$117 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 4, 2015 Check-out: Sep 5, 2015

Crowne Plaza THE HAMILTON - WASHINGTON DC.

4 stars
View map of 1001 14TH ST NW, WASHINGTON, DC 20005

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza THE HAMILTON - WASHINGTON DC.

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
337 out of 337
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza THE HAMILTON - WASHINGTON DC.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
HammerOfThor
Couples
Australia
Sep 12, 2012

Reasonably decent hotel

Hotel and room were perfectly adequate - comfortable enough, and no major complaints. Staff could be friendlier though, and also took off points for the temporary reception while renovations were taking place. Room was slightly noisy at night (I'm a light sleeper), and in-room decor a bit tired and could probably do with a freshen up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Crowne Plaza THE HAMILTON - WASHINGTON DC.

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
HammerOfThor
Couples
Australia
Sep 12, 2012

Reasonable hotel

Hotel and room were perfectly adequate - comfortable enough, and no major complaints. Staff could be friendlier though, and also took off points for the temporary reception while renovations were taking place. Room was slightly noisy at night (I'm a light sleeper), and in-room decor a bit tired and could probably do with a freshen up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Crowne Plaza THE HAMILTON - WASHINGTON DC.

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
GuyontheGo
Single
washington DC
Aug 27, 2012

Stay was ok

My stay here was just ok. My room door lock malfunctioned and it took FOREVER for someone to come fix and but me in another room. but they came and all is well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Crowne Plaza THE HAMILTON - WASHINGTON DC.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Matlab Bill
Family
State College, PA
Aug 11, 2012

Good location

The hotel is not far from national mall. And it is near street. So you might hear traffic noise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Crowne Plaza THE HAMILTON - WASHINGTON DC.

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
GingerLee
Couples
Virginia
Aug 8, 2012

Nothing special

This hotel looked very nice on the inside and out, the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. However, the hotel was not placed in a driver friendly, especially with someone who didn't know the roads, environment. My GPS kept telling me to turn left when turning left was illegal. So that was frustrating enough. The room was clean but the bed was the most uncomfortable thing I had ever slept in. My guest and I started talking about the tread count and we started joking that the sheets must be about 80 grit. Overall it was a nice looking hotel but I would never stay there again. After walking around DC all day I was looking forward to a great nights sleep, which was not accomplished on that hotels bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Crowne Plaza THE HAMILTON - WASHINGTON DC.

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SusanMJ
Friends
Holly, Michigan
Jul 18, 2012

Just ok.

The people were great. The room was very noisy like there was an air compressor always running. Food was good and the outdoor cafe was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Crowne Plaza THE HAMILTON - WASHINGTON DC.

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
igotyour6
Family
washington dc
Jul 13, 2012

bug bites at this cost

I was so excited when i first saw this hotel. But it was a quick mask.. our room was dirty. Other peoples hair all in the bath tub. I seriously bought clorox wipes to clean it before i could use it. The room was small and sits right beside a fire house so you hear not just the non stop traffic but a fire truck going out all night. The cleaning staff was quite funny. I asled someone if they could vacuum the room. She came in with a lint roller on a stick. No joke...i found two bugs. In our room.. well thats what i found i woke up on the last night with bug bites all down my arms.. it was unreal.. i felt gross.. the dinner room is over prices and most of the time booked.. so you cant even eat in your own hotel.. so start walking only to see the only thing close is one subway... i dont normally take the time to evenreview . However someome needs to know before they waste their money and time..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Crowne Plaza THE HAMILTON - WASHINGTON DC.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nightengale
Family
New Orleans, LA
Jul 9, 2012

Pet Friendly

This hotel allows pets and has a ladies only floor. It was smaller than we expected, our view was nonexistent, and it was being updated during our stay, but the staff was excellent and the location very convenient to public transportation, food, and attractions. We easily walked to the metro station, the White House, and Ford's Theater.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Metro passes are sold from vending machines at every station. No need to locate a Metro Center to make purchases.

Review of Crowne Plaza THE HAMILTON - WASHINGTON DC.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
EjjH
Couples
North Carolina
Jul 6, 2012

Nice place

Nice hotel, good location, very friendly staff. The rooms were average, smallish because it's an old hotel, but very comfortable and stylish. The hotel bar was very good as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Crowne Plaza THE HAMILTON - WASHINGTON DC.

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JanJanJan
Family
Detroit, MI
Jun 19, 2012

Yearly visit to Arlington National Cemetary

NOISY - NOISY - NOISY! Funny smell in hotel like old mold perhaps - Excellent restaurant attached.....if you need sleep, I would recommend somewhere else as the streets are very loud here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: In Hotel

Excellent food, perhaps the best i've ever had

Back to menu Return to top