$211 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 20, 2014 Check-out: Sep 21, 2014

Twelve and K Hotel Washington DC

3 stars
1201 K Street N W, District of Columbia, DC 20005
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
110 reviews
Great 1/2 Marathon Weekend

We had a great weekend - the staff was friendly and helpful as we arrived early. They held our bags... See full review

  • JAMRL
  • May 3, 2014
convenient and comfortable

I arrived just before midnight after travel complicated by snow. The woman at the registration desk... See full review

  • Miss Mommers
  • Feb 9, 2014
D.C. hotel with pool and fitness facility near the convention center

Twelve and K Hotel Washington DC is in the heart of D.C., only three blocks from the Walter E. Washington Convention Center. Make yourself at home with free access to the indoor splash pool and 24-hour 650-square-foot fitness center. Twelve and K Hotel Washington DC is also within walking distance to most of the major tourist attractions including the Smithsonian, the White House, Dupont Circle and the National Mall. After a long day, guests relax on the rooftop sun deck or in the indoor pool.

Location
Twelve and K Hotel Washington DC is near Metro Center, within walking distance of the White House, Walter E. Washington Convention Center, museums and monuments.
Rooms
Rooms and suites at Twelve and K Hotel Washington DC feature light-colored bedspreads, patterned curtains and dark wood furniture. They include a custom bed, flat-screen television, desk and individual climate control. Cribs and rollaways are available upon request. High-speed Internet is complimentary. Microwave and refrigerator available upon request (fees apply).
Features

Guests can relax on the sun deck or take a swim in the Twelve and K Hotel Washington DC's indoor heated pool. Visitors can also enjoy free access to the indoor splash pool and 24-hour 650-square-foot fitness center. Meet colleagues for a drink at the District Grill restaurant and bar, and enjoy the American cuisine for breakfast, lunch, or dinner. Complimentary high-speed Internet and valet parking (fees apply) are available.

Transportation
  • Metro Center Metro stop (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Reagan National Airport (3.7 mi/6 km)
  • Dulles International Airport (23 mi/38 km)
  • Baltimore Washington International Airport (27 mi/44 km)
Attractions
  • Dupont Circle (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Georgetown (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • The White House (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Washington Convention Center (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • The National Mall (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • The Washington Monument (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • United States Capitol (1.3mi/2.1 km)
  • The Smithsonian Institute (1 mi/1.6 km)
Business
  • Business services
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet
  • 9,000 square feet of meeting/event space

Hotel Map

38.9029 -77.0285
Nearby airports
Washington National Airport, (DCA), 3.00, MI, S; Baltimore/Washington International Airport, (BWI), 27.00, MI, N; Washington Dulles International Airport, (IAD), 23.00, MI, W;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Twelve and K Hotel Washington DC also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Twelve and K Hotel Washington DC Rooms

Accessible King with roll-in sho
King bed - 276 sq feet - with roll-in shower - with typical furnishings
Accessible Room King
King bed - 276 sq feet - with typical furnishings
Ambassador Suite
King bed - 276 sq feet - typical furnishings with club lounge access
Deluxe Room King
King bed - 276 sq feet - with typical furnishings
Governor Suite
King bed - 276 sq feet - typical furnishings with club lounge access
Standard Room Queen
Queen bed - 276 sq feet - with typical furnishings
Accessible Room Queen
Queen bed - 276 sq feet - with typical furnishings
Deluxe Room Double Double
2 Queen beds - 276 sq feet - with typical furnishings
Standard Room Double
2 Double beds - 276 sq feet - with typical furnishings
Standard Room King
King bed - 276 sq feet - with typical furnishings

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
24 hour security
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
TV
Safe
Telephone
Mini bar
Electronic door locks
Sprinklers in rooms

Dining

The District Grill Restaurant
THE DISTRICT GRILL RESTAURANT SERVES ALL-AMERICAN FAVORITES FOR BREAKFAST/LUNCH/AND DINNER - SOCIALIZE OVER COCKTAILS IN THE SMART/INTIMATE ATMOSPHERE OF THE DISTRICT GRILL RESTAURANT

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (110)

Ratings and reviews for Twelve and K Hotel Washington DC

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
110 out of 110
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.8

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Twelve and K Hotel Washington DC

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Miami
Oct 12, 2008

nice hotel for the money

The hotel was very nice and the rooms were updated although a little small. The hallways did not look as updated as the rooms. The hotel restaurant was nice and the food was great although a little pricey. The location was in walking distance to all the sights. Overall, I am very pleased with our hotel and room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The national mall and white house are the closest attractions but everything is in walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Twelve and K Hotel Washington DC

