$160 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 2, 2014

Donovan House, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
1155 14th St NW, Washington, DC 20005
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
66 reviews
NYC Getaway Weekend

I had a great time. My "friend" loved the hotel and thought it was really nice. We rented the... See full review

  • ValentinoBlack
  • Jun 3, 2014
Great Location

We loved the contemporary ambiance and its location - very central. The staff was friendly and... See full review

  • Ubie
  • Jun 2, 2014
Hip boutique hotel with rooftop pool and bar in downtown D.C.

The Donovan House a Kimpton Hotel is a hip, modern hotel with edgy decor that appeals to leisure and business travelers.  The hotel is located in downtown D.C., not far from the White House. The Donovan House a Kimpton Hotel lures locals as well as visitors to its rooftop pool for drinks and snacks after sunset (by day the pool is open to hotel guests only). The inventive Asian cuisine at Zentan persuades guests to stay in and eat at the hotel. The restaurant also makes food for the rooftop pool bar, ADC (Above D.C.).

Highlights
  • The heated rooftop pool and lounge is a hip spot for locals and visitors
  • The signature cocoon spiral showers are a fun take on the in-room shower
  • Inventive on-site Asian restaurant Zentan
Location

The Donovan House a Kimpton Hotel is located in D.C.'s business district, not far from the White House, Dupont Circle, and other attractions and restaurants.

Rooms

The 193 rooms, designed by Studio Gaia, are quite impressive. Stark white walls meet dark wood with colorful accents throughout the Donovan House a Kimpton Hotel. A modern chocolate leather canopy bed takes over the room, accompanied by a writing desk and club chair. The cocoon spiral showers add an intriguing and sensual element to the rooms. Guests love the C.O. Bigelow bath amenities and 400-thread-count Sferra linens. Available high-speed Internet (fees apply) and iPod docking stations are another perk.

Features

The exclusive, heated rooftop pool and lounge is reserved for guests during the day and opens to locals and guests at night. High-speed Internet (fees apply) is available along with a business center and services at the Donovan House a Kimpton Hotel. Try the inventive Asian cuisine at the on-site restaurant and lounge, Zentan, which also offers part of their menu at ABC (Above D.C.), the rooftop pool bar. Valet parking is offered (fees apply). Guests appreciate the 24-hour fitness center.

Transportation
  • McPherson Square Metro stop
  • Regan National Airport
  • Dulles International Airport
Attractions
  • White House (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Walter E. Washington Convention Center (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Ford's Theater (0.6 mi/1.1 km)
  • Dupont Circle (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • The National Mall (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Washington Monument (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Georgetown (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • United States Capitol (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
Business
  • Business center and services
  • High-speed Internet (fees apply)

Hotel Map

38.9051 -77.0316
Nearby airports
Washington National Airport, (DCA), 2.30, MI, SW; Baltimore/Washington International Airport, (BWI), 31.19, MI, NE; Washington Dulles International Airport, (IAD), 27.47, MI, S;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Donovan House, a Kimpton Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Donovan House, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

Executive Double Double Room
Double Double Executive Room 2 double beds 300 square feet
King Suite
King Suite with 1 king bed 600 square feet
Premier Suite
Premier Suite with 1 king bed 600 sq ft separate living room area
Accessible Queen Deluxe Room
Queen Deluxe Accessible Room 1 queen bed 220 square feet roll in shower
Deluxe Queen Room
Queen Deluxe Room 1 queen bed 220 square feet
ADA Executive Double Double
Dbl Dbl Accessible Room with 2 beds 300 sq ft roll in shower
Executive Queen Room
Queen Executive Room 1 Queen bed 220 square feet
Donovan Suite
Donovan Suite 1 King bed, 1,230 square feet and separate kitchenette
Executive Suite
Executive Suite 1 king bed 650 square feet living room
Accessible King Executive Room
King Accessible Executive Room with 1 king bed 310-334 square feet roll in shower
Accessible King Deluxe Room
King Deluxe Accessible Room with 1 King Bed 260-310 Square Feet Roll In Shower
Deluxe King Room
King Deluxe Room 1 king bed 300 square feet
Executive King Room
King Executive Room 1 king bed 310 - 334 square feet
Premier King Room
King Premier Room 1 king bed 520 square feet

