$75 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 22, 2014 Check-out: Aug 24, 2014

Twelve and K Hotel Washington DC

3 stars
1201 K Street N W, District of Columbia, DC 20005
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
183 reviews
Great 1/2 Marathon Weekend

We had a great weekend - the staff was friendly and helpful as we arrived early. They held our bags... See full review

  • JAMRL
  • May 3, 2014
convenient and comfortable

I arrived just before midnight after travel complicated by snow. The woman at the registration desk... See full review

  • Miss Mommers
  • Feb 9, 2014
D.C. hotel with pool and fitness facility near the convention center

Twelve and K Hotel Washington DC is in the heart of D.C., only three blocks from the Walter E. Washington Convention Center. Make yourself at home with free access to the indoor splash pool and 24-hour 650-square-foot fitness center. Twelve and K Hotel Washington DC is also within walking distance to most of the major tourist attractions including the Smithsonian, the White House, Dupont Circle and the National Mall. After a long day, guests relax on the rooftop sun deck or in the indoor pool.

Location
Twelve and K Hotel Washington DC is near Metro Center, within walking distance of the White House, Walter E. Washington Convention Center, museums and monuments.
Rooms
Rooms and suites at Twelve and K Hotel Washington DC feature light-colored bedspreads, patterned curtains and dark wood furniture. They include a custom bed, flat-screen television, desk and individual climate control. Cribs and rollaways are available upon request. High-speed Internet is complimentary. Microwave and refrigerator available upon request (fees apply).
Features

Guests can relax on the sun deck or take a swim in the Twelve and K Hotel Washington DC's indoor heated pool. Visitors can also enjoy free access to the indoor splash pool and 24-hour 650-square-foot fitness center. Meet colleagues for a drink at the District Grill restaurant and bar, and enjoy the American cuisine for breakfast, lunch, or dinner. Complimentary high-speed Internet and valet parking (fees apply) are available.

Transportation
  • Metro Center Metro stop (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Reagan National Airport (3.7 mi/6 km)
  • Dulles International Airport (23 mi/38 km)
  • Baltimore Washington International Airport (27 mi/44 km)
Attractions
  • Dupont Circle (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Georgetown (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • The White House (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Washington Convention Center (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • The National Mall (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • The Washington Monument (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • United States Capitol (1.3mi/2.1 km)
  • The Smithsonian Institute (1 mi/1.6 km)
Business
  • Business services
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet
  • 9,000 square feet of meeting/event space

Twelve and K Hotel Washington DC Rooms

Accessible King with roll-in sho
King bed - 276 sq feet - with roll-in shower - with typical furnishings
Accessible Room King
King bed - 276 sq feet - with typical furnishings
Ambassador Suite
King bed - 276 sq feet - typical furnishings with club lounge access
Deluxe Room King
King bed - 276 sq feet - with typical furnishings
Governor Suite
King bed - 276 sq feet - typical furnishings with club lounge access
Standard Room Queen
Queen bed - 276 sq feet - with typical furnishings
Accessible Room Queen
Queen bed - 276 sq feet - with typical furnishings
Deluxe Room Double Double
2 Queen beds - 276 sq feet - with typical furnishings
Standard Room Double
2 Double beds - 276 sq feet - with typical furnishings
Standard Room King
King bed - 276 sq feet - with typical furnishings

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
24 hour security
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
TV
Safe
Telephone
Mini bar
Electronic door locks
Sprinklers in rooms

Hotel Map

38.9029 -77.0285
Nearby airports
Washington National Airport, (DCA), 3.00, MI, S; Baltimore/Washington International Airport, (BWI), 27.00, MI, N; Washington Dulles International Airport, (IAD), 23.00, MI, W;
Area description
City Center

Dining

The District Grill Restaurant
THE DISTRICT GRILL RESTAURANT SERVES ALL-AMERICAN FAVORITES FOR BREAKFAST/LUNCH/AND DINNER - SOCIALIZE OVER COCKTAILS IN THE SMART/INTIMATE ATMOSPHERE OF THE DISTRICT GRILL RESTAURANT

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (183)

Ratings and reviews for Twelve and K Hotel Washington DC

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
183 out of 183
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Twelve and K Hotel Washington DC

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Doctor at conference
Business
Iowa
Oct 18, 2012

Perfect location and great value.

