$119 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 24, 2014 Check-out: Apr 27, 2014

Channel Inn

3 stars
650 Water St SW, Washington, DC 20024
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
75 reviews
Close to metra, national mall

Staff was friendly. Hotel was in an excellent area; close to metra. Hotel has view of river. See full review

  • Sarah MM
  • Apr 3, 2014
This Gem is Closing

Due to a waterfront renovation this venerable hotel on the DC waterfront is closing forever in 2... See full review

  • BarbieF
  • Apr 1, 2014
The Channel Inn- one of this country outstanding small hotels- will make your Washington visit one to remember. Located on the banks of the Potomac River- this three-story hotel is adjacent to a riverside promenade and is seven blocks from the National Mall. A fine dining restaurant offers seafood specialties for lunch and dinner. A casual coffee shop serves breakfast and a cocktail lounge features live entertainment most nights. Complimentary passes are provided to a nearby fitness center- a seasonal outdoor pool is on site and parking if free of charge. Whether you visit Washington D.C. for business or vacation- it is always a pleasure when staying at the Channel Inn. Ideally situated just minutes from the heart of Washington business and tourist attractions and just 2 miles from National Airport- the Channel Inn offers luxurious comfort and convenience at truly affordable prices. Nestled on the banks of the historic Potomac River- in the sight of our nation capitol- you will find the Channel Inn perfect for small off-site meetings...special conferences for up to 150...elegant receptions...or that special holiday for two. Were just minutes from the Smithsonian- National Monuments- Federal Agencies- L Enfant Metro Station- National Airport- Historical Virginia and Maryland. We are located at the corner of Maine Ave. 7th St. S.W. on Washington D.C. waterfront. WAS-Washington-0 mi N

Channel Inn Rooms

1 Bedroom Suite
1 bedroom suite- 1 king- 2 balconies- living room w sleeper sofa- Max Occ 4
Deluxe Double Double
Deluxe room- 2 double- desk- water view- cable TV- free HBO- voice mail- AC. Max Occ 4
Junior Suite
Junior suite- 1 king- facing water- 1 bath- sitting area with sleeper sofa. Max Occ 4
Standard 1 King
Standard room- 1 king- desk- private bath cable TV- free HBO- voice mail- AC. Max Occ 2
Standard 1 Queen
Standard room- 1 queen- desk- private bath cable TV- free HBO- voice mail- AC. Max Occ 2
Standard Double Double
Standard room- 2 doubles- desk- private bath cable TV- free HBO- voice mail- AC. Max Occ 4

Amenities

  • Free parking
Services
Express checkout
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Room
Television with cable
Telephone

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Channel Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

38.8776 -77.0228
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • Arena Stage: 0.1 mi
  • L'enfant Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • National Museum of African Art: 0.7 mi
  • Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden: 0.7 mi
  • Arts and Industries Building: 0.7 mi
  • Sackler Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • National Air and Space Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Bureau of Engraving and Printing: 0.8 mi
  • Arthur M Sackler Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Declaration of Independence Memorial: 0.8 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 0.8 mi
  • Thomas Jefferson Memorial: 0.8 mi
  • Ripley Center: 0.8 mi
  • Jefferson Memorial: 0.8 mi
  • Arena Stage: 0.1 mi
  • L'enfant Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • National Museum of African Art: 0.7 mi
  • Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden: 0.7 mi
  • Arts and Industries Building: 0.7 mi
  • Sackler Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • National Air and Space Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Bureau of Engraving and Printing: 0.8 mi
  • Arthur M Sackler Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Declaration of Independence Memorial: 0.8 mi
  • Enid A Haupt Garden: 0.8 mi
  • Thomas Jefferson Memorial: 0.8 mi
  • Ripley Center: 0.8 mi
  • Jefferson Memorial: 0.8 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 0.8 mi
  • National Mall: 0.8 mi
  • National Museum of the American Indian: 0.8 mi
  • Holocaust Memorial Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Nationals Park: 0.9 mi
  • United States Botanic Garden: 0.9 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 1 mi
  • National Gallery of Art: 1 mi
  • Tidal Basin: 1 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 1 mi
  • Washington Monument: 1 mi
  • United States Capitol: 1 mi
  • National Archives: 1.1 mi
  • Peace Monument: 1.1 mi
  • Newseum: 1.1 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 1.2 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 1.2 mi
  • Franklin D Roosevelt Memorial: 1.2 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 1.2 mi
  • Library of Congress: 1.2 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 1.2 mi
  • National World War II Memorial: 1.3 mi
  • National Aquarium: 1.3 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 1.3 mi
  • District of Columbia War Memorial: 1.3 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 1.3 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • United States Supreme Court: 1.3 mi