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Meal plan - continental
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
Security
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Bathroom telephone
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial

Nearby points of interest

  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.2 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.5 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Blair House: 0.6 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.2 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.5 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Blair House: 0.6 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.7 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.7 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.7 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.7 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.7 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.8 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.8 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.8 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.8 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.8 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.8 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 0.8 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 0.9 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.9 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.9 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.9 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 1 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 1 mi
  • National Archives: 1 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 1 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 1 mi
  • Newseum: 1.1 mi
  • Washington Monument: 1.1 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 1.1 mi

Dining

Zentan
Chef Jennifer Nguyen introduces inventive global Asian cuisine with ZENTAN located in Donovan House

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (66)

Ratings and reviews for Donovan House, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
66 out of 66
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Donovan House, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Susannaandjoe
Florida
Aug 4, 2014

Great stay and sightseeing!

Location is key here! We were a few blocks from the metro so basically everything was accessible. I didn't use the pool because it is not open in the evenings because the upstairs turns into a bar scene. It was nice to go upstairs one night for a drink. I stayed in the King Premier room and used the soaking tub which was divine after sightseeing all day. The staff was friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The metro stop closest to the hotel is McPherson

Review of Donovan House, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Terrytech
Fresno, CA
Aug 2, 2014

Faimly Trip

Brought my 15 and 16 year old kids. So it was not kid friendly, would have liked a microwave and more drawers, however if it was just the wife and me it would have been excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

to metro or even the mall if you are a walker.

Review of Donovan House, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fred happy
San Fransisco, California
Aug 2, 2014

Perfect for

It is cool and the staff are really helpful. Location is good for sightseeing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Donovan House, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RNFA
Northsrn VA
Jul 20, 2014

Staffing

The front desk staffing needs an upgrade in etiquette and efficiency. They did not carry the grace of a 4 star hotel. They couldn't prioritize tasks and appeared to be scrambling to do several tasks at one time. They were courteous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Donovan House, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ValentinoBlack
Brooklyn, New York
Jun 3, 2014

NYC Getaway Weekend

I had a great time. My "friend" loved the hotel and thought it was really nice. We rented the CapitalShare Bikes and road around the city. The CVS across the street was a great addition. Did not get a chance to check out the pool or gym. We stayed in the King Premier space. Beds were soft and the shower was nice. The only thing that was expensive was overnight parking ($45.00).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The White House and National Mall were a little less than a mile away. Great to walk on a beautiful day. Everything you need was within a mile.

Review of Donovan House, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Visitors from up north
Toronto, Canada
Jun 3, 2014

Trip to DC

Amazing hotel, location and staff. Great time !!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Donovan House, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ubie
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Jun 2, 2014

Great Location

We loved the contemporary ambiance and its location - very central. The staff was friendly and helpful. This was our first visit to D.C., but we plan on returning soon and will definitely stay at the Donavon House again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Busboys and Poets - Try the Hazelnut torte and stay for the poetry night! Amazing!

Review of Donovan House, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ELM83
Abq, NM
Jun 1, 2014

Great hotel!

Great staff and very clean!! Loved the bathtub and view!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

For dining out and shopping, get a rental car! About 15 minutes away!

Review of Donovan House, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
decipline
New York
May 24, 2014

nice location and clean renovated hotel.

I like the fact that everything was new and clean. the carpets, the floor....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Donovan House, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Heatha03109
Manchester NH
May 8, 2014

Excellent Staff/Service

The staff of this hotel was excellent. Friendly!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Donovan House, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nana1312
Potomac, MD
May 2, 2014

Great for a weekend getaway!

