$140 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 20, 2014 Check-out: Nov 23, 2014

Donovan House, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
1155 14th St NW, Washington, DC 20005
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
63 reviews
NYC Getaway Weekend

I had a great time. My "friend" loved the hotel and thought it was really nice. We rented the... See full review

  • ValentinoBlack
  • Jun 3, 2014
Great Location

We loved the contemporary ambiance and its location - very central. The staff was friendly and... See full review

  • Ubie
  • Jun 2, 2014
Hip boutique hotel with rooftop pool and bar in downtown D.C.

The Donovan House a Kimpton Hotel is a hip, modern hotel with edgy decor that appeals to leisure and business travelers.  The hotel is located in downtown D.C., not far from the White House. The Donovan House a Kimpton Hotel lures locals as well as visitors to its rooftop pool for drinks and snacks after sunset (by day the pool is open to hotel guests only). The inventive Asian cuisine at Zentan persuades guests to stay in and eat at the hotel. The restaurant also makes food for the rooftop pool bar, ADC (Above D.C.).

Highlights
  • The heated rooftop pool and lounge is a hip spot for locals and visitors
  • The signature cocoon spiral showers are a fun take on the in-room shower
  • Inventive on-site Asian restaurant Zentan
Location

The Donovan House a Kimpton Hotel is located in D.C.'s business district, not far from the White House, Dupont Circle, and other attractions and restaurants.

Rooms

The 193 rooms, designed by Studio Gaia, are quite impressive. Stark white walls meet dark wood with colorful accents throughout the Donovan House a Kimpton Hotel. A modern chocolate leather canopy bed takes over the room, accompanied by a writing desk and club chair. The cocoon spiral showers add an intriguing and sensual element to the rooms. Guests love the C.O. Bigelow bath amenities and 400-thread-count Sferra linens. Available high-speed Internet (fees apply) and iPod docking stations are another perk.

Features

The exclusive, heated rooftop pool and lounge is reserved for guests during the day and opens to locals and guests at night. High-speed Internet (fees apply) is available along with a business center and services at the Donovan House a Kimpton Hotel. Try the inventive Asian cuisine at the on-site restaurant and lounge, Zentan, which also offers part of their menu at ABC (Above D.C.), the rooftop pool bar. Valet parking is offered (fees apply). Guests appreciate the 24-hour fitness center.

Transportation
  • McPherson Square Metro stop
  • Regan National Airport
  • Dulles International Airport
Attractions
  • White House (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Walter E. Washington Convention Center (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Ford's Theater (0.6 mi/1.1 km)
  • Dupont Circle (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • The National Mall (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Washington Monument (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Georgetown (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • United States Capitol (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
Business
  • Business center and services
  • High-speed Internet (fees apply)

Hotel Map

38.9051 -77.0316
Nearby airports
Washington National Airport, (DCA), 2.30, MI, SW; Baltimore/Washington International Airport, (BWI), 31.19, MI, NE; Washington Dulles International Airport, (IAD), 27.47, MI, S;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Donovan House, a Kimpton Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Donovan House, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

Executive Double Double Room
Double Double Executive Room 2 double beds 300 square feet
Deluxe Queen Room
Queen Deluxe Room 1 queen bed 220 square feet
ADA Executive Double Double
Dbl Dbl Accessible Room with 2 beds 300 sq ft roll in shower
Donovan Suite
Donovan Suite 1 King bed, 1,230 square feet and separate kitchenette
Executive Suite
Executive Suite 1 king bed 650 square feet living room
Accessible King Executive Room
King Accessible Executive Room with 1 king bed 310-334 square feet roll in shower
Executive King Room
King Executive Room 1 king bed 310 - 334 square feet
Premier King Room
King Premier Room 1 king bed 520 square feet
King Suite
King Suite with 1 king bed 600 square feet
Premier Suite
Premier Suite with 1 king bed 600 sq ft separate living room area
Accessible Queen Deluxe Room
Queen Deluxe Accessible Room 1 queen bed 220 square feet roll in shower

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Meal plan - continental
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
Security
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial

