$126 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 29, 2014 Check-out: Sep 1, 2014

Grand Hyatt Washington

4 stars
1000 H STREET NW, WASHINGTON, DC 20001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
455 reviews
great hotel to see the sites

Great location, beautiful hotel, friendly staff, overall a great experience. My only complaint was... See full review

  • preggomom
  • Aug 19, 2014
Excellent place for a DC family vacation!

Rooms were big and clean. The breakfast buffet that was included in the price of the room was... See full review

  • Gold Softball Coach
  • Aug 18, 2014
Upscale hotel for business or pleasure in the heart of DC

Located in DC's hip Penn quarter, the Grand Hyatt Washington is an elegant option for both business and leisure travelers. Five excellent restaurants and bars offer guests a host of dining options. A full-service fitness center and sauna, pool and steam rooms are onsite, and massage therapy and personal trainers are available. There is also a game room and dance floor in the Grand Slam Café, as well as two gift shops, a florist, on-site laundry, dry cleaning and a valet service. Grand Hyatt Washington is within walking distance of the Smithsonian Institution (including the National Museum of Natural History) and Madame Tussauds Wax Museum. Visitors can take a stroll through Georgetown and experience American history, explore the Eastern Market or embark on a tour of historic US memorials, monuments and museums.

Reasons to stay
  • Comprehensive Grand Hyatt Washington guest services
  • Yoga Away™, Grand Slam, fitness, spa
  • US Capitol history, White House, memorials
  • Metro access from the hotel lobby
  • Large fitness club with indoor pool and spa services
Grand Hyatt Washington rooms

Guests staying at the Grand Hyatt Washington can choose from 888 rooms with city and atrium views, including suites, kings, doubles and queens. "Respire by Hyatt" hypo-allergenic hotel rooms are also available, which are designed for guests with allergy sensitivities. Visitors ease into soft, fresh hypo-allergenic sheets on delightful plush beds. Oversized desks with ergonomically correct Herman Miller chairs are in each room. Guests can enjoy TV and movies on 42-inch flat panel screens. High-speed wireless Internet is available (for a fee) within rooms or business facilities. An impressive marble bath with spa amenities offers a place to relax and unwind. In-room video checkout is available.

Things to do nearby
  • Madame Tussauds Wax Museum (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • The Martin Luther King JR Memorial Library (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • International Spy Museum (0.3 mi/ 0.5 km)
  • White House and North Lawn Fountain (0.6 mi/ 0.9 km)
  • United States Capitol Visitor Center (1.0 mi/ 1.6 km)
  • National Museum of the American Indian and Constitution Gardens (1.4 mi/ 2.2 km)
  • US Capitol Building and Smithsonian Institution (1.6 mi/ 2.5 km)
  • Vietnam Memorial (1.7 mi/ 2.7 km)
  • Eastern Market (2.6 mi/ 4.2 km)
  • Georgetown (3.0 mi/ 4.8 km)

Hotel Map

38.8993 -77.0265
Nearby airports
Reagan National Airport, (DCA), 5.50, MI, N; Washington Dulles Intl Airport, (IAD), 27.00, MI, NE; Baltimore/Washington Intl Airport, (BWI), 32.00, MI, SW;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grand Hyatt Washington also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Grand Hyatt Washington Rooms

Business Plan
Description not provided
Club
View Floors, Lounge Access, Continental Breakfast: Hors d oeuvres: Robe
Standard
The entire hotel and facilities are non-smoking. Number of beds varies from the room types: King, 2 double beds or 1 Queen /Capicity per room varies from bed type. Newly renovated guest rooms, upgrade furniture in rich mahogany wood, luxury bathroom w