Hotel & staff are nice. The restaurant downstairs was great. Wish the weather was nicer so we could enjoy the roof top pool with the bar!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Donovan House, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dan plane crazy
San Jose, CA
Apr 23, 2014

Out of the Blue

This hotel was selected pretty much at random with some consideration in location, price and reviews. It's in tight surroundings with little open areas but laid out well with the available space. Clean with adjoining restaurant but the breakfast prices are higher than average. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Donovan House, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
akmv
Philadelphia, PA
Apr 20, 2014

Not what I thought

Hotel staff is very friendly and helpful. There was an issue getting into our room (the door lock was fried) the staff was very apologetic and offered me free breakfast and a bottle of wine. Location is good if you want to walk to all of the tourist attractions & the hotel bar is nice. I booked a deluxe room & was "upgraded" to an executive and couldn't believe how small the room was! I couldn't imagine what the deluxe actually looks like.... I stayed one night (not even 24hrs) and the parking fee was $53.00!!! Very disappointing and unnecessary. Overall the hotel was okay but I most likely will not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Donovan House, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Joe GFY
Business
Chicago, IL
Apr 14, 2014

Fantastic for seeing DC!

The staff was courteous and helpful. The amenities, from work out facility to rooftop deck, were ideal. The Donovan is centrally located and is a great location from which to tour DC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Donovan House, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kenz Ray
Yakima Washington
Mar 24, 2014

AMAZING

his hotel was in a perfect area of DC very comfortable, very clean, and an amazing friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Donovan House, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MK2713
Southern California
Mar 23, 2014

Would definitely stay here again.

This hotel was great! Pros: Near all the "touristy"stuff (ie. The White House, The Mall, etc. 2 blocks from a Metro stop for the blue and orange line (as such, super easy to get there from Regan airport). Rooms were stylish, clean, and comfortable Staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. There are several free amenities the hotel will give you if you forgot your own: toothpaste, fashion tape, cell phone charging cords, etc. Also, it's across the street from a 24 hour drug store should you need anything else. Cons: Room service stops pretty early They charge for WiFi Rooms are a hair on the small side, but the space is used very well. In short, I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Donovan House, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Robert California
Business
Palo Alto, CA
Mar 6, 2014

Nice but currently a work in progress.

The hotel is perfectly located if you're trying to stay close to the Convention Center. The restaurant is delicious. Only issue is that when we visited in March 2014 they were completing quite a bit of work on different floors of the hotel and it only 1 or 2 of the elevators were available for use which made wait times long.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Donovan House, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Museums Advocate
Sacramento
Mar 2, 2014

Great for Work and Play

The front desk staff was always helpful. Great nearby restaurant recommendations. Close to Metro and the Mall. I will stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't miss the stellar Southern cooking at Georgia Brown's restaurant. The food and service were outstanding, portions generous, and prices good.

Review of Donovan House, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
asmr
Business
CA
Feb 21, 2014

Excellent value and super chic

There's so much gorgeous modern eye candy at this place, from the elevated fireplace when you walk in to the hanging egg chairs. And the room I had was amazing--the design felt like a small-space award winner. The staff is incredibly gracious and willing to help. Meals are expensive. I'd do breakfast elsewhere but if you're in a pinch, this is great. Dinner is sublime, and I'm saying that as a Californian who's choosy about sushi. It's not in the middle of Dupont or K St, but it's not tooo far, and in DC it's not hard to get around. And it is fairly close to the White House.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Donovan House, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Price Montgomery
Pittsburgh, PA
Jan 19, 2014

Excelent two day getway

The Donovan was very clean and designed well. I would most certainly keep this hotel on my list as a place to stay on my next visit to Washington, D.C.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Donovan House, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The three Mosketeros
Orlando, Florida
Nov 12, 2013

Excellent Special Family Trip

The hotel was a nice warming home for the last four days. The facility, staff, location,and the details made our family trip better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

The walk for the 14 st, everyday to the National mall, and to the Metro station was a nice experience.

