Carlyle Suites Hotel

3 stars
1731 New Hampshire Ave., NW, Washington, DC 20009
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
200 reviews
Great and very convienent

I always stay at this hotel when on business in DC See full review

  • DC traveler man
  • Dec 2, 2014
night downtown

Good size room with kitchen and large seating area. Well situated and great brunch in the dining room. See full review

  • swhitaker
  • Nov 17, 2014
Contemporary renovated boutique hotel in the heart of Washington DC
 

Situated within walking distance of many Washington DC attractions, the Carlyle Suites Hotel is also close to DC's Metro Red Line, making navigating the city and surrounding areas very easy. Hotel rooms have modern features and each room is custom designed and decorated to the highest standard. The Carlyle Suites hotel is the ideal hotel for business travelers. A fitness center is also available on site.

3 Reasons To Stay:
 
  • Perfect location walkable to Washington DC attractions

  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access and in-room kitchens with microwaves and fridges

  • On-site fitness centre

Carlyle Suites Hotel Rooms
 

There is a choice of several guest rooms at the Carlyle Suites Hotel suitable for differing tastes and budgets. Guests can choose from two double beds or one king size bed and a sofa bed. Each room at the Carlyle Suites Hotel contains a full service kitchen complete with refrigerator and microwave for those who prefer to prepare their own snacks and drinks. Cable television and complimentary Wi-Fi is also available in each room. The Grande King room and Grande Guest room at the Carlyle Suites Hotel also offers a generous sized seating area for entertaining or relaxing. The 32-inch flat-screen televisions add to the luxury and in-room gourmet Keurig coffee helps to complete the package. Accessible rooms are available.

Things to Do:
 
  • St Matthew's Cathedral (0.6 mi/1 km)

  • National Geographic Museum (0.7 mi/1.2 km)

  • The White House (1 mi/1.6 km)

  • Washington Convention Center (1.1 mi/1.7 km)

  • George Washington University (1.2 mi/1.9 km)

  • Madame Tussauds Washington DC (1.3 mi/2.1 km)

  • Old Town Trolley Tours of Washington DC (1.4 mi/2.2 km)

Policies and fees
  • Please note special promotional and packages rates may require full pre-payment and may be non-refundable
  • Pets are welcome, free of charge, with the exception of bully breeds


 

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Carlyle Suites Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Carlyle Suites Hotel Rooms

Grande Double Double Guest Room
Grande Guest Room featuring 2 premium Tempur-Pedic Double beds, some with comfortable sleeper sofabed, work desk, and full service kitchen complete with cook-top, microwave, refrigerator, cookware and flatware. Spacious seating areas and closets are great for families. Includes a new 32 inch HD flat screen TV by Samsung, premium cable including HBO and Showtime, in-room gourmet coffee by Keurig and complimentary WiFi internet.
Classic Guest Room
Classic Guest Room featuring 1 or 2 premium Tempur-Pedic double beds or a king bed with comfortable sleeper sofabed, desk, and full service kitchen complete with cook-top, microwave, refrigerator, cookware and flatware. Includes 32 inch HD flat screen TV, premium cable television, in-room gourmet coffee by Keurig and complimentary WiFi internet.
Grande King Guest Room
Grande King Guest Room featuring 1 premium Tempur-Pedic King size bed, comfortable sleeper sofabed, work desk, and full service kitchen complete with cook-top, microwave, refrigerator, cookware and flatware. Spacious seating areas and closets are great for families. Includes a new 32 inch HD flat screen TV by Samsung, premium cable including HBO and Showtime, in-room gourmet coffee by Keurig and complimentary WiFi internet.

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Phillips Collection: 0.4 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.6 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 0.6 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.7 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.7 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 0.7 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.9 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.9 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 1 mi
  • Blair House: 1 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 1 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 1.1 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.4 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.6 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 0.6 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.7 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.7 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 0.7 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.9 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.9 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 1 mi
  • Blair House: 1 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 1 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 1.1 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 1.1 mi
  • Howard University: 1.2 mi
  • Octagon House: 1.2 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 1.2 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.2 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 1.3 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 1.3 mi
  • National Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 1.3 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 1.3 mi
  • Presidents Park: 1.3 mi
  • Blues Alley: 1.3 mi
  • National Aquarium: 1.3 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 1.4 mi
  • Woodley Park: 1.4 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 1.4 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 1.4 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 1.4 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 1.4 mi
  • National Zoological Park: 1.4 mi
  • Department of State: 1.5 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 1.5 mi
  • Verizon Center: 1.5 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 1.5 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 1.5 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 1.5 mi
  • Naval Observatory: 1.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (200)

Ratings and reviews for Carlyle Suites Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
51 out of 200
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.3

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Couple R
Business
Amherst, MA
Apr 5, 2013

Not sure what happened

Not sure what happened to service in this hotel but the housekeeping staff at this hotel is unusually hard to deal with. They did not fill the coffee supplies unless asked to and did not even replenish the shampoos in the bathroom. The front desk staff was friendly but they did not offer to move us when the rooms near us filled with noisy high schoolers and we complained.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Andrea in Winston Salem
Business
Winston Salem, NC
Jul 8, 2012

Great Location, Good Hotel, Mess with Parking!!

