$235 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 8, 2015 Check-out: May 9, 2015

Crowne Plaza THE HAMILTON - WASHINGTON DC.

4 stars
View map of 1001 14TH ST NW, WASHINGTON, DC 20005

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza THE HAMILTON - WASHINGTON DC.

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
366 out of 366
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza THE HAMILTON - WASHINGTON DC.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 6, 2007

Love the location and staff

The Crown Hamilton is an exquisite hotel; love the rooms, staff and location to DC sights and metro too. When we return to DC we will book this place again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Museums are close by and wonderful!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza THE HAMILTON - WASHINGTON DC.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 5, 2007

Very family friendly

Personal very friendly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Check the prices for room service(food)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza THE HAMILTON - WASHINGTON DC.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Springfield, IL
Jul 5, 2007

Best priced hotel in the area!

The hotel was near the metro as well as washington attractions. I was upset that in order to eat breakfast I would have to pay a high-priced amount.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza THE HAMILTON - WASHINGTON DC.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Jul 5, 2007

location location

Location was perfect, just 1 block from train station and few blocks from White House. Staff helpful with finding tourist and dinner options. We were one parent and 3 kids traveling, w/ 2 double beds and we did fine! Rooms were average in size for downtown city hotel. Property was clean and felt safe and comfortable. Would do property again and would recommend to family / friends!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

We went over 4th of July, perfect and within walking distance, so no need to ride crowded trains!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza THE HAMILTON - WASHINGTON DC.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 4, 2007

My review of Crowne Plaza Hotel THE HAMILTON CP-WASHINGTON DC

Thought the reservation desk was exceptional. The maid service was wonderful. Room was very comfortable. I didn't like that there was a valet charge of $33 per day that I wasn't told about until after the check-in process was completed. There was no water until 5AM the next morning on the date of our arrival and I didn't know about this until our ride up the elevator with the luggage. The day we left, we had to wait about 20 minutes for our car to be brought around because the valet failed to bring it. (We called for the car about an hour before it was needed.) We had a flight to catch and this could have been a major problem. The restaurant was advertised in the book in the room to be open until 11PM, but they refused to serve us at 10:30PM. All of this said, we really enjoyed our stay. For every problem we encountered, there were many other exceptionally nice and helpful people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza THE HAMILTON - WASHINGTON DC.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Jun 19, 2007

Nice Accommodations

The room was very nice. It was a good size, well decorated and very comfortable. Besides the important necessities, it had lots of little things: night light, clips to hold the drapes closed; women's only floor. It was conveniently right on the route for the circulator bus. Staff was very polite and friendly. Someone was always there at the front door to open it for you and greet you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza THE HAMILTON - WASHINGTON DC.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
May 29, 2007

great location

checked in for Memorial Day weekend with friends. We rode Harley's from Ohio and the staff was wonderful about letting us park them ourselves in a secure location. The hotel was located near our meeting site and the staff was friendly and very helpful. Our only regret was the lack of pool/hot tub. Room size was adequate and we would use the facility again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

lots of exciting nighlife within walking distance

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza THE HAMILTON - WASHINGTON DC.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin, TX
May 29, 2007

Great Location

This hotel has a great location and works well for traveling for a few people. The rooms were on the smallish end but very comfortable and noise free.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to the White House

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza THE HAMILTON - WASHINGTON DC.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
May 28, 2007

Good Value

The Crowne Plaza Hotel THE HAMILTON CP-WASHINGTON DC, WASHINGTON, DC was a good value. We were on the corner of the building so there was a fair amount of street noise and there was a fire station around the corner so there was also a fair amount of siren noise. The hotel was pretty reasonably prices and the beds were comfortable and the rooms were clean. They did provide one set of earplugs that were on the bed when we arrived but we had 4 people staying in the room (we should have asked for additional ear plugs.) The hotel lobby staff were friendly and helpful. The restaurant staff was less freindly. The location was good, near a metro rail station and near bus stops. Walking distance to the National Mall at about 8+ blocks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are many hotels in the area all having their own restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza THE HAMILTON - WASHINGTON DC.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Detroit, MI
May 28, 2007

Great location!

This hotel was indeed in a nice area of D.C. Just a block away from the McPherson Sq. Metro stop, actually. Being SO close made travel very convenient. The hotel had wonderful decor both inside the rooms and throughout the entire hotel. The door-men were always there with a smile on their face and prompt with anything we may have needed. The one and only complaint I would have with this hotel was the elevators. The elevators felt extremely tight with only four people in them. To be fair however, there were 4 elevators. Also, I must keep in mind how old this hotel is. I suppose the smaller elevators keep part of the old charm within the hotel. I would easily stay at this hotel again and do recommend it to anyone who is looking for something in a safe neighborhood that is in downtown and close to the Metro (THE METRO IS AN AMAZING WAY OF TRAVEL IN D.C.).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Nearby are a few little eateries (ie: Quizno's, Cosi, Domino's, Subway). Within a 15-minute walk are quite a few excellent restaurants and bars in the Dupont Circle area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top