Carlyle Suites Hotel

3 stars
1731 New Hampshire Ave., NW, Washington, DC 20009
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
202 reviews
Great and very convienent

I always stay at this hotel when on business in DC See full review

  • DC traveler man
  • Dec 2, 2014
night downtown

Good size room with kitchen and large seating area. Well situated and great brunch in the dining room. See full review

  • swhitaker
  • Nov 17, 2014
Contemporary renovated boutique hotel in the heart of Washington DC
 

Situated within walking distance of many Washington DC attractions, the Carlyle Suites Hotel is also close to DC's Metro Red Line, making navigating the city and surrounding areas very easy. Hotel rooms have modern features and each room is custom designed and decorated to the highest standard. The Carlyle Suites hotel is the ideal hotel for business travelers. A fitness center is also available on site.

3 Reasons To Stay:
 
  • Perfect location walkable to Washington DC attractions

  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access and in-room kitchens with microwaves and fridges

  • On-site fitness centre

Carlyle Suites Hotel Rooms
 

There is a choice of several guest rooms at the Carlyle Suites Hotel suitable for differing tastes and budgets. Guests can choose from two double beds or one king size bed and a sofa bed. Each room at the Carlyle Suites Hotel contains a full service kitchen complete with refrigerator and microwave for those who prefer to prepare their own snacks and drinks. Cable television and complimentary Wi-Fi is also available in each room. The Grande King room and Grande Guest room at the Carlyle Suites Hotel also offers a generous sized seating area for entertaining or relaxing. The 32-inch flat-screen televisions add to the luxury and in-room gourmet Keurig coffee helps to complete the package. Accessible rooms are available.

Things to Do:
 
  • St Matthew's Cathedral (0.6 mi/1 km)

  • National Geographic Museum (0.7 mi/1.2 km)

  • The White House (1 mi/1.6 km)

  • Washington Convention Center (1.1 mi/1.7 km)

  • George Washington University (1.2 mi/1.9 km)

  • Madame Tussauds Washington DC (1.3 mi/2.1 km)

  • Old Town Trolley Tours of Washington DC (1.4 mi/2.2 km)

Policies and fees
  • Please note special promotional and packages rates may require full pre-payment and may be non-refundable
  • Pets are welcome, free of charge, with the exception of bully breeds


 

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Carlyle Suites Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Carlyle Suites Hotel Rooms

Grande Double Double Guest Room
Grande Guest Room featuring 2 premium Tempur-Pedic Double beds, some with comfortable sleeper sofabed, work desk, and full service kitchen complete with cook-top, microwave, refrigerator, cookware and flatware. Spacious seating areas and closets are great for families. Includes a new 32 inch HD flat screen TV by Samsung, premium cable including HBO and Showtime, in-room gourmet coffee by Keurig and complimentary WiFi internet.
Classic Guest Room
Classic Guest Room featuring 1 or 2 premium Tempur-Pedic double beds or a king bed with comfortable sleeper sofabed, desk, and full service kitchen complete with cook-top, microwave, refrigerator, cookware and flatware. Includes 32 inch HD flat screen TV, premium cable television, in-room gourmet coffee by Keurig and complimentary WiFi internet.
Grande King Guest Room
Grande King Guest Room featuring 1 premium Tempur-Pedic King size bed, comfortable sleeper sofabed, work desk, and full service kitchen complete with cook-top, microwave, refrigerator, cookware and flatware. Spacious seating areas and closets are great for families. Includes a new 32 inch HD flat screen TV by Samsung, premium cable including HBO and Showtime, in-room gourmet coffee by Keurig and complimentary WiFi internet.

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Phillips Collection: 0.4 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.6 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 0.6 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.7 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.7 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 0.7 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.9 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.9 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 1 mi
  • Blair House: 1 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 1 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 1.1 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.4 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.6 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 0.6 mi
  • Lincoln Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.7 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.7 mi
  • Bohemian Caverns: 0.7 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 0.9 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.9 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 1 mi
  • Blair House: 1 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 1 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 1.1 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 1.1 mi
  • Howard University: 1.2 mi
  • Octagon House: 1.2 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 1.2 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.2 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 1.3 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 1.3 mi
  • National Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 1.3 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 1.3 mi
  • Presidents Park: 1.3 mi
  • Blues Alley: 1.3 mi
  • National Aquarium: 1.3 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 1.4 mi
  • Woodley Park: 1.4 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 1.4 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 1.4 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 1.4 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 1.4 mi
  • National Zoological Park: 1.4 mi
  • Department of State: 1.5 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 1.5 mi
  • Verizon Center: 1.5 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 1.5 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 1.5 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 1.5 mi
  • Naval Observatory: 1.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (202)

Ratings and reviews for Carlyle Suites Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
65 out of 202
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.3

