$184 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 27, 2014 Check-out: Sep 28, 2014

Fairmont Washington DC Georgetown

4 stars
2401 M St Northwest, Washington, DC 20037
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
49 reviews
great washington experience

The Fairmont was top notch. The lobby is beautiful, the room spacious. The service was great! The... See full review

  • tennis4me
  • Sep 8, 2013
Wonderful anniversary weekend!

We recently celebrated our 39th wedding anniversary and the Fairmont, Washington, DC was the... See full review

  • Grandmom Beth
  • Aug 14, 2013
A West End oasis with large health club, courtyard garden, restaurant

The Fairmont Washington is a AAA Four Diamond luxury hotel in D.C.'s West End neighborhood. The hotel borders Georgetown and has hosted famous actors and politicians. The hotel immerses guests in elegant design, original artwork, plants and natural light. Guests love the 17,000-square-foot health club with indoor pool, steam room, racquetball court and state-of-the-art equipment and classes. The on-site restaurant offers upscale American comfort food. Relax in the courtyard garden when it's warm.

Highlights
  • AAA Four Diamond luxury hotel
  • 17,000-square-foot health club
  • Courtyard garden with greenery and fountain
  • On-site restaurant serving locally grown, upscale comfort food
Location

The Fairmont Washington is located in D.C.'s West End neighborhood, on the outer edge of Georgetown and within walking distance to Dupont Circle and the White House.

Rooms

The spacious 415 guest rooms at the Fairmont Washington are elegantly decorated with rich fabrics, dark wood furniture and soothing hues. Rooms have a desk, Italian marble bathrooms, luxurious linens, bathrobes and mini bar. Many rooms have small balconies. One- and two-bedroom suites are 700 to 1,800 square feet and have a sofa, dining table, original artwork, separate bedroom, and some have soaking tubs. High-speed Internet is available (fees apply).

Features

The 17,000-square-foot health club at the Fairmont Washington features a 50-foot lap pool, Jacuzzi, large exercise room with state-of-the-art equipment, personal trainers, a lounge, exercise classes and massage. There is access to high-speed Internet in lobby and some guest rooms (fees apply). Valet parking is available (fees apply).

Dining

There are three on-site dining options at the Fairmont Washington, including Juniper, serving upscale American comfort food for breakfast, lunch, dinner, and in-room dining.

Transportation
  • Foggy Bottom Metro stop (0.3 mi/0.48 km)
  • Reagan National Airport (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
  • Dulles International Airport (22 mi/36 km)
  • Baltimore Washington International Airport (28 mi/45 km)
Attractions
  • Dupont Circle (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Center of Georgetown (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • The Kennedy Center (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • White House (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • The National Mall (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • The Smithsonian Institution (1.8 mi/2.9 km)
  • United States Capitol (2.4 mi/3.9 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Wireless, high-speed Internet (fees apply)
  • Meeting space
  • Administrative services
  • Technology center for tech rentals and service
Policies and fees
The hotel will undergo repairs to its exterior this Spring/Summer.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

38.9058 -77.0517
Nearby airports
Reagan National Airport, (DCA), 5.00, MI, NW; Washington Dulles Intl Airport, (IAD), 33.00, MI, E; Baltimore/Washington Intl Airport, (BWI), 33.00, MI, SW;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Fairmont Washington DC Georgetown also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Fairmont Washington DC Georgetown Rooms

