$169 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 4, 2014 Check-out: Oct 5, 2014

Twelve and K Hotel Washington DC

3 stars
1201 K Street N W, District of Columbia, DC 20005
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
110 reviews
Great 1/2 Marathon Weekend

We had a great weekend - the staff was friendly and helpful as we arrived early. They held our bags... See full review

  • JAMRL
  • May 3, 2014
convenient and comfortable

I arrived just before midnight after travel complicated by snow. The woman at the registration desk... See full review

  • Miss Mommers
  • Feb 9, 2014
D.C. hotel with pool and fitness facility near the convention center

Twelve and K Hotel Washington DC is in the heart of D.C., only three blocks from the Walter E. Washington Convention Center. Make yourself at home with free access to the indoor splash pool and 24-hour 650-square-foot fitness center. Twelve and K Hotel Washington DC is also within walking distance to most of the major tourist attractions including the Smithsonian, the White House, Dupont Circle and the National Mall. After a long day, guests relax on the rooftop sun deck or in the indoor pool.

Location
Twelve and K Hotel Washington DC is near Metro Center, within walking distance of the White House, Walter E. Washington Convention Center, museums and monuments.
Rooms
Rooms and suites at Twelve and K Hotel Washington DC feature light-colored bedspreads, patterned curtains and dark wood furniture. They include a custom bed, flat-screen television, desk and individual climate control. Cribs and rollaways are available upon request. High-speed Internet is complimentary. Microwave and refrigerator available upon request (fees apply).
Features

Guests can relax on the sun deck or take a swim in the Twelve and K Hotel Washington DC's indoor heated pool. Visitors can also enjoy free access to the indoor splash pool and 24-hour 650-square-foot fitness center. Meet colleagues for a drink at the District Grill restaurant and bar, and enjoy the American cuisine for breakfast, lunch, or dinner. Complimentary high-speed Internet and valet parking (fees apply) are available.

Transportation
  • Metro Center Metro stop (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Reagan National Airport (3.7 mi/6 km)
  • Dulles International Airport (23 mi/38 km)
  • Baltimore Washington International Airport (27 mi/44 km)
Attractions
  • Dupont Circle (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Georgetown (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • The White House (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Washington Convention Center (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • The National Mall (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • The Washington Monument (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • United States Capitol (1.3mi/2.1 km)
  • The Smithsonian Institute (1 mi/1.6 km)
Business
  • Business services
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet
  • 9,000 square feet of meeting/event space

Hotel Map

38.9029 -77.0285
Nearby airports
Washington National Airport, (DCA), 3.00, MI, S; Baltimore/Washington International Airport, (BWI), 27.00, MI, N; Washington Dulles International Airport, (IAD), 23.00, MI, W;
Area description
City Center

Twelve and K Hotel Washington DC Rooms

Accessible King with roll-in sho
King bed - 276 sq feet - with roll-in shower - with typical furnishings
Accessible Room King
King bed - 276 sq feet - with typical furnishings
Ambassador Suite
King bed - 276 sq feet - typical furnishings with club lounge access
Deluxe Room King
King bed - 276 sq feet - with typical furnishings
Governor Suite
King bed - 276 sq feet - typical furnishings with club lounge access
Standard Room Queen
Queen bed - 276 sq feet - with typical furnishings
Accessible Room Queen
Queen bed - 276 sq feet - with typical furnishings
Deluxe Room Double Double
2 Queen beds - 276 sq feet - with typical furnishings
Standard Room Double
2 Double beds - 276 sq feet - with typical furnishings
Standard Room King
King bed - 276 sq feet - with typical furnishings

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
24 hour security
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
TV
Safe
Telephone
Mini bar
Electronic door locks
Sprinklers in rooms

Dining

The District Grill Restaurant
THE DISTRICT GRILL RESTAURANT SERVES ALL-AMERICAN FAVORITES FOR BREAKFAST/LUNCH/AND DINNER - SOCIALIZE OVER COCKTAILS IN THE SMART/INTIMATE ATMOSPHERE OF THE DISTRICT GRILL RESTAURANT

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (110)

Ratings and reviews for Twelve and K Hotel Washington DC

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
110 out of 110
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.8

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Twelve and K Hotel Washington DC

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lion
North Marston, England
Sep 24, 2012

Good sightseeing location but a bit noisy.

