$135 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 4, 2014 Check-out: Oct 5, 2014

Courtyard by Marriott Washington, DC/U.S. Capitol

3 stars
1325, 2nd Street NE, Washington, DC 20002
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
77 reviews
Business/Pleasure Trip

Pulling in at 2 am wasn't how we planned, but the staff there couldn't have been more welcoming.... See full review

  • toolfan
  • Aug 12, 2014
Great location

Right next to T station, supper convinent and add breakfast to our room, 10 dollars for 3 of us!... See full review

  • Linda Marybeth
  • May 26, 2014
Modern stay in central D.C. with a pool, business amenities and more

The Courtyard by Marriott Washington DC/US Capitol offers business and leisure guests a modern, convenient stay in the Washington, D.C.'s city center. The lobby features comfortable, modern spaces to work in, as well as free Wi-Fi, and a GoBoard which airs the latest news, weather and airport conditions. Leisure facilities at this 3-star hotel include a fitness center and indoor pool. The Courtyard by Marriott Washington DC/US Capitol Bistro offers on-site dining, with morning and evening meals as well as cocktails. Guests staying here are in easy reach of the city's major points of interest, such as the Washington Convention Center and Smithsonian American Art Museum.

Reasons to stay
  • Close to the White House, US Capitol and National Mall, as well as public transit options
  • Onsite bistro, indoor swimming pool and fitness center
  • 24-hour business center with boarding pass printing facilities
Courtyard by Marriott Washington DC/US Capitol rooms

Each room offers amenities including coffee and tea service, mini-fridge, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, sizable work desk and in-room entertainment. All rooms at Courtyard by Marriott Washington DC/US Capitol are non-smoking. Room service and high-speed Internet access are available.

Things to do nearby
  • Capital Children's Museum (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Columbus Memorial Fountain (0.8 mi/1.4 km)
  • Washington Convention Center (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum (1.2 mi/1.8 km)
  • National Museum of American Art (1.2 mi/1.8 km)
  • Library of Congress (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Smithsonian National Museum of Natural History (2.2 mi/3.5 km)
  • The White House (2.7 mi/4.4 km)
  • National Mall (3.7 mi/6.1 km)
  • Historic Georgetown (3.9 mi/6.3 km)

Hotel Map

38.9074 -77.0036
Area served
Washington
Nearby airports
Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport, (DCA), 6.60, MI, SW; Washington Dulles International Airport, (IAD), 29.00, MI, W; Baltimore/Washington International Thurgood Marshall Airport, (BWI), 30.00, MI, N;
Area description
City Center, Location Type: City

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Courtyard by Marriott Washington, DC/U.S. Capitol also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Tennis
Horseback riding
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Wet bar

Nearby points of interest

  • Capital Children's Museum: 0.5 mi
  • National Postal Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Union Station: 0.7 mi
  • Columbus Memorial Fountain: 0.8 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.9 mi
  • National Building Museum: 1 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 1.1 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.1 mi
  • Verizon Center: 1.1 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 1.1 mi
  • United States Supreme Court: 1.2 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 1.2 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 1.2 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 1.2 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 1.2 mi
  • Capital Children's Museum: 0.5 mi
  • National Postal Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Union Station: 0.7 mi
  • Columbus Memorial Fountain: 0.8 mi
  • Folger Shakespeare Library: 0.9 mi
  • National Building Museum: 1 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 1.1 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.1 mi
  • Verizon Center: 1.1 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 1.1 mi
  • United States Supreme Court: 1.2 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 1.2 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 1.2 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 1.2 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 1.2 mi
  • Peace Monument: 1.3 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 1.3 mi
  • United States Capitol: 1.3 mi
  • Howard University: 1.3 mi
  • Newseum: 1.3 mi
  • Library of Congress: 1.4 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1.4 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 1.4 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 1.4 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 1.4 mi
  • United States Botanic Garden: 1.4 mi
  • National Archives: 1.5 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 1.5 mi
  • National Museum of the American Indian: 1.5 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 1.5 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 1.5 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 1.5 mi
  • National Mall: 1.6 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 1.6 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 1.6 mi
  • National Air and Space Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum: 1.6 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 1.6 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 1.6 mi
  • National Theatre: 1.6 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 1.7 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 1.7 mi
  • Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden: 1.7 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 1.7 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 1.7 mi

Dining

The Bistro – Eat. Drink. Connect.®
Your food and beverage destination for refreshing breakfast choices in the morning, and a variety of dinner and cocktail options in the evening. The Bistro also offers specialty beverages made with Starbucks® coffee to help you get a jump on the day.
Au Bon Pain
Located on the 1st floor of the hotel. A European-style sandwich cafe also serving coffee drinks and pastries.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (77)

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard by Marriott Washington, DC/U.S. Capitol

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
77 out of 77
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.2

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Washington, DC/U.S. Capitol

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Andrea.M
Business
NJ
Mar 22, 2013

