Carlyle Suites Hotel

3 stars
1731 New Hampshire Ave., NW, Washington, DC 20009
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
202 reviews
Great and very convienent

I always stay at this hotel when on business in DC See full review

  • DC traveler man
  • Dec 2, 2014
night downtown

Good size room with kitchen and large seating area. Well situated and great brunch in the dining room. See full review

  • swhitaker
  • Nov 17, 2014
Contemporary renovated boutique hotel in the heart of Washington DC
 

Situated within walking distance of many Washington DC attractions, the Carlyle Suites Hotel is also close to DC's Metro Red Line, making navigating the city and surrounding areas very easy. Hotel rooms have modern features and each room is custom designed and decorated to the highest standard. The Carlyle Suites hotel is the ideal hotel for business travelers. A fitness center is also available on site.

3 Reasons To Stay:
 
  • Perfect location walkable to Washington DC attractions

  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access and in-room kitchens with microwaves and fridges

  • On-site fitness centre

Carlyle Suites Hotel Rooms
 

There is a choice of several guest rooms at the Carlyle Suites Hotel suitable for differing tastes and budgets. Guests can choose from two double beds or one king size bed and a sofa bed. Each room at the Carlyle Suites Hotel contains a full service kitchen complete with refrigerator and microwave for those who prefer to prepare their own snacks and drinks. Cable television and complimentary Wi-Fi is also available in each room. The Grande King room and Grande Guest room at the Carlyle Suites Hotel also offers a generous sized seating area for entertaining or relaxing. The 32-inch flat-screen televisions add to the luxury and in-room gourmet Keurig coffee helps to complete the package. Accessible rooms are available.

Things to Do:
 
  • St Matthew's Cathedral (0.6 mi/1 km)

  • National Geographic Museum (0.7 mi/1.2 km)

  • The White House (1 mi/1.6 km)

  • Washington Convention Center (1.1 mi/1.7 km)

  • George Washington University (1.2 mi/1.9 km)

  • Madame Tussauds Washington DC (1.3 mi/2.1 km)

  • Old Town Trolley Tours of Washington DC (1.4 mi/2.2 km)

Policies and fees
  • Please note special promotional and packages rates may require full pre-payment and may be non-refundable
  • Pets are welcome, free of charge, with the exception of bully breeds


 

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Carlyle Suites Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Carlyle Suites Hotel Rooms

Grande Double Double Guest Room
Grande Guest Room featuring 2 premium Tempur-Pedic Double beds, some with comfortable sleeper sofabed, work desk, and full service kitchen complete with cook-top, microwave, refrigerator, cookware and flatware. Spacious seating areas and closets are great for families. Includes a new 32 inch HD flat screen TV by Samsung, premium cable including HBO and Showtime, in-room gourmet coffee by Keurig and complimentary WiFi internet.
Classic Guest Room
Classic Guest Room featuring 1 or 2 premium Tempur-Pedic double beds or a king bed with comfortable sleeper sofabed, desk, and full service kitchen complete with cook-top, microwave, refrigerator, cookware and flatware. Includes 32 inch HD flat screen TV, premium cable television, in-room gourmet coffee by Keurig and complimentary WiFi internet.
Grande King Guest Room
Grande King Guest Room featuring 1 premium Tempur-Pedic King size bed, comfortable sleeper sofabed, work desk, and full service kitchen complete with cook-top, microwave, refrigerator, cookware and flatware. Spacious seating areas and closets are great for families. Includes a new 32 inch HD flat screen TV by Samsung, premium cable including HBO and Showtime, in-room gourmet coffee by Keurig and complimentary WiFi internet.

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Phillips Collection: 0.4 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.6 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 0.6 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.7 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.7 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 0.7 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.9 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.9 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 1 mi
  • Blair House: 1 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 1 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 1.1 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.4 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.6 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 0.6 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.7 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.7 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 0.7 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.9 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.9 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 1 mi
  • Blair House: 1 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 1 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 1.1 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 1.1 mi
  • Howard University: 1.2 mi
  • Octagon House: 1.2 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 1.2 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.2 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 1.3 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 1.3 mi
  • National Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 1.3 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 1.3 mi
  • Presidents Park: 1.3 mi
  • Blues Alley: 1.3 mi
  • National Aquarium: 1.3 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 1.4 mi
  • Woodley Park: 1.4 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 1.4 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 1.4 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 1.4 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 1.4 mi
  • National Zoological Park: 1.4 mi
  • Department of State: 1.5 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 1.5 mi
  • Verizon Center: 1.5 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 1.5 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 1.5 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 1.5 mi
  • Naval Observatory: 1.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (202)

Ratings and reviews for Carlyle Suites Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
202 out of 202
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
lizingrid
Ann Arbor, MI
Nov 14, 2012

Awesome

Great location near Dupont Circle (red line Metro station) @ New Hampshire between R & S Sts. Renovated, spacious Art Deco Suites. Reasonable rates and (free!) parking in rear despite post-election day Veteran's holiday. Unsure if air conditioning available in summer, but was unecessary @ the time. Would definitely return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bistro Du Coin, casual French Bistro with Alsatian food, 0.4 miles safe walk on S St. to 1728 Connecticut. Reservations suggested. Mussels a popular option. Connecticut also full of restaurants

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Drexel Hill, PA
Dec 8, 2010

Glad it was a one night stay.

