$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 29, 2015 Check-out: Sep 1, 2015

Grand Hyatt Washington

4 stars
View map of 1000 H STREET NW, WASHINGTON, DC 20001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Grand Hyatt Washington

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
483 out of 483
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DanceandTravel
Friends
Chicago
Jul 2, 2013

Great Place to Stay

The Grand Hyatt is great and within walking distance of almost everything!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tiny vacations
Couples
New York, NY
Jun 24, 2013

totally fine

A few little things were not ideal--the chambermaid came into our room without knocking a few minutes after we'd arrived, and they gave us the Post when we'd asked for the NYT, but otherwise, totally satisfactory. The lobby/atrium is kind of hilariously gaudy, with a piano on an island in a shallow pool on the lower level, but the bed was great, it was quiet, and clean, and very convenient. I'd go back, if I'm looking for a reliably pleasant experience in downtown DC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Somebody Who Loves You
Friends
Richmond VA
Jun 24, 2013

Check-In/Out process Irritating

The only thing that irritated me was dealing with the check in/out area. It's total chaos. The lady that worked the "desk" just kept trying to rush me through. She kept saying "just swipe your credit card and it will do the rest". When I asked why I needed to swipe my credit card for my pre-paid room, she said it was just to look up my name. I said I will happily type my name in somewhere instead of giving you access to my cc info. You would have thought I came from pluto. Anyways, got checked in (after accepting that the credit card I swiped would be used if any incidental charges came up) hmmm, so much for just looking up my name.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Use Metro Center underneath the hotel for travel to Smithsonian and Monuments. Saves a lot of walking. Just buy the $14 full day pass. You will need it.

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
S B in VA
Business
VA
Jun 23, 2013

Great price, central location

Got a last minute deal on this hotel and it was well worth it. Good location, easy to get to several different locations. Room was exterior (street), was a very nice size and very clean. The staff was helpful. The hotel food is overpriced but there are plenty of alternatives in the surrounding area. Nice access to the metro - which is always a priority when visiting DC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vickie V.
Couples
Austin, TX
Jun 12, 2013

Weekend in DC

The location of the hotel was really great--close to restaurants, as well as walking distance to tourist attractions. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars was because of some noise issues. Our room was facing the atrium, and while it wasn't super noisy, it was noticeable at times. Other than that, the hotel was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
60813 guest
Couples
Philadelphia, PA
Jun 10, 2013

Nice hotel room not fully prepared

Hotel was nice room still had food from previous guest outside of room and took a couple of hours for the staff to remove. Location was perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pecaans
Couples
Los Angeles, ca
Jun 5, 2013

Perfect for on-site meeting or conference.

Spent 3 nights for Annual Meeting. They have this down to a science.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kevin43121
Couples
Herndon, VA
Jun 3, 2013

Excellent last-minute stay

Booked at 6:00 and had no trouble. Great price in the heart of DC!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Chef Geoff's - fantastic restaurant with a great happy hour

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
WendyKrealtor
Family
Manalapan, NJ
May 28, 2013

Great Hotel, only one negative

There is a picture of the indoor pool (which is really important to me) that gives it a totally different look. It's extremely small 3.5 - 4.0 ft. Everything else was just very warm. A little expensive but I was in Washington DC so I expected as much. I just had an amazing time. Still showed as perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Very good location

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
CT.
May 23, 2013

birthday gift

close to everything, nice hotel. These hotels usually are. Parking $ were stupid. They need to do something about that. Parking should not be a profit center.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

it's an Old Grill

Back to menu Return to top