$87 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 25, 2014 Check-out: Dec 27, 2014

Crowne Plaza THE HAMILTON - WASHINGTON DC.

4 stars
1001 14TH ST NW, WASHINGTON, DC 20005
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
360 reviews
Anniversary

We went to Washington D.C. to celebrate our anniversary. We wanted a hotel with close access to the... See full review

  • Anniversary Couple III
  • Nov 22, 2014
fantastic college break

Everything was awsome! The room is spacious and the view is very nice. Location is close to... See full review

  • bluegirlll
  • Nov 17, 2014
Elegant hotel with classy restaurant steps away from the White House

The Hamilton Crowne Plaza is in a restored 1920s-era building located in Lafayette Park. The hotel is near most D.C. tourist and business attractions. Guests don't need to leave the hotel to enjoy a delicious meal or a happy hour drink. The hotel's 14K Restaurant offers regional American cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner in a classy environment. The restaurant even has a children's menu. There's also a lounge where guests can sip wines from an extensive list.

Highlights
  • The women's floor caters to women traveling alone or with a group and includes plush robes, magazines, and skin and hair products
  • On-site restaurant with a kids menu
  • Relaxing lounge with extensive wine list
Location

The Hamilton Crowne Plaza is five blocks from the White House in downtown D.C., close to restaurants, attractions and public transportation.

Rooms

The 301 rooms and 17 suites at the Hamilton Crowne Plaza evoke an image of royalty with the deep blue and gold decor and dark wood. Rooms have high-speed Internet access and are pet friendly (fees apply). Sleep advantage rooms feature seven-layer bedding and a relaxation CD and special sleep amenities.

Features

The on-site restaurant and Lounge, 14K Restaurant, serves regional American cuisine for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. The restaurant has a children's menu and an extensive wine list. The 24-hour fitness center has cardio machines with individual televisions. Valet service is available (fees apply). A women's floor caters to women traveling alone or with a group and includes plush robes, magazines, and skin and hair products. There are seven on-site meeting rooms.

Transportation
  • McPherson Square Metro stop
  • Reagan National Airport
  • Dulles International Airport
Business
  • Partners with adjacent Almas Temple event facility for 19,000 square feet of meeting space
  • Meeting planners and catering services
  • High-speed Internet in meeting rooms
  • Audiovisual equipment (fees apply)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Crowne Plaza THE HAMILTON - WASHINGTON DC. also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.4 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.4 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.5 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.5 mi
  • Blair House: 0.5 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.4 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.4 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.5 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.5 mi
  • Blair House: 0.5 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.6 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.6 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.6 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.6 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.7 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.7 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.7 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.7 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.8 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 0.8 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.8 mi
  • National Archives: 0.8 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 0.9 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.9 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.9 mi
  • Newseum: 0.9 mi
  • Washington Monument: 1 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 1 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 1 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 1 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 1 mi
  • Ripley Center: 1 mi

Dining

14K Restaurant & Lounge
The 14K Restaurant delivers a truly memorable dining experience including award winning regional American Contemporary Cuisine, Premium Martinis and a handpicked Wine list. The 14K Restaurant Patio overlooks Franklin Square Park and is the place to be see
DC Coast
Hotel recommends but not affiliated with hotel Popular local restaurant with seafood and American menu choices. Reservations recommended.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (360)

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza THE HAMILTON - WASHINGTON DC.

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
21 out of 360
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza THE HAMILTON - WASHINGTON DC.