Nearby points of interest

  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.2 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.5 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Blair House: 0.6 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.2 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.5 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Blair House: 0.6 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.7 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.7 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.7 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.7 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.7 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.8 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.8 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.8 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.8 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.8 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.8 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 0.8 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 0.9 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.9 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.9 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.9 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 1 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 1 mi
  • National Archives: 1 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 1 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 1 mi
  • Newseum: 1.1 mi
  • Washington Monument: 1.1 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 1.1 mi

Dining

Zentan
Chef Jennifer Nguyen introduces inventive global Asian cuisine with ZENTAN located in Donovan House

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (63)

Ratings and reviews for Donovan House, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
63 out of 63
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Donovan House, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Paul and Tina
Business
Washington, D.C.
Jul 7, 2013

GREAT STAFF-ENJOYED THE WINE HOUR

Had to ask for several items: toilet tissue, shampoo. Facial tissue was not supplied. Otherwise everything was good. I think $15 for breakfast bar was a bit much. Overall the staff was very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many places to choose from.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Donovan House, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
meag25
Business
Toronto Ontario
Jun 2, 2013

great location

Great location, clean and helpful staff! Love the cocktail hour.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Donovan House, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sightseeing in a Hurry
Business
Louisville, KY
Apr 16, 2013

Great Overnight in DC

The hotel staff was amazing! Everyone was very friendly and helpful. Our room was clean and decorated well. Free wifi. Free wine and appetizer hour. Discounted bike share usage. The ONLY complaint was that the bathroom needed a fan. Also, it was about 5 blocks from the Metro. Overall we LOVED it. We would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Donovan House, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Super pa
Business
Oklahoma City, Ok
Mar 26, 2013

Washington DC is for lovers

The hotel is modern as tomorrow. Our room was spotlessly clean. We had great fun with the animal print terrycloth robes furnished. The staff was polite, helpful, and competent. The location on 14th street puts you in the middle of what is happening.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Dinner Cruise on the Oddesy

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Donovan House, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jildo
Business
San Diego, CA
Mar 21, 2013

Weird showers

I only stayed in this hotel for one night. looked pretty cute. I had a wierd view of an old couple in another building getting some IV infusions? The staff was great. I couldn't find a fridge in my room though. Also...the shower was REALLY weird. there was no curtain! it kind of just curved. It was white and lit you...im pretty sure you could see the shadow of whatever was going on in the shower from the bed in the room...kinda seemed like it was meant for a couple? I was there with a friend so it was kinda weird :/ but the water for the shower came directly from the ceiling so that was cool. Also the bathrobes were SOOOO cute! like animal print! The staff held my belongings for the day after I checked out until I was able to stay at a friends house the following night so that was pretty cool of them. They have some weird mod swinging chairs in the lobby as well. I heard they had a happy hour with complimentary wine...but sadly we missed it. It a pretty cute hotel. I would definitely recommend! uhh except for the weird showers...if you are sharing with someone not romantic

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Donovan House, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Curtis Ayrey
Business
Rockledge Fl
Mar 20, 2013

Sons 10th Bday

Awesome trip. Hotel was very accommodating. He loved the foyer and room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Donovan House, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JustJasmine
Business
Charleston, SC
Mar 14, 2013

Not bad for the money

Stayed there inauguration weekend. Checked out Sunday before the rates tripled. Comparable to other kimpton properties in ammenities for a fraction of the cost.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Donovan House, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tdily
Business
Cincinnati, OH
Mar 13, 2013

Nice Hotel

I booked this hotel hurriedly due to a family emergency. It exceeded my ecpectations. My seven year old daughter joined me on the trip. You could tell that children are not the typical guests, but she was treated very kindly by all of the hotel staff. She enjoyed the goldfish in the room!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk up to P Street for several casual cafes (Logan's Tavern, The Commisary) and a Whole Foods Market.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Donovan House, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Upscale Value Seeker
Business
Chicago
Mar 12, 2013

Decent

Nice room with an upscale feel. Good value and good central location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Little Serow...great Thai

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Donovan House, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Deal Man
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Mar 11, 2013

Modern property and great location

Would like to return in the summer, as they have a rooftop pool and bar that was closed during my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top