$53 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 28, 2014 Check-out: Dec 29, 2014

Days Inn Washington DC/Connecticut Avenue

2 stars
4400 Connecticut Avenue, Washington, DC 20008
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
121 reviews
Good hotel

We stayed for two days and the room was large and updated . See full review

  • traveling P
  • Apr 16, 2014
Days Inn Awesome

This Days Inn had very nice rooms and was in a fantastic location.I would definitely recommend it... See full review

  • Jacob Breaux
  • Mar 24, 2014
Affordable rooms in upper Northwest D.C. one block from the Metro

The Days Inn Connecticut Avenue is in upper Northwest D.C., just a block from the Van Ness Metro station. Hop on the train for easy access to downtown D.C. and all the major tourist attractions. The comfortable hotel was remodeled in 2009 and offers complimentary high-speed Internet in all rooms. The hotel has been awarded Five Sunbursts, the highest rating awarded by the Days Inn Hotel chain. The on-site Tesoro Restaurant is a neighborhood staple serving an impressive menu of Italian cuisine. A number of other restaurants are within walking distance.

Highlights
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet throughout the hotel
  • One block from Van Ness Metro station
  • On-site Italian restaurant
Location

Days Inn Connecticut Avenue is located in upper northwest D.C., one block from the Van Ness Metro station and four miles south of I-495.

Rooms

The six-floor building has all interior corridors. Spacious rooms at Days Inn Connecticut Avenue have cheery yellow walls, Serta Perfect Sleeper mattresses and triple sheeting. Dark wood furniture adds a touch of class. Business rooms have a microwave, refrigerator, iPod docking station and large desk area. High-speed Internet at Days Inn Connecticut Avenue is complimentary.

Features

The on-site Tesoro Restaurant serves authentic Italian cuisine for lunch and dinner. Dishes include homemade fettuccini with shrimp, scallop and crab meat in a rose cream sauce. The Days Inn Connecticut Avenue is steps away from Gold's Gym, a spa and a salon. Enjoy a complimentary USA Today on weekdays. Connecting rooms and cribs are available upon request when available. On-site parking is available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Van Ness Metro stop (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Regan National Airport (6.8 mi/11 km)
  • Dulles International Airport (21 mi/34 km)
  • Baltimore Washington International Airport (26 mi/42 km)
Attractions
  • Rock Creek Park (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • National Zoo (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Friendship Heights shops and restaurants (1.3 mi/2.2 km)
  • American University (1.3 mi/2.2 km)
  • Georgetown (2.8 mi/4.5 km)
  • Dupont Circle (2.8 mi/4.5 km)
  • The White House (3.7 mi/6 km)
  • The National Mall (4.2 mi/6.7 km)
  • Washington Monument (4.3 mi/6.9 km)
  • Smithsonian Institution (4.5 mi/7.3 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet
  • Meeting space
Policies and fees
  • Parking is an additional charge of $20 plus tax per night with in/out privileges.
  • The Days Inn Connecticut Avenue is 100 percent smoke-free.
  • An in-room safe is $1.50 per night.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Days Inn Washington DC/Connecticut Avenue also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Ice machine
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Guest laundromat
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
FAX
Conference facilities
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Outdoor parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Microwave
Over sized rooms
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Washington National Cathedral: 1.2 mi
  • National Zoological Park: 1.3 mi
  • Woodley Park: 1.4 mi
  • Bender Arena: 1.4 mi
  • Naval Observatory: 1.8 mi
  • Discovery Creek Children's Museum: 2.4 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 2.6 mi
  • Chesapeake and Ohio Canal: 2.6 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 2.7 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 2.8 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 2.8 mi
  • Francis Scott Key Memorial Park: 2.9 mi
  • Blues Alley: 2.9 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 2.9 mi
  • Howard University: 3 mi
  • Washington National Cathedral: 1.2 mi
  • National Zoological Park: 1.3 mi
  • Woodley Park: 1.4 mi
  • Bender Arena: 1.4 mi
  • Naval Observatory: 1.8 mi
  • Discovery Creek Children's Museum: 2.4 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 2.6 mi
  • Chesapeake and Ohio Canal: 2.6 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 2.7 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 2.8 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 2.8 mi
  • Francis Scott Key Memorial Park: 2.9 mi
  • Blues Alley: 2.9 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 2.9 mi
  • Howard University: 3 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 3.2 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 3.2 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 3.3 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 3.4 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 3.4 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Memorial: 3.4 mi
  • Decatur House: 3.6 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 3.6 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 3.6 mi
  • Blair House: 3.6 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 3.6 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 3.7 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 3.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 3.7 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 3.8 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 3.8 mi
  • Department of State: 3.8 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 3.9 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 3.9 mi
  • Chinatown: 3.9 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 3.9 mi
  • Presidents Park: 4 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 4 mi
  • National Theatre: 4 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 4 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 4 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 4 mi
  • National Aquarium: 4 mi
  • Lincoln Memorial: 4.1 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 4.1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (121)

Ratings and reviews for Days Inn Washington DC/Connecticut Avenue

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
121 out of 121
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.7

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Days Inn Washington DC/Connecticut Avenue

