$257 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 2, 2015 Check-out: Apr 4, 2015

Carlyle Suites Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1731 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington, DC 20009

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
211 reviews
Awesome Night Out in The City!!!

This was a great chic boutique hotel close to Dupoint Circle area of DC. The staff was friendly and... See full review

  • Travelnesta
  • Mar 15, 2015
Quick pleasant visit!!

The location was tremendous, right in the heart of DC. Nothing was far to get to and the staff was... See full review

  • Alison A.
  • Feb 20, 2015
Contemporary renovated boutique hotel in the heart of Washington DC
 

Situated within walking distance of many Washington DC attractions, the Carlyle Suites Hotel is also close to DC's Metro Red Line, making navigating the city and surrounding areas very easy. Hotel rooms have modern features and each room is custom designed and decorated to the highest standard. The Carlyle Suites hotel is the ideal hotel for business travelers.

3 Reasons To Stay:
  • Perfect location within walking distance to to Washington DC attractions
  • Free Wi-Fi access 
  • Pet-friendly
Carlyle Suites Hotel Rooms
 

There is a choice of several guest rooms at the Carlyle Suites Hotel suitable for differing tastes and budgets. Guests can choose from two double beds or one king size bed and a sofa bed. Cable television and complimentary Wi-Fi access is also available in each room. The Grande King room and Grande Guest room at the Carlyle Suites Hotel also offers a generous sized seating area for entertaining or relaxing. The 32-inch flat-screen televisions add to the luxury and in-room gourmet Keurig coffee helps to complete the package. Accessible rooms are available.

Things to Do:
  • St Matthew's Cathedral (0.6 mi/1 km)

  • National Geographic Museum (0.7 mi/1.2 km)

  • The White House (1 mi/1.6 km)

  • Washington Convention Center (1.1 mi/1.7 km)

  • George Washington University (1.2 mi/1.9 km)

  • Madame Tussauds Washington DC (1.3 mi/2.1 km)

  • Old Town Trolley Tours of Washington DC (1.4 mi/2.2 km)

Policies and fees
  • Please note special promotional and packages rates may require full pre-payment and may be non-refundable.
  • Pets are welcome, free of charge, with the exception of bully breeds.
  • NOTICE: The fitness center and restaurant will be closed until June 2015 as the property is currently undergoing a complete renovation. 


 

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Carlyle Suites Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Carlyle Suites Hotel Rooms

Classic Double
Classic Double w/Full Service Kitchen-FreeWIFI- Tempurpedic Bedding-HDTV-HBO-Showtime-360sqft
Classic King with Sleep Sofa
Classic King w Sleep Sofa - Full ServiceKitchen Tempurpedic Bedding-HDTV-HBO-Showtime-420 sqf
Classic Two Double Beds
Classic 2 Doubles w/FullServiceKitchen-Free WI FI-Tempurpedic Bedding-HDTV-HBO-Showtime-394 sq
Grande Two Double Beds with Slee
Grande 2 Doubles SleepSofa-Full ServiceKitchn Tempurpedic Bedding-HDTV-HBO-Showtime-470sqft
Grande King with Sleep Sofa
Grande King Sleep Sofa w/ Full Service Kitchen Tempurpedic Bedding-HDTV-HBO-Showtime-480sqft
Grande Two Double Beds
Grande 2 Doubles w/ Full Service Eat In Kitchen Tempurpedic Bed-HDTV-HBO/Show-Corner Rm-400sq
Grande Two Double Beds - Accessi
Grande 2 Doubles - ADA - w/Full Service Kitchen Tempurpedic Bedding-HDTV-HBO-Showtime-400sqft
Classic Two Double Beds - Access
Classic 2 Doubles-ADA w/Full Service Kitchen Tempurpedic Bedding-HDTV-HBO-Showtime-394sqft

Amenities

General
Air conditioned
Pet friendly
Elevators
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Activities
Fitness Center
Jacuzzi
Casino
Children's activities
Golf
Jogging track
Tennis
Boating
Fishing
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
Kitchen
Electronic door locks
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Phillips Collection: 0.4 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.6 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 0.6 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.7 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.7 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 0.7 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.9 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.9 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 1 mi
  • Blair House: 1 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 1 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 1.1 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.4 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.6 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 0.6 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.7 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.7 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 0.7 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.9 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.9 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 1 mi
  • Blair House: 1 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 1 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 1.1 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 1.1 mi
  • Howard University: 1.2 mi
  • Octagon House: 1.2 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 1.2 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.2 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 1.3 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 1.3 mi
  • National Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 1.3 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 1.3 mi
  • Presidents Park: 1.3 mi
  • Blues Alley: 1.3 mi
  • National Aquarium: 1.3 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 1.4 mi
  • Woodley Park: 1.4 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 1.4 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 1.4 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 1.4 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 1.4 mi
  • National Zoological Park: 1.4 mi
  • Department of State: 1.5 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 1.5 mi
  • Verizon Center: 1.5 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 1.5 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 1.5 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 1.5 mi
  • Naval Observatory: 1.5 mi

Dining

Komi
Komi serves a set multicourse dinner for 135 per person beginning with a series of mezzethakia small light dishes and progressing to heartier flavors including pasta and a family style entree followed by desserts
Mandu
Traditional Korean Cuisine
Floriana
We are an independently owned Italian bistro serving dishes made with seasonal ingredients sourced from local producers and we pride ourselves on our menu service and passion for food
Agora Restaurant
The restaurant serves lunch dinner and weekend brunch on Saturday and Sunday The all-small plate menu at Agora include Turkish and Greek flavors Dishes are priced from 5 to13 and guests dining at Agora can also anticipate fresh olive oil bottled on Gulers
Twist Dupont
Offering breakfast lunch and dinner daily Twist Dupont Restaurant serves up modern American fare with rich Mediterranean flavors
The Regent
High end Thai Cuisine

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Carlyle Suites Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
211 out of 211
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Drexel Hill, PA
Dec 8, 2010

Glad it was a one night stay.

