$99 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 29, 2014 Check-out: Nov 30, 2014

Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC/Downtown

2 stars
500 H Street NW, 500 H Street NW, Washington, DC 20001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
53 reviews
Great Place

It was a very clean hotel in a great area. It was very convenient; especially if wanting to visit... See full review

  • Mommyof2ActiveBoys
  • Nov 23, 2014
Convenient to Verizon Center

Great location to the sites in/around Verizon Center...great service. See full review

  • Kimberly Super Mom
  • Apr 14, 2014
Neatly nestled in the heart of the nation's capital, the Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC/Downtown boasts chic guest rooms and suites in one of the citys most vibrant neighborhoods. Convenient to Walter E. Washington Convention Center, Verizon Center, Judiciary Square, and Gallery Place/Chinatown Metro station, this Washington, DC hotels location provides travelers with easy access to the nations finest landmarks, museums and more. Welcoming guests with stylish comforts, the hotels value-added amenities allow downtown visitors to revel in accommodations near the White House, Smithsonian Museums, National Mall, Washington Monument, U.S. Capitol and Lincoln Memorial. Complimentary amenities include a free hot breakfast buffet served daily and high-speed Internet access throughout the hotel. At the Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC youre our #1 priority. We promise youll be satisfied, or well make it right. Thats our commitment to you. Ask us about The Fairfield 100% Guarantee.

Hotel Map

38.8995 -77.0193
Nearby airports
Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport, (DCA), 6.40, MI, N; Washington Dulles International Airport, (IAD), 28.00, MI, SE; Baltimore/Washington International Thurgood Marshall Airport, (BWI), 30.00, MI, SW;
Area description
City Center, Location Type: City

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC/Downtown also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Tennis
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Meal plan - continental
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Bathroom telephone
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Verizon Center: 0.1 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.2 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.2 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.2 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.3 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Newseum: 0.5 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.5 mi
  • National Archives: 0.5 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.1 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.2 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.2 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.2 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.3 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Newseum: 0.5 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.5 mi
  • National Archives: 0.5 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.5 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.6 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • National Postal Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.6 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 0.7 mi
  • Union Station: 0.7 mi
  • National Mall: 0.7 mi
  • Peace Monument: 0.7 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.7 mi
  • Columbus Memorial Fountain: 0.8 mi
  • Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum: 0.8 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.8 mi
  • National Air and Space Museum: 0.8 mi
  • National Museum of the American Indian: 0.8 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 0.8 mi
  • Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden: 0.8 mi
  • United States Capitol: 0.8 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 0.8 mi
  • Arts and Industries Building: 0.8 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 0.8 mi
  • Ripley Center: 0.9 mi
  • National Museum of African Art: 0.9 mi
  • United States Botanic Garden: 0.9 mi
  • Sackler Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Capital Children's Museum: 0.9 mi

Dining

The Irish Channel
Relax with classic pub favorites from The Irish Channel menus and enjoy the casual atmosphere and entertainment of this Irish bar in Washington, D.C. Large screen TVs and plenty of seating make this a great place for gathering at day's end.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (53)

Ratings and reviews for Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC/Downtown

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
53 out of 53
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.6

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC/Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mommyof2ActiveBoys
Business
Hampton, VA
Nov 23, 2014

Great Place

It was a very clean hotel in a great area. It was very convenient; especially if wanting to visit the Verizon center.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC/Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Terribleeeee
Business
Washington DC
Oct 20, 2014

Terrible

I had a terrible experience at this hotel. First of all I had a complete stranger walk in my room saying that it was his, because the front desk made a mistake. Also, they charged me again when I checked in.. I had already paid on this site. I will never return to this place. TERRIBLE!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC/Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
fred.g.sanford
Business
louisiana
May 27, 2014

Fairfield Was DC Chinatown

Memorial Day weekend, tough to get a room found this-- pretty nice hotel, the layout was dated - a lot of obsolete looking electronic connections, but the carpet, bathroom, furniture, everything looked new. Heart of Chinatown, easy walk to the mall. Staff was pretty good - biggest issue was the lobby, probably the smallest lobby I have ever seen for a hotel this size-- tight squeeze for breakfast buffet, elevator and front desk.(pretty jammed up) but overall not bad, consistent marriot quality - so the price in DC is pretty good deal I guess (lots of groups and kids around probably for that reason)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

good Chinese food, (great dim sum) but some of the restaurants in the area appear to cater to the lunch/business crowd and close early on weekends/holidays - so before you waste time drilling down into a menu online, check the hours

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC/Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kimberly Super Mom
Business
Washington DC
Apr 14, 2014

Convenient to Verizon Center

Great location to the sites in/around Verizon Center...great service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC/Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kingbook
Business
Washington, DC
Mar 25, 2014

Spring break getaway

The room was clean, affordable and close to the attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC/Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RayPRQ
Business
St Louis, MO, USA
Nov 25, 2013

Almost perfect location but not for light sleepers

Conveniently located in Chinatown near Gallery Center, the hot breakfast served in the lobby was a good bonus for my weekend getaway, and surely helped keep me full for long walks of sightseeing in Washington DC. But the rooms are very loud: I constantly heard adults and children and teenagers screaming and carrying on in the hallway. Elevators are slow, so luckily, I got my exercise with the stairs. When there are 15 people in line for the single waffle machine in the morning, it might be time to re-think the set-up of the morning buffet, as handy an amenity as it is. And nobody monitored the two computer stations in the lobby, so I had to reconnect the printer to print my boarding passes, only to wait even longer because some other people before me had sent their documents to the unplugged printer multiple times, wasting many sheets of paper. Everything would have been much nicer and greater comfort with attention to such details. And just as my experience has been with every Marriott property, the free WiFi is an attractive feature to publicize, but the actual WiFi service was awful: weak signal in the room, and I was constantly logged off and on and off and on multiple times each day. Finally, the closet was strangely configured with what seemed like a re-used arm from a store's display rack which made getting the hangers on and off by going behind the pegged stoppers really annoying, when a simple horizontal bar would have held just as much. They need to realize that travelers these days want the WiFi and food to be good, and we are not so easily impressed with only flat screen TVs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is an easy walk to the National Portrait Gallery, the Newseum, and the International Spy Museum, both of which I think are overlooked among the many sightseeing destinations in this fine city.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC/Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
nmaggers
Business
new york, new york
Jul 19, 2013

Perfect for the stay

I needed a place last minute and this hotel lived up to the expectation with a descent price. Thank you. would recommend to friends

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC/Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Frequent DC Traveller
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Nov 5, 2012

Extremely comfortable

The Front desk staff were extremely polite and considerate, as were ALL the staff that we met during our stay. The room was comfortable and roomy, even with 2 queen sized beds. The room did not have a refrigerator, nor did we ask for one. We have NO complaints!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC/Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
eastcoastroadwarrior
Business
Raleigh, NC
Oct 16, 2012

Good Location Good Price

Overall good experience a little too much security and rules made us a little wary but everything was fine, I guess better to have it then not, room was clean nice a little small but that is to be expected. Pub downstairs was a good spot for football on Sunday. Free breakfast, Wifi and Cookies was a Plus

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC/Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Terrific Traveling Team
Business
Connecticul
Jul 25, 2012

Clean and convenient

The hotel is located exactly where we wanted to be. The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was small, although it was clean and quiet. We really didn't need to spend time in the room, so the size didn't matter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top