$75 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 22, 2014 Check-out: Aug 24, 2014

Twelve and K Hotel Washington DC

3 stars
1201 K Street N W, District of Columbia, DC 20005
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
183 reviews
Great 1/2 Marathon Weekend

We had a great weekend - the staff was friendly and helpful as we arrived early. They held our bags... See full review

  • JAMRL
  • May 3, 2014
convenient and comfortable

I arrived just before midnight after travel complicated by snow. The woman at the registration desk... See full review

  • Miss Mommers
  • Feb 9, 2014
D.C. hotel with pool and fitness facility near the convention center

Twelve and K Hotel Washington DC is in the heart of D.C., only three blocks from the Walter E. Washington Convention Center. Make yourself at home with free access to the indoor splash pool and 24-hour 650-square-foot fitness center. Twelve and K Hotel Washington DC is also within walking distance to most of the major tourist attractions including the Smithsonian, the White House, Dupont Circle and the National Mall. After a long day, guests relax on the rooftop sun deck or in the indoor pool.

Location
Twelve and K Hotel Washington DC is near Metro Center, within walking distance of the White House, Walter E. Washington Convention Center, museums and monuments.
Rooms
Rooms and suites at Twelve and K Hotel Washington DC feature light-colored bedspreads, patterned curtains and dark wood furniture. They include a custom bed, flat-screen television, desk and individual climate control. Cribs and rollaways are available upon request. High-speed Internet is complimentary. Microwave and refrigerator available upon request (fees apply).
Features

Guests can relax on the sun deck or take a swim in the Twelve and K Hotel Washington DC's indoor heated pool. Visitors can also enjoy free access to the indoor splash pool and 24-hour 650-square-foot fitness center. Meet colleagues for a drink at the District Grill restaurant and bar, and enjoy the American cuisine for breakfast, lunch, or dinner. Complimentary high-speed Internet and valet parking (fees apply) are available.

Transportation
  • Metro Center Metro stop (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Reagan National Airport (3.7 mi/6 km)
  • Dulles International Airport (23 mi/38 km)
  • Baltimore Washington International Airport (27 mi/44 km)
Attractions
  • Dupont Circle (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Georgetown (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • The White House (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Washington Convention Center (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • The National Mall (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • The Washington Monument (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • United States Capitol (1.3mi/2.1 km)
  • The Smithsonian Institute (1 mi/1.6 km)
Business
  • Business services
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet
  • 9,000 square feet of meeting/event space

Twelve and K Hotel Washington DC Rooms

Accessible King with roll-in sho
King bed - 276 sq feet - with roll-in shower - with typical furnishings
Accessible Room King
King bed - 276 sq feet - with typical furnishings
Ambassador Suite
King bed - 276 sq feet - typical furnishings with club lounge access
Deluxe Room King
King bed - 276 sq feet - with typical furnishings
Governor Suite
King bed - 276 sq feet - typical furnishings with club lounge access
Standard Room Queen
Queen bed - 276 sq feet - with typical furnishings
Accessible Room Queen
Queen bed - 276 sq feet - with typical furnishings
Deluxe Room Double Double
2 Queen beds - 276 sq feet - with typical furnishings
Standard Room Double
2 Double beds - 276 sq feet - with typical furnishings
Standard Room King
King bed - 276 sq feet - with typical furnishings

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
24 hour security
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
TV
Safe
Telephone
Mini bar
Electronic door locks
Sprinklers in rooms

Hotel Map

38.9029 -77.0285
Nearby airports
Washington National Airport, (DCA), 3.00, MI, S; Baltimore/Washington International Airport, (BWI), 27.00, MI, N; Washington Dulles International Airport, (IAD), 23.00, MI, W;
Area description
City Center

Dining

The District Grill Restaurant
THE DISTRICT GRILL RESTAURANT SERVES ALL-AMERICAN FAVORITES FOR BREAKFAST/LUNCH/AND DINNER - SOCIALIZE OVER COCKTAILS IN THE SMART/INTIMATE ATMOSPHERE OF THE DISTRICT GRILL RESTAURANT

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (183)

Ratings and reviews for Twelve and K Hotel Washington DC

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
40 out of 183
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Twelve and K Hotel Washington DC

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
MA
Apr 26, 2009

Don't Pay List Price

Went on a vacation to view the monuments and museums. Spent liitle time in hotel- there is nothing to do there. This is essentially a business hotel with very few amenities and little decoration. The bathrooms are ridiculously small and would be more appropriate in a cruise ship than a hotel. The rooms were clean and the location is pretty good. I got a very good rate through a package deal but would NOT recommend paying the usual rates. You could do better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Take in a Nationals game while you're in town. It's a nice new stadium.

