$103 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 30, 2014 Check-out: Dec 31, 2014

Crowne Plaza THE HAMILTON - WASHINGTON DC.

4 stars
1001 14TH ST NW, WASHINGTON, DC 20005
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
360 reviews
Anniversary

We went to Washington D.C. to celebrate our anniversary. We wanted a hotel with close access to the... See full review

  • Anniversary Couple III
  • Nov 22, 2014
fantastic college break

Everything was awsome! The room is spacious and the view is very nice. Location is close to... See full review

  • bluegirlll
  • Nov 17, 2014
Elegant hotel with classy restaurant steps away from the White House

The Hamilton Crowne Plaza is in a restored 1920s-era building located in Lafayette Park. The hotel is near most D.C. tourist and business attractions. Guests don't need to leave the hotel to enjoy a delicious meal or a happy hour drink. The hotel's 14K Restaurant offers regional American cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner in a classy environment. The restaurant even has a children's menu. There's also a lounge where guests can sip wines from an extensive list.

Highlights
  • The women's floor caters to women traveling alone or with a group and includes plush robes, magazines, and skin and hair products
  • On-site restaurant with a kids menu
  • Relaxing lounge with extensive wine list
Location

The Hamilton Crowne Plaza is five blocks from the White House in downtown D.C., close to restaurants, attractions and public transportation.

Rooms

The 301 rooms and 17 suites at the Hamilton Crowne Plaza evoke an image of royalty with the deep blue and gold decor and dark wood. Rooms have high-speed Internet access and are pet friendly (fees apply). Sleep advantage rooms feature seven-layer bedding and a relaxation CD and special sleep amenities.

Features

The on-site restaurant and Lounge, 14K Restaurant, serves regional American cuisine for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. The restaurant has a children's menu and an extensive wine list. The 24-hour fitness center has cardio machines with individual televisions. Valet service is available (fees apply). A women's floor caters to women traveling alone or with a group and includes plush robes, magazines, and skin and hair products. There are seven on-site meeting rooms.

Transportation
  • McPherson Square Metro stop
  • Reagan National Airport
  • Dulles International Airport
Business
  • Partners with adjacent Almas Temple event facility for 19,000 square feet of meeting space
  • Meeting planners and catering services
  • High-speed Internet in meeting rooms
  • Audiovisual equipment (fees apply)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Crowne Plaza THE HAMILTON - WASHINGTON DC. also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.4 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.4 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.5 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.5 mi
  • Blair House: 0.5 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.4 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.4 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.5 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.5 mi
  • Blair House: 0.5 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.6 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.6 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.6 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.6 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.7 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.7 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.7 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.7 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.8 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 0.8 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.8 mi
  • National Archives: 0.8 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 0.9 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.9 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.9 mi
  • Newseum: 0.9 mi
  • Washington Monument: 1 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 1 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 1 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 1 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 1 mi
  • Ripley Center: 1 mi

Dining

14K Restaurant & Lounge
The 14K Restaurant delivers a truly memorable dining experience including award winning regional American Contemporary Cuisine, Premium Martinis and a handpicked Wine list. The 14K Restaurant Patio overlooks Franklin Square Park and is the place to be see
DC Coast
Hotel recommends but not affiliated with hotel Popular local restaurant with seafood and American menu choices. Reservations recommended.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (360)

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza THE HAMILTON - WASHINGTON DC.

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
57 out of 360
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza THE HAMILTON - WASHINGTON DC.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
instructionalizer
Business
Meridian, Idaho
May 12, 2014

Great Hotel that met my needs

The hotel was clean and close to the Metro and the conference center. There was plenty of dining within walking distance. My room was clean with a great view of the park. Hotel staff were helpful and friendly but not overbearing. The building is a little older so the elevators are quite small, I would not recommend if you are claustrophobic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza THE HAMILTON - WASHINGTON DC.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Wondering Alaskan
Business
Palmer, AK
Feb 27, 2014

Room Change

I needed two beds and when I got a King, I my room was changed without question. It was the quintessential of customer service. Thank you!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza THE HAMILTON - WASHINGTON DC.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bellalicious04
Business
Vermont
Jan 17, 2014

Great for business

I don't know if this would be the ideal place to stay with a large family, since the room size was small, but I loved all of the perks including night creams, sprays and leg creams that came with the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza THE HAMILTON - WASHINGTON DC.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Destinyg01
Business
Virginia Beach, VA
Dec 16, 2013

Great Hotel with Awesome Location

I stayed here last week while I was in town for a business conference. It's a beautiful property in an unbeatable location. It's right on 14th street, walking distance to a ton of great restaurants and shops. Plus it's right across the street from a little park so my room had a very nice view. My only complaint was that they aren't very good about answering their phones. I was traveling for work so reserved the hotel with the company credit card. Sometimes these things require additional authorization, so I tried to call to make sure my reservation was all set. I called the front desk over and over again but no one ever picked up. I even double checked the number twice. I will say, however, once you're at the hotel and in front of the staff, they bend over backwards to help you with whatever you need.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza THE HAMILTON - WASHINGTON DC.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Worker bee
Business
albuquerque
Jun 29, 2013

Meeting

This hotel was great but they did not give me my early morning wakeup call and I could have missed my flight!!! Fortunately I woke up on my own. Room was clean but very small. a little larger room would have been nice. There was barely room to walk around the bed. The doormen and staff were very nice. The hotel bartender was funny and nice. The drinks are very expensive. But nice stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Old Ebbitt's is an outstanding seafood restaurant. I would be sure to make reservations first though. Food is excellent.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza THE HAMILTON - WASHINGTON DC.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BWD2BWD2
Business
honolulu
Jun 5, 2013

ok probably go somewhere else

Had to pay for internet they should have poovided wireless no pool. at least not advertized. same with fittness center street room noizy at night nice bed nice desk nice refreg

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza THE HAMILTON - WASHINGTON DC.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
robkings
Business
Los Angeles
Jun 3, 2013

Classy, classic

Gorgeous historic hotel in the heart of DC. Thoroughly updated, beautifully and sensitively remodeled. The service and staff thoughtful, friendly, professional and just outstanding.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza THE HAMILTON - WASHINGTON DC.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travel Afficienado
Business
Pennsylvania
Apr 14, 2013

Cherry Blossom Special

excellent location - within walking distance for most Washington attractions and restaurants. Staff accommodating -stowed luggage at no additional cost.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza THE HAMILTON - WASHINGTON DC.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bongo 007
Business
Rochester, NY
Feb 22, 2013

Hamilton Crowne Plaza is a great choice!

Staff was very friendly and very responsive to all questions and needs. Handy to have nice bar/restaurant and built-in Starbuck's. So easy to get a cab -- pulling up one after the other in morning and easily hailed by staff in afternoon. Walking distance to other nice restaurants for lunch and dinner. Room was well appointed, comfortable, and clean. I would definitely recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Old Ebbitt Grill dating from 1856 is a short walk from Crowne Plaza and has great food (try the mussels) and great atmosphere.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza THE HAMILTON - WASHINGTON DC.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
hotelopin
Business
New York, NY
Dec 16, 2012

Loved it!

My only complaint was that the water in the shower was never hot. Luke warmish.... The room itself was GREAT! Newly renovated and gorgeous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top