$126 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 29, 2014 Check-out: Sep 1, 2014

Grand Hyatt Washington

4 stars
1000 H STREET NW, WASHINGTON, DC 20001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
460 reviews
great hotel to see the sites

Great location, beautiful hotel, friendly staff, overall a great experience. My only complaint was... See full review

  • preggomom
  • Aug 19, 2014
Excellent place for a DC family vacation!

Rooms were big and clean. The breakfast buffet that was included in the price of the room was... See full review

  • Gold Softball Coach
  • Aug 18, 2014
Upscale hotel for business or pleasure in the heart of DC

Located in DC's hip Penn quarter, the Grand Hyatt Washington is an elegant option for both business and leisure travelers. Five excellent restaurants and bars offer guests a host of dining options. A full-service fitness center and sauna, pool and steam rooms are onsite, and massage therapy and personal trainers are available. There is also a game room and dance floor in the Grand Slam Café, as well as two gift shops, a florist, on-site laundry, dry cleaning and a valet service. Grand Hyatt Washington is within walking distance of the Smithsonian Institution (including the National Museum of Natural History) and Madame Tussauds Wax Museum. Visitors can take a stroll through Georgetown and experience American history, explore the Eastern Market or embark on a tour of historic US memorials, monuments and museums.

Reasons to stay
  • Comprehensive Grand Hyatt Washington guest services
  • Yoga Away™, Grand Slam, fitness, spa
  • US Capitol history, White House, memorials
  • Metro access from the hotel lobby
  • Large fitness club with indoor pool and spa services
Grand Hyatt Washington rooms

Guests staying at the Grand Hyatt Washington can choose from 888 rooms with city and atrium views, including suites, kings, doubles and queens. "Respire by Hyatt" hypo-allergenic hotel rooms are also available, which are designed for guests with allergy sensitivities. Visitors ease into soft, fresh hypo-allergenic sheets on delightful plush beds. Oversized desks with ergonomically correct Herman Miller chairs are in each room. Guests can enjoy TV and movies on 42-inch flat panel screens. High-speed wireless Internet is available (for a fee) within rooms or business facilities. An impressive marble bath with spa amenities offers a place to relax and unwind. In-room video checkout is available.

Things to do nearby
  • Madame Tussauds Wax Museum (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • The Martin Luther King JR Memorial Library (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • International Spy Museum (0.3 mi/ 0.5 km)
  • White House and North Lawn Fountain (0.6 mi/ 0.9 km)
  • United States Capitol Visitor Center (1.0 mi/ 1.6 km)
  • National Museum of the American Indian and Constitution Gardens (1.4 mi/ 2.2 km)
  • US Capitol Building and Smithsonian Institution (1.6 mi/ 2.5 km)
  • Vietnam Memorial (1.7 mi/ 2.7 km)
  • Eastern Market (2.6 mi/ 4.2 km)
  • Georgetown (3.0 mi/ 4.8 km)

Hotel Map

38.8993 -77.0265
Nearby airports
Reagan National Airport, (DCA), 5.50, MI, N; Washington Dulles Intl Airport, (IAD), 27.00, MI, NE; Baltimore/Washington Intl Airport, (BWI), 32.00, MI, SW;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grand Hyatt Washington also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Grand Hyatt Washington Rooms

Business Plan
Description not provided
Club
View Floors, Lounge Access, Continental Breakfast: Hors d oeuvres: Robe
Standard
The entire hotel and facilities are non-smoking. Number of beds varies from the room types: King, 2 double beds or 1 Queen /Capicity per room varies from bed type. Newly renovated guest rooms, upgrade furniture in rich mahogany wood, luxury bathroom w

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Executive level
FEMA approved
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Sauna
Children's activities
Golf
Jogging track
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Nursery for children
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Video checkout
Gift shop
Copy service
News stand
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Projector
White board
Conference suite
Computer rental
Easel
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
Turndown service
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.2 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.2 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.2 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.3 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.4 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.4 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.2 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.2 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.2 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.3 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.4 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.4 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.5 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.5 mi
  • National Archives: 0.5 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.5 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 0.6 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.6 mi
  • Newseum: 0.6 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 0.6 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.6 mi
  • Blair House: 0.7 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 0.7 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.7 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.7 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 0.7 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.7 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 0.7 mi
  • Ripley Center: 0.7 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.8 mi
  • National Mall: 0.8 mi
  • Arthur M Sackler Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Arts and Industries Building: 0.8 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Sackler Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • National Museum of African Art: 0.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (460)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Hyatt Washington

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
460 out of 460
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Viff
Boston,MA
Nov 6, 2012

GRAND HYATT

I have been visiting DC for six years now and I have tried different hotels and different locations. I no longer have to experiment, this is the perfect location for me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

MATCHBOX, ecelctic yet delicious but expect a wait on Friday evening or Saturday evening. We went for Sunday brunch and it was phenomenal

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jrod86
New York, NY, USA
Dec 30, 2011

fantastic hotel to visit DC

This is a great hotel to stay in. The hotel is very clean. My boyfriend and I walked to the White House, Lincoln Memorial, Martin Luther King J.R. memorial, etc. They have a great sports bar with great food. I would highly recommend it to anyone. :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Go to Grand Slam sports bar in the Hotel. Try the mild chicken wings with ranch dressing they were amazing.