Concierge
Fairmont Gold KG NS Accessible - Accommodates wheelchair- 4 grab bars in tub- 2 grab bars by toilet- hand held shower- height adjusted peep hole- hanging rod in closet- lever handles on bathroom and entrance doors- lever handles on sink tabs- strobe light
Deluxe
Deluxe King NS Accessible - Accommodates wheelchair- 4 grab bars in tub- 2 grab bars by toilet- height adjusted temperature and light controls- hand held shower- connecting- height adjusted peep hole- hanging rod in closet- lever handles on bathroom and e
Deluxe
Deluxe Dbl Dbl NS Accessible - Accommodates wheelchair- 4 grab bars in tub- 2 grab bars by toilet- height adjusted temperature and light controls- hand held shower- connecting- height adjusted peep hole- hanging rod in closet- lever handles on bathroom an
Deluxe
400 Square Feet. King size or two double beds- handsome furnishings, beautiful courtyard views; most include a balcony overlooking garden.
Deluxe
Deluxe Room - spacious accommodations finished in rich fabrics and overlooking the serene courtyard garden. All rooms offer a well-equipped desk- HSIA and a comfortable lounging area that is perfect for relaxing or working. The room also features an Itali
Economy
Moderate Room - has HSIA. Furnishings are residential in feeling with a mixture of contemporary and period styles- including antiques and original artwork. All rooms have a full- length mirror on the bathroom door the corner of the room as a sitting area.
Economy
Moderate Room - has HSIA furnishings are residential in feeling with a mixture of contemporary and period styles- including antiques and original artwork. All rooms have a full- length mirror on the bathroom door the corner of the room as a sitting area.
Standard
Fairmont Room - traditional rooms featuring residential furnishings- antiques- original artwork- HSIA. All rooms have a full-length mirror on the bathroom door and a sitting area with a chair and reading lamp. Location: Floors 4 through 10 Beds: 1 King S
Standard
Fairmont King Rollin Shower - Accommodates wheelchair- roll-in shower- 4 grab bars in tub- 2 grab bars by toilet- hand held shower- connecting- height adjusted peep hole- hanging rod in closet- lever handles on bathroom and entrance doors- lever handles o
Standard
Fairmont Room - traditional rooms featuring residential furnishings- HSIA. All rooms have a full-length mirror on the bathroom door and a sitting area with a chair and reading lamp. Location: Floors 4 through 10 Beds: 2 Dbl Beds Size: 400 sq. ft. View:
Standard
400 square feet: Choice of king-size or two double beds- the sophisticated furnishings add comfort with floor lamps and ottomans at the foot of every lounge chair.
Concierge
Fairmont Gold Signature King NS - Oversized Gold room with access to lounge. Features Complimentary Breakfast and Wireless Internet- Private check-in and out- snacks- dessert. Fairmont Gold Signature rooms are discreetly located at either end of our Fair
Standard
Fairmont Dbl Dbl NS Accessible - Accommodates wheelchair- 4 grab bars in tub- 2 grab bars by toilet- height adjusted temperature and light controls- hand held shower- height adjusted peep hole- hanging rod in closet- lever handles on bathroom and entrance
Standard
Fairmont Room - traditional rooms featuring residential furnishings- antiques- original artwork- HSIA. All rooms have a full-length mirror on the bathroom door and a sitting area with a chair and reading lamp. Location: Floors 4 through 10 Beds: 1 King S
Standard
Fairmont Dbl Dbl Roll in Shower - Accommodates wheelchair- roll in shower- 4 grab bars in tub- 2 grab bars by toilet- hand held shower- connecting- height adjusted peep hole- hanging rod in closet- lever handles on bathroom and entrance doors- lever handl
Suite
Ambassador One Bedroom Suite - Ambassador One Bedroom Suite - Finished in a plush decor and featuring original artwork depicting Washington landmarks. They offer a separate sitting and dining area that seats 4 people and flat screen televisions. Separat
Suite
One Bedroom Georgetown Suite - These suites offer free HSIA- a Jacuzzi in addition to a luxurious parlour. Exclusive access to the Concierge Level. Complimentary Deluxe Continental Breakfast and evening Canapes daily. A blend of contemporary and period
Suite
Shenandoah Double - Must be booked with the RPN suite only. NOT for individual sale.
Suite
Shenandoah King Room - Must be booked with the RPN only, NOT as an inidividual room.
Suite
Chesapeake Suite Double - Must be booked with the LPN Suite only. NOT as an individual room.
Suite
Magnolia Double - Must be booked with the MPN Suite only. NOT as an individual room
Suite
Georgetown Double - DO NOT BOOK WITHOUT THE APN. This is a connecting bedroom only - not for general sale
Concierge
Fairmont Gold Signature 2 Doubles NS - Oversized Gold room with access to lounge. Features Complimentary Breakfast and Wireless Internet- Private check-in and out- snacks- dessert. Exclusive access to the Concierge Level. Complimentary Deluxe Continenta
Suite
One Bedroom Shenandoah Suite - These suites offer free HSIA in addition to a luxurious parlour. Exclusive access to the Concierge Level. Complimentary Deluxe Continental Breakfast and evening Canapes daily A blend of contemporary and period furnishings
Suite
One Bedroom Chesapeake Suite - Suite offers free HSIA in addition to a luxurious parlour. Chesapeake Suite guests receive Fairmont Gold Privileges.Exclusive access to the Concierge Level. Complimentary Deluxe Continental Breakfast and evening Canapes
Suite
Two Bedroom Fairmont Gold Shenandoah Suite - These suites offer free HSIA and feature one or two bedrooms- in addition to a luxurious parlour. A blend of contemporary and period furnishings evokes a *residential* feel. The well-appointed parlour offers se
Suite
Two Bedroom Fairmont Gold Georgetown Suite - These suites offer free HSIA- a Jacuzz- and feature one or two bedrooms- in addition to a luxurious parlour. A blend of contemporary and period furnishings evokes a *residential* feel. The well-appointed parlou
Suite
Magnolia King - Must be booked with the MPN Suite only. NOT as an individual room.
Suite
Chesapeake Suite King - Must be booked with the LPN Suite only. NOT as an individual room.
Suite
Two Bedroom Chesapeake Suite - Bookable in CRS These suites offer free HSIA and feature one or two bedrooms- in addition to a luxurious parlour. Lexus Eco Suite guests receive Fairmont Gold Privileges. A blend of contemporary and period furnishings evokes
Suite
One Bedroom Magnolia Suite - These exceptionally spacious rooms offer HSIA. They feature a formal living and dining room along with a master bedroom separated by a door. Overlooking the courtyard garden- the suites create a serene yet sophisticated atmos
Suite
Two Bedroom Ambassador Suite - Ambassador Suites are available with one or two bedrooms finished in a plush decor and featuring original artwork depicting Washington landmarks. They offer a separate sitting and dining area and flat screen televisions. Lo
Suite
Capital Corner Suite - open-concept suites designed in rich fabrics with soft touches and floral artwork. They feature a plush sofa- coffee table- dining table- original artwork and HSIA. Capital Corner Suites evoke a pied-a-terre feeling and are a tranqu
Concierge
Fairmont Gold Executive Suite - offers free HSIA. These open concept accommodations offer plush and soothing decor accented by original artworks- comfortable sitting area and bedroom. Exclusive access to the Concierge Level. Complimentary Deluxe Continen
Suite
Two Bedroom Magnolia Suite - Magnolia Suites are newly appointed suites available with one or two bedrooms offering the finest in luxury with These exceptionally spacious rooms offer HSIA. They feature a formal living and dining room along with a master b
Concierge
Fairmont Gold Dbl NS Accessible - Accommodates wheelchair- 4 grab bars in tub- 2 grab bars by toilet- hand held shower- connecting- height adjusted peep hole- hanging rod in closet- lever handles on bathroom and entrance doors- lever handles on sink tabs-
Concierge
Fairmont Signature King NS - Rich fabrics soft touches and spacious surroundings ensure that your experience in our oversized Fairmont Signature king room will be relaxing and rejuvenating. The floral artwork brings botanical hues of our courtyard garden
Concierge
Fairmont Gold Room - offers free HSIA wireless or regular. They are residential in style and graciously appointed featuring a large work area with a desk- two telephones- twice-daily housekeeping services- DVD | CD player and clock radio- a flatscreen tel
Deluxe
Deluxe Room - spacious accommodations finished in rich fabrics and overlooking the serene courtyard garden. All rooms offer a well-equipped desk- HSIA and a comfortable lounging area that is perfect for relaxing or working. The room also features an Itali
Deluxe
Deluxe King NS Rollin Shower - Accommodates wheelchair- roll-in shower- 4 grab bars in tub- 2 grab bars by toilet- height adjusted temperature and light controls- hand held shower- connecting- height adjusted peep hole- hanging rod in closet- lever handle

