$119 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 28, 2014 Check-out: Nov 30, 2014

Twelve and K Hotel Washington DC

3 stars
1201 K Street, N. W., Washington, DC 20005
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
111 reviews
Comfortable Stay

This was an average/decent hotel in a great location. Pricey once you include parking, but you... See full review

  • ShellyBelly84
  • Nov 16, 2014
Great 1/2 Marathon Weekend

We had a great weekend - the staff was friendly and helpful as we arrived early. They held our bags... See full review

  • JAMRL
  • May 3, 2014
D.C. hotel with pool and fitness facility near the convention center

Twelve and K Hotel Washington DC is in the heart of D.C., only three blocks from the Walter E. Washington Convention Center. Make yourself at home with free access to the indoor splash pool and 24-hour 650-square-foot fitness center. Twelve and K Hotel Washington DC is also within walking distance to most of the major tourist attractions including the Smithsonian, the White House, Dupont Circle and the National Mall. After a long day, guests relax on the rooftop sun deck or in the indoor pool.

Location
Twelve and K Hotel Washington DC is near Metro Center, within walking distance of the White House, Walter E. Washington Convention Center, museums and monuments.
Rooms
Rooms and suites at Twelve and K Hotel Washington DC feature light-colored bedspreads, patterned curtains and dark wood furniture. They include a custom bed, flat-screen television, desk and individual climate control. Cribs and rollaways are available upon request. High-speed Internet is complimentary. Microwave and refrigerator available upon request (fees apply).
Features

Guests can relax on the sun deck or take a swim in the Twelve and K Hotel Washington DC's indoor heated pool. Visitors can also enjoy free access to the indoor splash pool and 24-hour 650-square-foot fitness center. Meet colleagues for a drink at the District Grill restaurant and bar, and enjoy the American cuisine for breakfast, lunch, or dinner. Complimentary high-speed Internet and valet parking (fees apply) are available.

Transportation
  • Metro Center Metro stop (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Reagan National Airport (3.7 mi/6 km)
  • Dulles International Airport (23 mi/38 km)
  • Baltimore Washington International Airport (27 mi/44 km)
Attractions
  • Dupont Circle (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Georgetown (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • The White House (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Washington Convention Center (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • The National Mall (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • The Washington Monument (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • United States Capitol (1.3mi/2.1 km)
  • The Smithsonian Institute (1 mi/1.6 km)
Business
  • Business services
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet
  • 9,000 square feet of meeting/event space

Hotel Map

38.9029 -77.0285
Nearby airports
Washington National Airport, (DCA), 3.00, MI, S; Baltimore/Washington International Airport, (BWI), 27.00, MI, N; Washington Dulles International Airport, (IAD), 23.00, MI, W;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Twelve and K Hotel Washington DC also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Twelve and K Hotel Washington DC Rooms

Accessible King with roll-in sho
King bed - 276 sq feet - with roll-in shower - with typical furnishings
Accessible Room King
King bed - 276 sq feet - with typical furnishings
Ambassador Suite
King bed - 276 sq feet - typical furnishings with club lounge access
Deluxe Room King
King bed - 276 sq feet - with typical furnishings
Governor Suite
King bed - 276 sq feet - typical furnishings with club lounge access
Standard Room Queen
Queen bed - 276 sq feet - with typical furnishings
Accessible Room Queen
Queen bed - 276 sq feet - with typical furnishings
Deluxe Room Double Double
2 Queen beds - 276 sq feet - with typical furnishings
Standard Room Double
2 Double beds - 276 sq feet - with typical furnishings
Standard Room King
King bed - 276 sq feet - with typical furnishings

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
24 hour security
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
TV
Safe
Telephone
Mini bar
Electronic door locks
Sprinklers in rooms

Dining

The District Grill Restaurant
THE DISTRICT GRILL RESTAURANT SERVES ALL-AMERICAN FAVORITES FOR BREAKFAST/LUNCH/AND DINNER - SOCIALIZE OVER COCKTAILS IN THE SMART/INTIMATE ATMOSPHERE OF THE DISTRICT GRILL RESTAURANT

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (111)

Ratings and reviews for Twelve and K Hotel Washington DC

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
111 out of 111
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.8

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Twelve and K Hotel Washington DC

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Elise11
Business
Philadelphia
Oct 16, 2012