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NSMayflower
Business
Halifax Nova Scotia
May 1, 2012

Great Family hotel

Perfect.Couldn't ask for better. Staff were friendly and helpful. We had a light short out and they came up very promptly to fix it. Super comfy bed and fluffy thick towels. Having a kitchen with microwave, fridge and stove top meant we could have breakfast before we set out and the couch and TV set back in an alcove meant sleepers weren't bothered. There is a bar and restaurant in the hotel which is also nice. Breakfast buffet available at a reasonable price. We would definitely stay there again! Quiet, attractive neighbourhood and a pleasant walk to the Metro-about 6 minutes

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ikteros
Business
Vancouver, Canada
Jul 7, 2012

Just sat there!

Rating as 7th best hotel in DC is well deserved. I would not hesitate to stay here again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
FAMILY TRIP LOVE
Business
ELMWOOD PARK, NJ
Jul 31, 2012

amazing family getaway

My family loved to stay in it !! Good locations, close to metro, close to good restaurants. Pleasant services !!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Annagal
Business
Macomb, IL
Aug 2, 2012

Great Home Away from Home

I traveled with my 3 kids and we were comfortable here in our spacious room. The staff is very friendly and helpful. After an exhausting day walking around the city, they met us at the door saying "Welcome home!" with a big smile, and handing us cold bottles of water to drink. In 90+ temperatures, this was great! The beds are comfortable, and we especially liked the dressing room with the vanity, bench seat, & mirrors located outside the bathroom because it facilitated our getting ready on time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a Safeway food store located about 3 blocks away where you can pick up snacks and breakfast items to keep in the kitchenette. Eating breakfast in was a savings to us, and easily accomplished.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
rmf007
Business
Massachusetts
Jun 18, 2012

Wonderful intimate hotel in a great location

Art Deco brought up to date with beautiful marble and granite in a residential setting with embassies as neighbors. Superb staff, very friendly, polite and helpful. Room had two comfortable queen beds a granite kitchen area and granite and glass bathroom. Very clean. Walking distance to the White House museums and monuments thru the downtown area (although after a day of sight seeing the family preferred a cab ride home). Highly recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

A walk to the National Mall is very doable (35-45 minutes depending on the age of your children with plenty of shopping and dining options on the way. We did it most mornings but later during our stay took a cab to get to the Capitol Building in time for our tour appointment. A cab ride at the end of the day is a good idea. There is no need for a car (and not any parking for that matter). The subway is 0.7 mile walk and the bus route is just a few minutes away. We took the train to the Smithsonian and it was great. We did not use the buses.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mama Kathy
Business
Alabama
Jun 11, 2012

DC Family Vacation

The location of the hotel, size of the room and service were just right. We arrived from Annapolis via cab and used Super Shuttle back to BWI. We bought trolley tickets at Embassy Camera store on Connecticut and used the Dupont Circle Subway stop; both very convenient. Great pizza delivery and grocery as well as restaurant options, from Indian food to Subway sandwiches all nearby. The best was the HOTEL and the PERSONAL service we TempurPedic type beds were comfie and the pull out sofa worked for our youngest. Kitchenette allowed for breakfast and leftovers. Very clean room and great housekeeping. We will be back!!! Can't say enough about how great this hotel was for our needs (actually am tempted to keep it a secret!)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dee.k
Business
Setauket, NY
Aug 24, 2012

Great Hotel

This was a great hotel at a great price although not the most modern it was very charming.The rooms were very clean and the staff went above and beyond to make our trip perfect.The location was great, close to Dupont metro, but if you like to walk you could also walk to the White House and the museums. Parking was the only problem although free it was very limited. This is a great neighborhood where we felt safe even walking at night. I would without a doubt stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The best and cheapest restaurants were on 17th Ave.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
th49w
Business
Atlanta, GA
Sep 4, 2012

Fantastic Labor Day in DC

Free parking in downtown DC (first come, first serve), perfect location, kitchenette, duvet covers, stylish art-deco room and furniture, very friendly staff. Beds are comfortable, but sleeper sofa could be better. Overall we were very pleased with our stay at the Carlyle.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Joy G
Business
Greenville sc
Oct 24, 2012

Fantastic family trip

The Carlyle Suites was a great place for our family's first trip to DC. We loved the neighborhood and location. The rooms were spacious and clean. Our favorite part was the special attention given to us by the front desk staff! They made our stay above expectations!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carlyle Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jeff the rigger
Business
New York New York
Dec 1, 2012

Family Holiday Visit

Friendly staff, Food that was Great, not just good for a hotel. Nice neighborhood. Dog park up the street. I found the place that I will always stay in when in DC. Pet was No extra charge. Parking No extra charge. Made you feel at home. Thank-you

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top