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dannyb824
Business
Chicago, IL
Jun 24, 2014

Vacation in DC

It was a descent place besides the fact that my toilet lid kept falling down and would not stay up, that isn't something you would expect from a 4star hotel. The restaurant had a descent brunch and the bag service was also efficient. The location was probably the best feature blocks from everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza THE HAMILTON - WASHINGTON DC.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bioman50
Business
New York
Dec 30, 2013

Helpful & Considerate Staff

My stay was made very enjoyable by the considerate and helpful staff who went out of their way to help me sort out wifi problems and generally provide excellent service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza THE HAMILTON - WASHINGTON DC.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Michael8lei
Business
Albany, New York
Dec 27, 2013

pretty good

given that is capital city, it is cheap even enouph for students.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza THE HAMILTON - WASHINGTON DC.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cheffington
Business
Temple Hills MD
Mar 18, 2013

so good

When i got there i was greated with a smile. the door was opened for me. check in was a breeze, she was very delightfull. my room was so sweet to die for, that room was made for me. the bed was so soft. i didnt wasnt to get out of it. the gym was great. i got work done at the business dest provided in the room. i cant wait to come back. i told my friends it was the greatest stay i ever had, thank you so very much...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

a great amout of differend clubs shops and other place to enjoy around the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza THE HAMILTON - WASHINGTON DC.

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
GuyontheGo
Business
washington DC
Aug 27, 2012

Stay was ok

My stay here was just ok. My room door lock malfunctioned and it took FOREVER for someone to come fix and but me in another room. but they came and all is well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza THE HAMILTON - WASHINGTON DC.

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mimi09
Business
Edmonton, AB, Canada
Sep 19, 2011

close to shopping and historical attractions

The building is evidently older with small elevators and narrow hallways. Elevators did not function properly and took a long time to arrive. The room was clean and spacious (2 double beds). Great restaurant attached to the hotel, the food was well prepared. Hotel 2 blocks away from Macy's and other shops, and within walking distance of White House, Smithsonian, etc. I would recommend because the price was reasonable and it was a clean, safe place to stay. Perhaps for a few dollars more I could have upgraded to a newer hotel with more ammenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

The hotel will provide a 50% off coupon for breakfast at the 14K restaurant attached to the hotel. The food there was fresh and delicious, service was very good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza THE HAMILTON - WASHINGTON DC.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, D.C.
Jun 5, 2011

Good location, cheap, terrible parking

It was very close to the White House and within walking distance of the Mall an Capital Hill. The room was lovely, but the walls are thin. I had a group of college-age, sleepless kids next door but the hotel provided lovely little earplugs. My biggest complaint was that the website said 'parking' but didn't say that it would cost extra and that street parking was not available overnight. For traveling on a budget that was a little steep for me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

All of the major national sites are very close and the rest are a short metro ride away!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza THE HAMILTON - WASHINGTON DC.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Worth, TX
Dec 23, 2010

Great stay!

Staff was very friendly! Told me where to eat every night, got me taxis, and gave directions. My room was very nice, although sometimes seemed to be a little cold. I would definitely go back to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything was very close to the hotel or metro. I only used the taxi once, and I didn't rent a car for my 5 day stay.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza THE HAMILTON - WASHINGTON DC.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Theresa Volunteer
Business
Austin, TX
Dec 6, 2010

Home Away From Home

The Hamilton was a very pleasant place to lodge during my 7 day stay in DC. This was my first trip to DC. The staff was very friendly and helpful especially in the resturant. This was my first Thanksgiving spent away from my family and they made me feel very welcomed. The food was excellent! The sfaff was accomodating with tour information, the rooms very nice and comfortable. It would be my hotel of choice upon returning to DC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Location is approximately 4 blocks from the White House.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza THE HAMILTON - WASHINGTON DC.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sane Rally Goer
Business
Dayton, OH
Nov 1, 2010

Great way to stay in DC

It was a great time. The hotel staff was friendly and professional, even when I checked in near midnight. The historic building was beautiful and a pleasure to sleep in. The rooms, while small by today's standards (the building was built in the early 20th century), was more than enough to provide a good place to relax before heading back out on the town. The restaurant and bar was good an plesant to get a drink in before heading to bed, not to mention the people you were able to meet while there. I highly recommend it and hope for the opportunity to stay there on my next visit to DC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you are in town for a rally or other big event, don't be stuck to downtown for food or really anything. There is a near by metro that you can hop on to take you to nearly any other part of the city for food, nightlife, or just other stuff to explore.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top