The hotel is in a great location. The hotel is very hip and modern and has taken allot of steps toward being green. Loved the Kurag coffee maker in the room. They offer free parking, however they only have about 12 spots, mostly for compact vehicles. If you don't get there early, your out of luck and street parking is very very limited. The bed, one word, AWEFUL. I think sleeping on the floor would have been more comfortable. Bathroom is small but makes great use of the space, however cleaning needs to do a better job, I found two hairs that were clearly not mine. [...] the hotel itself does not accept the Discover card so be ready to use another major credit card at check in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Nov 14, 2007

Things just don't work

The bartender was arguably the least communicative about prices and offerings than I've ever seen -- maybe a bad day. Then my non-smoking room started clouding up with cigar smoke from the vents as I got ready for bed around 9:30 p.m. The clerks at the front desk offered me another room, which meant I had to repack and move. Then the door key to the new room didn't work. When I finally got in, all TV channels were fuzzy. The key didn't work on my return from breakfast the next morning, either. I was glad that I was there for only one night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
EU flyer
Business
Eastern PA
Mar 1, 2009

Beware- reservations not honored

The Carlyle has good rates in a great location, but even prepaying for a suite didn't mean I was able to stay there. I went sent to the grubbier, smaller and noisier Savoy Suites on Wisconsin Ave, as were several of my colleagues. The staff at Carlyle was very unhelpful, and did not offer any refund, discount, or even apology. None of my colleagues will dare reserve a room there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Travel tip from Liz
Business
Hoboken, NJ
Sep 29, 2014

Tired and worn...gloomy

Gloomy, common areas not clean. Not quite the art deco as advertised - just outdated and worn. Lack of attention to basic housekeeping details - i.e. door to room on inside was filled with dirty fingers/ hand print marks, near knob and chain...months/years worth. Room carpet - needed a good vacuum. Hard time opening door to room - swipe card worked but door was stuck...layers of old paint - had to shoulder slam door to push open. Sheets clean but severely wrinkled -looks like they remained in a ball after removal from dryer - never folded - not neat. Clock alarm went off - staff should check all clock alarms make sure they are off after guests depart. I was in DC on business - this hotel is NOT for business people. Bar/restaurant - pick up - hang out - not professional/business...Would never stay here with children. Staff at desk - somewhat disinterested.. Couldn't wait to check out... They won't see me again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Couple R
Business
Amherst, MA
Apr 5, 2013

Not sure what happened

Not sure what happened to service in this hotel but the housekeeping staff at this hotel is unusually hard to deal with. They did not fill the coffee supplies unless asked to and did not even replenish the shampoos in the bathroom. The front desk staff was friendly but they did not offer to move us when the rooms near us filled with noisy high schoolers and we complained.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
unimpressed overall
Business
Jackson, Mississippi
Jun 9, 2014

could have been better

The hotel is older, but recently rennovated. My room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. breakfast bar area with sink, fridge, microwave and keurig. Location: dupont circle - many choices to eat and good location. Cons: I ordered room service and asked for a pticher of water with lemons. I was told by the person delievering the meal to go down to the bar and ask for my lemons. Several instances of "little things" that made me feel uncomfortable with the staff's service overall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jenn S
Business
Nampa, ID
Nov 6, 2011

Good Location

We needed to be close to another hotel for an event and this one was a better value for what we needed. Walking distance to other hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MCJAKE
Business
North Arlington, NJ, USA
Apr 16, 2012

FAMILY WEEKEND

THE HOTEL WAS VERY CLEAN AND STAFF WAS HELPFUL. THE ONLY PROBLEM IS THEY SAID THERE WAS PARKING BUT THEIR YARD WAS VERY SMALL. PARKING WAS FIRST COME.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

METRO WAS ONLY A COUPLE OF BLOCKS AWAY.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Andrea in Winston Salem
Business
Winston Salem, NC
Jul 8, 2012

Great Location, Good Hotel, Mess with Parking!!

We stayed at the Carlyle Suites Hotel for 4 nights during July 2012. Since we didn´t have any references we chose the hotel mainly because location and price, but I´m happy to say that it´s a very good hotel, with nice, clean, big bedrooms, warm staff and, in the case of our suite, usefull amenities such as microwave, fridge and electric stove top! You can tell that is an old hotel with good manteinance and some modern items. The only strong critique we have is regarding parking. Although as they promote, the parking in within the hotel perimeter, with limited spaces and FREE (something very rare in Washington DC) there´s no organization at all when it comes to priorities and available spaces. TThere is no waiting list or possible reserve. You almost have to "fight" with the other visitors for the available spot....if you are at the parking lot at the right time then the space is yours!....we believe they should work to change this.... However the overall experience was positive and we will highly recomend the Carlyle Suites Hotel!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Da Dadada
Business
MASS
Jul 30, 2012

You get what you pay

Overall positive. Renovation was in place. Parking needs to be improved. People are very responsive. Kitchenette is small - no ventilation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top