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JerryandGini
Dallas, PA 18612, USA
Dec 29, 2011

Great Christmas vacation

From the moment we arrived through our departure, we had the best experience we could have ever asked for! The view from our 11th floor room was spectacular as it looked down upon a beautiful Christmas tree and all the holiday decor in the lobby. The staff was always easily accessible, professional, and made sure our stay was perfect. The housekeeping staff insured our room was not only clean, but was neat and fresh. And this hotel has lobby access to the Metro which made getting around a snap! All I can say is this hotel and staff will get our business again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

It's just a short walk to the White House and there are taxis available if preferred which we used to go to the National Mall when we visited the monuments and museums.

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Victau
Washington, DC, USA
Dec 28, 2011

Christmas Day at the Hyatt is an excellent

Moving day was Dec. 27 and we got a wonderful reprieve from the choas and clutter at the Hyatt on Dec. 25. That is a very quiet day, by the way in DC and at the Hyatt. The hotel was perfect for us and our family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hopester
New Jersey, USA
Dec 26, 2011

College Visit

Great place to stay and very convenient for the Metro. We stayed here to visit Georgetown University and see a Men's Basketball game at the Verizon Center. Couldn't have been easier and more luxurious!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
wkndtraveler
Connecticut, USA
Dec 12, 2011

Weekend Getaway

This hotel worked out well for a quick weekend get away. The hotel was comfortable, clean and offered several amenities. The location was in Downtown DC, meaning there really wasn't anything happening in the area. We used the metro (which was accessible from the hotel) to get to other areas of the city for food and entertainment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Does not apply
Eastern Shore of Maryland
Nov 30, 2011

A good find! We'll visit again.

From the courteous welcome upon pulling into the hotel's driveway, to the excellent directions to get us on our return trip, the hotel's staff are to be commended. Everyone we encountered: reception, concierge, doorman, was professional and helpful. Our stay was on Thanksgiving day and everything was wonderful. The hotel decorations really launched us into the Holiday spirit. The room was immaculate. The concierge found a terrific restaurant off premises that satisfied the need to do something "different." At the end of our evening we enjoyed the slide show in the cafe bar as we sipped after-dinner drinks. It was a perfect ending to a lovely day in the city. I highly recommend the hotel and am looking for an "excuse" to visit again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Waterfront restaurant Sequoia was an excellent recommendation, although a little difficult to access by taxi. (Portion of the street not opened to vehicle traffic; therefore a longer walk than expected.)

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Frank and Mary Ann
Lansing, MI, USA
Nov 29, 2011

Excellent for DC tourists

Grand Hyatt is perfect for DC tourists...with Metro station accessible from Grand Hyatt lobby...just couple of stops from Union Station (we came to DC via Amtrak) and Smithsonian (although also just 10-15 minute beautiful walk). Chinatown just a couple of blocks away....safe, busy neighboring streets. Room was excellent value...good-sized room and bathroom. Large flat screen TV for the end of the day when we were too tired for anything else. Small issue that didn't have bath mat...but that's how hard it was to find something negative. Excellent Thanksgiving buffet. Concierge was very helpful. Rooms quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Get to the Smithsonians early in the day...by mid/late pm they get very crowded. Air and Space and Natural Science are crowd favorites....but give American History and American Indian (yes, they don't call it Native American) a try. Indian museum beautiful and you can see that it is newest addition to Smithsonians....more thematic approach, lots of photos and panels....less "whole bunch of stuff behind glass"

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Josh R
Lancaster, PA, USA
Nov 29, 2011

Very Nice!

Very nice hotel, top of the line! It was in an awesome location, just blocks from the White House, National Mall, Ford's Theatre. All the touristy type of spots, such as museums, were within walking distance. The metro runs right under the hotel (Metro Centre) which is extremely convenient. The only problem w/ this hotel is that the rooms are not insulated well and you can hear a lot of noise. But otherwise, very clean and I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
First Visit to DC
Warminster, PA 18974, USA
Nov 28, 2011

employees

The staff was excellant. Phillips at the buffet breakfast was so nice and friendly. Jonathon at the concierge desk gave us excellannt service. His recommendation for restraunts in the area was spot on. Keep up the good work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
gentlemen
lombard, il.
Nov 28, 2011

great vacation spot

had an excellent time . staff was very nice and friendly and they were able to answer and help with anything i needed info about

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top

Change search