$127 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 25, 2015 Check-out: Jul 26, 2015

Courtyard by Marriott Washington, DC/U.S. Capitol

3 stars
View map of 1325, 2nd Street NE, Washington, DC 20002

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
93 reviews
Washington, District of Columbia

This hotel was very nice. The rooms were spotless and comfortable. The staff was very professional... See full review

  • BG2.729
  • Jan 15, 2015
Friends birthday trip

The hotel room was very nice. It was better than I expected for the price I paid. I was in the area... See full review

  • Dana Z.
  • Dec 30, 2014

The Courtyard by Marriott Washington DC/US Capitol offers business and leisure guests a modern, convenient stay in the Washington, D.C.'s city center. The lobby features comfortable, modern spaces to work in, as well as free Wi-Fi, and a GoBoard which airs the latest news, weather and airport conditions. Leisure facilities at this 3-star hotel include a fitness center and indoor pool. The Courtyard by Marriott Washington DC/US Capitol Bistro offers on-site dining, with morning and evening meals as well as cocktails. Guests staying here are in easy reach of the city's major points of interest, such as the Washington Convention Center and Smithsonian American Art Museum.

Rooms

Each room offers amenities including coffee and tea service, mini-fridge, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, sizable work desk and in-room entertainment. All rooms at Courtyard by Marriott Washington DC/US Capitol are non-smoking. Room service and high-speed Internet access are available.

Highlights
  • Close to the White House, US Capitol and National Mall, as well as public transit options
  • Onsite bistro, indoor swimming pool and fitness center
  • 24-hour business center with boarding pass printing facilities
Nearby attractions
  • Capital Children's Museum (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Columbus Memorial Fountain (0.8 mi/1.4 km)
  • Washington Convention Center (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum (1.2 mi/1.8 km)
  • National Museum of American Art (1.2 mi/1.8 km)
  • Library of Congress (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Smithsonian National Museum of Natural History (2.2 mi/3.5 km)
  • The White House (2.7 mi/4.4 km)
  • National Mall (3.7 mi/6.1 km)
  • Historic Georgetown (3.9 mi/6.3 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Courtyard by Marriott Washington, DC/U.S. Capitol also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Tennis
Horseback riding
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Wet bar

Nearby points of interest

  • Capital Children's Museum: 0.5 mi
  • National Postal Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Union Station: 0.7 mi
  • Columbus Memorial Fountain: 0.8 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.9 mi
  • National Building Museum: 1 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 1.1 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.1 mi
  • Verizon Center: 1.1 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 1.1 mi
  • United States Supreme Court: 1.2 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 1.2 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 1.2 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 1.2 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 1.2 mi
  • Capital Children's Museum: 0.5 mi
  • National Postal Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Union Station: 0.7 mi
  • Columbus Memorial Fountain: 0.8 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.9 mi
  • National Building Museum: 1 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 1.1 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.1 mi
  • Verizon Center: 1.1 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 1.1 mi
  • United States Supreme Court: 1.2 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 1.2 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 1.2 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 1.2 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 1.2 mi
  • Peace Monument: 1.3 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 1.3 mi
  • United States Capitol: 1.3 mi
  • Howard University: 1.3 mi
  • Newseum: 1.3 mi
  • Library of Congress: 1.4 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1.4 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 1.4 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 1.4 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 1.4 mi
  • United States Botanic Garden: 1.4 mi
  • National Archives: 1.5 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 1.5 mi
  • National Museum of the American Indian: 1.5 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 1.5 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 1.5 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 1.5 mi
  • National Mall: 1.6 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 1.6 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 1.6 mi
  • National Air and Space Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum: 1.6 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 1.6 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 1.6 mi
  • National Theatre: 1.6 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 1.7 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 1.7 mi
  • Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden: 1.7 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 1.7 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 1.7 mi

Dining

The Bistro – Eat. Drink. Connect.®
Your food and beverage destination for refreshing breakfast choices in the morning, and a variety of dinner and cocktail options in the evening. The Bistro also offers specialty beverages made with Starbucks® coffee to help you get a jump on the day.
Au Bon Pain
Located on the 1st floor of the hotel. A European-style sandwich cafe also serving coffee drinks and pastries.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard by Marriott Washington, DC/U.S. Capitol

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
38 out of 93
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.4

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Washington, DC/U.S. Capitol

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nancy M.
Business
N/A
Jan 23, 2015

