$102 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 21, 2014 Check-out: Dec 23, 2014

Crowne Plaza THE HAMILTON - WASHINGTON DC.

4 stars
1001 14TH ST NW, WASHINGTON, DC 20005
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
359 reviews
Anniversary

We went to Washington D.C. to celebrate our anniversary. We wanted a hotel with close access to the... See full review

  • Anniversary Couple III
  • Nov 22, 2014
fantastic college break

Everything was awsome! The room is spacious and the view is very nice. Location is close to... See full review

  • bluegirlll
  • Nov 17, 2014
Elegant hotel with classy restaurant steps away from the White House

The Hamilton Crowne Plaza is in a restored 1920s-era building located in Lafayette Park. The hotel is near most D.C. tourist and business attractions. Guests don't need to leave the hotel to enjoy a delicious meal or a happy hour drink. The hotel's 14K Restaurant offers regional American cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner in a classy environment. The restaurant even has a children's menu. There's also a lounge where guests can sip wines from an extensive list.

Highlights
  • The women's floor caters to women traveling alone or with a group and includes plush robes, magazines, and skin and hair products
  • On-site restaurant with a kids menu
  • Relaxing lounge with extensive wine list
Location

The Hamilton Crowne Plaza is five blocks from the White House in downtown D.C., close to restaurants, attractions and public transportation.

Rooms

The 301 rooms and 17 suites at the Hamilton Crowne Plaza evoke an image of royalty with the deep blue and gold decor and dark wood. Rooms have high-speed Internet access and are pet friendly (fees apply). Sleep advantage rooms feature seven-layer bedding and a relaxation CD and special sleep amenities.

Features

The on-site restaurant and Lounge, 14K Restaurant, serves regional American cuisine for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. The restaurant has a children's menu and an extensive wine list. The 24-hour fitness center has cardio machines with individual televisions. Valet service is available (fees apply). A women's floor caters to women traveling alone or with a group and includes plush robes, magazines, and skin and hair products. There are seven on-site meeting rooms.

Transportation
  • McPherson Square Metro stop
  • Reagan National Airport
  • Dulles International Airport
Business
  • Partners with adjacent Almas Temple event facility for 19,000 square feet of meeting space
  • Meeting planners and catering services
  • High-speed Internet in meeting rooms
  • Audiovisual equipment (fees apply)

Hotel Map

38.9029 -77.0316
Nearby airports
Baltimore Washington International Airport, (BWI), 42.00, MI, SW; Washington Dulles International Airport, (IAD), 25.00, MI, SE; Ronald Reagan National Airport, (DCA), 4.00, MI, N;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Crowne Plaza THE HAMILTON - WASHINGTON DC. also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.4 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.4 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.5 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.5 mi
  • Blair House: 0.5 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.4 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.4 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.5 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.5 mi
  • Blair House: 0.5 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.6 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.6 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.6 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.6 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.7 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.7 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.7 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.7 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.8 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 0.8 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.8 mi
  • National Archives: 0.8 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 0.9 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.9 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.9 mi
  • Newseum: 0.9 mi
  • Washington Monument: 1 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 1 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 1 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 1 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 1 mi
  • Ripley Center: 1 mi

Dining

14K Restaurant & Lounge
The 14K Restaurant delivers a truly memorable dining experience including award winning regional American Contemporary Cuisine, Premium Martinis and a handpicked Wine list. The 14K Restaurant Patio overlooks Franklin Square Park and is the place to be see
DC Coast
Hotel recommends but not affiliated with hotel Popular local restaurant with seafood and American menu choices. Reservations recommended.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (359)

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza THE HAMILTON - WASHINGTON DC.