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Executive level
FEMA approved
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Sauna
Children's activities
Golf
Jogging track
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Nursery for children
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Video checkout
Gift shop
Copy service
News stand
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Projector
White board
Conference suite
Computer rental
Easel
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
Turndown service
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.2 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.2 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.2 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.3 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.4 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.4 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.2 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.2 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.2 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.3 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.4 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.4 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.5 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.5 mi
  • National Archives: 0.5 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.5 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 0.6 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.6 mi
  • Newseum: 0.6 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 0.6 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.6 mi
  • Blair House: 0.7 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 0.7 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.7 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.7 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 0.7 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.7 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 0.7 mi
  • Ripley Center: 0.7 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.8 mi
  • National Mall: 0.8 mi
  • Arthur M Sackler Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Arts and Industries Building: 0.8 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Sackler Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • National Museum of African Art: 0.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (455)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Hyatt Washington

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
455 out of 455
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mrs. Kennedy
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Oct 21, 2012

Grand Hyatt Hotel

It was as always a great experience. Everyone was very nice and very helpful. One of my favorite places to stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Oceanaires Restaurant.

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DC Lover1486
Stafford, VA
Mar 11, 2013

Weekend Getaway

Overall, it was a great visit. I was very impressed by the new look of the hotel as they had just done many renovations on the main hotel and rooms.Very beautiful! My disappointment came when my family and I woke up to them doing renovations at 8:00am on a Saturday AM. I wish we were told at check in when the renovations were going to take place. The hotel did provide a complimentary movie for the trouble, which my 9 year old niece appreciated. Another area of improvement would be the staff. The woman at the desk to check me in gave a prime example of great customer service. I only wish the rest of the staff could take after her quality work. I will probably return one day and hope to see some internal improvement.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

You are only a few blocks away from many attractions.Everything my family and I did( food, museums,banking,etc) was within walking distance which was awesome!!

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
materialgrl0826
Lemoyne, PA
Feb 25, 2013

great location

Great weekend getaway! Wonderful room and service!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kmitche3
Baltimore
Feb 11, 2013

Great place to stay

The entire hotel is going through renovations and they are doing a great job so far. We were able to get a new room, and the hotel as a whole was very clean and all the employees did everything to make your stay enjoyable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Great place to stay for any event at the Verizon Center.

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Murph Turn
Philadelphia
Feb 11, 2013

quick trip

Centrally located to Washington DC attractions ; easy to get to the museums, restaurants and exhibits. Front desk and consierge were friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Ethiopian food!

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MM.....
Business
New Jersey
Jan 17, 2013

Good location in center of city for business meetings

Hyatt has a level of quality that I've come to expect and this was no less than what I would expect from their franchise. The one aspect of the hotel though is that the interior rooms look into the open center of the hotel which for some might limit some privacy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Amy A. S.
Blacksburg, Virginia
Jan 11, 2013

Awesome!

We booked this trip on a whim and it turned out to be the most fun trip we have taken as a family! This hotel was amazing! The metro is right down from the lobby, there are great places to eat within the hotel and all around and it is located in the perfect spot! The hotel staff was super friendly, gave us suggestions on places to go and things to do. We used the valet parking and they were also super friendly! All in all, we will never stay anywhere but here when visiting the DC area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Make sure to eat at the Capital City Brewing Company across the street! It was delicious!

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
required
Boston, MA
Jan 10, 2013

Just what I needed

From being greeted by the valet upon arrival until saying goodbye when checking out, everyone was friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. Due to our room being recently renovated there was that 'new' smell that could bother some people for a while..but with the special discount rate and the lovely room it is hard to complain. Only complaint was previous guests empty stocking container was left on the desk and a size sticker was stuck on the dresser- housekeeping should have seen them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
DC Trip 12
New York
Jan 10, 2013

Bad

Bad sound barrier. Badddddddddddddd. Don't goooooo

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SoCal121
LA, CA
Jan 8, 2013

Night out

Hotel was very nice and staff was excellent. Walls are a little thin, you could hear toilet flushing from next door and the guests laughing and talking

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Miss Lovely
Washington,DC
Jan 8, 2013

A Nice 2013 B.day Getaway!

They accommodated my every need! I enjoyed my stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Clubs, Bars, Food & Play

Back to menu Return to top

Change search