We stayed at the Carlyle Suites Hotel for 4 nights during July 2012. Since we didn´t have any references we chose the hotel mainly because location and price, but I´m happy to say that it´s a very good hotel, with nice, clean, big bedrooms, warm staff and, in the case of our suite, usefull amenities such as microwave, fridge and electric stove top! You can tell that is an old hotel with good manteinance and some modern items. The only strong critique we have is regarding parking. Although as they promote, the parking in within the hotel perimeter, with limited spaces and FREE (something very rare in Washington DC) there´s no organization at all when it comes to priorities and available spaces. TThere is no waiting list or possible reserve. You almost have to "fight" with the other visitors for the available spot....if you are at the parking lot at the right time then the space is yours!....we believe they should work to change this.... However the overall experience was positive and we will highly recomend the Carlyle Suites Hotel!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dahmma
Business
New Orleans, La
Aug 21, 2012

Good room and location

The hotel is located a couple of blocks form Dupont Circle for easy access to the Metro and there are plenty of good restaurants withing walking distance. The hotel itself was very clean and the staff was friendly. Having a small kitchenette was nice for an extended stay though we didn't use it. Everything appeared in working order. The only thing I would warn against is the free parking that is in the listing. They have about 20 spots at the hotel and if you don't get one, you have to park on the street between 6p and 9a or find a meter/parking garage for the day. The parking is first come, first serve and the best advice I was given was to go and check the lot occasionally and hope someone is leaving/has left. As this was one of the main reasons we booked - free parking in DC - we were not pleased. the hotel did apologize and after we checked in had a bottle of wine and other niceties waiting for us in our room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
WDown
Business
Houston, TX
Sep 6, 2012

Nice Hotel on Embassy Row

Nice Art Deco style hotel off Embassy Row in Dupont Circle. Location is a bit farther from the Dupont Circle fountain or Metro stop that was alluded too. Had a kitchenette in the room, but didn't use. Air Conditioning kept room quite cold. Water pressure in the shower was non-existant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
kms55
Business
Massachusetts
Sep 17, 2012

Very friendly staff, average accommodations

The Carlyle Suites was a decent stay in a decent room at a decent (for Washington, DC) price. To be fair, the Carlyle Suites isn't the kind of hotel I usually enjoy, so others may find it better than I did. There were positive aspects - a great location in Dupont Circle, and the friendliest staff that I've experienced in a hotel in a long time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
weluv2travel
Business
SF, California
Mar 21, 2013

Great location near Dupont Circle

Large rooms with free WiFi. Kitchenete with small fridge and cooktop. Unfortunately no fan/hood over cooktop, so food odors from adjacent rooms can be unpleasant. Art deco style of room furnishings was interesting but really could use new carpet (well used & dingy). Location, location, location - near Dupont Circle, Metro, Embassy Row, restaurants, shops, and Safeway was best part of our stay Overall an OK place to stay - unless you want something with modern luxuries.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great restaurant - "Daily Grill" - 1200 18th Street - great tasting food - went for dinner & so good we went back for lunch the next day - exceptional desserts.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sebas27
Business
miami, florida
Dec 11, 2013

good for business trip and couples vacation

the staff are very friendly and helpfull and the hotel very well located - safe place and many restaurants near by.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Old Dewd
Business
South Carolina
Jan 27, 2014

Hotel was okay

My main problem with this hotel was the bed; I believe it had a "Tempur-pedic" mattress that my wife could not stand; she slept on the fold out sofa which was a bit better, but not much. I tried to sleep on the bed, but it was too hard for my taste. I understand a hotel is doing business, but $14.95 per person for a breakfast buffet was a lot for my wallet. We did use it twice, and it was good, but too expensive for every day. One morning I went to the breakfast room and asked for 2 cups of coffee to go and was charged almost $5.00 for that; I only did that once (went to the deli around the corner after that). I will say that we thought the location was great; walking distance to a lot of things; we walked to the museums on The Mall, even though it is quite a hike. Overall, this hotel was average, but the staff was very good and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

If you like to walk, the D.C. museums are within walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Azusa, CA
May 24, 2011

okay. not great, not the worst.

The room has good amenities (i.e. krups coffee maker, refrigerator, stove, free wireless, etc.) However the carpet was old and stained. the room is outdated. Some of the towels and pillows were a bit dirty or stained. The bed was comfortable though with the foam mattress. Overall the room uses the space as best as possible and has nice a tv. But be warned, you can hear all the noise from the hallway and the other rooms. For the price, I was expecting something nicer. Next time I will look around for something more modern.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is walking distance to many restaurants, shops, cafes, and bars. Good, safe location. Never needed a car. But I did walk a bit to get to the national mall (20-30 minutes-brisk walk).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
stive
Business
Brooklyn, NY, USA
Aug 28, 2011

good service

Hotel located at good neighborhood . Service its very pleasant . Very close to subway about 10 min waking distance or you if you in the mood to walk it will take you about 1/2 hour to get to White House . i would defiantly stay at this hotel for my next trip to Washington

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top