$161 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 26, 2014 Check-out: Aug 29, 2014

Carlyle Suites Hotel

3 stars
1731 New Hampshire Ave., NW, Washington, DC 20009
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
211 reviews
Awesome stay. Excellent Customer Service

Enjoyed an excellent stay, with customer service that went above and beyond my... See full review

  • Chizzy
  • May 31, 2014
great place to stay

First--the rooms are very large by DC standards--and the price is relatively low. An unbeatable... See full review

  • Narada
  • May 2, 2014
Contemporary renovated boutique hotel in the heart of Washington DC
 

Situated within walking distance of many Washington DC attractions, the Carlyle Suites Hotel is also close to DC's Metro Red Line, making navigating the city and surrounding areas very easy. Hotel rooms have modern features and each room is custom designed and decorated to the highest standard. The Carlyle Suites hotel is the ideal hotel for business travelers. A fitness center is also available on site.

3 Reasons To Stay:
 
  • Perfect location walkable to Washington DC attractions

  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access and in-room kitchens with microwaves and fridges

  • On-site fitness centre

Carlyle Suites Hotel Rooms
 

There is a choice of several guest rooms at the Carlyle Suites Hotel suitable for differing tastes and budgets. Guests can choose from two double beds or one king size bed and a sofa bed. Each room at the Carlyle Suites Hotel contains a full service kitchen complete with refrigerator and microwave for those who prefer to prepare their own snacks and drinks. Cable television and complimentary Wi-Fi is also available in each room. The Grande King room and Grande Guest room at the Carlyle Suites Hotel also offers a generous sized seating area for entertaining or relaxing. The 32-inch flat-screen televisions add to the luxury and in-room gourmet Keurig coffee helps to complete the package. Accessible rooms are available.

Things to Do:
 
  • St Matthew's Cathedral (0.6 mi/1 km)

  • National Geographic Museum (0.7 mi/1.2 km)

  • The White House (1 mi/1.6 km)

  • Washington Convention Center (1.1 mi/1.7 km)

  • George Washington University (1.2 mi/1.9 km)

  • Madame Tussauds Washington DC (1.3 mi/2.1 km)

  • Old Town Trolley Tours of Washington DC (1.4 mi/2.2 km)

Policies and fees
  • Please note special promotional and packages rates may require full pre-payment and may be non-refundable
  • Pets are welcome, free of charge, with the exception of bully breeds


 

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

38.9133 -77.0396
Area served
Dupont Circle, Georgetown, Adams Morgan, U Steet.
Nearby airports
Ronald Regan National Airport (DCA) Dulles International Airport (IAD) Baltimore Washington International Airport (BWI).
Area description
Located at 1731 New Hampshire Ave. NW in fashionable Dupont Circle, the Carlyle Suites Hotel is walking distance to the DC Metro (Red Line), the White House and downtown Georgetown. The Carlyle Suites Hotel is also walking distance to Dupont Circle's restaurants, cafe's and nightlife.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Carlyle Suites Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Carlyle Suites Hotel Rooms

Grande Double Double Guest Room
Grande Guest Room featuring 2 premium Tempur-Pedic Double beds, some with comfortable sleeper sofabed, work desk, and full service kitchen complete with cook-top, microwave, refrigerator, cookware and flatware. Spacious seating areas and closets are great for families. Includes a new 32 inch HD flat screen TV by Samsung, premium cable including HBO and Showtime, in-room gourmet coffee by Keurig and complimentary WiFi internet.
Classic Guest Room
Classic Guest Room featuring 1 or 2 premium Tempur-Pedic double beds or a king bed with comfortable sleeper sofabed, desk, and full service kitchen complete with cook-top, microwave, refrigerator, cookware and flatware. Includes 32 inch HD flat screen TV, premium cable television, in-room gourmet coffee by Keurig and complimentary WiFi internet.
Grande King Guest Room
Grande King Guest Room featuring 1 premium Tempur-Pedic King size bed, comfortable sleeper sofabed, work desk, and full service kitchen complete with cook-top, microwave, refrigerator, cookware and flatware. Spacious seating areas and closets are great for families. Includes a new 32 inch HD flat screen TV by Samsung, premium cable including HBO and Showtime, in-room gourmet coffee by Keurig and complimentary WiFi internet.

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Phillips Collection: 0.4 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.6 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 0.6 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.7 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.7 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 0.7 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.9 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.9 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 1 mi
  • Blair House: 1 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 1 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 1.1 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.4 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.6 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 0.6 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.7 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.7 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 0.7 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.9 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.9 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 1 mi
  • Blair House: 1 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 1 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 1.1 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 1.1 mi
  • Howard University: 1.2 mi
  • Octagon House: 1.2 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 1.2 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.2 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 1.3 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 1.3 mi
  • National Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 1.3 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 1.3 mi
  • Presidents Park: 1.3 mi
  • Blues Alley: 1.3 mi
  • National Aquarium: 1.3 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 1.4 mi
  • Woodley Park: 1.4 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 1.4 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 1.4 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 1.4 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 1.4 mi
  • National Zoological Park: 1.4 mi
  • Department of State: 1.5 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 1.5 mi
  • Verizon Center: 1.5 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 1.5 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 1.5 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 1.5 mi
  • Naval Observatory: 1.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (211)