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Executive level
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Sauna
Children's activities
Golf
Jogging track
Tennis
Play ground
Boating
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Nursery for children
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Porters
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Copy service
Currency exchange
News stand
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Projector
White board
Conference suite
Computer rental
Easel
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
Bathroom telephone
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Department of Treasury: 0.4 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.4 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.5 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 0.5 mi
  • Blues Alley: 0.6 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 0.7 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.7 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.8 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Blair House: 0.9 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.9 mi
  • Department of State: 0.9 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Francis Scott Key Memorial Park: 0.9 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.9 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.4 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.4 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.5 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 0.5 mi
  • Blues Alley: 0.6 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 0.7 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.7 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.8 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Blair House: 0.9 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.9 mi
  • Department of State: 0.9 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Francis Scott Key Memorial Park: 0.9 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.9 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.9 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.9 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 1 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 1 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 1 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 1.1 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Presidents Park: 1.1 mi
  • Lincoln Memorial: 1.1 mi
  • Georgetown University: 1.2 mi
  • Constitution Gardens: 1.2 mi
  • Reflecting Pool: 1.2 mi
  • Korean War Memorial: 1.3 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 1.3 mi
  • National World War II Memorial: 1.3 mi
  • National Aquarium: 1.3 mi
  • Chesapeake and Ohio Canal: 1.3 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 1.3 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1.3 mi
  • National Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 1.3 mi
  • Naval Observatory: 1.3 mi
  • District of Columbia War Memorial: 1.3 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 1.4 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 1.4 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 1.4 mi
  • Washington Monument: 1.5 mi
  • West Potomac Park: 1.5 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 1.5 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 1.5 mi