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Monroe, MI
Jul 14, 2008

friendly staff, ok hotel

Although, the Four Points: Sheraton staff were very helpful and friendly, the hotel itself had a few issues. Our first room, the air and fridge didn't work, but the hotel was quick to move us to a new room. The second room the air worked but the coffee pot was missing. The pool was very small and the water was cloudy. Also, a hot tub would have been nice. The location was ok, it was a little farther from the majority of attractions than some of the other hotels but was decently close to a subway station and bus station.The resturant in the hotel was pricey and had little to choose from. Overall, my hotel stay was a decent stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Twelve and K Hotel Washington DC

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Jacksonville
Jun 15, 2008

excellent value for the money

Beds and multiple pillows were super comfortable and the room was very clean. I had originally booked one king bed but ended up needing two beds instead and the staff happily made the adjustment. The hotel is actually just 3 blocks from the McPherson Square metro stop (closer than Metro Center), easily walkable--even with rolling luggage. The location was very good; I felt safe coming and going any time of day. Shampoo, soap, towels, lotions were provided every day. Coffeemaker, ironing board, and hair dryer are provided. Everything was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

About 8 blocks or so to the Mall. Bring good shoes and you can easily walk it (15 minutes or so), otherwise Metro will get you there (board at McPherson Square).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Twelve and K Hotel Washington DC

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Anchorage, AK
Apr 6, 2008

Not what we expected

We took a cab to the hotel because we were unfamiliar with Washington and wanted to get there put our bags and coats in the room and find our way around. The check in staff was very good and let us ck in alittle early since our room was ready. Then we had to walk about 9 or ten blocks to the smiths museums and the monuments, so I didn't think the hotel was as close to attractions as they said they were. After walking thru all the areas we wanted to see we had to walk all the back to the hotel and it was almost dark. Our legs and feet were throbing and I just wanted to get into a nice hot jacuzi, so I went up to the roof top spa swimming pool only to find out there was not jucuzi just a pool with alot of kids in it and the roof top had no view of the city, just the tops of other buidings. Our rm. had no view either, just roof tops! We couldn't get any cool air from the heat/air. We tried everything to get cool air because the rm was so small and stuffy we couldn't sleep and the fan was very noisy. We laid awake til the we hrs of nite listening to people in the halls, walking, talking, kids running and making noise. The rms are not very well sound proof. Then when I decided to take a hot shower to relax my sore muscles I found hair on the shower walls and in the soap dish!! I definately would not sit and soak in that tub! There is only one small dining place in the hotel, The district grill. Pretty pricey, a breakfaast for 2 people, was $32. Even the hotel staff doesn't recomend it. They gave us the names of a few other places but it was raining and we just ate there. I would not reccomend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Twelve and K Hotel Washington DC

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Corpus Christi, TX
Mar 18, 2008

FRIENDLY

GOOD LOCATION SAFE GOOD ROOM COMFORTABLE BEDS NO NOISE

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

SHOPS AND DINING AND MUSEUMS AND ATTRACTIONS WALKING DISTANCE TRANSPORTATION EXCELLENT ; NO NEED FOR A CAR

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Twelve and K Hotel Washington DC

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Salt Lake City, UT
Mar 3, 2008

Overall a good bet

This hotel was overall a good bet, providing comfortable rooms, good safe location and value for money. Makes for a great base if visiting museums and good bars and restaurants were also within easy walking distance. Most of the rooms in this hotel are on the small size, this could pose a problem for some. Also not much space for luggage. The room did have a fridge however and the beds are very comfy. The room did need some maintenance but overall was in good working order and nice. Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

7th street

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Twelve and K Hotel Washington DC

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Mar 2, 2008

Staff

The staff was very friendly. I arrived very early in the morning (10:00 am) and I was not sure if the hotel would let me check in. The lobby staff was very helpful with the check in process. I was able to check in right away without any qualms from the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There was a good assortment of restaurants in the immediate area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Twelve and K Hotel Washington DC

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Newark, NJ
Sep 3, 2007

romantic getaway

My only disappointment was that the hotel wanted to charge me $15.00 per day for a refrigerator. I have stayed in many hotels and have never been charged to use a refrigerator.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Washington monuments

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Twelve and K Hotel Washington DC

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Aug 5, 2007

Very nice pool area

Comfortable room. Great location and a very informed staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

We were able to park on the street beside the hotel and did not have to pay to park in the garage since it was a weekend.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Twelve and K Hotel Washington DC

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kansas City, MO
Jun 14, 2007

Clean and Small

Although the total experience was more than satisfactory, the room was small. If more than two people are in a room, there is no place for everything. The air conditioner was loud. Over all, for the location in the DC area, the room was ok. The service personnel were excellent and the check in was smooth with no glitches. There is an internet connection by the front desk to print from if you need it. The pool was nice. All in all, I would recommend staying there if you have to be at the convention center.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

It is close to the Convention Center, it takes about 6 minutes to walk there. It is not a long walk, about 15 min) to the Mall.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search