Dining

Pier 7 Restaurant
On the lobby level. River views. Fine dining. Seafood specialities. Daily lunch and dinner.
Coffee Shop
On the lobby level. Casual dining. Daily breakfast.
Engine Room Lounge
Adjacent to the lobby. Full bar. Live entertainment Wednesdays through Sundays. Open from late morning until late evening.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (75)

Ratings and reviews for Channel Inn

Overall score

3.7 / 5
7 out of 75
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.7

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Channel Inn

Reviewer score

1
Female Tourist from Iowa
Des Moines, Iowa
Oct 8, 2013

DC vacation

We knew we were not paying for a three star but this was worse than we ever thought. The pool is not on site you have to walk a couple blocks. When we checked in the room didn't have any towels, soap, etc in it. This was after 3. After finding out the pool wasn't on site we checked out right away. The manager at the desk was very rude. We paid for one night and didn't even stay there. Don't consider this one at all. Do other travelers a favor please remove it from a selection.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Channel Inn

Reviewer score

3
Allabouttheadventure
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Mar 27, 2012

You get what you pay for

Depending on what you are looking for, this hotel would either be terrible or satisfactory. All in all I was satisfied with my stay at the Channel Inn. I'm sure this was a fantastic place back in the day, but I think that day was probably awhile ago. It was definately outdated and was nothing fancy, but it was clean and quiet and for the price it served the purpose well. It was easily half the price of the other places we looked at. It is a very easy walk to the Mall, Tidal Basin and metro station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Channel Inn

Reviewer score

3
Always Travel
Washington, D.C.
Jan 26, 2013

Acceptable Hotel

I booked this hotel because of its location. The hotel is near Ronald Reagan National Airport and it is close enough to the metro station. As for the rooms themselves: they need work. The meals at the restaurant, both for breakfast and lunch, were very antiquated. The hotel seems to be in a time warp. I'm glad I stayed at the Channel Inn considering that all of the hotels were booked for the inauguration, but I would be reluctant to stay at the hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Channel Inn

Reviewer score

4
Lets Go Yankees
Valhalla, NY
Jun 18, 2012

Nice hotel stay

The price of this hotel cant be beaten. By no means is this an upscale place, but it was clean and very accommodating, Would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of Channel Inn

Reviewer score

5
Eddie Robles
Coral Gables, Florida
Jul 31, 2012

traveling with friends

great experience, conveniently located, great restaurant with incredible food at great price, we are looking forward to stay again in this hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Channel Inn

Reviewer score

5
BarbaraB393
Lindenhurst NY
Nov 17, 2012

Old friends reunion

Although there were many negative reviews on this hotel, we decided to try it. Josef who worked at the lobby desk was extremely helpful and went out of his way for any needs we had. He is a great credit to this hotel! We were very pleased with the Channel Hotel. All the people that listed the as negative must have problems, because we found it to be very clean, very nice attentive staff and the restaurant was serving very good food at competitive prices. Would definitely revisit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Channel Inn

Reviewer score

5
Lydia Kejka
Slovakia
Apr 12, 2013

super stay

comfort, servis, helpful staff quiet large room assistance with transportation to the airport - shuttle bus

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

fish Market, seafood

Back to menu Return to top