I have zero bad to say. It fulfilled my needs as a professional man visiting Washington and was good value, and well located. Staff were great. I will stay there again the next time I am in Washington.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Twelve and K Hotel Washington DC

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Summer luver
Omaha,NE
Jul 7, 2013

Just ok

Within walking distance to convention center. Room was small but clean. Staff was friendly, although English was not their first language, and confusions arose. They tried to send us a rollaway bed the first night, which we never requested. The next day they tried to switch our room saying we requested that, which we never did. Overall, just average?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Twelve and K Hotel Washington DC

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Condor Matt
Washington DC
Apr 1, 2013

Perfect weekend.

Great location and a friendly staff. I couldn't ask for anything more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

All the atrractions are within walking distance, just wear comfortable shoes.

Review of Twelve and K Hotel Washington DC

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
robotraveler
ny
Mar 31, 2013

nice, clean & comfortable

We were surprised how much we liked this room - very spacious and comfortable king sized bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Twelve and K Hotel Washington DC

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Go lions
Business
Phili pa
Jan 7, 2013

Convenient for convention

The room was wonderful. The staff was great. The trouble in general with DC is just street noise during the night. If you stay in the city you just have to expect it.. Just 3 blocks from convention center.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to china town. Great food. Short walk.

Review of Twelve and K Hotel Washington DC

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dustin STL
Business
St. Louis
Nov 20, 2012

Pretty Good Hotel

I've stayed here twice. Its a great location in the heart of DC within walking distance of the mall. The room I got this time was very small, but I was traveling by myself for business so I didn't need anything big. Room was clean but could have used some TLC. Overall not a bad value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Twelve and K Hotel Washington DC

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Doctor at conference
Business
Iowa
Oct 18, 2012

Perfect location and great value.

I have zero bad to say. It fulfilled my needs as a professional man visiting Washington and was good value, and well located. Staff were great. I will stay there again the next time I am in Washington.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Twelve and K Hotel Washington DC

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Elise11
Philadelphia
Oct 16, 2012

Good location for a cheaper price

We had planned to go on one night trip to DC for a tour of the National Museum of Crime and Punishment and the Masonic Temple which were both about a mile away from the hotel's location. We also found a couple cool spots to eat dinner a couple blocks away, Capital City Brewing Company and Delirium. Overall the hotel is in a great location and much less than other hotels in the area. If you don't plan on spending much time in the hotel, this is the place for you. Pluses about the property: Great location, salt-water heated indoor pool (love that I did smell like chlorine after a dip), wait staff and front desk staff. Minuses: Standard room is very small with a little walking room (think European hotel in Paris small) TV was not in front of the bed but on the side which made watching it while in bed uncomfortable. Top sheet of bed had a worn in decent size stain on it and we saw two blood drops on one of the pillow cases that luckily had fell to the floor over night. Bathroom does not have a fan which makes it hard to use mirror for a while after a steamy shower. TV does not have a TV guide channel to find out what is on each channel (I thought that was standard these days) and you can NOT order movies which makes room service not as fun. Speaking of room service they automatically charge a 20% tip and a fee for room service and do not write that info on the menu or tell you over the phone. Really wish they would have had a hot tub in the pool room, would have made all the minuses not stick out in my mind.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Short cab ride to many places in DC and short walk to most things if you consider about a mile a short distance which I do.

Review of Twelve and K Hotel Washington DC

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Olivejuice79
NYC
Oct 8, 2012

Great Location

As I only stayed for a night, I can only comment on limited things. First, location is what I was looking for even if it's only a 3 star (average) hotel. The exterior of the hotel along with the lobby looks great. The room (1 bdrm on the 2nd floor) could use a little retouching. I didn't like the fact that it was an interconnecting room because the other guest that stayed in that room had an annoying dog which kept crying, and woke me up in the middle of the night! Last but not least, the staff was really helpful! I would recommend staying @ The Four Points Sheraton if you're looking for a quick getaway in DC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Acqua Al Due - is the best authentic Italian restaurant in DC. PLEASE try the blueberry steak with a nice bottle of red:)

Review of Twelve and K Hotel Washington DC

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lion
North Marston, England
Sep 24, 2012

Good sightseeing location but a bit noisy.

Relaxed atmosphere and all staff very helpful. Good location for restaurants and sightseeing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Twelve and K Hotel Washington DC

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shadygarden
Arlington, MA
Aug 21, 2012

Great special price

This hotel was running a special $99 per night., which was great for DC. I had stayed there several years ago so I knew it would be fine. The location is excellent for walking to the National Mall, White House, etc. and it is near two Metro stops. The room was small but clean and comfortable. The staff was friendly. There is a small but well equipped fitness room. Free coffee is available each morning in the restaurant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

You can get to the Chinatown area in about 15 minutes by foot where there are many restaurants and entertainment. The downtown shopping area is very close too.

Back to menu Return to top