$126 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 22, 2014 Check-out: Aug 25, 2014

Grand Hyatt Washington

4 stars
1000 H STREET NW, WASHINGTON, DC 20001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
625 reviews
Great stay for parents' getaway

We had unexpected extra time in DC and since this hotel is centrally located, it was perfect for... See full review

  • Joy Educator
  • Jul 15, 2014
Great Time

I stayed at this hotel for the first time. it is conveniently located to a metro station. It's... See full review

  • Didi7484
  • Jul 15, 2014
Upscale hotel for business or pleasure in the heart of DC

Located in DC's hip Penn quarter, the Grand Hyatt Washington is an elegant option for both business and leisure travelers. Five excellent restaurants and bars offer guests a host of dining options. A full-service fitness center and sauna, pool and steam rooms are onsite, and massage therapy and personal trainers are available. There is also a game room and dance floor in the Grand Slam Café, as well as two gift shops, a florist, on-site laundry, dry cleaning and a valet service. Grand Hyatt Washington is within walking distance of the Smithsonian Institution (including the National Museum of Natural History) and Madame Tussauds Wax Museum. Visitors can take a stroll through Georgetown and experience American history, explore the Eastern Market or embark on a tour of historic US memorials, monuments and museums.

Reasons to stay
  • Comprehensive Grand Hyatt Washington guest services
  • Yoga Away™, Grand Slam, fitness, spa
  • US Capitol history, White House, memorials
  • Metro access from the hotel lobby
  • Large fitness club with indoor pool and spa services
Grand Hyatt Washington rooms

Guests staying at the Grand Hyatt Washington can choose from 888 rooms with city and atrium views, including suites, kings, doubles and queens. "Respire by Hyatt" hypo-allergenic hotel rooms are also available, which are designed for guests with allergy sensitivities. Visitors ease into soft, fresh hypo-allergenic sheets on delightful plush beds. Oversized desks with ergonomically correct Herman Miller chairs are in each room. Guests can enjoy TV and movies on 42-inch flat panel screens. High-speed wireless Internet is available (for a fee) within rooms or business facilities. An impressive marble bath with spa amenities offers a place to relax and unwind. In-room video checkout is available.

Things to do nearby
  • Madame Tussauds Wax Museum (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • The Martin Luther King JR Memorial Library (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • International Spy Museum (0.3 mi/ 0.5 km)
  • White House and North Lawn Fountain (0.6 mi/ 0.9 km)
  • United States Capitol Visitor Center (1.0 mi/ 1.6 km)
  • National Museum of the American Indian and Constitution Gardens (1.4 mi/ 2.2 km)
  • US Capitol Building and Smithsonian Institution (1.6 mi/ 2.5 km)
  • Vietnam Memorial (1.7 mi/ 2.7 km)
  • Eastern Market (2.6 mi/ 4.2 km)
  • Georgetown (3.0 mi/ 4.8 km)

Hotel Map

38.8993 -77.0265
Nearby airports
Reagan National Airport, (DCA), 5.50, MI, N; Washington Dulles Intl Airport, (IAD), 27.00, MI, NE; Baltimore/Washington Intl Airport, (BWI), 32.00, MI, SW;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grand Hyatt Washington also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Grand Hyatt Washington Rooms

Business Plan
Description not provided
Club
View Floors, Lounge Access, Continental Breakfast: Hors d oeuvres: Robe
Standard
The entire hotel and facilities are non-smoking. Number of beds varies from the room types: King, 2 double beds or 1 Queen /Capicity per room varies from bed type. Newly renovated guest rooms, upgrade furniture in rich mahogany wood, luxury bathroom w

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Executive level
FEMA approved
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Sauna
Children's activities
Golf
Jogging track
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Nursery for children
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Video checkout
Gift shop
Copy service
News stand
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Projector
White board
Conference suite
Computer rental
Easel
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
Turndown service
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.2 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.2 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.2 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.3 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.4 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.4 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.2 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.2 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.2 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.3 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.4 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.4 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.5 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.5 mi
  • National Archives: 0.5 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.5 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 0.6 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.6 mi
  • Newseum: 0.6 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 0.6 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.6 mi
  • Blair House: 0.7 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 0.7 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.7 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.7 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 0.7 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.7 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 0.7 mi
  • Ripley Center: 0.7 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.8 mi
  • National Mall: 0.8 mi
  • Arthur M Sackler Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Arts and Industries Building: 0.8 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Sackler Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • National Museum of African Art: 0.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (625)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Hyatt Washington

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
625 out of 625
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
materialgrl0826
Lemoyne, PA
Feb 25, 2013

great location

Great weekend getaway! Wonderful room and service!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Marbell
Marina Del Rey ,California
Apr 11, 2013

fantastic weeken getaway

I loved this hotel. It was covenient to all the major sites in Washington. The rooms were impeccable as was the room service. Thanks Grand Hyatt Washington!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lincoln Waflles is round the corner and it was delish!

