$159 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Feb 27, 2015 Check-out: Mar 1, 2015

Crowne Plaza THE HAMILTON - WASHINGTON DC.

4 stars
View map of 1001 14TH ST NW, WASHINGTON, DC 20005

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
362 reviews
Excellent hotel for business travelers

Good location near the national mall and many food trucks and restaurants nearby. Good hotel bar See full review

  • Robert G.
  • Feb 13, 2015
good location

Staff. Was a great help.however the restaurant was over priced,there are not many player's to eat... See full review

  • byron h.
  • Jan 26, 2015
Elegant hotel with classy restaurant steps away from the White House

The Hamilton Crowne Plaza is in a restored 1920s-era building located in Lafayette Park. The hotel is near most D.C. tourist and business attractions. Guests don't need to leave the hotel to enjoy a delicious meal or a happy hour drink. The hotel's 14K Restaurant offers regional American cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner in a classy environment. The restaurant even has a children's menu. There's also a lounge where guests can sip wines from an extensive list.

Highlights
  • The women's floor caters to women traveling alone or with a group and includes plush robes, magazines, and skin and hair products
  • On-site restaurant with a kids menu
  • Relaxing lounge with extensive wine list
Location

The Hamilton Crowne Plaza is five blocks from the White House in downtown D.C., close to restaurants, attractions and public transportation.

Rooms

The 301 rooms and 17 suites at the Hamilton Crowne Plaza evoke an image of royalty with the deep blue and gold decor and dark wood. Rooms have high-speed Internet access and are pet friendly (fees apply). Sleep advantage rooms feature seven-layer bedding and a relaxation CD and special sleep amenities.

Features

The on-site restaurant and Lounge, 14K Restaurant, serves regional American cuisine for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. The restaurant has a children's menu and an extensive wine list. The 24-hour fitness center has cardio machines with individual televisions. Valet service is available (fees apply). A women's floor caters to women traveling alone or with a group and includes plush robes, magazines, and skin and hair products. There are seven on-site meeting rooms.

Transportation
  • McPherson Square Metro stop
  • Reagan National Airport
  • Dulles International Airport
Business
  • Partners with adjacent Almas Temple event facility for 19,000 square feet of meeting space
  • Meeting planners and catering services
  • High-speed Internet in meeting rooms
  • Audiovisual equipment (fees apply)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Crowne Plaza THE HAMILTON - WASHINGTON DC. also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.4 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.4 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.5 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.5 mi
  • Blair House: 0.5 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.4 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.4 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.5 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.5 mi
  • Blair House: 0.5 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.6 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.6 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.6 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.6 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.7 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.7 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.7 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.7 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.8 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 0.8 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.8 mi
  • National Archives: 0.8 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 0.9 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.9 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.9 mi
  • Newseum: 0.9 mi
  • Washington Monument: 1 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 1 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 1 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 1 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 1 mi
  • Ripley Center: 1 mi

Dining

14K Restaurant & Lounge
The 14K Restaurant delivers a truly memorable dining experience including award winning regional American Contemporary Cuisine, Premium Martinis and a handpicked Wine list. The 14K Restaurant Patio overlooks Franklin Square Park and is the place to be see
DC Coast
Hotel recommends but not affiliated with hotel Popular local restaurant with seafood and American menu choices. Reservations recommended.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (362)

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza THE HAMILTON - WASHINGTON DC.

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
362 out of 362
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza THE HAMILTON - WASHINGTON DC.

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
The dreamers
Business
White plains, New York
Dec 28, 2013

Washington DC

I took a road trip from NY to DC for two days...first when we got there even though we checked in at 630 I wanted to know some information on the night tour...staff was friendly but didn't know about any of the tours so they weren't helpful...secondly I only stayed one night so I would assume they let guest sleep later. At 850 house keeping was already knocking on our door and every hour. And at 10 house keeping said we had to check out and when I went to check out I confirmed check out was at noon. I didn't complain to them but I will never come back. Room was clean and location was great. Hotel staff were nice but need to know about tours and housekeeping was awful...if u want to rest stay somewhere else....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza THE HAMILTON - WASHINGTON DC.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Michael8lei
Business
Albany, New York
Dec 27, 2013

pretty good

given that is capital city, it is cheap even enouph for students.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza THE HAMILTON - WASHINGTON DC.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Destinyg01
Business
Virginia Beach, VA
Dec 16, 2013

Great Hotel with Awesome Location

I stayed here last week while I was in town for a business conference. It's a beautiful property in an unbeatable location. It's right on 14th street, walking distance to a ton of great restaurants and shops. Plus it's right across the street from a little park so my room had a very nice view. My only complaint was that they aren't very good about answering their phones. I was traveling for work so reserved the hotel with the company credit card. Sometimes these things require additional authorization, so I tried to call to make sure my reservation was all set. I called the front desk over and over again but no one ever picked up. I even double checked the number twice. I will say, however, once you're at the hotel and in front of the staff, they bend over backwards to help you with whatever you need.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza THE HAMILTON - WASHINGTON DC.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
PattyC
Business
Ventura, CA
Dec 11, 2013

Great trip

This was a great hotel. Comfortable and friendly. Close to most activities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza THE HAMILTON - WASHINGTON DC.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PattyC
Business
Ventura, CA
Dec 2, 2013

Vacation

We had a great time. This was a beautiful surprise the room is a little small but beautifully decorated so you really didn't notice. The staff was terrific very helpful. There are 2 things that they should correct. One is to clean the windows and the second is to get double pains installed. The noise was real bad at night after the bars let out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Look around the area. Walk around the block and you will find restaurants in the area of this hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza THE HAMILTON - WASHINGTON DC.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Aska
Business
Boston,MA
Oct 23, 2013

Great time with friends

Hotel located in very convenient place, close to white house, capitol hill and other many things. I could walk to anywhere by myself. I stayed in king size bedroom. I really liked the room and service was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza THE HAMILTON - WASHINGTON DC.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CaroleT
Business
UK
Sep 26, 2013

Excellent but..............

Excellent location. hotel generally excellent, staff very helpful and attentive except for room maid (641) who constantly forgot to replenish the milk and sugar for the in room coffee maker I even left a note but still nothing -had to get it from the bar in the end also the ice machines didn't always have ice. The concierge service was excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Use the Big Bus 48 hour pass really worth it also get a smartrip card like an Oyster card can be used on buses and metro it cost $7.20 getting to Dulles airport with smartrip card on the bus a normal shuttle would cost $39 plus 18% tip

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza THE HAMILTON - WASHINGTON DC.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ready to Get Out of Town
Business
Lakeland, FL
Sep 6, 2013

Great Labor Day Weekend Getaway!

The Front Desk staff were very friendly and really went out of there way to ensure that my staff was comfortable and pleasant. The room was maintained well and the staff were very friendly. The restaurant was excellent and convenient for when you felt like having dinner without leaving the hotel. The location of the hotel was just one block from the Metro so the location was very convenient. All in all, I would say that this was a 5 star experience! I would definitely choose this hotel again when visiting DC!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza THE HAMILTON - WASHINGTON DC.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Impulss
Business
Maryland
Sep 4, 2013

great

room is nice, just kinda small. otherwise it is a great place. Near to all the clubs

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza THE HAMILTON - WASHINGTON DC.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pam the hygienist
Business
Bakersfield, CA
Jul 23, 2013

Wonderful first visit to DC

The staff were very courteous and helpful. Every time we needed assistance in getting our destiny, they were always willing to direct us in the right way. The bed was very comfortable. The room was a little cramped but very clean. We would happily recommend this hotel to our family and friends. Great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

To the Smithsonian museums.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top