Not good at all

I have stayed at many Marriott hotels and I have to say this was by far the worst stay ever. First, they advertise that the room is soundproof, since the Metro is right outside the window of your room (if you get a room on the wrong side of the hallway). I got to my room and found that even though I was on the 5th floor and had paid close to $400 for the night I would be forced to listen to the train all night. I could even hear the voice announcing the arriving trains! These rooms are NOT sound proof and shame on you Marriott for advertising them as such. Next, was the hotel restaurant called the Bistro. I ordered a salad and a roast beef sandwich. The salad was fine but the sandwich had been baked for some reason and the bread was so hard that I literally could not bite into it! The roast beef was just as terrible. I was not able to eat any of it. It was old and dry and had changed colors on the edges that had been exposed to the air for god knows how long. There was also what use to be cheddar cheese that was now nothing more than a semi clear rock hard film that now covered the rock hard bread. Seriously I have gotten better food at local mom and pop diners. As others have said as well you really don't want to leave the hotel after dark on foot. The staff was pleasant and valet was quick and polite as well. Do yourself a favor and book somewhere else, DC has no shortage of hotels so shop around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Washington, DC/U.S. Capitol

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
new york
Jul 4, 2011

Good

My husband and I visited DC. I like the room, nice and clean. I book to room with stay in breakfast, however when I reached there I learn at the bistro that I can only have 1 hot item and 2 cold, anything else I will have to pay from my pocket. We thought that this was very misleading the people. I always booked hotel in past with Breakfast include, never had experience something like this. Actually it was kind of embarrassing, because we had to ask if we could have juice and they said that will be extra. They should clear. I show other guest having same issue.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Washington, DC/U.S. Capitol

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Pittsburgh, PA
Jul 18, 2011

average

The hotel was nice, but it wasn't what i expected. The pool was really small and only 3 foot and there was no hot tub. The room was nice but smaller than i thought, and it was in a bad part of Washington.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Chinatown, its only 5 mins away taking the Metro.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Washington, DC/U.S. Capitol

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Highway Woman
Central Massachusetts
May 14, 2013

Economical Trip to DC

I was a little intimidated by the neighborhood, and massive construction going on right outside my window, but the room itself was very well designed for comfort at an affordable price. My priority was value and close to the Metro, and this hotel had both. The staff was very courteous and helpful. I was able to get to see every attraction on my list with very little effort being so close to the metro. I would have liked more meal options during the day. The restaurant was only open at night 5-10.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Glad I brought food for during the day. Not much available before 5PM. The room had a mini fridge

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Washington, DC/U.S. Capitol

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Philadelphia, PA
May 31, 2011

Okay

Went to go site seeing and some night life. The hotel was clean and cozy. The area that it was in was not too appealing. There was a guy walking around with leather gloves on in 80 degree weather and some guests at the hotel that you would want to watch your back each time you enter and leave the hotel. Overall, the hotel served its purpose for one night away from home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Improv Comedy club was a nice outing. Went to the 10:30 show.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Washington, DC/U.S. Capitol

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
New CEO
Business
Denver, CO, USA
Dec 13, 2011

Clean & convenient

Next to Metro - quiet (especially for DC)...uber friendly staff...only complaint was SLOW internet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Washington, DC/U.S. Capitol

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dan from NY
New York, NY
Aug 10, 2011

Right on the metro

My girlfriend and I went for a long weekend to tour around the city. The hotel is a little far from the main attractions but it is right on the metro line which makes it easy to get to the places you'd like to go to. The hotel was pleasant; nice rooms, friendly staff. I got the vibe that the hotel wasn't in the nicest area, but we didn't spend too much time there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Washington, DC/U.S. Capitol

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TJOY
Houston, TX, USA
Oct 24, 2011

Wonderful girls trip

The staff was very helpful as far as giving directions and knowing the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Washington, DC/U.S. Capitol

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DC Love it
Knoxville, TN
May 2, 2013

Great location for the Metro

The room was nice, once we were changed to one that had air conditioning. These things happen, but very inconvenient and we were not offered any discount. The staff was very nice and helpful otherwise. Metro location was great. Hotel was hard to get to and check in. It is a one way street on the diagonal. So for out of towners it took several tries to find a good way to get in. GPS could not locate at all. There is a small area to pull up to check in so we had to circle a few times until it opened up. It would be a maybe for a redo.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Need to go to China Town. Very convenient and fun!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Washington, DC/U.S. Capitol

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
May 2, 2010

Very overrated

The hotel was located above the metro lightrail. No visitor parking. Room was very small. Staff was friendly. Neighborhoods both east and west of the hotel were rundown. I don't feel I received a good deal on my stay at the Marriott courtyard this weekend. Traffic in this area was awful. No restaurants to eat at and the hotel had a very lmited and overpriced eating facility.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search