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
359 out of 359
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza THE HAMILTON - WASHINGTON DC.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
bunsof
Business
Florida, USA
Nov 21, 2011

perfect

This hotel was extremly clean, the staff was amazing, and perfect location. couldnt ask for more!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza THE HAMILTON - WASHINGTON DC.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Darla
Business
Gloucester, Gloucester Courthouse, VA, USA
Nov 14, 2011

Family getaway

We went to DC to take kids to museums, the Hotel was in a great area and the staff was very nice and helpful.....My only complaint was the parking at hotel was not included in the stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

EXCELLENT FOOD!!!!! and the service was great!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza THE HAMILTON - WASHINGTON DC.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TommyParsons
Business
Toronto, ON, Canada
Nov 14, 2011

Classic Hotel

A comfortable, classic old hotel, well maintained, charming hotel and very friendly staff. Hard to find a complaint!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza THE HAMILTON - WASHINGTON DC.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DCMTC
Business
Milwaukee, WI, USA
Nov 7, 2011

Historical Visit

Very clean hotel with all needed amenities. Staff were courteous and responsive Easy check in and the location was great. Would highly recommend

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza THE HAMILTON - WASHINGTON DC.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DC lover
Business
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Nov 1, 2011

Repeat Stay

Had another great stay at The Hamilton. We appreciated it's close proximity to the Metro and many major sight seeing locations. The staff is always thorough and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Part of my trip was business in the suburbs and I saved myself the stress of downtown traffic by renting a car at the airport. I didn't want to have a car downtown so on the day of my meeting I took the Metro to Reagan Intl airport from the MacPherson station walked to the rental cars, went to my meeting, returned the car at the airport and hopped on the Metro for the return trip. It was a bit of a walk from the Metro to the rentals but very manageable.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza THE HAMILTON - WASHINGTON DC.

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
kisaMD
Business
Tampa, FL, USA
Oct 18, 2011

Very average room for the price

Location was great. Just 1 block from metro. And short walk to tourist spots. Was expecting more comfortable bedding. Safe used lock and key which I thought was archaic especially as I was trying to minimize items I took out with me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Enjoy the city by walking and taking metro. Saves money also on cab fare

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza THE HAMILTON - WASHINGTON DC.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lettylake
Business
Northern California
Oct 7, 2011

Great stay at Hamilton Crowne Plaza

This hotel was great, very convenient for our stay in DC - many places walkable, Metro down the street. Our room was nice, very quiet, kept very clean. Only problem was slow internet, they need more bandwidth. Concierge & staff very nice and helpful. We did everything! - visited the White House (arranged through our congressional rep 7 months in advance), the Capitol, Old Town Trolley Tour- both loops, Ford's Theatre, several Smithsonians, Foundry UMC, National Cathedral closed for repairs unfortunately. First time in DC & we loved it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Did not eat in hotel (too pricey) a few nearby choices, best for economy was Zoup for good soups, salads & sandwiches. You could order two half orders for $7.50, plenty filling.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza THE HAMILTON - WASHINGTON DC.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nina31703
Business
Pineville, LA, USA
Oct 3, 2011

Great Vacation

We loved the hotel and it's staff. Everyone was very friendly and helpfull. The only thing I wish we had while we were there for a week was a refridgerator but everything else was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Travel the Metro. It is the cheapest and fastest way to get around. Hard at first to figure out but is some what easy to learn and there is one 1 block from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza THE HAMILTON - WASHINGTON DC.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Janie D.
Business
Delray Beach, FL
Sep 19, 2011

Convenient, Friendly, Comfortable

The hotel is super convenient to the Mall area and the White House plus there is a Metrostop (McPherson) one block away. The staff was very friendly and accomodated all of our requests (early check-in, late check-out, baggage storage). The hotel is older, so the closets are small, the rooms are little cozy (and by cozy I mean cramped) and the elevators run kind of slow, but it's all part of the amibance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

The hotel calls itself the Crowne Plaza at Dupont Circle, but the closets metro stop is really 2 stops away from DuPont Circle.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza THE HAMILTON - WASHINGTON DC.

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mimi09
Business
Edmonton, AB, Canada
Sep 19, 2011

close to shopping and historical attractions

The building is evidently older with small elevators and narrow hallways. Elevators did not function properly and took a long time to arrive. The room was clean and spacious (2 double beds). Great restaurant attached to the hotel, the food was well prepared. Hotel 2 blocks away from Macy's and other shops, and within walking distance of White House, Smithsonian, etc. I would recommend because the price was reasonable and it was a clean, safe place to stay. Perhaps for a few dollars more I could have upgraded to a newer hotel with more ammenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

The hotel will provide a 50% off coupon for breakfast at the 14K restaurant attached to the hotel. The food there was fresh and delicious, service was very good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top