Review of Donovan House, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JPF1
México, D.F.
Sep 17, 2013

Great weekend

Good location, you get what you pay for. Small rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Donovan House, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AJDC
Wash, DC
Sep 10, 2013

Weekend in DC

Staff is a bit green. Room was not available on time and I had some issues once it was. Rooms show some medium usuage - carpet stains, wall scuffs, showing age in general. The hotel has a nice roof and is in a great location. Simply put, they are trying too hard to be something they aren't capable of in the current state. Rate seems higher when compared to other properties with comparable suites to the one I stayed in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out Le Diplomate.

Review of Donovan House, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cletizia
Cleveland, Ohio
Sep 7, 2013

Quick Vacation

What a cool space! Very personable and helpful staff. The room cleaning schedule wasn't always convenient and the job wasn't always done well, but nothing that I couldn't live with. Overall, the hotel did the job we needed. It was close to a Metro stop and was a great place to crash after long days of walking around the District.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Donovan House, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
curioustosee
chicago
Sep 2, 2013

vacation stay

The hotel was as expected, and of good value. However, there were some problems with the PowerPasses. The information on your website on where to redeem the coupon is no longer accurate and resulted in considerable time delays to track down where the coupon could be redeemed. Even the staff at the participating museums did not know how to redeem them. Your website for these passes needs to be updated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of Donovan House, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mandi8345
Joliet, IL
Aug 28, 2013

Great - totally recommend!

This hotel was great! The location was convenient and close to metro stops (McPherson Square and Farragut North). The hotel staff was extremely pleasant. The complimentary, daily wine hour made the stay even more fun. I would definitely stay here again. Highly recommend signing up for the Kimpton rewards program as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Carmine's Italian restaurant located in Chinatown was delicious! Food is served family style so be prepared for the regular sized serving to feed about 4 people!

Review of Donovan House, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pathfinder
Portsmouth UK
Aug 28, 2013

Sightseeing base.

Helpful, friendly staff. Rooms , modern and spacious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Donovan House, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kath Frequent traveller
Melbourne
Aug 28, 2013

Comfortable hotel in a great location

The hotel was a little worn & in need of an update, however, it was reasonably priced & in a good location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Make sure you use the circulator buses that run a number if routes throughout the city. Very cheap & easy way to get around.

Review of Donovan House, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Matt1234
Melbourne, Australia
Aug 22, 2013

A good Hotel in a great location

This is a great hotel if you want to be close to everything in Washington. A stones throw from White House etc and also walking distance to convenient amenities and restaurants. The staff were very helpful and engaging and the roof top bar was really something. Just keep in mine there is some great photography done with the pictures depicting the lobby and rooms. They are much smaller than they seem with little space for luggage storage. Also only a chair in the room so if you have two people staying you need to sit on floor to bed! These little things would have made it an outstanding hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

U street for night life and restaurants

Review of Donovan House, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BLZR
Florida
Aug 15, 2013

Great place

We stayed 4 nights with our 2 dogs. Great location Great HH Great for the dogs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Donovan House, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Paul and Tina
Washington, D.C.
Jul 7, 2013

GREAT STAFF-ENJOYED THE WINE HOUR

Had to ask for several items: toilet tissue, shampoo. Facial tissue was not supplied. Otherwise everything was good. I think $15 for breakfast bar was a bit much. Overall the staff was very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many places to choose from.