Dining

Juniper Restaurant
Located on the main floor- Juniper specializes in American comfort food with a modern twist. Indoor and outdoor seating (in the peaceful courtyard garden). Designed as a stylish and unique urban eatery- Juniper*s rich botanical hues bring the outdoor cour
Courtyard Garden
Dining al fresco in the beautiful Garden Courtyard is offered when the weather co-operates. The modern American regional cuisine dishes are prepared in the main kitchen where Chef works his magic.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
01:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (49)

Ratings and reviews for Fairmont Washington DC Georgetown

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
49 out of 49
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Fairmont Washington DC Georgetown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Stargirl
NY
Dec 7, 2011

Quick stopover

Excellent overall. Only disappointment was that the sauna was out of order. Room was spacious and renovated. Staff were helpful and friendly. Location, a short walk from Georgetown, was perfect. An unbeatable deal!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bistro Francais in Georgetown open for food until the wee hours.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont Washington DC Georgetown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AShakir
Business
LA, California
May 29, 2013

Great Hotel / OK Restaurant

I really enjoyed the hotel. The staff and the facility was fantastic. I especially enjoyed the lounge in the lobby with the piano bar and snacks. The restaurant is a separate entity that does not live up to the excellence of the hotel. The food was great but the service not so slow and non-engaging. Five stars to the hotel, 2.5 stars to the restaurant. Not to worry, there are plenty of great places to eat near by. Peace....AMS

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is a short walk from M street in George Town; Great for shopping.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont Washington DC Georgetown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gina Cucina
Business
San Jose, CA, USA
Jan 25, 2012

Business Trip -- I'd stay there again

The hotel was comfortable, and the rooms were spacious. I was disappointed that we didn't have an atrium view, but given the supreme discount, that's to be expected. The bell staff was friendly and helpful, and they even remembered our names. We were in walking distance of shopping and restaurants, too. I liked that there was a make-up mirror in the bathroom... essential when you want to look perfect for a meeting. The hair dryer was better than at many other hotels, and it wasn't bolted to the wall. The internet service was spotty on the Fairmont connection, but the Fairmont Gold connection was fine. I liked that there was wireless service. Some hotels use only ethernet connections on the desk, which means you can't work on your laptop in other parts of the room. I wish the weather had been better (it was winter... rainy and snowy) because we could have sat in the atrium and enjoyed the sunshine. We visited a colleague who stayed at the Hampton, and the accommodations were inferior, even though she paid the same price for her room. I'd say we got the winning bargain!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Old Ebbitt's Grill near the White House. It's the place where all the power brokers meet. The crab cakes are wonderful, and so is the pumpkin ravioli. Save room for the large desserts.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont Washington DC Georgetown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Richmond, VA
Apr 13, 2011

