$148 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 26, 2014 Check-out: Sep 28, 2014

Twelve and K Hotel Washington DC

3 stars
1201 K Street N W, District of Columbia, DC 20005
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
110 reviews
Great 1/2 Marathon Weekend

We had a great weekend - the staff was friendly and helpful as we arrived early. They held our bags... See full review

  • JAMRL
  • May 3, 2014
convenient and comfortable

I arrived just before midnight after travel complicated by snow. The woman at the registration desk... See full review

  • Miss Mommers
  • Feb 9, 2014
D.C. hotel with pool and fitness facility near the convention center

Twelve and K Hotel Washington DC is in the heart of D.C., only three blocks from the Walter E. Washington Convention Center. Make yourself at home with free access to the indoor splash pool and 24-hour 650-square-foot fitness center. Twelve and K Hotel Washington DC is also within walking distance to most of the major tourist attractions including the Smithsonian, the White House, Dupont Circle and the National Mall. After a long day, guests relax on the rooftop sun deck or in the indoor pool.

Location
Twelve and K Hotel Washington DC is near Metro Center, within walking distance of the White House, Walter E. Washington Convention Center, museums and monuments.
Rooms
Rooms and suites at Twelve and K Hotel Washington DC feature light-colored bedspreads, patterned curtains and dark wood furniture. They include a custom bed, flat-screen television, desk and individual climate control. Cribs and rollaways are available upon request. High-speed Internet is complimentary. Microwave and refrigerator available upon request (fees apply).
Features

Guests can relax on the sun deck or take a swim in the Twelve and K Hotel Washington DC's indoor heated pool. Visitors can also enjoy free access to the indoor splash pool and 24-hour 650-square-foot fitness center. Meet colleagues for a drink at the District Grill restaurant and bar, and enjoy the American cuisine for breakfast, lunch, or dinner. Complimentary high-speed Internet and valet parking (fees apply) are available.

Transportation
  • Metro Center Metro stop (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Reagan National Airport (3.7 mi/6 km)
  • Dulles International Airport (23 mi/38 km)
  • Baltimore Washington International Airport (27 mi/44 km)
Attractions
  • Dupont Circle (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Georgetown (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • The White House (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Washington Convention Center (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • The National Mall (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • The Washington Monument (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • United States Capitol (1.3mi/2.1 km)
  • The Smithsonian Institute (1 mi/1.6 km)
Business
  • Business services
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet
  • 9,000 square feet of meeting/event space

Hotel Map

38.9029 -77.0285
Nearby airports
Washington National Airport, (DCA), 3.00, MI, S; Baltimore/Washington International Airport, (BWI), 27.00, MI, N; Washington Dulles International Airport, (IAD), 23.00, MI, W;
Area description
City Center

Twelve and K Hotel Washington DC Rooms

Accessible King with roll-in sho
King bed - 276 sq feet - with roll-in shower - with typical furnishings
Accessible Room King
King bed - 276 sq feet - with typical furnishings
Ambassador Suite
King bed - 276 sq feet - typical furnishings with club lounge access
Deluxe Room King
King bed - 276 sq feet - with typical furnishings
Governor Suite
King bed - 276 sq feet - typical furnishings with club lounge access
Standard Room Queen
Queen bed - 276 sq feet - with typical furnishings
Accessible Room Queen
Queen bed - 276 sq feet - with typical furnishings
Deluxe Room Double Double
2 Queen beds - 276 sq feet - with typical furnishings
Standard Room Double
2 Double beds - 276 sq feet - with typical furnishings
Standard Room King
King bed - 276 sq feet - with typical furnishings

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
24 hour security
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
TV
Safe
Telephone
Mini bar
Electronic door locks
Sprinklers in rooms

Dining

The District Grill Restaurant
THE DISTRICT GRILL RESTAURANT SERVES ALL-AMERICAN FAVORITES FOR BREAKFAST/LUNCH/AND DINNER - SOCIALIZE OVER COCKTAILS IN THE SMART/INTIMATE ATMOSPHERE OF THE DISTRICT GRILL RESTAURANT

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (110)

Ratings and reviews for Twelve and K Hotel Washington DC

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
32 out of 110
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.5

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Twelve and K Hotel Washington DC

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Rexy Poo
Pink Hill, NC
Feb 23, 2014

Make sure you read before you visit Washington DC YOUR GOING TO HAVE TO PAY TO PARK TO STAY HERE