Ratings and reviews for Carlyle Suites Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
211 out of 211
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jeff the rigger
New York New York
Dec 1, 2012

Family Holiday Visit

Friendly staff, Food that was Great, not just good for a hotel. Nice neighborhood. Dog park up the street. I found the place that I will always stay in when in DC. Pet was No extra charge. Parking No extra charge. Made you feel at home. Thank-you

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
EU flyer
Business
Eastern PA
Mar 1, 2009

Beware- reservations not honored

The Carlyle has good rates in a great location, but even prepaying for a suite didn't mean I was able to stay there. I went sent to the grubbier, smaller and noisier Savoy Suites on Wisconsin Ave, as were several of my colleagues. The staff at Carlyle was very unhelpful, and did not offer any refund, discount, or even apology. None of my colleagues will dare reserve a room there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Drexel Hill, PA
Dec 8, 2010

Glad it was a one night stay.

The hotel is in a great location. The hotel is very hip and modern and has taken allot of steps toward being green. Loved the Kurag coffee maker in the room. They offer free parking, however they only have about 12 spots, mostly for compact vehicles. If you don't get there early, your out of luck and street parking is very very limited. The bed, one word, AWEFUL. I think sleeping on the floor would have been more comfortable. Bathroom is small but makes great use of the space, however cleaning needs to do a better job, I found two hairs that were clearly not mine. [...] the hotel itself does not accept the Discover card so be ready to use another major credit card at check in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Nov 14, 2007

Things just don't work

The bartender was arguably the least communicative about prices and offerings than I've ever seen -- maybe a bad day. Then my non-smoking room started clouding up with cigar smoke from the vents as I got ready for bed around 9:30 p.m. The clerks at the front desk offered me another room, which meant I had to repack and move. Then the door key to the new room didn't work. When I finally got in, all TV channels were fuzzy. The key didn't work on my return from breakfast the next morning, either. I was glad that I was there for only one night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Nov 14, 2007

Things just don't work

The bartender was arguably the least communicative about prices and offerings than I've ever seen -- maybe a bad day. Then my non-smoking room started clouding up with cigar smoke from the vents as I got ready for bed around 9:30 p.m. The clerks at the front desk offered me another room, which meant I had to repack and move. Then the door key to the new room didn't work. When I finally got in, all TV channels were fuzzy. The key didn't work on my return from breakfast the next morning, either. I was glad that I was there for only one night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
EU flyer
Business
Eastern PA
Mar 1, 2009

Beware- reservations not honored

The Carlyle has good rates in a great location, but even prepaying for a suite didn't mean I was able to stay there. I went sent to the grubbier, smaller and noisier Savoy Suites on Wisconsin Ave, as were several of my colleagues. The staff at Carlyle was very unhelpful, and did not offer any refund, discount, or even apology. None of my colleagues will dare reserve a room there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Drexel Hill, PA
Dec 8, 2010

Glad it was a one night stay.

The hotel is in a great location. The hotel is very hip and modern and has taken allot of steps toward being green. Loved the Kurag coffee maker in the room. They offer free parking, however they only have about 12 spots, mostly for compact vehicles. If you don't get there early, your out of luck and street parking is very very limited. The bed, one word, AWEFUL. I think sleeping on the floor would have been more comfortable. Bathroom is small but makes great use of the space, however cleaning needs to do a better job, I found two hairs that were clearly not mine. [...] the hotel itself does not accept the Discover card so be ready to use another major credit card at check in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Couple R
Amherst, MA
Apr 5, 2013

Not sure what happened

Not sure what happened to service in this hotel but the housekeeping staff at this hotel is unusually hard to deal with. They did not fill the coffee supplies unless asked to and did not even replenish the shampoos in the bathroom. The front desk staff was friendly but they did not offer to move us when the rooms near us filled with noisy high schoolers and we complained.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
unimpressed overall
Business
Jackson, Mississippi
Jun 9, 2014

could have been better

The hotel is older, but recently rennovated. My room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. breakfast bar area with sink, fridge, microwave and keurig. Location: dupont circle - many choices to eat and good location. Cons: I ordered room service and asked for a pticher of water with lemons. I was told by the person delievering the meal to go down to the bar and ask for my lemons. Several instances of "little things" that made me feel uncomfortable with the staff's service overall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kortland
Los Angeles
Oct 12, 2013

Above Average - Pretty Good Value

Very good location. All staff very attentive. Big negative = no fitness on-site but has free coupon for local fitness gym. TV has cable but no movies for rent. HBO and Showtime only. The heating in our room didn't work. Very tiny clothes closet for our room of 4 people. I would go back because the price is good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Regent Thai restaurant on 18th Street. Very good.

Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Da Dadada
MASS
Jul 30, 2012

You get what you pay

Overall positive. Renovation was in place. Parking needs to be improved. People are very responsive. Kitchenette is small - no ventilation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top