Review of Donovan House, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
meag25
Toronto Ontario
Jun 2, 2013

great location

Great location, clean and helpful staff! Love the cocktail hour.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Donovan House, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sightseeing in a Hurry
Louisville, KY
Apr 16, 2013

Great Overnight in DC

The hotel staff was amazing! Everyone was very friendly and helpful. Our room was clean and decorated well. Free wifi. Free wine and appetizer hour. Discounted bike share usage. The ONLY complaint was that the bathroom needed a fan. Also, it was about 5 blocks from the Metro. Overall we LOVED it. We would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of Donovan House, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Super pa
Oklahoma City, Ok
Mar 26, 2013

Washington DC is for lovers

The hotel is modern as tomorrow. Our room was spotlessly clean. We had great fun with the animal print terrycloth robes furnished. The staff was polite, helpful, and competent. The location on 14th street puts you in the middle of what is happening.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Dinner Cruise on the Oddesy

Review of Donovan House, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jildo
San Diego, CA
Mar 21, 2013

Weird showers

I only stayed in this hotel for one night. looked pretty cute. I had a wierd view of an old couple in another building getting some IV infusions? The staff was great. I couldn't find a fridge in my room though. Also...the shower was REALLY weird. there was no curtain! it kind of just curved. It was white and lit you...im pretty sure you could see the shadow of whatever was going on in the shower from the bed in the room...kinda seemed like it was meant for a couple? I was there with a friend so it was kinda weird :/ but the water for the shower came directly from the ceiling so that was cool. Also the bathrobes were SOOOO cute! like animal print! The staff held my belongings for the day after I checked out until I was able to stay at a friends house the following night so that was pretty cool of them. They have some weird mod swinging chairs in the lobby as well. I heard they had a happy hour with complimentary wine...but sadly we missed it. It a pretty cute hotel. I would definitely recommend! uhh except for the weird showers...if you are sharing with someone not romantic

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Donovan House, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Curtis Ayrey
Rockledge Fl
Mar 20, 2013

Sons 10th Bday

Awesome trip. Hotel was very accommodating. He loved the foyer and room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of Donovan House, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JustJasmine
Charleston, SC
Mar 14, 2013

Not bad for the money

Stayed there inauguration weekend. Checked out Sunday before the rates tripled. Comparable to other kimpton properties in ammenities for a fraction of the cost.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Donovan House, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tdily
Cincinnati, OH
Mar 13, 2013

Nice Hotel

I booked this hotel hurriedly due to a family emergency. It exceeded my ecpectations. My seven year old daughter joined me on the trip. You could tell that children are not the typical guests, but she was treated very kindly by all of the hotel staff. She enjoyed the goldfish in the room!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk up to P Street for several casual cafes (Logan's Tavern, The Commisary) and a Whole Foods Market.

Review of Donovan House, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Upscale Value Seeker
Chicago
Mar 12, 2013

Decent

Nice room with an upscale feel. Good value and good central location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Little Serow...great Thai

Review of Donovan House, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Deal Man
Chicago, IL, USA
Mar 11, 2013

Modern property and great location

Would like to return in the summer, as they have a rooftop pool and bar that was closed during my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Donovan House, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
advocate for kids
Business
phoenix
Feb 6, 2013

Hip Boutique Hotel

Hip boutique hotel. Tasty asian inspired food at DC prices. Staff firendly and very accomodating. Disappointed that the PBS channel did not come through -- missed Downton Abby! Would stay here again in any case.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Donovan House, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SarahM174
Baltimore, MD
Jan 29, 2013

Great Ambience & Location, Lacks Service

Modern, chic hotel in a very convenient location. However, service in the hotel and at the restaurant were lacking. Hotel front desk staff lacked politeness and restaurant service was extremely slow and inconsistent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Donovan House, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Donavan house
Washington DC
Jan 27, 2013

swearing in

They didn't clean the room each day and the carpets were very dirtty. Also the sink in the bathroom did not drain, i spoke to the front desk and they said they would send an engineer up ASAP, never showed up in the 3 day stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Donovan House, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pharmer Dave
Richmond, Va.
Jan 21, 2013

My new favorite DC hotel

The front desk service was fantastic. They welcomed us and made us feel special. The location is not too far from the White House, China Town, and the Staples Center. Parking was expensive but not abnormal for DC. An added bonus was their happy hour. Everyone was friendly and made the weekend one day before the inauguration a special visit!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Donovan House, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
little Kay
PA
Jan 20, 2013

wonderful experience!!