After booking this hotel I was very excited. I was paying around 120.00 a night and I was walking distance to the Verizon Center, all the monuments, memorials, and museums. Once you get off 395 and if your like me and from North Carolina. You are going to be AMAZED at how the traffic flows. My GPS took me right to the hotel; however, we did drive around a bunch because of all the one way streets. The main reason I am writing this review is because of the hotel staff. They were not very helpful at all. For example, when we got there I asked where do we park. They said you can park here at the hotel for 50.00 a night. I said wait... I am a guest. They say yes even if you are a guest you still have to pay 50.00 a night. I was shocked. They told me I could drive around the block and pay 25.00. I informed them that I have already driven 5 hours and I was not used to the laws and traffic here in DC. I asked if I could ride with them to park my car somewhere else and they said no. What really upsets me is why did I have to pay to park at the hotel that I am staying at. Employees were saying we have to pay to park to work here. I was like that is not my problem. I am a guest, enjoying your hotel, and I should be able to park for free. I have been to Myrtle Beach and other popular cities and none have ever charged me to park at the hotel. They didn't even offer the parking charge as a credit to our account or as a credit to their restaurant which by the way was not great. My sirloin slider bread rolls were really dry, but my wife said her french dip was just okay. I would highly recommend staying here still, but beware of the DC traffic especially if you are from a small town like me. Try asking someone while your driving a good place to park because hotels are going to charge you. As far as I know I did not see any free parking. Thanks for reading

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Crime Museum in Washington DC is awesome. You have to go. It is like 20.00 a person but you get to shoot guns, interact with other touch screen monitors, and drive a police car simulator. It is really cool.

Review of Twelve and K Hotel Washington DC

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Marvelous Mr. E
Virginia
Jan 16, 2014

Great Stay

The hotel was great. It was in a good location. The only downsides were the size of the rooms and the fact that it costs $47 a day to park in their parking garage. They could have told this to us prior to parking there. I like to know what I am getting myself into before I get into it. If they posted this, I would have liked my stay better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Twelve and K Hotel Washington DC

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Summer luver
Omaha,NE
Jul 7, 2013

Just ok

Within walking distance to convention center. Room was small but clean. Staff was friendly, although English was not their first language, and confusions arose. They tried to send us a rollaway bed the first night, which we never requested. The next day they tried to switch our room saying we requested that, which we never did. Overall, just average?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Twelve and K Hotel Washington DC

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
robotraveler
ny
Mar 31, 2013

nice, clean & comfortable

We were surprised how much we liked this room - very spacious and comfortable king sized bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Twelve and K Hotel Washington DC

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Olivejuice79
NYC
Oct 8, 2012

Great Location

As I only stayed for a night, I can only comment on limited things. First, location is what I was looking for even if it's only a 3 star (average) hotel. The exterior of the hotel along with the lobby looks great. The room (1 bdrm on the 2nd floor) could use a little retouching. I didn't like the fact that it was an interconnecting room because the other guest that stayed in that room had an annoying dog which kept crying, and woke me up in the middle of the night! Last but not least, the staff was really helpful! I would recommend staying @ The Four Points Sheraton if you're looking for a quick getaway in DC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Acqua Al Due - is the best authentic Italian restaurant in DC. PLEASE try the blueberry steak with a nice bottle of red:)

Review of Twelve and K Hotel Washington DC

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lion
North Marston, England
Sep 24, 2012

Good sightseeing location but a bit noisy.

Relaxed atmosphere and all staff very helpful. Good location for restaurants and sightseeing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Twelve and K Hotel Washington DC

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mike T22
Cologne, Germany
Jan 30, 2012

shabby rooms

The room was shabby with torn carpet, filthy dirty windows, broken blind pull cords, grubby outdated bathroom with some pretty creepy unidentifiable smears on the inside bathroom door. The pool was closed for emergency repairs, the ice machine on our floor was broken- the list goes on and on. No fridge in room. Dingy towels, cheap shampoo... Not the beautiful stay I was expecting at all. Perhaps instead of writing constant apologies to dissatisfied clients, the manager might actually take a look at the rooms and ask himself if this is the type of place he would like to stay in for that price. The beds were good though and the location very convenient. The hotel is just a little sad and tattered

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Twelve and K Hotel Washington DC

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Echowing
Boston
Oct 24, 2011

Good hotel but too noisy

Great location and good hotel except that two girls next door were making noisy 5am early in the morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mozart cafe and Acadiana are great!

Review of Twelve and K Hotel Washington DC

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Philadelphia, PA
Nov 1, 2010

Good hotel in good location

We went to the Rally for Sanity on 10/30. There were over 200,000 people so hotels were in demand. Location was important because parking was hard to find. The Sheraton was relative close to the Mall, very clean, well staffed, well maintained. We would go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Twelve and K Hotel Washington DC

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Richmond, VA
Oct 24, 2010

A great bargain

It was a great hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was a bit small, but it was very clean and nice overall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great restaurants nearby.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search