Good location for a cheaper price

We had planned to go on one night trip to DC for a tour of the National Museum of Crime and Punishment and the Masonic Temple which were both about a mile away from the hotel's location. We also found a couple cool spots to eat dinner a couple blocks away, Capital City Brewing Company and Delirium. Overall the hotel is in a great location and much less than other hotels in the area. If you don't plan on spending much time in the hotel, this is the place for you. Pluses about the property: Great location, salt-water heated indoor pool (love that I did smell like chlorine after a dip), wait staff and front desk staff. Minuses: Standard room is very small with a little walking room (think European hotel in Paris small) TV was not in front of the bed but on the side which made watching it while in bed uncomfortable. Top sheet of bed had a worn in decent size stain on it and we saw two blood drops on one of the pillow cases that luckily had fell to the floor over night. Bathroom does not have a fan which makes it hard to use mirror for a while after a steamy shower. TV does not have a TV guide channel to find out what is on each channel (I thought that was standard these days) and you can NOT order movies which makes room service not as fun. Speaking of room service they automatically charge a 20% tip and a fee for room service and do not write that info on the menu or tell you over the phone. Really wish they would have had a hot tub in the pool room, would have made all the minuses not stick out in my mind.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Short cab ride to many places in DC and short walk to most things if you consider about a mile a short distance which I do.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Twelve and K Hotel Washington DC

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dustin STL
Business
St. Louis
Nov 20, 2012

Pretty Good Hotel

I've stayed here twice. Its a great location in the heart of DC within walking distance of the mall. The room I got this time was very small, but I was traveling by myself for business so I didn't need anything big. Room was clean but could have used some TLC. Overall not a bad value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Twelve and K Hotel Washington DC

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Summer luver
Business
Omaha,NE
Jul 7, 2013

Just ok

Within walking distance to convention center. Room was small but clean. Staff was friendly, although English was not their first language, and confusions arose. They tried to send us a rollaway bed the first night, which we never requested. The next day they tried to switch our room saying we requested that, which we never did. Overall, just average?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Twelve and K Hotel Washington DC

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Toronto, Ontario
Jul 28, 2010

Sheridan never lives up it's reputation

it was just an overnight stay - very expensive not much else other than a place to sleep - beds and pillows were great but the bathroom was very dirty. and the toilet ran all night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Twelve and K Hotel Washington DC

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Santa Monica, CA
Apr 24, 2009

Just Okay..

Just Okay hotel..No surprise.. They didn't put the new towel..so I had to call the front desk.. By the way, the location is very good. Most place is walkable distance from Fourpoints Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Twelve and K Hotel Washington DC

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Fotogyrrl
Business
New England
Apr 13, 2010

Not too shabby.....

Upon arriving at the hotel the staff was friendly and warm. We had a very clean and comfortable room with a nice little view. There is a rooftop pool and a 24 hour fitness room. I did not check them out so I don't know what they are like. The placement of the hotel to the Museums and Monuments was actually not bad. Walking down was only about 20 minutes to just about everything. The White House is even closer at about a 15 minute walk. Another nice thing is that the hotel is near a 24 hour CVS, so if you forgot something you could walk over 2 blocks on 14th St to pick something up. It was not near a Metro stop, but there was always a cab available nearby if needed. I would recommend leaving the hotel for meals. The District Grill was not exactly yummy. There are some fine restaurants in the area, but you do need to search for them. All in all, I would certainly stay there again. It was a lovely trip, I would recommend to stay during the Cherry Blossom Festival for a fun weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Twelve and K Hotel Washington DC

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Marcie612
Business
Montgomery County, MD
Oct 13, 2010

Good location

Great location in D.C. Decent-sized rooms. Only negative experience was that the front desk attendant was very unfriendly and unfortunately she was the same person who checked us in and out!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If staying during the weekend, park in the nearby convention center parking lot. Rates are $10/night and much cheaper than hotel parking garage.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Twelve and K Hotel Washington DC

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
merrimack,nh
Apr 22, 2009

the good and not so good

Our stay was good in general, but the house keeping staff could use some improvement! We had no towels for 2 of the 3 days we were at the hotel, the only way to get them was to go to the front desk and they paged someone to bring them that still did not work!!! Taking a shower with no wash cloth ( sort of hard) Bell men were great! Food was good at the restaurant! Overall happy outcome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Twelve and K Hotel Washington DC

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
hugh62
Business
scituate, Ma
Apr 17, 2010

Very nice hotel

We went for the TEA PARTY. We go to DC a lot and this trip was just fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Almost Every deli etc closed at 5PM

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Twelve and K Hotel Washington DC

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Vacationer in DC
Business
Northeastern USA
Sep 8, 2009

Moderate Hotel; Lots of Walking!

Overall, this hotel is OK if you like to do A LOT of walking, especially going to the Smithsonian museums or to the White House. It is not worth taking the Metro to these places, since it is only 1 stop away. Just walk it, that is, if you are in good shape. There is a slight incline coming back to the hotel on 12th Street. The ice machine did not work on my floor. The recliner in the room was a bit worn down. Internet access worked fine. Our mundane view from our window showed the rooftop of another building. Not much to see. We experienced TWO power outages on the SAME day (1-hour long at 2:30AM and 5-hours long at 6:15PM, respectively). The hotel did not compensate us for the inconvenience. If you like an average hotel with average service, then this hotel is for you. However, I would choose another hotel in the future that cares more about their guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are planning to stay at this hotel and taking the Metro, get off at the Meto-Metro Station, then walk up 12th Street to K Street. You will see the hotel at the corner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top