Pleasent Conference Trip

The room was much smaller than I though but was able to fit 4 people in the 1 king bed and sofa pullout, comfortably. The wall outlets did not work but there were plenty outlets on the lamps. The staff were also very polite and pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Washington, DC/U.S. Capitol

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
vidal v.
Business
N/A
Dec 29, 2014

Great trip

Great hotel would recommend to anyone. Everyone from staff were friendly and would offer any assistance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

A short walk to Metro train

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Washington, DC/U.S. Capitol

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
vidal v.
Business
N/A
Dec 16, 2014

Great trip

Great hotel would recommend to anyone. Everyone from staff were friendly and would offer any assistance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Washington, DC/U.S. Capitol

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
toolfan
Business
Tennessee
Aug 12, 2014

Business/Pleasure Trip

Pulling in at 2 am wasn't how we planned, but the staff there couldn't have been more welcoming. They made sure we were able to get in our room to rest as quickly as possible. The next morning, we woke up and had breakfast in the cafe. It was really tasty. We walked about 5 miles or so that afternoon and the location of the hotel to the Metro was perfect. After a day full of walking, you don't want to have to walk more to get to your room. We will definitely book this hotel on our next trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Washington, DC/U.S. Capitol

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vanessalovesowls
Business
New Hampshire
Aug 11, 2014

Excellent Staff, Lovely rooms, Perfect Location, but Non-working Wifi and Parking Prices are Steep

I have absolutely no complaints about the staff or the hotel itself. The rooms and staff are excellent. However, our room was on a corner of the building, which is why I think our wifi signal was so weak. I was unable to use the internet at the hotel until the night before we left (we'd complained about this twice and the staff were really trying to work on the issue). We got a great deal for our room. However, $33 a day for parking pretty much turned our great deal into an average price for the stay. Overall we were very pleased with our stay and were happy to find a hotel in D.C. that was right next to the Metro!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There are several quick eating and cheap places surrounding this hotel, such as Five Guys and Au Bon Pain.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Washington, DC/U.S. Capitol

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PeteyMac
Business
London, UK
Jul 12, 2014

Excellent stay!

Pleasantly surprised by our stay here! Its a bit out of town so we expected it to be a bit of a pain to get around but theres a metro station literally next door making it easy to get into the centre of town and to main shopping districts. Staff were pleasant and eager to help with any queries. We used the valet service who were all excellent although $33 a night adds a bit to the cost of the room. Dinner wise theres a Five Guys across the road which is highly recommended for a quick burger. We had breakfast in the hotel the first morning and were disappointed. It was overpriced and not to the standard we expected - given it was fairly empty suggests it wasn't a one off. Overall the stay was brilliant - staff were great - a 7-11, five guys and metro all next door made were major pluses. We will likely stay here again in future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Five Guys across the road - its like an upmarket Burger King where they really do cook the burgers to order and you really can have it any way you want with all the free optional extras they include. Major plus is the bottles of malt vinegar for the salty chips to get a proper taste of 'home' away from home.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Washington, DC/U.S. Capitol

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
43 Caps Fan
Business
Richmond, VA
Jan 12, 2014

Location, location, location!!

Stated here on a weekend trip to see the caps play at the Verizon center. Location was Fabulous! The hotel is just a very short walk from the NOMA Galludet station, a blessing since it was cold and raining during our visit. Thanks to its close proximity to the metro all of DC was easily accessible. The hotel itself was lovely, clean, and quiet. The staff was very friendly and helpful. In addition to the bar, restaraunt, cafe in the hotel. There were also several quick places to eat in close proximity. We will definitely be returning!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Washington, DC/U.S. Capitol

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sue and AndyK
Business
Maryland
Jul 1, 2013

NOMA Courtyard

Very pleasant surprise. Fairly new hote. Very convenient to where our son lives and the Metro. Eating available nearby. Room and facilities were extremely nice. Optional included breakfast was a very pleasant surprise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Washington, DC/U.S. Capitol

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Spincat
Business
Hunterdon County, NJ
Apr 9, 2013

Good weekend getaway

We were there for the Cherry Blossom Festival and the Smithsonian Museums. Just far enough away from the crowds, yet very convenient with Metro right outside the door. Hotel staff was extremely courteous and helpful. Johhny's Half Shell Restaurant near Union Square was so good we ate there 2 nights in a row.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Washington, DC/U.S. Capitol

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tynece Jones
Business
Washington DC
Dec 2, 2012

Simple Getaway

The hotel staff was very plesant. Very good location. Love the rooms!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Chinatown!!!!

Back to menu Return to top