Relaxed atmosphere and all staff very helpful. Good location for restaurants and sightseeing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Twelve and K Hotel Washington DC

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
museumophile
Business
seattle, WA
Feb 28, 2014

convenient, quiet place

great concierges-personable, friendly, helpful; 2 short blocks to Metro Center and awesome restaurants and walking distance to many museums. Smallish hotel, low on decor that provides glitz-free, bustle-free easy stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Osteria Bibiana cuisine to die for

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Twelve and K Hotel Washington DC

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dustin STL
Business
St. Louis
Nov 20, 2012

Pretty Good Hotel

I've stayed here twice. Its a great location in the heart of DC within walking distance of the mall. The room I got this time was very small, but I was traveling by myself for business so I didn't need anything big. Room was clean but could have used some TLC. Overall not a bad value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Twelve and K Hotel Washington DC

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
rruu
Denver
May 11, 2009

clean and comfortable but the staff....

room was small but clean and comfortable (especially the bed) but aside from the gal who checked us in and a bartender the staff was pretty incompetent and bordering on rude...could not give directions (they don't drive in the city) could not help with internet or business center kiosks (not their problem), printers were down so we could not get a receipt but $5 and $25 charge appears on my card they can't explain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

14k lounge a couple blocks away has great food, friendly staff and a fantastic happy hour

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Twelve and K Hotel Washington DC

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Fotogyrrl
New England
Apr 13, 2010

Not too shabby.....

Upon arriving at the hotel the staff was friendly and warm. We had a very clean and comfortable room with a nice little view. There is a rooftop pool and a 24 hour fitness room. I did not check them out so I don't know what they are like. The placement of the hotel to the Museums and Monuments was actually not bad. Walking down was only about 20 minutes to just about everything. The White House is even closer at about a 15 minute walk. Another nice thing is that the hotel is near a 24 hour CVS, so if you forgot something you could walk over 2 blocks on 14th St to pick something up. It was not near a Metro stop, but there was always a cab available nearby if needed. I would recommend leaving the hotel for meals. The District Grill was not exactly yummy. There are some fine restaurants in the area, but you do need to search for them. All in all, I would certainly stay there again. It was a lovely trip, I would recommend to stay during the Cherry Blossom Festival for a fun weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Twelve and K Hotel Washington DC

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Marcie612
Montgomery County, MD
Oct 13, 2010

Good location

Great location in D.C. Decent-sized rooms. Only negative experience was that the front desk attendant was very unfriendly and unfortunately she was the same person who checked us in and out!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If staying during the weekend, park in the nearby convention center parking lot. Rates are $10/night and much cheaper than hotel parking garage.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Twelve and K Hotel Washington DC

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Elise11
Philadelphia
Oct 16, 2012

Good location for a cheaper price

We had planned to go on one night trip to DC for a tour of the National Museum of Crime and Punishment and the Masonic Temple which were both about a mile away from the hotel's location. We also found a couple cool spots to eat dinner a couple blocks away, Capital City Brewing Company and Delirium. Overall the hotel is in a great location and much less than other hotels in the area. If you don't plan on spending much time in the hotel, this is the place for you. Pluses about the property: Great location, salt-water heated indoor pool (love that I did smell like chlorine after a dip), wait staff and front desk staff. Minuses: Standard room is very small with a little walking room (think European hotel in Paris small) TV was not in front of the bed but on the side which made watching it while in bed uncomfortable. Top sheet of bed had a worn in decent size stain on it and we saw two blood drops on one of the pillow cases that luckily had fell to the floor over night. Bathroom does not have a fan which makes it hard to use mirror for a while after a steamy shower. TV does not have a TV guide channel to find out what is on each channel (I thought that was standard these days) and you can NOT order movies which makes room service not as fun. Speaking of room service they automatically charge a 20% tip and a fee for room service and do not write that info on the menu or tell you over the phone. Really wish they would have had a hot tub in the pool room, would have made all the minuses not stick out in my mind.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Short cab ride to many places in DC and short walk to most things if you consider about a mile a short distance which I do.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Twelve and K Hotel Washington DC

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
At a conference
Business
Nevada
Mar 15, 2011

Eh...

Missing fresh towels and I'm still waiting for my wake up call. In room dining stop at 11pm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Call for a cab if you need one otherwise one will rarely come to the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Twelve and K Hotel Washington DC

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
dontgotone
Business
Fullerton, California
Feb 23, 2014

Not so great

Shower never got hot (only warm, every time), toilet would drip loudly for an hour after every use, there was a loud conference going on right outside my room until late, hotel restaurant was disappointing (asked for the best thing on the menu and it tasted like a hot pocket)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Twelve and K Hotel Washington DC

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
MA
Apr 26, 2009

Don't Pay List Price

Went on a vacation to view the monuments and museums. Spent liitle time in hotel- there is nothing to do there. This is essentially a business hotel with very few amenities and little decoration. The bathrooms are ridiculously small and would be more appropriate in a cruise ship than a hotel. The rooms were clean and the location is pretty good. I got a very good rate through a package deal but would NOT recommend paying the usual rates. You could do better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Take in a Nationals game while you're in town. It's a nice new stadium.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top