AHA Annual 2011 - Fairmont Washington

Room and location were excellent. The strongest impresssion was how the hotel responded when something went wrong. After working out in the hotel fitness area I found my door was not reading my card. After securing a new card and finding it still not working, I called the front desk. Security arrived shortly thereafter and after they too were unsuccessful ended up getting maintenance. Fixing the door would take several minutes, delaying my evening dinner appointment. But staff were very gracious, provided me a drink at the bar and expedited my access to my room. They continued to work on fixing the door while I cleaned up for dinner. Very professional and courteous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont Washington DC Georgetown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
St. Louis, MO
May 13, 2011

great location - poor room service

Front desk, etc. all helpful. Handicap room did not have the necessary equipt. in yet - had to call 3x. Had room service 3x and all times the tray was missing food items. Ate in the garden once and had to get a passing manager to flag down a waiter (the single woman syndrome). Then my service was still spotty. Most help could not speak or understand English. Frustrating@

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont Washington DC Georgetown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Florida
Nov 2, 2009

enoyable

The Concierge [...] was very helpful, and she remembered the guests.Hostess at restaurant Sunday Am was very friendly and kind.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont Washington DC Georgetown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JDHG
Plymouth, MI
Apr 7, 2011

Room not ready at check-in

Our room was not ready at this hotel upon arrival at around noon. I had requested early check-in. Person at front desk was unapologetic and said to come back at 2pm, which we did and room was still not ready. Offered to call us on our cell when the room was ready, but never did. Finally at 3:15pm we went back again and room was finally ready after a call to housekeeping. I really expected better service at a hotel of this caliber. The room itself was of good size and was cleaned well each night. Bed was comfortable. Location is a bit far from the nearest metro stop which was a big bummer though. On the good side, shops and restaurants in Georgetown were only a few blocks away. In sum, it's not a bad place but for the money I would recommend staying somewhere with better service and a better location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk to Georgetown. Lots of cute shops and restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont Washington DC Georgetown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Budget Saavy in NH
Manchester, NH
Oct 28, 2009

Okay, but Not Special

My husband and I stayed at The Fairmont Washington from Oct 24-28. I joined The Fairmont President's Club (it's free to join and, among other things, you get free internet) in order to enjoy several perks during our stay. We were playing tourist during our time in Washington, so we wanted to be close to the city and close to the Metro. [...] The lobby of The Fairmont is striking. It is elegant, especially when they have someone playing the piano. Check-in was easy and the staff was very cordial. However, the room was a little disappointing. Bathrobes were provided; however, there was only one for the two of us and it was itchy. The beds were firm, not plush. Make sure to put a "Do Not Disturb" sign on the outside of your door if you don't want housekeeping knocking on the door at 8:30am. There is a helpful kiosk in the lobby to help you print out airline tickets before getting to the airport. (However, the printer was out of toner.) It's not that anything was BAD. Rooms were clean. Staff was professional. Concierge was useful. Decor was pleasant. However, there was just no WOW factor other than the lobby. I'm thankful that I did not pay full price for this hotel, or else I would have been upset. Perhaps my disappointment is because my expectations were so high.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The staff will often point you to the "Foggy-Bottom" Metro station on the Blue/Yellow lines; however, walking from "Dupont Circle" station on the red line is still only a 10 minute walk and may save you some money instead of hopping on the Metro to only go a short distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont Washington DC Georgetown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Unique descriptor
Charlottesville VA
May 6, 2013

Mediocre

Checkin was handled very well. Attendant was very courteous. Room was initially as advertised - spacious and well appointed. However later in the after a day waling and touring it became clear that this was an old hotel building with some very antiquated mechanical services. By far the worst was the air conditioner/ heater. It was extraordinarily loud and very abrupt in its frequent on-off cycling. In retrospect I should have immediately asked for another room. When I mentioned the loud a/c on checkout I was told "Yes we are going floor by floor to replace outmoded fixtures." New guests should clearly request an updated floor. The description clearly states that high-speed internet is available in the room. It is deceptive to read that and then we told the charge was $14.00/day. When communicating with a receptionist asking for my frequent flyer perk of free internet, I was frustrated with the rudeness and dismissiveness of the agent who begrudgingly gave me my upgrade. In all, a less than positive experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search