$126 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 18, 2014 Check-out: Jul 21, 2014

Grand Hyatt Washington

4 stars
1000 H STREET NW, WASHINGTON, DC 20001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
620 reviews
Grand Hyatt DC

This hotel is one of a few which we would rate as welcoming. We go on a trip but don't stay many... See full review

  • Sennen
  • Jun 24, 2014
Great stay in a perfect location

The Grand Hyatt is located very conveniently and the rooms were very comfortable and up to date. See full review

  • kennyc2014
  • Jun 23, 2014
Upscale hotel for business or pleasure in the heart of DC

Located in DC's hip Penn quarter, the Grand Hyatt Washington is an elegant option for both business and leisure travelers. Five excellent restaurants and bars offer guests a host of dining options. A full-service fitness center and sauna, pool and steam rooms are onsite, and massage therapy and personal trainers are available. There is also a game room and dance floor in the Grand Slam Café, as well as two gift shops, a florist, on-site laundry, dry cleaning and a valet service. Grand Hyatt Washington is within walking distance of the Smithsonian Institution (including the National Museum of Natural History) and Madame Tussauds Wax Museum. Visitors can take a stroll through Georgetown and experience American history, explore the Eastern Market or embark on a tour of historic US memorials, monuments and museums.

Reasons to stay
  • Comprehensive Grand Hyatt Washington guest services
  • Yoga Away™, Grand Slam, fitness, spa
  • US Capitol history, White House, memorials
  • Metro access from the hotel lobby
  • Large fitness club with indoor pool and spa services
Grand Hyatt Washington rooms

Guests staying at the Grand Hyatt Washington can choose from 888 rooms with city and atrium views, including suites, kings, doubles and queens. "Respire by Hyatt" hypo-allergenic hotel rooms are also available, which are designed for guests with allergy sensitivities. Visitors ease into soft, fresh hypo-allergenic sheets on delightful plush beds. Oversized desks with ergonomically correct Herman Miller chairs are in each room. Guests can enjoy TV and movies on 42-inch flat panel screens. High-speed wireless Internet is available (for a fee) within rooms or business facilities. An impressive marble bath with spa amenities offers a place to relax and unwind. In-room video checkout is available.

Things to do nearby
  • Madame Tussauds Wax Museum (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • The Martin Luther King JR Memorial Library (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • International Spy Museum (0.3 mi/ 0.5 km)
  • White House and North Lawn Fountain (0.6 mi/ 0.9 km)
  • United States Capitol Visitor Center (1.0 mi/ 1.6 km)
  • National Museum of the American Indian and Constitution Gardens (1.4 mi/ 2.2 km)
  • US Capitol Building and Smithsonian Institution (1.6 mi/ 2.5 km)
  • Vietnam Memorial (1.7 mi/ 2.7 km)
  • Eastern Market (2.6 mi/ 4.2 km)
  • Georgetown (3.0 mi/ 4.8 km)

Hotel Map

38.8993 -77.0265
Nearby airports
Reagan National Airport, (DCA), 5.50, MI, N; Washington Dulles Intl Airport, (IAD), 27.00, MI, NE; Baltimore/Washington Intl Airport, (BWI), 32.00, MI, SW;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grand Hyatt Washington also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Grand Hyatt Washington Rooms

Club
View Floors, Lounge Access, Continental Breakfast: Hors d oeuvres: Robe
Standard
The entire hotel and facilities are non-smoking. Number of beds varies from the room types: King or 2 double beds /Capicity per room varies from bed type. Newly renovated guest rooms, upgrade furniture in rich mahogany wood, luxury bathroom with cres

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Executive level
FEMA approved
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Sauna
Children's activities
Golf
Jogging track
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Nursery for children
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Video checkout
Gift shop
Copy service
News stand
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Projector
White board
Conference suite
Computer rental
Easel
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
Turndown service
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.2 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.2 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.2 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.3 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.4 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.4 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.2 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.2 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.2 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.3 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.4 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.4 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.5 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.5 mi
  • National Archives: 0.5 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.5 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 0.6 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.6 mi
  • Newseum: 0.6 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 0.6 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.6 mi
  • Blair House: 0.7 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 0.7 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.7 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.7 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 0.7 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.7 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 0.7 mi
  • Ripley Center: 0.7 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.8 mi
  • National Mall: 0.8 mi
  • Arthur M Sackler Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Arts and Industries Building: 0.8 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Sackler Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • National Museum of African Art: 0.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (620)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Hyatt Washington