Review of Twelve and K Hotel Washington DC

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
MA
Apr 26, 2009

Don't Pay List Price

Went on a vacation to view the monuments and museums. Spent liitle time in hotel- there is nothing to do there. This is essentially a business hotel with very few amenities and little decoration. The bathrooms are ridiculously small and would be more appropriate in a cruise ship than a hotel. The rooms were clean and the location is pretty good. I got a very good rate through a package deal but would NOT recommend paying the usual rates. You could do better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Take in a Nationals game while you're in town. It's a nice new stadium.

Review of Twelve and K Hotel Washington DC

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bree Boop
Harrington, DE
Aug 11, 2013

Crazy cousin trip

Hotel was comfortable and family friendly. Location was convenient for our tourist plans. However, a complimentary breakfast would've made the stay more complete and the price was too high considering the room that was offered and the parking fees.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

National Zoo

Review of Twelve and K Hotel Washington DC

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
AndIamNoCleanFreak
Chesapeake, VA
May 28, 2012

Awful hotel experience

Found used condom wrappers in the room and it was apparent the floors had not been vacuumed. We called guest services and they moved us into a different room that was just as filthy (dirty toilet, chips in the carpet, and dirty counter tops). I will say, the front desk personnel were very apologetic and very friendly. It would have been a great visit if we didn't feel filthy in our own hotel room!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Twelve and K Hotel Washington DC

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Olympia, Wa
Jun 8, 2009

Ok, but others are closer

the room was very small. The previous tenant was a smoker and the room stank. The hotel was too far away from the major attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
3
Review of Twelve and K Hotel Washington DC

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Toronto
May 11, 2009

Four Points (downtown DC)

The room was nice, but it smelled a little bit. The walls are paper thin and was awoken by activity in the hallways and loud conversations from the neighbours.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Twelve and K Hotel Washington DC

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Olympia, Wa
Jun 8, 2009

Ok, but others are closer

the room was very small. The previous tenant was a smoker and the room stank. The hotel was too far away from the major attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
3
Review of Twelve and K Hotel Washington DC

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Toronto
May 11, 2009

Four Points (downtown DC)

The room was nice, but it smelled a little bit. The walls are paper thin and was awoken by activity in the hallways and loud conversations from the neighbours.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Twelve and K Hotel Washington DC

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Fotogyrrl
New England
Apr 13, 2010

Not too shabby.....

Upon arriving at the hotel the staff was friendly and warm. We had a very clean and comfortable room with a nice little view. There is a rooftop pool and a 24 hour fitness room. I did not check them out so I don't know what they are like. The placement of the hotel to the Museums and Monuments was actually not bad. Walking down was only about 20 minutes to just about everything. The White House is even closer at about a 15 minute walk. Another nice thing is that the hotel is near a 24 hour CVS, so if you forgot something you could walk over 2 blocks on 14th St to pick something up. It was not near a Metro stop, but there was always a cab available nearby if needed. I would recommend leaving the hotel for meals. The District Grill was not exactly yummy. There are some fine restaurants in the area, but you do need to search for them. All in all, I would certainly stay there again. It was a lovely trip, I would recommend to stay during the Cherry Blossom Festival for a fun weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Twelve and K Hotel Washington DC

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Fotogyrrl
New England
Apr 13, 2010

Not too shabby.....

Upon arriving at the hotel the staff was friendly and warm. We had a very clean and comfortable room with a nice little view. There is a rooftop pool and a 24 hour fitness room. I did not check them out so I don't know what they are like. The placement of the hotel to the Museums and Monuments was actually not bad. Walking down was only about 20 minutes to just about everything. The White House is even closer at about a 15 minute walk. Another nice thing is that the hotel is near a 24 hour CVS, so if you forgot something you could walk over 2 blocks on 14th St to pick something up. It was not near a Metro stop, but there was always a cab available nearby if needed. I would recommend leaving the hotel for meals. The District Grill was not exactly yummy. There are some fine restaurants in the area, but you do need to search for them. All in all, I would certainly stay there again. It was a lovely trip, I would recommend to stay during the Cherry Blossom Festival for a fun weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top