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Black Hawk, SD
Mar 12, 2009

Great price, great location

Great combination of price and location. The hotel is in a great location and close to the metro and the price was ideal. The hotel was not fancy and could use some clean up, but the room was clean and the cleaning service through the week stay was fine. I would go back if given the chance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Washington DC/Connecticut Avenue

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 24, 2008

Hotel in Bad condition

This hotel is in disrepair. The elevator security key was not working well and guests all had to try keys in turn. When one worked, we pushed all floor buttons. There was only ice on one floor. The blow dryer in my room did not work and I had to call for repair two times. They were unable to do anything immediately and I had to attend a very important business meeting with wet messy hair. When I called a second time, they sent a repair person who informed me the outlet did not work and removed the dryer from the wall and laid it on the floor next to the bed. I met one woman who had actual holes in the ceiling of her bathroom so I guess I should consider myself lucky that all I had to do was use two hands to turn on the shower. The game controller was broken. The internet service was patchy and there was a broken lamp in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Washington DC/Connecticut Avenue

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami, FL
Aug 1, 2008

tight garage

I drove in to this hotel, as part of a road trip. The location is in a very nice and it is about a block away from a subway station on the red line. The hotel staff from the night parking security guard to the front desk staff were very courteous and helpful. On the downside the hotel is a bit old, the tile in the bathroom has somewhat dirty (from age) caulking compound between the tiles. The parking spaces were very tight to get into, if you have a large car you'll need help being guided into a space and have to pull in and out various times before you can get into the space. My car is small and I still had some difficulty parking in there, if other people aren't as careful them may hit your car. Luckily noting happened to my car. One of the beds made a springing noise when I sat on it, probably a sign of its old age. I had to press the channel up button on the remote control very hard for it to work. If I go to D.C. again and drive my car I'll stay at another hotel with a better parking garage, if I fly in I might stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Washington DC/Connecticut Avenue

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 19, 2008

ok stay for quick getaways

The Days Inn was my choice because it was close to where i had to be and every other hotel was extremely expensive. i didn't spend much time in the hotel baisically just slept there and it worked for that purpose. the bathroom wasn't the nicest one i had ever seen but good enough for taking a shower or two. the best thing about the hotel is that is right by the van ness metro station. and trust me you don't want to walk all the way to downtown! just take the metro and it will be a lot easier. overall it was a hotel which served its purpose. good if you don't plan on spending much time there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The chinese restaurand just up the street from the hotel wasn't all that good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Washington DC/Connecticut Avenue

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Highland Park
May 12, 2008

good location

Bare bones accommodations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to areas where students of American University live. Close to the Metro and good transportation.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Washington DC/Connecticut Avenue

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Mar 17, 2008

Bad Experience

We were given a handicap room that did not have a bath tub or a table to use for eating and they also do not have a restaurant in this premises at all, The Handicap shower had no water pressure a large cracked floor in the center of it also, The noise level with all of tose students they was unreal, they were allowed to sit in corredors on cell phones all hours of the night, running in and out of rooms yelling extreemly unsatisfactory stay here. The doors to your room do not close or have a seal that prevents any of the exterior noise levels here. I would not recommend for the business traveler or for family with smnall children...The coffee makers in your room do not function due to shortages ..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Washington DC/Connecticut Avenue

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Davies
Business
Boston, MA
Feb 26, 2008

My review of Days Inn Connecticut Avenue

The hotel needs more staff, their check-in process is very poor and need to be improved.The rooms has no fridge no water fountain as compare to other hotels of same means. The only area of some satisfication is the room. The bed is well made ,pillows is the right size, but the bathroom is too compacted not enough space for movement the counter space by the sink is not long enough. The hotel is situated in a nice neighorhood that is bussily with commerce.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are a lot cafe and various restaurant of different nationalities to sample from and they are all within ashort walk fom the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Washington DC/Connecticut Avenue

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
David John
Business
Dallas, TX
Feb 13, 2008

Locked Out of My Room for 4.5 Hours on the Morning of a Job Interview

The Days Inn Connecticut Ave. was very clean, and the staff was very helpful -- in fact, remarkably so. The problem with the Days Inn Connecticut Ave. was with the fact that on the morning of my interview for a job with the US Senate I was locked out of my room for 4.5 hours. My keycard would not work, housekeeping's keycard would not work, the emergency keycard would not work, even the metal key would not open the door. One of the desk clerks stated twice that there are doors on that side of the floor [the 6th] that the emergency cards will not open. I'm glad that I was locked out of my room having a panic attack and not locked in it having a heart attack . . . . The hotel's manager & maintenance staff finally had to resort to prying the hardware off the door and using a power drill to drill the lock out of the door to get it open. At 11:00 am I finally got back into my room to retrieve my belongings, get cleaned up, and hail a taxi for my 1:00 pm appointment at the Senate Hart Building. Not exactly the most relaxing hotel stay I've experienced . . . .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Washington DC/Connecticut Avenue

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Dec 7, 2007

My review of Days Inn Connecticut Avenue

It is convenient to Metro, and so convenient for my business trips to DC

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Washington DC/Connecticut Avenue

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Gajendra Babu
Business
Newark, NJ
Nov 18, 2007

The Last option

Choose this hotel as your last option. The room was small, congested there is no water at the room. The location on the other hand is closer to good restaurants and the places to see are pretty closer

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top