The hotel is in a great location. The hotel is very hip and modern and has taken allot of steps toward being green. Loved the Kurag coffee maker in the room. They offer free parking, however they only have about 12 spots, mostly for compact vehicles. If you don't get there early, your out of luck and street parking is very very limited. The bed, one word, AWEFUL. I think sleeping on the floor would have been more comfortable. Bathroom is small but makes great use of the space, however cleaning needs to do a better job, I found two hairs that were clearly not mine. [...] the hotel itself does not accept the Discover card so be ready to use another major credit card at check in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Nov 14, 2007

Things just don't work

The bartender was arguably the least communicative about prices and offerings than I've ever seen -- maybe a bad day. Then my non-smoking room started clouding up with cigar smoke from the vents as I got ready for bed around 9:30 p.m. The clerks at the front desk offered me another room, which meant I had to repack and move. Then the door key to the new room didn't work. When I finally got in, all TV channels were fuzzy. The key didn't work on my return from breakfast the next morning, either. I was glad that I was there for only one night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
EU flyer
Business
Eastern PA
Mar 1, 2009

Beware- reservations not honored

The Carlyle has good rates in a great location, but even prepaying for a suite didn't mean I was able to stay there. I went sent to the grubbier, smaller and noisier Savoy Suites on Wisconsin Ave, as were several of my colleagues. The staff at Carlyle was very unhelpful, and did not offer any refund, discount, or even apology. None of my colleagues will dare reserve a room there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Travel tip from Liz
Business
Hoboken, NJ
Sep 29, 2014

Tired and worn...gloomy

Gloomy, common areas not clean. Not quite the art deco as advertised - just outdated and worn. Lack of attention to basic housekeeping details - i.e. door to room on inside was filled with dirty fingers/ hand print marks, near knob and chain...months/years worth. Room carpet - needed a good vacuum. Hard time opening door to room - swipe card worked but door was stuck...layers of old paint - had to shoulder slam door to push open. Sheets clean but severely wrinkled -looks like they remained in a ball after removal from dryer - never folded - not neat. Clock alarm went off - staff should check all clock alarms make sure they are off after guests depart. I was in DC on business - this hotel is NOT for business people. Bar/restaurant - pick up - hang out - not professional/business...Would never stay here with children. Staff at desk - somewhat disinterested.. Couldn't wait to check out... They won't see me again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Couple R
Business
Amherst, MA
Apr 5, 2013

Not sure what happened

Not sure what happened to service in this hotel but the housekeeping staff at this hotel is unusually hard to deal with. They did not fill the coffee supplies unless asked to and did not even replenish the shampoos in the bathroom. The front desk staff was friendly but they did not offer to move us when the rooms near us filled with noisy high schoolers and we complained.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
unimpressed overall
Business
Jackson, Mississippi
Jun 9, 2014

could have been better

The hotel is older, but recently rennovated. My room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. breakfast bar area with sink, fridge, microwave and keurig. Location: dupont circle - many choices to eat and good location. Cons: I ordered room service and asked for a pticher of water with lemons. I was told by the person delievering the meal to go down to the bar and ask for my lemons. Several instances of "little things" that made me feel uncomfortable with the staff's service overall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jenn S
Business
Nampa, ID
Nov 6, 2011

Good Location

We needed to be close to another hotel for an event and this one was a better value for what we needed. Walking distance to other hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MCJAKE
Business
North Arlington, NJ, USA
Apr 16, 2012

FAMILY WEEKEND

THE HOTEL WAS VERY CLEAN AND STAFF WAS HELPFUL. THE ONLY PROBLEM IS THEY SAID THERE WAS PARKING BUT THEIR YARD WAS VERY SMALL. PARKING WAS FIRST COME.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

METRO WAS ONLY A COUPLE OF BLOCKS AWAY.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Andrea in Winston Salem
Business
Winston Salem, NC
Jul 8, 2012

Great Location, Good Hotel, Mess with Parking!!

We stayed at the Carlyle Suites Hotel for 4 nights during July 2012. Since we didn´t have any references we chose the hotel mainly because location and price, but I´m happy to say that it´s a very good hotel, with nice, clean, big bedrooms, warm staff and, in the case of our suite, usefull amenities such as microwave, fridge and electric stove top! You can tell that is an old hotel with good manteinance and some modern items. The only strong critique we have is regarding parking. Although as they promote, the parking in within the hotel perimeter, with limited spaces and FREE (something very rare in Washington DC) there´s no organization at all when it comes to priorities and available spaces. TThere is no waiting list or possible reserve. You almost have to "fight" with the other visitors for the available spot....if you are at the parking lot at the right time then the space is yours!....we believe they should work to change this.... However the overall experience was positive and we will highly recomend the Carlyle Suites Hotel!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Da Dadada
Business
MASS
Jul 30, 2012

You get what you pay

Overall positive. Renovation was in place. Parking needs to be improved. People are very responsive. Kitchenette is small - no ventilation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top