$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 28, 2015 Check-out: Aug 29, 2015

Grand Hyatt Washington

4 stars
View map of 1000 H STREET NW, WASHINGTON, DC 20001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Grand Hyatt Washington

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
478 out of 478
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jim the stud
Business
Louisville, KY
May 31, 2012

great hotel!

The hotel was great except for one day where the room didn't get cleaned properly. looks like the maid just made up the beds. The coffee maker was broken, but recieved a new as soon as we called, and the food at the hotel was average only.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jdeang
Business
Boston
Jun 29, 2012

Seeing the sites in Washington D.C

The Washington D.C. Grand Hyatt hotel is a beautiful hotel located just a 5 minute walk from the Mall and some major attractions like the National Archives and the Smithsonian Natural History Museum. The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. The restaurants on the first floor are great for breakfast through late night drinks, and the Cure is rated very highly for dinner. The staff was friendly and accommodating and the concierge was extremely helpful. My only complaints were that the gym and pool are an extra charge to use, and currently there is very loud construction going on across the street starting promptly at 7am, the latter is not the hotel's fault of course.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The Abraham Lincoln Assassination tour on Wed or Saturday nights, its free (though you will want to tip the narrator/tour guide) and captivating.

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kansas Katty
Business
Kansas
Jul 2, 2012

Great location for the value

Right on top of the Metro Central station, so you can get anywhere you want to in the DC area easily and quickly. Walking distance from most museums and monuments -- especially the White House. This consierge floor experience was good, but a bit too much of the family experience for what I wanted. Breakfast is continental. Hors d'oeuvres could be an easy meal in themselves.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JJ EAST COAST
Business
Kannapolis-NC
Jul 8, 2012

Great stay!

We booked our hotel just 20 minutes before our arrival and everything was perfect! We made a last minute decision to stop in DC and this hotel was great. Within 10 min walking to the White House and museums. Great staff, although Valet was a bit slow @ check out. Hotel had its own restaurants and Starbucks which was very convienient. We would definately stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

For a casual laid back drinking atmosphere we recommend Shelly's Cigar Bar! Great food as well...and if you smoke, you can do so indoors!

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Novice Traveler july
Business
Arizona
Jul 8, 2012

Great location and staff

We loved the location and the staff. The concierge was amazing and our room was so relaxing and fresh every day. You have to check out the cupcake place across the street, Crumbs. So yummy! The pool is located next door in a health club so don't plan on playing in the pool with kids, doesn't work so good. Loved the Metro stop right there in the lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The hop on hop off bus tour is perfect for your first day. Gives you a the layout to plan the rest of your time.

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ron from FL
Business
NW Florida
Jul 8, 2012

Week trip to S.C.

Good Hotel. Good location at Metro Center stop. We could either walk to the Mall or it was 2 Metro stops away. Amenities could have been a step up better. Room was clean and well attended to each day. Daily breakfast buffet was excellent but expense at $21 per person. Sports bar was good. Cure Bar & Bistro was very good for evening meals. Lots of other dining options within short walk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Crime and Punishment Museum was really good. One Metro stop away.

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mamamiaoh
Business
Rosemont IL
Jul 9, 2012

Plumbing problems

The only negative thing about our stay was that our toilet stopped working the last night of our stay. The room was big and the bed was comfortable. The location was great and very close to the White House. The concierge was very helpful. Overall we enjoyed ours stay at the hotel and in DC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Love DC 2012
Business
Fredericksburg VA
Jul 23, 2012

Great Stay!

Excellent stay. The hotel has every amenity that the average traveler would want. The location is great and close to everything. Definately would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
joebeone
Business
New York, NY
Jul 23, 2012

Central location, very good value

Only the lobby of the Grand Hyatt will really knock your socks off... well, that and the service which is top-notch. I was a bit amazed at how expensive parking is ($32 self park/$40 valet) and the valet is so convenient and quick that it's worth the price difference. I cannot. believe. that. high-speed internet access is not just part of the room rate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The District of Pi (pizza place) is very close and is a very, very good Chicago-style deep dish (not stuffed) with many good beers on tap.

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
laleiderman
Business
Caracas, Venezuela
Jul 30, 2012

What a Mix...an inconsistent mix.

This hotel goes from a delicious oasis to an ocean of people from one day to the next....You never know what you will encounter. The price also fluctuates to match these moments...soo strange. When the hotel is empty everyone is courteous and delightful....but when the tide comes in it is a if everyone is on the edge! Consistency is important in a chain hotel....this was not reached.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

The Cure has a Unique happy hour experience, it's a wine or beer tasting and some food items to pick at for $12 between 4:30 and 7. I went twice!

Back to menu Return to top