$89 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 20, 2014 Check-out: Nov 23, 2014

Courtyard by Marriott Washington, DC/U.S. Capitol

3 stars
1325, 2nd Street NE, Washington, DC 20002
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
77 reviews
Business/Pleasure Trip

Pulling in at 2 am wasn't how we planned, but the staff there couldn't have been more welcoming.... See full review

  • toolfan
  • Aug 12, 2014
Great location

Right next to T station, supper convinent and add breakfast to our room, 10 dollars for 3 of us!... See full review

  • Linda Marybeth
  • May 26, 2014
Modern stay in central D.C. with a pool, business amenities and more

The Courtyard by Marriott Washington DC/US Capitol offers business and leisure guests a modern, convenient stay in the Washington, D.C.'s city center. The lobby features comfortable, modern spaces to work in, as well as free Wi-Fi, and a GoBoard which airs the latest news, weather and airport conditions. Leisure facilities at this 3-star hotel include a fitness center and indoor pool. The Courtyard by Marriott Washington DC/US Capitol Bistro offers on-site dining, with morning and evening meals as well as cocktails. Guests staying here are in easy reach of the city's major points of interest, such as the Washington Convention Center and Smithsonian American Art Museum.

Reasons to stay
  • Close to the White House, US Capitol and National Mall, as well as public transit options
  • Onsite bistro, indoor swimming pool and fitness center
  • 24-hour business center with boarding pass printing facilities
Courtyard by Marriott Washington DC/US Capitol rooms

Each room offers amenities including coffee and tea service, mini-fridge, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, sizable work desk and in-room entertainment. All rooms at Courtyard by Marriott Washington DC/US Capitol are non-smoking. Room service and high-speed Internet access are available.

Things to do nearby
  • Capital Children's Museum (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Columbus Memorial Fountain (0.8 mi/1.4 km)
  • Washington Convention Center (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum (1.2 mi/1.8 km)
  • National Museum of American Art (1.2 mi/1.8 km)
  • Library of Congress (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Smithsonian National Museum of Natural History (2.2 mi/3.5 km)
  • The White House (2.7 mi/4.4 km)
  • National Mall (3.7 mi/6.1 km)
  • Historic Georgetown (3.9 mi/6.3 km)

Hotel Map

38.9074 -77.0036
Area served
Washington
Nearby airports
Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport, (DCA), 6.60, MI, SW; Washington Dulles International Airport, (IAD), 29.00, MI, W; Baltimore/Washington International Thurgood Marshall Airport, (BWI), 30.00, MI, N;
Area description
City Center, Location Type: City

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Courtyard by Marriott Washington, DC/U.S. Capitol also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Tennis
Horseback riding
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Wet bar

Nearby points of interest

  • Capital Children's Museum: 0.5 mi
  • National Postal Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Union Station: 0.7 mi
  • Columbus Memorial Fountain: 0.8 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.9 mi
  • National Building Museum: 1 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 1.1 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.1 mi
  • Verizon Center: 1.1 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 1.1 mi
  • United States Supreme Court: 1.2 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 1.2 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 1.2 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 1.2 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 1.2 mi
  • Capital Children's Museum: 0.5 mi
  • National Postal Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Union Station: 0.7 mi
  • Columbus Memorial Fountain: 0.8 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.9 mi
  • National Building Museum: 1 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 1.1 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.1 mi
  • Verizon Center: 1.1 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 1.1 mi
  • United States Supreme Court: 1.2 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 1.2 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 1.2 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 1.2 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 1.2 mi
  • Peace Monument: 1.3 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 1.3 mi
  • United States Capitol: 1.3 mi
  • Howard University: 1.3 mi
  • Newseum: 1.3 mi
  • Library of Congress: 1.4 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1.4 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 1.4 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 1.4 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 1.4 mi
  • United States Botanic Garden: 1.4 mi
  • National Archives: 1.5 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 1.5 mi
  • National Museum of the American Indian: 1.5 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 1.5 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 1.5 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 1.5 mi
  • National Mall: 1.6 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 1.6 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 1.6 mi
  • National Air and Space Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum: 1.6 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 1.6 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 1.6 mi
  • National Theatre: 1.6 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 1.7 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 1.7 mi
  • Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden: 1.7 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 1.7 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 1.7 mi