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Birthday Coordinator
Leesburg, VA
Apr 7, 2013

A Wonderful Staycation

Upon our arrival we were asked for room location preference (facing the city, atrium, elevators, etc.). As I mentioned it was all up to the b-day boy (my husband who was celebrating the 10th anniversary of his 29th b-day), she promptly asked him if he enjoyed beer or wine and indicated that she would send a bottle of red to our room on the house. When it arrived it was complete with a light hors d'oeuvre platter which was a wonderful perk on an already wonderful experience. The hotel is located within walking distance to all things that were on our agenda (i.e., dinner at Fogo de Chao, followed by salsa dancing at Cuba Libre). The night was a huge success and I thank the staff at the Hyatt for the part they played:)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveling JJ
Pittsburgh PA
Apr 6, 2013

Grand Hyatt, Washington D C

The overall stay at the Grand Hyatt was quite good. The location and access to the Metro was a definite plus. However the hotel was quite crowded with tourists and student groups. The students were active and had a negative impact regarding the enjoyability of some of the amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
John and the travelers
Illinois
Mar 31, 2013

Fair-I expected better

The first night we were put in a room with no beds, only a sofa sleeper and a cot. It was dusty from the construction, no coffee, only one side of the room had any temperature control and the TV didn't work. They said they didn't have any other rooms. The concierge offer was lacking too. For continental breakfast it was a choice of oatmeal or a couple different types of muffins plus basic beverages. After complaining enough the next night they moved us to a standard room which at least had the 2 beds we needed and was clean. Although the location is good I wouldn't recommend this hotel until they finish construction and clean it up. I've stayed in cheap hotels that had a MUCH better free continental breakfast selection.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Siddik
Reading, Pa
Mar 19, 2013

Great Location

This hotel is in an ideal location. Walking distance to most of the attarctions and lots of restaurants and bars close by for a good night life also. Having to pay for Wifi is crazy, some smaller hotels include this free but not here and need to pay to access the fitness center is a bit too much. The cost of parking is crazy.. it is the holtel's parking garage, yet it is not included when you make the resevation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Wear Good Shoes... you will need them...

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mkline13
New Jersey
Mar 19, 2013

Grand Hyatt is great

We stayed for one night and it was fantastic. No complaints !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Directly across the street is the dc brewing company. Always have great food and good beers

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ashley Blanco
Baltimore, MD
Mar 18, 2013

Great weekend away

Came to this hotel for a St.Patricks weekend with my boyfriend. The room was great and the location is right next to a metro stop, so that couldn't have been anymore convenient. The restaurants in the hotel had nice hours but the food was so-so. I unfortunately didn't have enough time to use the spa. Overall we had a great weekend and ill definitely be back next year!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Running Man 1771
Philadelphia, PA
Mar 18, 2013

Bad sleep

The biggest concern about my recent stay was the fact that even though I specifically booked a room with two double beds, my colleague and I were given one with a King. When questioned, the hotel blamed the third party booking agent and suggested that they could not guarantee the bed selection even though the two double bed room was guaranteed in our reservation. I wound up sleeping on a cot. The front desk was responsive and did comp our parking but could not do anything about the room charge since it was prepaid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DC Lover1486
Stafford, VA
Mar 11, 2013

Weekend Getaway

Overall, it was a great visit. I was very impressed by the new look of the hotel as they had just done many renovations on the main hotel and rooms.Very beautiful! My disappointment came when my family and I woke up to them doing renovations at 8:00am on a Saturday AM. I wish we were told at check in when the renovations were going to take place. The hotel did provide a complimentary movie for the trouble, which my 9 year old niece appreciated. Another area of improvement would be the staff. The woman at the desk to check me in gave a prime example of great customer service. I only wish the rest of the staff could take after her quality work. I will probably return one day and hope to see some internal improvement.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

You are only a few blocks away from many attractions.Everything my family and I did( food, museums,banking,etc) was within walking distance which was awesome!!

Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
materialgrl0826
Lemoyne, PA
Feb 25, 2013

great location

Great weekend getaway! Wonderful room and service!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top