Had such a Wonder experience at this hotel, staff was kind, professional and incredibly accommodating. Rooms are a little smaller than I expected, but was decorated and unique in style. Great location, so many resturants and stores in the immediate area. Would stay there again, and recommend it to anyone wanting a comfortable, affordable taste of luxury.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Brown Bag has an amazing menu, great value and the food is incredible.

Review of Donovan House, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
little Kay
PA
Jan 20, 2013

wonderful experience!!

This is a beautiful, modern hotel with great staff members and a fantastic location. The rooms were a little smaller than I had expected, but uniquely decorated and luxurious. Staff was friendly, professional, and very accommodating. Loved this hotel, I would definitely stay here again. Great location, so many restaurants near by, plus the metro station is very close.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Brown Bag restaurant is a great, inexpensive eatery. With a ton of ready to purchase meals.

Review of Donovan House, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
EK18
Los Angeles, CA
Jan 20, 2013

Classic Kimpton

Kimpton aesthetic is ultra hip and generally works well. The only chair in the room is a visual delight but seriously uncomfortable if you want to sit in it. Staff accommodating and competent. I had one minor glitch in that I never could successfully arrange delivery of newspaper to room. Still, highly recommended overall. 

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Caribou Coffee is great.

Review of Donovan House, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nainen
Business
Greensboro, NC
Jan 17, 2013

Would choose Donovan House again!

I only stayed for one night, for a business trip, but wished I could have stayed longer! Nice neighborhood, friendly staff, very pleasant room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Donovan House, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
shirtless joe
Business
richmond, va
Jan 15, 2013

great location, zoomy hote.

great experience. hotel has some very interesting features, great location, exceptional value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Donovan House, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
NYC
Jan 7, 2013

AMAZING!

Single most amazing hotel experience in my life (and I have worked in hotels for over 10 years!) Breana and Janina went above and beyond to make our stay special and unforgettable! There is no reason to stay in any other hotel in DC. (note: I just stayed there.. It would not allow me to pick 2013)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Donovan House, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Secdj
Miami, FL
Jan 4, 2013

Excelent stay.

Best hotel ever. Modern rooms and awesome service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Donovan House, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Decatur
Decatur, AL
Jan 1, 2013

Never Again

Pros: Fairly convenient (about 3 blocks to the metro), beds were extremely comfortable. Cons: No drink machines and no Ice machines, had to go across the street to the store. Had to ask for wash cloths each night. Showers were horrible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Donovan House, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Louisiana Vacationeer.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Dec 17, 2012

Great Location!

It's a great hotel! Don't expect much from the minibar and there's no ice-machine. So you have to order buckets of ice from the front desk. If you're not used to sleeping near a busy intersection that might prove a little troublesome. Other than that the staff were super helpful, and the location was incredibly convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take a short walk to McPherson Sq. metro and save a ton of money on cabs. The metro can get you most anywhere and is a fraction of the cost of a cab.

Review of Donovan House, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ratpick
Business
Chicago
Dec 9, 2012

Good for a business stay

Very futuristic and minimal in design, to the point that I spent 15 minutes figuring out how to work the lights! Never did find a way to turn on the fan in the bathroom. Bed was very comfortable, room easy to sleep in, but small with no table or chair, which would not have served well if I had to write anything. Has an iron & ironing board and hair blower in room, but no coffee service. Restaurant limited but food is good and service quick. Really excellent bar service for a large crowd from my conference. Good staff all around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Donovan House, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Minn Twin fan
St Paul , Mn
Nov 30, 2012

furniture

The staff could not have been better. Great location easily within walking distance of Capitol etc. The room was OK, but the bed,table and chairs should all be replaced!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Donovan House, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Deb the Traveler
West Bend, Wisconsin
Nov 21, 2012

Perfect for business and pleasure.