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
620 out of 620
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MAD DOG12
Oneonta, NY
May 23, 2012

bad staff

I checked in late on Friday night in prom season. Understandably a trying night, but it doesn't excuse the desk clerk trying to get me to stay in a conference room with a pull out couch instead of the room that I booked. He did offer me free internet, ..(really!?) 10.99 ) and a free breakfast in exchange for my back though. To top it off they put a $50 hold on my card that they have yet to release 5 days later. Not good. And I used to work for Hyatt, and prided myself on it. They should be embarrassed. And no one will answer the phone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ernest Business Traveler
Business
Hampton, VA
May 23, 2012

Great Place to stay, the Hotel is beautiful

I have stayed before and it is one of the finer hotels in the DC area. The service is great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Donna and Ted
Castle Rock, CO, USA
Apr 24, 2012

Very nice!

This hotel was Very nice, the staff extra friendly, especially Carlos our breakfast waiter. Location was perfect as we could walk to everything in DC. Only 2 things which ruined our vacation budget: 1. $40 a day to park which the hotel cannot control. 2. We were told that breakfast was included in the room fee. I even asked our first morning and was told "yes, just give them your room #." It was not included! We were charged $46 a day plus tip and we were staying 5 nights! We did not know until the last day when our Visa account was charged with the total. Not a pleasant surprise. But the hotel was spotless and friendly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
L.Carr
Winchester, VA, USA
Apr 23, 2012

Failed to notify of overbooking

I often stay at this hotel and was appalled when I arrived the day of check in and was told they made an error and overbooked. I understand this happens but was furious that I made the drive out there to be told my room was downgraded from a 2 queen bed to a queen pullout. Not a queen bed w/ a pullout but just a pullout!The clerk tried to bring light to the situation by giving me free breakfast and $40 credit but it didn't make up for the amount I paid and the room I originally choose. She then told me there was no way to contact me to inform me that they didn't have a room but yet upon booking you are required to enter your contact information. I didn't even know rooms like that existed. The hotel overall is lovely and the best in my book so I would recommend to others but call beforehand to make sure they didn't give your room up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sjaak
Boston, MA, USA
Apr 21, 2012

good

the hotel is very fancy,and close to the famous attractions.the house keeping lady was not friendly enough.my daughter lost one of her shoes in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
WT Sherman
Denver, CO, USA
Apr 17, 2012

A "Grand Place" to stay

I really would like to praise this hotel and it's location but the word filter used on this site won't allow it. There was nothing obscene or and product endorsements. Not sure what this site considers allowable. Thanks anyway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you are staying in DC to see the mall and the monuments, fly into R---- International (not Dulles) and take the Metro right to the H----'s back door; it will save you $65 in cab fare each way. Also don't miss the other half of the Air and Space Museum located next to Dulles. But, go there on the Metro to Rosslyn and take the 5A bus to Dulles. There's a $.50 bus ride from Dulles to the A&S Museum at stop 2E. Enjoy

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LindaP
Richmond VA
Apr 17, 2012

Great location, wonderful staff

Just got back from a wonderful weekend in DC. Hotel is perfectly situated. Staff was amazing. Concierge desk provided great suggestions, whether we called from the street or asked at the desk. They even helped us navigate the roads when we got stuck in very heavy traffic by the National Mall. Rooms are nice though we faced a construction site so kept the curtains closed. There were no toiletries when we arrived but within minutes of calling the front desk a fresh supply and extra towels were delivered. Hotel staff really made us feel special.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
raef
north carolina
Apr 16, 2012

family vacation

great location and time.well worth the money.exactly what they promised.very friendly and helpful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
readyforabreakMOM
Leonia, NJ
Apr 16, 2012

Family Friendly Hotel

We never took the car out of garage or used Metro. All the museums were walking distance and even the Cherry Blossom Parade was only a few blocks away, The staff at Cure Bistro and Bar is very friendly and even served a free cocktail of which they had made too much. The kids enjoyed the "fashion show" of guests coming in dressed up for a party while hanging out in the spacious beautiful lobby. The Concierge was very helpful and knowledgable giving recommendations on family type restaurant. We truly enjoyed our stay at this beautiful hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tarpon Fisherman
Sarasota, FL
Apr 16, 2012

Great Location ,nice hotel.

The staff needs to get their act together a bit . We were first sent to a room that the people had not checked out of . They delivered a requested crib to our room but when we returned from dinner they had removed it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

Breakfast Buffet is reasonable but very generic.

Back to menu Return to top