$257 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 2, 2015 Check-out: Apr 4, 2015

Carlyle Suites Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1731 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington, DC 20009

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Carlyle Suites Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
211 out of 211
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kikoface
Business
Madison, WI
Jul 21, 2012

Family DC Trip

Staff was superb. They made sure we enjoyed our stay and helped us understand the metro system. Room was very spacious with kitchenette, which is great for families and groceries. Location was wonderful and very close to Dupont Circle for any restaurant, pharmacy, metro stop you needed. Negative point is LACK OF PARKING! They say they have 24 spots with first come-first serve basis. I don't know where they could be since buildings are so close and street spots fill up right away. Plan on paying $25 a day for parking ramp located two blocks away. But we had a Silverado truck and the attendant wouldn't let my husband park it...attendant scratched one of the mirrors and told my husband he hoped he wasn't coming back with the truck again because he didn't want it there. For being so close to all the other buildings and right on busy street leading into Dupont Circle, though, we were never bothered by any noise and beds were very comfortable. We would stay again when in DC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't bother with the buses...ride the train. It is so quick. Our 14-year old mastered it and I loved how it eliminated the hassles with no traffic delays. We came to DC and parked and never drove again until we left the city. Buy a SuperSaver Card which comes with $5 on it. We added another $10 to each of our cards and after three days we had only .05 left on each when we were done. You save money with each trip using that card vs. a paper ticket.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Summer in DC
Business
DC
Jul 27, 2012

Stay @ DC

Hotel was good, at central location. We liked it! Hotel staff was good and knowledgeable

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

good hotels around the area...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Midwest Emtpynester
Business
Midwest, USA
Jul 30, 2012

Very Nice Art Deco hotel, close to downtown DC

This was our first visit to DC and the Carlyle was a perfect location from which to schedule our day trips. The Carlyle is not close to a Metro station, but with my husband's health issues we would have taken a taxi to all our destinations anyway. We had wonderfully attentive staff and appreciated their greeting of "Welcome Home" when we came back to the hotel for the evening. The buffet breakfast was super and a daily newspaper was available to keep up with the news. We loved the suite. It was tastefully decorated. Had a big screen TV for my husband, and the bathroom shower was heaven for me after a busy day sightseeing! I would recommend this hotel to anyone. We were not disappointed. The ONLY drawback is a lack of parking for hotel patrons. When they say "limited availability" they aren't kidding.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Get to the Carlyle first thing to claim your parking spot. If you don't find a space in back of the hotel, you are going to struggle to find a parking space in this area and may have to walk for a long distance back to hotel, once you do find a space to park.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DC Conference Attendee
Business
New York, NY
Jul 30, 2012

Great value, great location

Fantastic, helpful staff. Clean and very comfortable rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
former austin chica
Business
houston
Jul 27, 2012

dc exploration

The hotel was very nice and in a great location,not too far from the subway but in a nice residential area but there are still several restaurants in the area. The room was a bit smaller than expected but ok for 1 person. Having the kitchenette was a great plus. Bring those walking shoes!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wine Lovers
Business
San Jose, California
Jun 18, 2012

Loved this place

The Carlyle is an "oldie but goodie" Suites hotel. The rooms are large, with sitting area and wide screen TV, the kitchen has a Keurig Coffeemaker, a microwave, stovetop and refrigerator along with a basic set of cups, glasses pots and pans. The breakfast was reasonably priced and omelets cooked to order. The Front Desk staff was very friendly and helpful. The only downside (and an important one to me) was that there was not fitness center in the hotel. I am not sure how many rooms they have but they could easily convert one to a fitness room. A gym pass is offered, but it is some distance away. So, all in all, I would definitely stay there again, and hope that a fitness room is added as that would make it even better!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Just around the corner from the hotel are several restaurants, a 7-11, and even a hardware store.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chooli mom
Business
Cortez, CO
Aug 7, 2012

Great home base for DC exploration

We stayed 2 nights at the Carlyle and found it to be the perfect spot for exploring DC. The metro was about an 8 minute walk (19th street exit closed for work) and it was great walking by various Embassies with the kids along the way. The kitchenette was small but functional (would be tough to cook much in but good for staging, warming and storage) We stored luggage due to early arrival and late departure which was very helpful. Had to pay for parking at the Hilton but next time will try to find free weekend street parking (hotel lot very small and full) Thanks; we hope to return

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Look for free street parking on weekend only

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
EMtV
Business
st louis mo
Aug 13, 2012

free parking is misleading

there is in fact a very small parking lot, that is in fact free, but it only accomodates maybe 20 cars! i had to find parkingon the street for the wekend that i stayed there

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Canandaigua Travelers
Business
Canandaigua, NY
Aug 16, 2012

A Winning Room in WAshington

We were thrilled with our experience at Washington, DC's Carlyle Suites. We were met by friendly and professional staff, both at the door and front desk. The reservation was accurate and check-in was swift. The necessity of swiping the room key to access all floors via the elevator gave an added level of security. Our suite was sparkling clean and the kitchenette was amply supplied with dishware and cookware. The bathroom, while small, was modern and well designed, and the beds and bedding were extremely comfortable. Even though free parking was advertised, the relatively few spaces behind the hotel were always full; however, it was not difficult to locate a convenient weekend space on the street. For the price, we were delighted with our stay at the Carlyle Suites and would certainly stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dorm Mother Howard Univ
Business
Atlanta, Georgia
Aug 19, 2012

cozy, vintage, environmentally green getaway

The hotel is just as it is described a luxurious boutique retreat for families or a romantic getaway. It is located in the middle of a very nice neighborhood and several world embrassies. The rooms are very clean and spacious. My room had a powder room, sitting area, and kitchenette which had fridge, microwave, stovetop and sink and all the amenities needed to prepare your own food. Located two block from grocery store and walking distance tometro and great shopping areas. But the restaurants in the hotel are very expensive. I loved the showers and the hotel has it own soap.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The Dupont area really comes to life after dark. It feels safe and its a great area to walk while sight seeing or have dinner at one of the many restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top