a premium in Washington. The hotel is centrally located and everything from the museums to the monuments and great restaurants was easily within walking distance or accessible by the Metro Subway which is accessible within the hotel itself. All in all we greatly enjoyed our visit to Washington and a large part of this was because of the great service we received at the Grand Hyatt.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Join the Hyatt Gold Club

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Oshani
Business
Boston, Massachusetts
May 5, 2014

Great hotel

My husband and I stayed at the Grand Hyatt last weekend while attending a hackathon in downtown DC. We really enjoyed the room amenities, and the atrium view. After a long day's work the room provided the very much needed relaxation. It was really nice. The hotel staff was also very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is very close to popular attractions in DC.

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Maple
Business
London, U.K
Aug 24, 2009

Unbeatable location for the price

Very nice room and hotel itself. Great location too. Breakfast was not included in room price and was expensive ($20 per person per meal) but a Starbucks and deli in the hotel so very convenient. Very satisfied with stay, and would recommend to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Derrick F.
Business
Jacksonville, FL, USA
Oct 12, 2011

clean and great location!!

Hotel staff very friendly clean hotel and within walking distance to all attractions...only negative is parking cost $12.00 a day!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jmtst28
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Oct 17, 2011

Hotel review

Hotel was beautiful and was in the perfect location. Could not have asked to stay at a better place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
bellaluna
Business
North Carolina
Oct 16, 2011

great value in the center of it all

We chose the Grand Hyatt because it is very close to the National Press Club and also it was a great value being so close to all the downtown attractions. The staff was very helpful with our questions, and provided a map of the area. We were able to walk to the monuments and the museums. We checked in an hour early with no problems. The room was clean, the beds very comfortable, and the view of the atrium is beautiful. Having a Starbucks on site is wonderful. The only hitch was the cost for valet parking which was a surprise as I didn't see it posted on the website. However, when I asked if valet parking was only good until check-out (11am) I was told that we could leave the car parked even AFTER check out since it was 24 hours worth. That was a nice touch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gary G
Business
Tennessee, USA
Nov 24, 2011

Early Check-In

Arrived 3 hrs before check-in time, when approached the froint desk to simply ensure my reservation was good, they allowed me to check in early without any additional cost. Was a little caught off guard by have to pay for Internet service but I didn't need it so it was no big deal. Staff was friendly and the place was very clean and located within the vicinity of all the sites. Would stay again without question!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Does not apply
Business
Eastern Shore of Maryland
Nov 30, 2011

A good find! We'll visit again.

From the courteous welcome upon pulling into the hotel's driveway, to the excellent directions to get us on our return trip, the hotel's staff are to be commended. Everyone we encountered: reception, concierge, doorman, was professional and helpful. Our stay was on Thanksgiving day and everything was wonderful. The hotel decorations really launched us into the Holiday spirit. The room was immaculate. The concierge found a terrific restaurant off premises that satisfied the need to do something "different." At the end of our evening we enjoyed the slide show in the cafe bar as we sipped after-dinner drinks. It was a perfect ending to a lovely day in the city. I highly recommend the hotel and am looking for an "excuse" to visit again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Waterfront restaurant Sequoia was an excellent recommendation, although a little difficult to access by taxi. (Portion of the street not opened to vehicle traffic; therefore a longer walk than expected.)

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Frank and Mary Ann
Business
Lansing, MI, USA
Nov 29, 2011

Excellent for DC tourists

Grand Hyatt is perfect for DC tourists...with Metro station accessible from Grand Hyatt lobby...just couple of stops from Union Station (we came to DC via Amtrak) and Smithsonian (although also just 10-15 minute beautiful walk). Chinatown just a couple of blocks away....safe, busy neighboring streets. Room was excellent value...good-sized room and bathroom. Large flat screen TV for the end of the day when we were too tired for anything else. Small issue that didn't have bath mat...but that's how hard it was to find something negative. Excellent Thanksgiving buffet. Concierge was very helpful. Rooms quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Get to the Smithsonians early in the day...by mid/late pm they get very crowded. Air and Space and Natural Science are crowd favorites....but give American History and American Indian (yes, they don't call it Native American) a try. Indian museum beautiful and you can see that it is newest addition to Smithsonians....more thematic approach, lots of photos and panels....less "whole bunch of stuff behind glass"

Back to menu Return to top