$120 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 9, 2015 Check-out: Jan 11, 2015

Donovan House, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
1155 14th St NW, Washington, DC 20005
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
65 reviews
NYC Getaway Weekend

I had a great time. My "friend" loved the hotel and thought it was really nice. We rented the... See full review

  • ValentinoBlack
  • Jun 3, 2014
Great Location

We loved the contemporary ambiance and its location - very central. The staff was friendly and... See full review

  • Ubie
  • Jun 2, 2014
Washington DC property Donovan House brings urban chic to the nations capital. 193 luxe and seductive rooms feature custom design elements including chocolate leather canopy beds Studio Gaia club chairs and translucent cocoon spiral showers. The hotels acclaimed restaurant Zentan by acclaimed chef Jennifer Nguyen serves up inventive Asian inspired cuisine. Above it all is a private rooftop pool and bar that offers guests and natives a metropolitan hideaway boasting a full-service bar food from Zentan and private cabanas. It is the perfect place for relaxation or late night cocktails and events. Donovan House provides you with a plethora of insider information on how to navigate the city like a DC native. Here are a handful of restaurants featuring local influences and fare as well as some of our favorite must see spot

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Donovan House, a Kimpton Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Donovan House, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

Executive Double Double Room
Double Double Executive Room 2 double beds 300 square feet
Premier Suite
Premier Suite with 1 king bed 600 sq ft separate living room area
Executive King Room
King Executive Room 1 king bed 310 - 334 square feet
Accessible Queen Deluxe Room
Queen Deluxe Accessible Room 1 queen bed 220 square feet roll in shower
Premier King Room
King Premier Room 1 king bed 520 square feet
Executive Suite
Executive Suite 1 king bed 650 square feet living room
ADA Executive Double Double
Dbl Dbl Accessible Room with 2 beds 300 sq ft roll in shower
Accessible King Executive Room
King Accessible Executive Room with 1 king bed 310-334 square feet roll in shower
Deluxe Queen Room
Queen Deluxe Room 1 queen bed 220 square feet
14. Presidential Suite
Donovan Suite 1 King bed, 1,230 square feet and separate kitchenette
King Suite
King Suite with 1 king bed 600 square feet

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Meal plan - continental
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
Security
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial

Nearby points of interest

  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.2 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.5 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Blair House: 0.6 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.2 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.5 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Blair House: 0.6 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.7 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.7 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.7 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.7 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.7 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.8 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.8 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.8 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.8 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.8 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.8 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 0.8 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 0.9 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.9 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.9 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.9 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 1 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 1 mi
  • National Archives: 1 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 1 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 1 mi
  • Newseum: 1.1 mi
  • Washington Monument: 1.1 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 1.1 mi

Dining

Zentan
Chef Jennifer Nguyen introduces inventive global Asian cuisine with ZENTAN located in Donovan House

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (65)

Ratings and reviews for Donovan House, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
65 out of 65
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Donovan House, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nainen
Business
Greensboro, NC
Jan 17, 2013

Would choose Donovan House again!

I only stayed for one night, for a business trip, but wished I could have stayed longer! Nice neighborhood, friendly staff, very pleasant room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Donovan House, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
shirtless joe
Business
richmond, va
Jan 15, 2013

great location, zoomy hote.

great experience. hotel has some very interesting features, great location, exceptional value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Donovan House, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NYC
Jan 7, 2013

AMAZING!

Single most amazing hotel experience in my life (and I have worked in hotels for over 10 years!) Breana and Janina went above and beyond to make our stay special and unforgettable! There is no reason to stay in any other hotel in DC. (note: I just stayed there.. It would not allow me to pick 2013)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Donovan House, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Secdj
Business
Miami, FL
Jan 4, 2013

Excelent stay.

Best hotel ever. Modern rooms and awesome service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Donovan House, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Decatur
Business
Decatur, AL
Jan 1, 2013

Never Again

Pros: Fairly convenient (about 3 blocks to the metro), beds were extremely comfortable. Cons: No drink machines and no Ice machines, had to go across the street to the store. Had to ask for wash cloths each night. Showers were horrible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Donovan House, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Louisiana Vacationeer.
Business
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Dec 17, 2012

Great Location!

It's a great hotel! Don't expect much from the minibar and there's no ice-machine. So you have to order buckets of ice from the front desk. If you're not used to sleeping near a busy intersection that might prove a little troublesome. Other than that the staff were super helpful, and the location was incredibly convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take a short walk to McPherson Sq. metro and save a ton of money on cabs. The metro can get you most anywhere and is a fraction of the cost of a cab.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Donovan House, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ratpick
Business
Chicago
Dec 9, 2012

Good for a business stay

Very futuristic and minimal in design, to the point that I spent 15 minutes figuring out how to work the lights! Never did find a way to turn on the fan in the bathroom. Bed was very comfortable, room easy to sleep in, but small with no table or chair, which would not have served well if I had to write anything. Has an iron & ironing board and hair blower in room, but no coffee service. Restaurant limited but food is good and service quick. Really excellent bar service for a large crowd from my conference. Good staff all around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Donovan House, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Minn Twin fan
Business
St Paul , Mn
Nov 30, 2012

furniture

The staff could not have been better. Great location easily within walking distance of Capitol etc. The room was OK, but the bed,table and chairs should all be replaced!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Donovan House, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Deb the Traveler
Business
West Bend, Wisconsin
Nov 21, 2012

Perfect for business and pleasure.

We have never had a better hotel experience anywhere, and we travel a lot, both in the U.S. and internationally. The entire hotel staff, from the doorman, the front desk, the concierge, the maitre D', were all the best ever. We definitely recommend the hotel, and will not hesitate to make it our destination on our next visit to DC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

It's a nice neighborhood to stay in, lots of places to eat nearby, although we ate in the great hotel restaurant most of the time. We took some very long walks, one day we walked down to the Whitehouse, over to the Lincoln Memorial, then to the capital, then took a short cab ride back to the hotel. We also used the trolley system, the metrorail, and several cabs during our stay.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Donovan House, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
giuseppe rinaldi
Business
miami florida
Nov 5, 2012

good experience !!!

i booked one night just for the weding day and was awasome the location and confort at the hotel , the staff was very pleasent , good value .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top