Dining

The Bistro – Eat. Drink. Connect.®
Your food and beverage destination for refreshing breakfast choices in the morning, and a variety of dinner and cocktail options in the evening. The Bistro also offers specialty beverages made with Starbucks® coffee to help you get a jump on the day.
Au Bon Pain
Located on the 1st floor of the hotel. A European-style sandwich cafe also serving coffee drinks and pastries.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (77)

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard by Marriott Washington, DC/U.S. Capitol

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
6 out of 77
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Washington, DC/U.S. Capitol

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ryan X
Business
Richmond, VA
Aug 3, 2014

Good Value with a Great Staff

The big plus of this hotel is it's a couple miles from the heart of the city while being extremely close to the Metro Bus stop and Rail station. This makes it extremely convenient for anyone who wants to avoid some of the heavy city traffic (and prices) while still having access to all DC has to offer. When I arrived, I had an issue with my PS3 where the TV was not able to produce a video signal while hooked up with my HDMI cable. I called the front desk and shortly after, someone from Maintenance was up to assist. While his knowledge was limited, he did his absolute best to try and resolve the problem - we tried with another TV in another room, he brought a different set of cables, and he came back a third time with another HDMI cable to see if mine was the issue. In the end, we weren't able to resolve and I'm guessing it had something to do with the model of the TV, but I was impressed with the lengths he was willing to go to help me out. A+ customer service. The rest of the staff I bumped into were extremely friendly as well. The $33/night valet parking is a bummer, but somewhat expected in a city. I noticed a lot of people complaining about the noise of the metro and this worried me, but I didn't hear anything and our room was facing the tracks. Overall a clean, convenient place to stay in the city with a great staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I highly recommend doing a bit of exploring if you're looking for something to eat - Five Guys and the other restaurants across the street are convenient, but there are some real hidden gems if you're willing to walk a short distance (A Litteri, DCity Smokehouse).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Washington, DC/U.S. Capitol

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Liah
Business
Delaware
Aug 6, 2012

Satisfied

It's was nice the room was clean couch was a Lil uncomfortable and it wasn't very spacious

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Washington, DC/U.S. Capitol

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Loved D.C.
Business
Miami, Florida
Jul 17, 2012

Great stay in D.C.

This hotel was a great find. Located next to the metro, clean, comfortable, and definately would come back and stay here again if I was in D.C. The pool is not the biggest, but the hotel overall was a great place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Washington, DC/U.S. Capitol

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TJOY
Business
Houston, TX, USA
Oct 24, 2011

Wonderful girls trip

The staff was very helpful as far as giving directions and knowing the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Washington, DC/U.S. Capitol

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Liberty, NC
Jul 11, 2011

A Good Get Away!

I/we really enjoyed our stay, The location to the Metro was awesome. I thoroughly enjoyed the comforts of my safety. I did not appreciate finding out that I had to pay $30.00 a day for parking. This was never stated in promos. I requested for a specific size room and that was not upheld. I spoke with the management, but I all I got was 2 complimentary breakfast passes. I am not angry at all. I loved the hotel, but you asked and I did not appreciate the parking situation at all. The staff was awesome and service was as well.[...]Cecil Mock

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Washington, DC/U.S. Capitol

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NYC
Dec 7, 2009

Great Location with easy access!!

New hotel, staff were accomadating and very helpful. Clean rooms and nice gym. Great location next to train (red Line) with easy access to downtown DC. Au bon pain and other eatries in area with Starbucks in lobby. Would definetly reccommend to friends and anyone going to DC!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Going to Kennedy Center - take Metro (green or Yellow line) to GWU station and then free shuttle to Kennedy Center!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top