We have never had a better hotel experience anywhere, and we travel a lot, both in the U.S. and internationally. The entire hotel staff, from the doorman, the front desk, the concierge, the maitre D', were all the best ever. We definitely recommend the hotel, and will not hesitate to make it our destination on our next visit to DC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

It's a nice neighborhood to stay in, lots of places to eat nearby, although we ate in the great hotel restaurant most of the time. We took some very long walks, one day we walked down to the Whitehouse, over to the Lincoln Memorial, then to the capital, then took a short cab ride back to the hotel. We also used the trolley system, the metrorail, and several cabs during our stay.

Review of Donovan House, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
giuseppe rinaldi
miami florida
Nov 5, 2012

good experience !!!

i booked one night just for the weding day and was awasome the location and confort at the hotel , the staff was very pleasent , good value .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Donovan House, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Eastern Seaboarder
Hathaway, Louisiana
Oct 13, 2012

East Coast Trip

Hotel was nice but sheets on the bed would have been nice instead of just a comforter. Also, an ice machine on every floor would be a good addition instead of having to request that ice be sent up to the room by the staff from downstairs. Coffee and tea in the morning is a nice touch and would be nice if available all day long. The complimentary local microbrews and wine between 5 p.m. and 6 p.m. in the lobby was awesome! Wake-up calls were not prompt but was not critical as our train did not leave early. Overall we really enjoyed our stay. Thanks, Donovan House.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Donovan House, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RLS802
Business
Vermont
Oct 13, 2012

Great business break

Overall really excellent. Amazing rooftop bar with an incredible view, expensive but delicious snacks. Overall, there was a perfect balance of bustle in the public areas--making the place feel lively and vibrant--and the calm oasis of my room. Check out staff was a bit brusque, but othervise excellent service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Donovan House, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Marcela P
Sao Paulo
Oct 5, 2012

Lovely staff and great hotel

Got an upgrade, they were really easy and helpful, but room service was not open after 10pm. Not good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Donovan House, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mari skip
Walnut Creek, Ca.
Aug 27, 2012

Cool decor!

The modern/retro 70's/Jetson spaced themed hotel was great. The customer service at the Donavan House is warm and welcoming. Like all Kimpton's, attention to detail to the guest is bar none. Where else can you get a cute loner goldfish during your stay in your room? The location which is close to Washington D.C. mall attractions was great. We found it so easy to walk to everything. My family really enjoyed our stay and the delicious Japanese restaurant at the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Donovan House, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Escaping Reality
Boston, MA
Aug 27, 2012

Good location, fair price, but nothing very special about this hotel

Pros: location, rooftop pool, friendly and attentive staff Cons: small bathrooms, average size rooms, not as nice as the Palomar Hotel in Dupont Circle

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Donovan House, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
HL56
Business
Rochester, MN, USA
Apr 27, 2012

Great hotel for achange of pace

Excellent staff and service. Unique and interesting experience .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Several nice restaurants along 14th

Review of Donovan House, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
zuti-rr
Volketswil, Schweiz
Aug 6, 2013

Super Hotel

Super schönes und sauberes Hotel an fantastischer Lage. Kurzer Fussweg zu den Sehenswürdigkeiten (Obamas).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lincoln

Review of Donovan House, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
schwester_s73
Berlin
Oct 24, 2012

Top Hotel / Flop parken

sehr schönes Hotel in zentraler Lage, sehr modern eingerichtet. Minus: Parken im angrenzenden Parkhaus für 40 Dollar pro Nacht, auch für Hotelgäste

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Donovan House, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Not Provided
Nov 7, 2010

Le lit est le principal but de

Le lit est le principal but de l'hotel . Sur 21 jour c'est le plus execrable lit et mauvais , je me suis lever le matin casser et difficile a marcher mon dos me faissait horriblement mal .A Denver le [other hotel] et le [other hotel] on plus de valeur et de service de qualiter general et un vrai lit et pas une paillasse sur le sol avec beaucoup de show et le double du prix de denver

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
5
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top

Change search